Rent Resident Evil for GC
view large frontback

Resident Evil

Not Rentable
Also on:PSP Movies
GF Rating
8.3

1058 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Definitely the scariest Resident Evil out!

posted by gonzo3333 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 16, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2003

36 out of 37 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

This game is for people with patience. Lots of it. It's a scary game. It's not like a OMG TEH NIGTHMRAES!!!11 scary, but it's pretty creepy and will have you jumping a lot with the lights turned out and volume on full blast. Trust me.

This is a survival horror game. It's NOTHING like Resident Evil 4 if you've played it. You have to manage your items extremely carefully. Jill can carry 8 items at once, and Chris can carry only 6. You might have to go from item box to item box every now and then. You also have a set amount of ink ribbons lying around the game, so don't save too often or you'll be screwed.

This game is VERY different to the original and DS version. It's way scarier, has very, very, very nice graphics, and it has way more enemies, storyline, even the mansion and other areas are different. Way different if anything. It's the same layout, but there are way more rooms.

One of the new enemies, are ummm, called, whoops, I forgot! Well, anyways, these enemies I'm talking about are like the creatures from "28 Days Later." There are normal zombies scattered throughout the whole game. They move slow, they growl, and they bite Jill or Chris. Now, I didn't know this when I played, so be warned. Eventually, the zombies come back to life. Only, they're red, they literally run at your character, faster than you if anything, and they ---- you so hard, that you pretty much die after 2 hits. That's the part that scares the ---- out of me. I'm just walking around the room, and there are like 3 sharp corners, and I turn and he runs right into me and makes a loud noise. It always makes me jump! You can prevent this from happening either by shooting the zombies head (while hes alive at first) or by burning him while he's on the floor. Oh, and for those of you who remember the dogs jumping through the windows.... It's worse in this game...You'll see why...

So this game is a must-play. If you have patience. Buy it, turn off the lights, and have fun ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

RESIDENT EVIL ROCKS

posted by goodgamer500 (Coupland, TX) Aug 3, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the game is awsome it has hard controls but fun gameplay very puzzling good action should rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Great Update of a Classic

posted by swfan34 (OCEAN SPRINGS, MS) Dec 22, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ah, the memories -- Resident Evil for the PS1. Thankfully, the dated graphics have been out done, meaning we can replay it and still get the (bleep) scared out of us. And not just the graphics, either -- A whole BUNCH more puzzle, defense items, and CRIMSON HEADS. The game feels like a huge burden when you start, and by the end you feel that you never want to play another game like that again. Then, you wake up early in the morning an begin on the opposite character's scenario.

--SERIES SPECIFIC REVIEW--

Graphics: Oh, a 9, easily. While not as shiny and refined as the PS3 and XBOX 360's RE5, the graphics are on par with RE4, showing that the gamecube just isn't being used to its full potential. And Capcom says Wii can't handle RE5's opening screen.

Gameplay: 8. Honestly, what RE game could score over that? It's the controls... Oh, wait, I sense a RE4 fan in the midst. Shut up, the game was (bleep) compared to this.

Ammo Availability: 7, surprisingly. RE4's a 9, by the way. After an hour or so, I'd only had to take out five zombies and I had 120 extra bullets left.

Story: 10. The first RE had a great story, and REmake just expands on it.

--OVERALL RATING--

9. The most definite version of RE1 will always be Deadly Silence to me -- Classic Mode, that is. The original with slight graphical update (noses, anyone?) and 180 turn. However, as a separate game, REmake doesn't disappoint. Take that X-Play.

God, I had to edit this FOUR TIMES for language.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Resident Evil Review.

posted by LeonRuglia (ONTARIO, OR) Jan 1, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was absolutely stunning. The graphics just blew me out of my seat completely. It has great game play and is a little more realistic than some of the others in the series but nevertheless this is a great game. It has gorgeous graphics, proper music for the setting and had a great storyline. Although with everything good there is always something bad. You may notice that you may find yourself stuck with a hard puzzle of some sort and the zombies are unusually harder to kill and you may find yourself with no ammo and there is none around but I'm positive everything good will make up for it's mistakes. This game is highly addictive and can give you the chills at anytime with it's suprises.
10/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Resident Evil Review

posted by gamer13 (MAGNOLIA, KY) May 5, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Resident Evil is the precursor for the whole series and is also the best looking, and also the puzzles area a blast, also the cutscenes were AWESOME!!!!! But still the bosses weren't difficult along with the rest of the enemies. but thank God this game makes the story make sense. overall I recommend this game for purchase even though, the shooting is scarce. compared to 2,3,4, and CVX. So if you are a fan of the series go out and get this game today,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Crimson Heads Damaged My Calm

posted by GuySmiley (SAN JOSE, CA) Jan 8, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I love the RE series, although I didn't pick up the games until Nemesis, missing the initial release of RE1 and RE2. When I realized they had been re-released for the Gamecube, I dusted off the old unit and added them to the queue.

I liked this game, but the addition of the crimson heads really bugged me. I enjoy (good) survival horror games for the stories, because it's like being right in the middle of a really scary movie. But with limited time due to a heavy work schedule, I always prefer to play on the easy settings. I don't care about bragging rights, speed runs or the like; I just want to have a fun scare in the little time I have. And yes, these games are still scary on the easy settings.

But the addition of the crimson heads really sucked a lot of the enjoyment out of this otherwise great game. Having to repeatedly reload games because I'd burned all my ammo and health trying to fight these guys off made the first ten hours or so miserable for me. I finally stumbled across the grenade launcher/infinite ammo trick in one of the FAQs, but even so, what a pain.

I understand that there are players out there who live to beat this game using only the combat knife. If you are one, then please ignore this review. But if you're a casual gamer just looking to have a fun run through a scary game, I'd advise you to try another game in the series instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Often Overlooked, but Absolutely Brilliant!

posted by andrewka (ROCKVILLE, MD) Jan 21, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I can see why this can fly below the radar of many gamers, the fact that it is thought of as a remake of the original Resident Evil implies that it is simply a better looking version of the original game, but this is a whole new game, and in my opinion, the best Resident Evil ever.

To start, this game is hugely scary, the aura this game creates is that of absolute horror and that is what you look for in a Resident Evil game. I am afraid to play this game alone at night. The ideas, the gameplay is classic Resident Evil but with improvements to all the quirks that have frustrated gamers with past Resident Evils.

What I love about this version over Resident Evil Zero is that it is much more flexible and not as linear and obvious. One thing that frustrated me about Zero was that if you see a locked door, the key or solution was somewhere in the same room or close by, it carves a very obvious path. This is not the case for this Resident Evil. Something you pick up early in the game for example, might not be useful until the very end of the game for example.

The camera quirks are still there, but that's what makes this game, and all pre-RE4 games so great, you never know what is around the corner as you only see what the camera lets you. It's a brilliant formula that works astonishingly well in this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Couldn't Believe It!

posted by sxrxnrr87 (COLUMBUS, OH) Jun 27, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I have been going back and playing all of the old games lately. I was absolutely AMAZED at how well this one turned out in the remake. It ran so smoothly and it actually had me jumping from time to time. It was definitely worth it to go back and play it. I highly recommend to anybody who is a true Resident Evil fan!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best RE ever

posted by RUNDAS (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jun 2, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Resident evil a title that since 1996 scared us peed our pants and make us sleep with a nightlight has been a household name this is the best game in the series
Story: same as the original the story follows alpha team as they investigate the mansion and find out its there worst nightmare the story is revamped to include new characters situations and choices that will affect you throughout the game will not new it keeps things fresh and accessable
Gameplay: survival horror is a unique genre in that its restrictions on health and ammo are balanced by puzzle solving and item management the controls take some getting used to but you can handle it just fine once its etched in your brain the game also adds new enemies like the crimson heads a ressurected zombie thats faster and deadlier the only way to prevent this is by blowing off their heads or burning their corpses the camera is extremley poor but the gameplay is about as good as it gets
Graphics: this is the best looking game on the gamecube with enviroments and character models that look almost photorealistic impressive fire and lighting effects and enemies that will make you jump its almost impossible not to be impressed
Sound: while its not in 5:1 the sound is good with guns that sound like their realworld counterparts and ominous music its impressive the voice acting and dialogue are still cheesy but better than the original
Replay value: 10 different endings unlockable costumes bonus weapons and numerous ways to play this will be a game worth replaying stop reading this review and buy this game
story 9/10
gameplay 8/10
graphics 10/10
sound 10/10
replayability 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is Resident Evil

posted by Campor (LAKE HUGHES, CA) Aug 15, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've seen a lot of comparisons to Resident Evil 4 and 5 in these reviews, and how the camera and item management and combat is superior in those games, but that is because they are not Resident Evil.

Anyone who has played Resident Evil on the Playstation will know the story, the basic mechanics and the general roll of things as they play the remake, but with the addition of the 180 turn to ease up control, as well as the many other additions to the game, this is a whole new (still terribly frightening) beast.

Graphics: Far improved, as previously stated. The fact that most camera angles hold true to the original being added on to the increased graphical reality and improved sounds make everything so much more effective in the scare department. Especially the hallway. If you've played it before, you know what I mean, and if you haven't, you will once you start.

Storyline: Nothing really new here, except for a few additions that will catch you off-guard. For new players though, it's Resident Evil- Plot isn't its usual strong point but it works very well with what little it was really given to work with originally.

Controls: Yes, tank controls, but they work for this setting. Slow, shambling zombies are only threatening if you can't quick-draw and headshot them at a moment's notice, which is why it's so different from RE4 and 5. Every single enemy poses a viable threat. The Ganados and Majini in the other games are simply cannon fodder. In this, a single shambler is supposed to be a threat, and the controls add to that. It may be a mistake to some, but overall it's an addition that if removed, removes part of the survival-horror aspect.

Ending notes: Resident Evil the remake is worth the money you spend on it. The plot, the control, the graphics, and the pure blood-pumping terror you feel when you are being approached by three zombies and then realize you can't open the door as they close in can't be matched by Resident Evil 4 or 5. This IS Resident Evil.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

needs first person view

posted by LARVAY (LOMBARD, IL) Dec 1, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

4 out of 16 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

i just dont like the view onthis game. the 3rd person camera is just so difficult to handle, and it really doesnt make the game scary... i like doom3 because it scared me when i had stuff jumping right towards me in first person.. and i think they shoot way to slow on this game... wth i cant kill the effin zombies lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Controls, what controls?

posted by kvalenti76 (REDFORD, MI) Mar 23, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 12 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

The controls for this game were terrible. Everything was inverted, which made it hard to enjoy the game. I hate games were you have to get used to the controls before it becomes fun, I like to just jump right in and start playing. I gave it a try but trust me the controls really suck on this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

May be the scariest game of all time!

posted by stevenmoctezuma (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Apr 17, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

When I played this remake, the graphics and design were beautiful. The opening scene where you see the first zombie eating a corpse is probably the most remembered horror scene in all of the gaming history. Although much credit should be given to the original, once you play this remake, there is no comparison. The game combines cinematic elegance and horror into an eerie classic about our culture's current favorite horror monster -- the zombie.
With the option to choose Chris Redfield or Jill Valentine, (I usually pick Jill since she's very sexy but has less life), you can experience Racoon City's famous mansion in the woods, with all the tension, puzzles and eeriness behind this classic horror game. The setting is beautifully constructed and the very original idea of its odd, but mysterious camera angles is quite influential; if this game inspired another successful horror series, (Silent Hill, which pretty much ripped everything off from Resident Evil), then you know this game has greatness to it's name. I may never be able to play a game with the same experience this one gave me through it's beauty, carefully structured horror, and wonderful introduction to a revolutionary series.
Warning to all gamers: If this game is played at night by yourself, be prepared to experience strong feelings of trepidation, panic and fear. This game is scary enough to make you feel reluctant to continue through the next ominous door, or go down the next disheveled, bloodstained hall or worse -- go to the cabin into the woods where a strange creature dwells, (highlight of the game!!); but as reluctant as you are, you cannot give up -- for you are compelled to continue and this game is much too good for you to place your controller down...

None of the Resident Evil games get as scary as this one, (Resident Evil 0, being a close contender). You will not be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Survival Horror relived

posted by dnol47 (CHICAGO, IL) May 21, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

16 years ago the world was introduced to the world of survival horror. 7 years later, REmake was birthed to recapture the glory of that time.

Immediately, you could see that everything looked better. The graphics, the shadows, everything was reworked. It put RE 4's graphics to shame. And yes, there's still fixed camera angles (they're not a design flaw, it's to set the mood). Everything was just unbelievable. The gameplay mechanics stayed the same from 1, except with the new addition of defense items. The idea was to give the player a way to escape a zombie if space and ammo was limited. I found them to be highly effective if I couldn't dodge a zombie.

The enemies are all the same, except with 2 new enemies, Crimson Head zombies (a more powerful version of zombies) and Lisa Trevor (an Umbrella experiment that is immortal).

The storyline is essentially the same, with the addition of a few minor add ins and the backstory behind Lisa Trevor. And in this RE, there are a total of 11 possible endings you can obtain, pertaining to what actions you take throughout the playthrough.

During my playthrough, I felt that I had not only a better experience than I had in any other RE I had played, but also a more fearful one. The lighting and shadow effects in this game don't allow you to be able to see everything that's there (i.e. a zombie lurking in a dark spot of a room). Overall, I would highly recommend this to any RE fan and defy them to tell me that it's not a better experience than RE 4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Resident evil.

posted by leethgreat (MONTGOMERY, TX) Sep 27, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

This game was a disappointment. It had great graphics, but horrible camera view, and bad controls. I only got like 20 minutes into it and just packed it up and sent it back. If you are a Resident evil fan then this is the game for you. But otherwise don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the most thrilling resident evil out thier

posted by pulsedrag (NEWARK, OH) Apr 9, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

a remake that has evolved into its own game.
i would have named it residet evil the awsome
remake.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

resident evil remake review

posted by residentjb (LOCKPORT, NY) Sep 1, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

i enjoyed this game alot. the puzzles are awesome! the enemys are fearce,and the locations are creepy.you have a nice selection of weapons throughout the game. you can also play as two different characters. each have different weapons and objectives,but i wont say any!but anyways i definetly suggest getting this game. it is also really fun to play in the dark alone! i hope you enjoyed my review and the game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Resident Evil

posted by hertig (BOWDEN, WV) Apr 28, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

The game was good but i like the way resident evil 4 and 5 are better. But it was a fun game. The original version for PS1 is better. Because at the end of it is the real ending when you fight the Tyrant that kills Wesker. So the made me mad because you are supposed to fight the Tyrant.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

boring ooh did i say that i meant spatacular great

posted by philly12 (UTICA, NY) Dec 15, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

resident evil got a 8/10 in my opoion because the atmosphere is great good graphics for a gc game anyway let me get to the good aspects of this game first. 1st of all the game play is cool and the controls are pretty solid.2nd of all the combat system is okay. And 3rd the game is very fun and also has a few scares and jumps. I only have 1 no so good ascetps of this and that is that the story falls a little short but you will hopefully get used to it. all in all game play 9 graphics 10 and excitement 9 my score of this is a total of 28 out of 30 pionts buy it its fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Bad disc

posted by MEdCo94 (BUFFALO, NY) Aug 26, 2008

Member since May 2008

I tried this game because I had played resident evil 4 and loved it so I went back to the beginning to see the back story. I was so confused at first but when I finally got it I was amazed at the gameplay involved and the graphics are beyond outstanding. However I got to the part right before you encounter the first hunter and the screen went black and said it couldn't read the disc. I was so p-oed cause the first time I tried it it worked but the hunter killed me so I had to go back but the second time this happened. What the ----? Anyway great game. Hope you don't get the disc I got though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

PRETTY SICK REMAKE

posted by ORDER66 (ESCONDIDO, CA) Jun 4, 2007

Member since Apr 2005

YUP, THIS GAME WAS PRETTY GOOD, NICE GRAPHICS, PUZZLES AND MORE! CAN'T WAIT TO PLAY RE-ZERO NOW!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Resident Evil

posted by antonahill (BOISE, ID) Oct 18, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

I beleive this game absolutely deserves all of the accolades which have been heaped upon it, but the controls so are so wonky, I had to give up in the first sequence. One of my favorite GC games, Eternal Darkness, a similar survival horror game, handled the controls for walking and fighting beautifully. I don't know why Capcom couldn't be bothered.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing game, the best in the series.

posted by TheSHizNic (NOVATO, CA) Jul 11, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

Resident Evil for the GameCube is quite possibly the best on the system in terms of graphics and atmosphere. It's the greatest installment in the series, and the graphics still hold up today.

People may be turned off by the "tank" controls and camera angles at first, but if you really try to get into it the game could provide one of the best gaming experiences to date.

Now this game isn't for everyone, it's admitably slow and sometimes tedious. Item management is an absolute must and if you don't carefully plan each shot and what you're doing next you'll find the game outrageously frustrating. The combat will bother people who don't like slow, pulse pounding fights and the cameras don't help either - ESPECIALLY in boss fights. Thinking is a big part of the game. The puzzles aren't really anything to brag about but you will have to plan and manage your items.

Cliff Notes
For: Open minded gamers with incredible amounts of patience, storyline enthusiasts, and someone who enjoys some good scares - and my god this game is scary. It will haunt you.

Not For: Gamers who don't like slow game play or story lines, gamers who don't care about story.

Pros
The story is fantastic, when the going gets rough (or just ridiculously frightening) the story is what will keep you going.

The atmosphere is unmatched, Silent Hill ain't got nothin' on this monster of a game. (Okay I lied, Silent Hill 3 is way too scary for it's own good.)

An experience you'll remember for the rest of your life.

Cons
The controls will bother the majority of gamers out there.

Tedium of having to go from item box to item box will bug you BIG time if you're not patient.

I've listed most of the flaws this game has, but you might be wondering why I gave it a 10 after all the flaws I listed. Well to put it simply - I'm a fanboy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good game for people who luv resident evil series

posted by gamerfan8 (VALLEJO, CA) Jul 4, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

resident evil 1 has great graphics for gamecube. it is a great game for people who are hardcore resident evil fans. All though the camera view is not the same as resident evil 4. but the story keeps u going if u like suspense. to tell you the truth, this game "might" scare the heck out of you!! also you have to use yur hearing in the game to tell where a zombie is at... the sound effects are well done. And jus to tell you guys......this game has a lot of puzzle solving. But other than that, the game is great if you like to scare yourself a lot. so if you love resident evil, and you like playing the series...i suggest you rent or buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

My Ooh My

posted by infinite7 (SURPRISE, AZ) May 22, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

This game is a must have game. Hands down. I was running from Zombies..shooting them mixing herbal plants together. I found out the hard way that you shouldn't stay in one room too long. I don't want to give too much away. This game is very interesting and the puzzles are not too hard to figure out. If you have a good memory this game will work for you. There are many zombies in this one. It's a very dark and scary game with lot's of surprises around every corner... I give this game a 9 on the rating chart.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse