Rent Resident Evil: The Mercenaries 3D for 3DS
view large front

Resident Evil: The Mercenaries 3D

Not Rentable
GF Rating
6.0

147 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

It's not so bad.

posted by CaptColon (SHIRLEY, NY) Jul 2, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2005

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

-I see several reviewers mentioning how it'll only last you a few hours at most if you just play from start to finish but that isn't how the game was meant to be played, so anyone who goes into this game without reading previews ahead of time deserves to be disappointed.

-Co-op is pretty fun, though I've mostly been playing single player because in co-op we always wind up on opposite sides of the level and I can't tell if the other guy is in trouble and needs some help or not.

-The controls can feel clunky at times, but it's Resident Evil so that's to be expected.

-And the 3D effect is pretty weak, and is more noticeable in the menus than during actual gameplay.

-Another thing I noticed about the graphics is that enemies in the distance move like they're missing frames of animation (it improves as they get closer to you, but it's weird when you first see it).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could've been better

posted by noodle37 (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Sep 2, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Well, it's OK. But I expected more. It needs to have a way to delete files. So that's what made it not as good as other Resident Evil games. People want to delete files. All Gamefly users, if you wanted to rent or buy this game, and read this comment, I am sorry, but now Gamefly can not get rid of the data for this game. Vote "Yes" on this comment if you think it needs a "Delete File" button.

Thank you for reading my review
- noodle37 reviews

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Why?

posted by nate33 (ENCINITAS, CA) Aug 17, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Why isn't it rentable?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A Shining Symbol of Corporate Greed

posted by DAlkaiser (PALM BAY, FL) Jul 3, 2011

Member since Jun 2009

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

This game could be decent on it's own merits, if not for the fact that it is lazy. It's all copy paste areas, enemies, and characters.

The game gives you no desire to finish unlocking other characters, though there are alot of them. Every stage is the same, nothing different happens, just waves of zombies or las plagas depending on stage.

Also the zombies don't spawn on the edges of the map, so they can appear very near, and behind you.

I played it for a few hours, and kept hoping it would get better, it doesn't.

The reason for the 1 is due not because of gameplay though, that would get a 6 or 7. The 1 is for Capcom setting it up to not let you delete files. There are plenty of legitimate reasons customers would like to delete files. There is no excuse for this kind of thing being done to consumers.

Please, no one buy this game. Show Capcom there is a limit to how much of their greed we will take.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

hmmm

posted by XxslayerxX (CLIFTON PARK, NY) Jun 29, 2011

Member since May 2010

2 out of 13 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

Dont a good game fun for 1st day

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Screw this game!!!!!!!!!

posted by Tommicter917 (MARGATE, FL) Jul 3, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

NO LEON, NO SALES. CAPCOM YOU ARE TERRIBLE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by Reyoca (FAIRFIELD, CA) Dec 4, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

This game was so fun if you are a fan of arcade style games. This game is packed with so many moments that are unbelievable. The best part of this game has to be the Co-op mode its so much fun to see how long you and your partner can survive. The only problem that happens at random times is that enemy's jump from one place to another without warning making it hard to aim at times. Altogether a great game for people that love Resident Evil and Arcade games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not as bad as people say

posted by yoshinetzero (LOS ANGELES, CA) Aug 24, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

This game is just simply fun. Although if you don't have acces to wifi I don't suggest you get it. It's fun to jump online and help or get help from a stranger to blast zombies. There are 30 missions, the last missions are very challenging, lots of unlockables and replay value. Again this is a very simple game but I've had so much fun with it and I'm not done completing all missions. I check my records and I've played for over 27 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

not so bad

posted by mrfrogbot (SNOWFLAKE, AZ) Aug 14, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

I have more than 50 hours in this game and still haveing fun, yes the save file thing was a bad idea from capcom. But i will always own the game so not a big deal, if anything it saves room in my sd card so im ok with that . If you a fan of mercenaries like me i would say go out and get it, if you hate mercenaries i would say stay away from it because it's just like all the other ones. So that is my opinion if it is worth buying or not, i think it is but i like Mercenaries always have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not bad at all!

posted by ggtggt (WEST PITTSTON, PA) Jul 9, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

i bought it because you can't rent it on here and heard some bad things about it but i wanted to try it. Its really not bad its like the mercs, with additional missions, characters, and costumes. its got great graphics the controls could be better. overall great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Solid Arcade Shooter; Single-Save Issue Overrated

posted by kirbyschick (CULVER CITY, CA) Jul 9, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

If you're reading customer reviews of this game, you should keep in mind that many of the "reviewers" haven't even played the game. They're just gritching because they perceive the fact that the game has a single save slot (nonalterable) as some kind of personal assault or attempt to limit used game sales. It's not. It was just technical laziness on Capcom's part, and it has no real effect on replayability. Unless you really feel the need to unlock every level and item on your own, if you buy this game used, the fact that the game has been played previously will have no real affect on you or on the gameplay.

This is basically an arcade shooter, in which your goals are both mission-based and top-score. For instance, in each level within each world, you have a mission to complete. If you complete the mission at all within the required time frame, then you have completed the level and can move on to the next. However, the speed at which you complete the level affects your overall score on the level, so there's a lot of room for replay, trying to beat your own top score. As an arcade-style shooter, this game is frankly somewhat limited in scope, I'll admit. There isn't a real story, there's no character development, etc. It's just an entire game devoted to timed score-attack mode, shooting zombie after zombie for the top score. But the single save feature is absolutely no big deal.

If you're looking for some simple, zombie-shooting fun, this game definitely has it. The combat controls work well, and the graphics are pretty well done overall (perhaps just a little stuttery animation with things in the far distance at times). If you're looking for a deeper experience or more engaging narrative, you should probably hold out for something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »