Rent Resident Evil: The Darkside Chronicles for Wii
view large frontback

Resident Evil: The Darkside Chronicles

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.3

2406 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good on rails shooter for the Resident Evil fan.

posted by nmquinn (ELYRIA, OH) Nov 25, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Fans of the Resident Evil series (in particular Resident Evil 2 and Resident Evil: Code Veronica) will absolutly love the re-imagining of the events and settings in the context of scripted action. If your not a fan of the series but have an irregular urge to blast the senseless face off of zombies, I would think you would enjoy this too. Crisp visuals and incredible boss fights make this game very enjoyable. Weapons are upgradable and you can unlock info to read through. Fun co-op game. I only wish there were more puzzles. I think there were maybe one or two, discluding figuring out specific ways to vanquish bosses. For a series based on puzzle solving as well as action, this just isn't good. Other than that, no problems. Check this one out my fellow zombie killers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game But Short

posted by Kami123 (CHELTENHAM, PA) Jul 19, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was great, but the only flaw was it was too short.
Mostly I was satisfied with this game, and the stories it provided.
The controls were good and easy.
Just wish it was longer.
I completed this in less then 2 days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

residen evil at its best

posted by huttonbbb (MATTESON, IL) Feb 10, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Now I have never played a rail shooter before and let me say this it was great. I also have a ps3 so I am use to good graphics. I just jumped right in this game. It was fun go get it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than Umbrella Chronicles

posted by sakure12 (SANGER, CA) Feb 10, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I finished playing with this game and all I can say is it was well worth my time. However, I beat the game in only two days on expert and I felt they could have extended the hours a little more to fill up the weekend. In addition, the railing didn't feel as challenging as I thought it would be. Besides all this, it was nice to relive areas of Resident Evil with state of the art graphics, that made code veronica look like it was thenext movie. I suggest renting this game if you want to play this a good game like this one. Especially for one who is a fan of the franchise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty darn awesome

posted by Shnazzyone (MANLIUS, NY) Feb 8, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It really is very loyal to it's subject matter. While being accessible it also does a great job at being difficult enough to be a genuine challenge. I would say this is totally on my top 20 wii games list. Totally give it a rent. If your into rail gun games even a little and love resident evil... then THIS is your game. I spent so much on this game just feeling warm and fuzzy remembering all the plot points all the hallways and levels from Resident evil past.

It's also nice to have the entire plot of re2, code veronica and a new storyline all in one neat little package with great replay and a long enough campaign so there's tons to do. PLAY IT! You won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the few good games for the wii

posted by flipvega (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jan 27, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I bought this after seeing the trailer for it. This game goes right into the stories of RE:2, Code Veronica, and Leons history with Krauser. The weapons upgrade system and unlockables rewards the player for replaying previous missions. I'm still looking for all the hidden voice files. I gave it a ten because it is a great rails shooter for the wii. A must rent or buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome! A Must Rent!

posted by Erasmus (ELYRIA, OH) Jan 25, 2010

Member since May 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm not much into rail shooters, but this was more than just a rail shooter. The graphics at time were realistic, but majority was up to par with the Wii. The voice acting wasn't that great, but hey, no resident evil game has good voice acting... Which is alright. But the storyline was great. It gave more details to the games than what the original games had. Now I know people didn't like this, but there were scenes in the game that didn't take place in the original. For example, in Resident Evil 2, Leon and Clair split up all the time. In this, they stayed together. And you know what, I liked it that way. It made the game unpredictable. I don't want a game that is a remake completely off the original. Although the storyline fit the original, I liked seeing new things. It made it more interesting. The music was great and it fit the games. The enemies... Wow... The final boss... AMAZING! The game wasn't to hard nor was it to easy. And I loved it so much that I played it again and again.

The only thing I didn't like was they made it to short. You didn't get to explore the police station as much as I'd like them to have made it. I was also hoping Resident Evil 4 would have shown up, but it didn't, and that's alright.

I recommend you at least rent it, and then decide to buy it. I know I will!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Takes me back...

posted by Grip6390 (ALSIP, IL) Dec 4, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Game brings back a lot of great memories from my childhood re-living Resident Evil 2 and Resident Evil Code: Veronica with an additional story telling how Krauser and Leon knew each other in Resident Evil 4. With upgradable weapons similar to Resident Evil 4 & 5 only complaint I have is that your knuckles WILL hurt from extended play but story is so good your gonna wanna keep playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun Game

posted by brett83501 (LEWISTON, ID) Dec 2, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Thought game was very fun to play. However I was a little disapointed that it wasn't more like Resident Evil 4 where you walk around and do things instead of the character walking around. Also it was kind of frustrating when it would pan quickly past the things to pick up so you would have to be quick on the draw to get them. All in all it was a very fun and I give it a solid 8 out of 10 in my ratings. Enjoy :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Rail Shooter

posted by MasBlaster (LOS ANGELES, CA) Nov 30, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a great rail shooting game. The graphics, sound and game play are truly excellent.

There are a couple of places where this game fails though which is why I gave it an 8. The controls are pretty good but kinda slow? I don't know if I can adjust this but the cursor seems to drag to where I want it to go ever so slightly. I use the NYKO pistol gun controller so it was a little strange reloading as you have to shake the nunchuck to reload. Also, I don't know why they did this but when playing 2 player you share ammo and health. If you're playing with someone who doesn't play video games much you'll probably wonder where your shotgun ammo went.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A very nice addition to the RE series

posted by Ninjalord (BIDWELL, OH) Nov 21, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Ok so this isnt the cream of the crop like RE 4 and 5 but its still very good. The Rails shooter is a nice turn of events and going back and getting the details between the details of the other games makes this very interesting. You still get lots of diffrent wepons as usual and you still heal with your spray and herbs gotta love them. Its also decently long seeing though as your in a rail you can only preceed as fast as you shoot. New enemies not including zombies, but zombie frogs, pirannas and multiple others this doesnt lack for fun and just like most rail shooters during certain sequences you have to press buttons like a or a and b to dodge. All in all i give it a 10 because i love RE, but if your not a serious fan i give it a 8.5 to a 9 because its still very good and it worth a play if not a but because it also has 2 players, yep 2 players like RE 5 you get to take another person with you and kill the virus together.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game, A little late playing it

posted by DHunter (MANTUA, OH) May 28, 2010

Member since May 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I've been playing Resident Evil since its start since 1998 and I will say its had its failures with the first person genre. From Survivor to Dead Aim. Chronicles was great the first time around with its story telling, but we have all heard these stories before if we have played through previous resident evils.
Darkside is a whole new monster though. The graphics are good for the wii and the aiming is pretty well too. I have to say the only downside is that its a wii game, and controls are nearly never perfect on the wii except for twilight princess and mario galaxy 2. Sometimes you just get frustrated that your pointed isnt on the screen when you're pointing it at the screen.
Getting off the controls for the wii, This game lies a great story, well, stories. Any resident evil fan will enjoy the story if you knew it before and there is one story in here you cannot get anywhere else and it fits in pretty nicely with the resident evil storyline. RE2 memories will come back and so will code veronica. The game runs short though. You can have a great time playing it but you'll be upset when to know its only about a mere 5-6 hours when looking for everything.
I liked it, great addition to the series and It is a great rent...buying would be your choice if you like shooters and definately play this game with a friend, it helps the expierence.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Just Pure Fun

posted by Virtuater (IRVINE, CA) Mar 25, 2010

Member since Nov 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Sure, the dialog is sometimes ridiculously corny, but who the h311 cares, right? It works for what it is: A very entertaining light gun game.

It's challenging, but well balanced. The gun upgrade system is an enticing reason to keep playing, as are the leader boards. If you have a good friend who likes to kill things with you, this will be a welcomed addition to your plans. Team work is necessary, and communication is helpful for intense situations.

Just a tip for those out there looking to perfect their shooting... For head shots, shoot for the hair, not the mouth. You have to aim higher than you might think. I usually miss 3-4 times before I get a head shot because I'm shooting over their head.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good game

posted by Mables (ESSEX JUNCTION, VT) Sep 21, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game was great i liked the zumbes and guns (etc) this was a awsame game thank you gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Exactly What I Expected

posted by damianrock (DULUTH, GA) Dec 1, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

First off, let me use proper grammar to describe this game, as most other reviewers cannot. The GRAPHICS are on par with any other Wii game. The game plays exactly like the previous Chronicles' system, with the exception that one cannot look an extra inch to the side.

If your not a fan of Resident Evil, then why are you reading this?
If you are a fan, rent it, as it tells extra story you could not get from the originals.

For those not familiar with the Chronicles series, it is essentially Time Crisis, without a ducking option. It is a "rail shooter," meaning, it is like watching an animated movie, in which your only interaction is shooting.

The mood is scary, the ammo is abundant, and cooperative playing is fun. A perfect rental!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Blue Gijjin

posted by neovengean (LOS ANGELES, CA) Aug 19, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is all about gun smoke, if you like letting them thangs fly this game is for you, the CG in this game is pretty good. Check it out, this game bloody enough for my taste.

Once again, game recap, any one who wants to ride this smoke wagon rent this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game

posted by ninja11347 (MANTECA, CA) Aug 3, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is just like umbrella chronicles but with more features if you have the umbrella chronicles dont buy this but if your planning on buying a resident evil game buy this one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

game reveiw

posted by bbenh808 (OCEAN VIEW, HI) May 15, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game was cool and the graphics were awsome! Its especially cool for the wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Shakey as the story !!!!!

posted by blaklagoon (FAIRVIEW, TN) Mar 20, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When i first saw this i was like "wow finally there gonna continue with the other resident evils". Boy i was in for a surprise that i found out not only im i getting headaches from the CRAZY movements, im getting them from the story to. Im not gonna tell anything to major but during the first part i was like ok im gonna get to here krausers and leons relation in the series, that was ok, but when you get to the PAST RE's thats where it gets wonky. see they got racoon city story all wrong. leon saves claire but its reversed, the RPD are dead but in this there still giving evac warnings?? marvin is in the wrong place when you find him and i notice why are claire and leon still together, they were separated in the original. when the trench coated tyrant comes AKA MR.X, leon calls it TRENCHY, really thats lol by me but nothin to cry about. every thing from there is OK, but i dont wanna spoil it. But at one part at the end leon tells sherry that her parents are dead, GOOD JOB LEON YOU ESCAPED ALL THAT WITH CLAIRE AND YOU TELL A 12 YEAR OLD HER PARENTS ARE DEAD BRAVO. as you expect the poor girl burst into tears MAN. When you get to veronica part. its better untill you meet ashford, personally i liked how they made him MORE of a man then the original girly voice. but anyway yet again claire and steve stay together which is wrong again. when alexia ashford awakes from stasis she kills alfred ashford, which wrong in the story again. im gonna skip most of the little things cuz i dont wanna spoil. just a hint the monster steve is wrong. but from there on its a mess to me. See i no you may be thinking what is wrong with this person why is he dissing this, or think im taking this game to seriously, or whatever reason. I completely understand, but im just saying as a hardcore RE fan i was really REALLY sad and angry at this and capcom. i loved the past games but this just makes me think they didnt even play em. Well whatever you think, just to say again this is just my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

RESIDENT EVIL!!!

posted by omegax9000 (TUCSON, AZ) Mar 1, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty good loved how they remade all of the old games and jammed them together. I hated some of the boss fights because they seemed far to easy, other than that I would recommend this game to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

just a regular rail shooter + resident evil

posted by marjval (COMMERCE, CA) Nov 28, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is just an average rail shooting game like Time Crisis or House of the Dead games. I wouldn't compare this to Time Crisis 4 though (what an atrocious game!) resident evil dark side chronicles is just like resident evil umbrella chronicles except or the fact that instead of playing the storyline of 0,1,3 and a bonus plot line u play the storyline of 2,code veronica and a bonus plot line. If u want to really compare it to re:uc then lets go ahead and do that. First off i notice while playing the game is that u cant move the camera side to side like in re:uc so if u missed getting a herb or first aid spray u got to hope that the camera comes back to that side of the area u r in. Storyline ik for a fact doesnt go with the previous games (re2 and code veronica) they had to of course shorten the length of it which i kinda hate cuz now i gotta go and buy re2 so actually get the whole story cuz ik for a fact leon and claire dont first meet up in the street that bogus.lol anyway back to the review if u havent played a rail shooter its basically holding up the wiimote (dont even need the wii zapper that thing is a waste of money) and pointing at a corresponding enemy and pressing the shoot button. The game is 2players so if u hav a friend who wants to play they can but the only draw back (very slight one) is that if ur current character that u picked say leon is in the cameras view that person cannot fire what so ever. only happens a few times and only for about a couple of seconds but its a kinda nick picking ik but re:uc doesn't have that problem. This is a good rentale for any resident evil fan and rail shooting fans the game isnt really difficult. Each Storyline is about 8 levels long so thats about 24 levels well keep ppl playing for a while. there is an online part of this game but its only for leaderboards kinda lame wish there was more to online support for the wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

BIG Disappointment

posted by Financial (ORLANDO, FL) Mar 9, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game was a big let down. I pretty much bought the Wii anticipating this title. Biggest waste of money. Graphics and audio are poor.Story is ok but the enjoyment factor is low.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Huh???

posted by jackspragg (SPRINGBORO, OH) Dec 15, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

OMG!

I am tired of Nintendo dropping its standards. With RE5 not available on the Wii, those of us not fortunate enough to own an XBOX or PS3 are left anxiously awaiting the next installment of RE with Leon from RE4.

THEY MADE IT LIKE HOUSE OF THE DEAD!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?

This is me contemplating throwing my Wii out the window.

For those of you not willing to allow the industry players to affect your interests and desires, put a hammer down on the market's checkout counters: go buy an XBOX and RE5, asap!

Nuff said.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

the worst light gun game I have EVER played

posted by threaldeal (ORLANDO, FL) Nov 28, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 15 gamers (13%) found this review helpful

maybe the only good thing about the release of the nintendo wii console was to find out just how far a company would sell out, these are some of the worst graphics I have ever seen, the most pointless, boring gameplay I have ever seen, even poor audio, couldn't they have even given a person a $1's worth out of the money they spent on this game. Capcom doesn't even deserve to be in business after what I have ALREADY seen of their releases this generation, more than a waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by randomstufffixe (EL PASO, TX) Feb 27, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

I hate these timed first shooters they annoy me. This one is no different. I like having some control over my person not the computer tellng me where to go sorry it sucked

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse