Rent Resident Evil Zero for GC
view large frontback

Resident Evil Zero

Not Rentable
GF Rating
8.0

803 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game rocks!!

posted by RedWolf (LITTLETON, CO) Apr 26, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

16 out of 16 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is one of my favorite Resident Evil games. It is notas good as Resident Evil 4 but it is right behind it. This game has a sweet story line and is really fun. I love that u can control 2 ppl it is alot more fun. I tell you to rent this game it is amazing. Trust me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

resident evil zero:pros and cons

posted by valleyboy (COFFEE SPRINGS, AL) May 28, 2006

Member since May 2006

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

pros:i must say as a prequel to the original resident evil this one is pretty darn good.new characters,enemies,and enviroments make this a must play for any hardcore resident evil fan.also brings back classic enemies and characters. though i won't mention any because i wouldn't want to spoil the game for you. great story, graphics, and bonus modes give this game great replay value. cons:switching between characters can become a little tedious sometimes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Resident Evil Zero Review. By: Kurosaki

posted by Kurosaki (BREWER, ME) Jun 25, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is an incredible addition to the Survival/Horror genre. I had an awesome time playing through this fantastic prequel to the Resident Evil series. The way you can switch between characters Rebecca Chambers and Billy Cowen is really smooth and unglitchy, and the aiming system (although not perfect) works extremely well. the character movements are life-like as well. I had not one problem playing this game, in my eyes this game is perfect. If you are a fan of the Resident evil series or the Survival/Horror genre, I highly recommend that you rent this fantastic game, you wont regret it, i promise you that. play on my fellow gamers, play on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

OK game

posted by dwolfe (SELINSGROVE, PA) Nov 9, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

7 out of 26 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

i bought this game after resident evil 4 and was disappointed the aiming mechanism is horrible compared to re4's laser pointer i have to admit the puzzles are a little better than re4's. I played for about 2 nights and went back to resident evil 4 so if your looking for a shooter for the gamecube look for resident evil 4 not resident evil 0

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

The Weakest Link

posted by MondoMole (FULTON, NY) Aug 30, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

RE0 is set before the events of the first game. Capcom worked fairly hard to try and shoehorn in this story and it really didn't work out well. What follows is an absurd journey through puzzles ripped from other RE games, an antagonist that sees the main characters a total of twice and a plot that's fairly useless to the overall story.

What's most frustrating about this game is the forced teamwork and inventory system. In most RE games you have limited inventory space, but to help compensate, you had storage boxes that held items for you. Not so here. When you run out of inventory space you have to just drop items on the ground and go running back for them whenever you need them. This is frustrating when enemies respawn - especially on the TRAIN where respawning zombies is an insane idea since.. what? Were they hiding under the seats?

The game forces you to constantly swap between characters, go into the menu to tell them to stay or follow, switch items and solve puzzles. Even worse, you won't even be using Rebecca (the main character) most of the time since she is so absurdly weak. She is mostly relegated to "pack mule" duty while Billy, the other character, does all the work.

And I won't even mention the recycled puzzles and areas and wonky enemy AI (tip; the bug enemies can't go near stairs for some reason). Even RE series fans should pass on this one.

Good:
+Good graphics
+Tight old-school RE controls

Bad:
-Poor partner system
-Poor CGI
-Poor story
-Low replay value

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible game

posted by mdcunliffe (NEW TAZEWELL, TN) May 14, 2008

Member since May 2008

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

The game did not even work good. Within two minutes of the game it would disk error. It was ridiculous. Am I really paying 15 dollars a month for games that don't even work?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

suks

posted by poorflick (HENSLEY, AR) May 6, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

bad co op dum story it is hard to aim guns not much monsters to fight

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The game is good but the disc did not work

posted by Atteroz (WEST LIBERTY, IA) Dec 10, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

The disc i received did not work

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWSOME GAME

posted by CPROCKS (CLEBURNE, TX) Jun 13, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

OF ALL THE SURVIVAL HORROR TYPE RESIDENT EVIL GAMES (RESIDENT EVIL,2, NEMESIS, CODE VERONICA) THIS ONE IS MY FAVORITE.
IMPROVEMENTS
INK RIBBONS MORE PLENTIFUL AND ONE CAN HAVE SEVERAL USES.
STRONGER PISTOL
MORE PLENTIFUL AMMO
ABILITY TO SWITCH BETWEEN BILLY AND REBECA DURING GAMEPLAY MAKES EVERYTHING EASIER
PROS AND CONS ON BILLY AND REBECA GREATLY INCREASES THE THOUGHT PROCESS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

resident evil rocks

posted by gamefly2 (ORLANDO, FL) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

the game is with rebecca chambers and billy ceon you have to fight or die

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Kinda sad if you get into it..........

posted by sonicfan11 (Ferndale, CA) Jun 24, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2009

This is a good game it has alot of horror and suspense in it! It has a nice library of weapons. its the kind of game that you need to play at night or in a darker room. because this game has so many parts where its really dark. so if you play it in a room with alot of sunlight it will be hard to play. its actually kind of sad, but its REALLY FUN!!!!! lol. this is a most have for Resident evil collectors, and anyone looking for a game to get into!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Great start (Prequel) to the series

posted by KSVato (AUSTIN, TX) Nov 3, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

Great things:

1. Great idea for using two characters to add complexity to puzzle solving.

2. Long game means you won't feel cheated, yet there are a wide enough variety of locations that you won't get bored.

3. Low quantity of ammo and supplies and devious monsters makes playing the game tense and suspensful.

Bad things:

1. Why should I have to backtrack simply to carry every single item. I understand the need for a limited inventory in order to create tension, but it's a little ridiculous when I have to walk back and forth through long load screens several times throughout the game.

2. Ribbons: I go back and forth from loving these for adding tension, but hating them because I have to carry them around and because I can't get on just to play for half an hour or so. I think right now, I'm hating them because it doesn't make sense that Umbrella would have need of so many typewriters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Resident Evil, Not Spectacular

posted by andrewka (ROCKVILLE, MD) Jan 22, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

one innovation that i loved about this Resident Evil is the sort of tag team gameplay between Rebecca and Billy. The way you can switch between the two at key moments in the game to complete tasks is really cleaver. but there were far too few of those moments to be satisfying.

other than that you can select your partner to shoot alongside you, or just standby while you do the shooting to conserve ammo. i also liked the fact that there was no item box, that added an element of realism to this game. it still had the quirk in which one key took up the same space as a revolver for example (a quirk later fixed in RE4), but it added an additional element of strategy to the game.

but as far as mood and atmosphere go, this resident evil felt a little soft-core. i was not really all too scared. the fact that there's another person watching your back though made you feel more secure as opposed to going at it alone. that's a good or bad thing depending on your point of view.

but my main gripes about the game was that it was too easy, ammunition was plentiful, and the enemies and boss fights were easy. what frustrated me the most about this game was the linearity. if you picked up an item, the use of that item seemed to occur right away. the lack of an item box forces it to be this way i suppose... it doesn't force you to think at all. sure resident evil isn't a puzzle game, but i do want to think a little.

on the whole though, it was a nice filler and fun to play through. any resident evil fan should check this out at least once.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good but could be better

posted by Decoder (SOUTH PITTSBURG, TN) Dec 15, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

this game missed out on it's targeting and moving features such as tank like movements,and blocky aiming controls.But the frightning enemys and complex puzzles make up for those little mistakes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Two can be a badass one

posted by 007dude (HAHIRA, GA) Jun 16, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

Resident Evil Zero another great REmake game. The graphics and gameplay will just blow your mind. Resident Evil 0 tells you of what happened to Bravo Team before the mansion in the first Resident Evil and trys to fill in some plot holes while making a few for itself. If you've played any RE games you know about the camera angles to make it more cinematic but still can get frustating, luckily, you have a partner with you and he/she'll shoot at them if you can't see it. This is the first one I've ever finished and makes this one an easy start-off game but has a major spoiler if you don't know about it and dosen't have as many cutscenes as I would like in the end but gives you a sort of cliffhanger ending to start off the next game. All-in-all just another great horror by Nintendo

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Ths Game is the 2nd best Resident Evil

posted by shadow1 (AYDEN, NC) Apr 24, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

This is the a great game i love that you can control 2 people at once and the story line fits perfect with the whole saga its right behind re4

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »