Rent Resident Evil Revelations for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Resident Evil Revelations

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $14.99

Also on:PS3, 3DS, Wii U
GF Rating
6.6

783 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

8/10

posted by ds0tm (CROSBY, TX) May 24, 2013

Member since May 2013

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Finally a Resident Evil that brings a that dark, frightening, claustrophobic environment that we love. The original duo, Chris & Jill are back at it! Limited herbs and ammo make this the most exciting RE in years. Controls are great as are the graphics. Raid mode is awesome! I believe the only reason i didn't rate this a 10 is because there are no zombies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Worthy Port

posted by Fobmuska (TUSTIN, CA) May 22, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This should have been RE 6...

Revelations takes the great parts of RE 5 and some of the original survival horror elements and combines them together like chocolate over strawberry's.

Controls are simple and familiar, no cluttered and confusing UI, So its really easy to just pick up and play.

The environments and sounds are remarkably eerie and haunting. This adds the "Horror" feel to the entire game. I truly felt terrified during the first few minutes of the game waiting for anything around the corner. After the first BOW encounter I began to realize the most important part of the game...

Survival. Yes folks, survival elements have returned but nothing like the original. The maps have multiple rooms to explore, some optional and some mandatory. Ammo and items can be scanned which adds a new element to the game. However Ammo is still limited and shooting every zombie in your path will have its consequences. Again nothing like the run and gun RE 6. Fans of the RE series will quickly point out the simple problem solving of pushing furniture, grabbing keys and key cards, finding emblems, limited ammo, reading notes and books to further enhance the main story.

All of the above make help make RE Revelations less linear and more traditional. However being a port from the "3DS" causes the graphics to suffer on the 360. This is no way takes away from the game play but had Revelations received a full console/pc development instead of a port then RE Revelations could have been an even greater title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome

posted by LIQUIDFX00 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) May 29, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is one of the best RE games to come out in a long time. I am one of the few that liked RE6, but I could also see why people didn't like it. RE:Revelations is a lot of fun and it plays like the old RE's of the past before RE4. The monsters are not zombies but weird looking type creatures. There are even frightening moments in the game and it can be a challange if you want it to. It does look like it is a little lacking graphics-wise, but it in no way affects gameplay. This is just a straight port with no additions hardly at all so if you played the 3DS version then pass this one up. If you haven't like me, then do yourselves a favor and rent it. I had a great time, though this is not an achievement hunters game, just letting you all know. the achievements are not hard to get per se but will take time. I got 100gs after I was finished. That was without trying to get them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Return to form and a solid port

posted by RE360 (SANTA ROSA, CA) Jun 2, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

First of all i was so disgusted by these idiotic reviews i just had to balance that out with some actual substance.

Essentially Revelations is what future Resident Evil games should be, it blends the slightly faster pace of RE 5 and 6 with survival elements of the classics.

While the production values aren't as spectacular as they could be you gotta remember this was originally a 3DS game, even saying that though the game looks great. Won't blow you away but its definitely not hard to look at. The delivery from some of the secondary characters can be a little wooden sometimes but as far as the main characters they are all interesting and the different approach at telling the story works to keep you guessing on certain plot points.

The actual game play is quite solid, gun play is responsive requiring and in most cases rewarding great aim with more damage/stun on enemies. Adding in custom weapon parts that can be found or earned off of certain enemies that add interesting tactics to certain weapons. The dodge mechanic is great, bringing back memories of RE 3. Its precise enough where when you don't dodge correctly its usually more your bad timing than it not functioning correctly and nothing gives that rush like dodging an instant death attack to keep on fighting and surviving.

The campaign mode is not CO-OP ( I wanted to slap whoever reviewed it negatively because they were to ignorant to find that out......basically anywhere). It can't be played in co-op and yet its perfect that way, as fun as it is to play with a friend survival horror is all about isolation no one to save you but yourself and how well you adapt to the game.

Raid mode is what you want for Co-op, its addicting fun leveling up and finding new weapons on each level(which are basically ripped from campaign so there you go if you wanted to experience that with a friend.) Gets a bit tedious around level 35 and up but by then you've had your fun and definitely money's worth.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Resident Evil 2013

posted by xpart123 (KANSAS CITY, MO) May 21, 2013

Member since Jun 2008

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

So far this game is awesome it is ten times better than Resident Evil 6.This game should give Capcom ides for the newer Resident evil games.And raid mode is a lot better than Resident Evil 6 mercenaries.Although I would loved to have seen a cover system in this one maybe next game.I hope the dlc in this game will be awesome i played and love the demo. I hope to see a harder version come out for the dlc and newer characters with there own stories and different weapons and gadgets.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Back to the Basics

posted by TheOriginalAndy (JOHNSTON, IA) May 31, 2013

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's the scary Resident Evil People have been waiting for for so long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Worth it to play if you like RE games

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Jun 25, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Revelations is probably better than a lot of the recent RE games released, especially that hot terd RE6 game. It features a solid story (even though I find all RE stories impossible to follow and watch a million cut scenes), a very long single player campaign, and a deep co-op online RAID mode for grinding levels and customizing your characters.

The 1-player campaign took a very long time to complete, and it had the great feel of a survival horror game I'd expect in RE. I felt the claustrophobic level design, and appreciated the scare tactics with enemies and intense sound. It was just difficult enough to where I was scavenging for ammo, sometimes having to run away, and where you'd die multiple times to figure out the best way to complete parts of the campaign. 2 things I hated were the brutally slow and useless strafe and lack of any evade button, and also the HORRID map display in the pause menu that does nothing but confuse you.

My favorite part of Revelations was the other RAID mode. This is a solo, co-op, or online 2-player co-op mode where you try to survive small sections of the actual campaign. The levels are broken up, and you compete for points, XP, score, finding new loot to upgrade, and play to level up your RAID mode character. You can find hidden objects, and acquire all types of crummy to rare guns and perks to apply to your guy. They are also rated by letter based upon your performance.

These RAID mode levels are only unlocked once you've beaten sections of the campaign. They are identical to the campaign design, which was a little disheartening to see a lack of new level design.

Overall it's better than Raccoon City and RE6 (excluding RC's online MP modes), but not as good as RE5 of course. I'd like to see RE return to that format, one that allows for tons of replay value. RE fans should definitely check out Revelations regardless.

Milt Drucker
-gamertag-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Deserves an 8

posted by Andrew14 (PICKERINGTON, OH) Jun 2, 2013

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I really don't know why the rating is a 6.7.

Yea the game isn't great, it has a very good story and brings back the old style gameplay that Resident Evil 4 and the early ones had. Not the new terrible control scheme and character movement that gets rid of the horror feel that resident evil 5 and 6 had.

The only real thing I have to say is bad, is you're mainly on a ship for most of the game and you
backtrack and the scanning thing can be annoying, but other than that a decent game that deserves a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointment...all around.

posted by ConcernedGamer (BELLINGHAM, WA) Jun 24, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Felt like a step back 5 years in gaming. Movement and control is not fluid, fighting/gun-play is boring. A bunch of running around and no pay off. I returned the game the same day i got it. Just not up to modern standards. Go play Bioshock Infinite and thank me later ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sucks.

posted by motleyfellow (NATCHITOCHES, LA) May 28, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

3 out of 12 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Sucks. A barely passable PSP port with bad design choices.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

BAD

posted by SlipKnot34 (LANCASTER, TX) May 24, 2013

Member since Jun 2008

4 out of 17 gamers (24%) found this review helpful

This is a sad attempt at a Resident Evil Game. The graphics are something you would see in PS2 or 1st XBOX. This should have been done with a better engine. The voice over are sad. What a waste of an awesome franchise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

RE 5 still better

posted by shidowdawg (PORTAGE, IN) May 24, 2013

Member since Jul 2004

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

controls are not as responsively tight as RE5, graphic are ok; but to be honest, I just was not feeling this weak story line and lost interest in the game all together.......... next.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Terrible....

posted by a22shady (RIVERSIDE, NJ) May 23, 2013

Member since Aug 2009

4 out of 19 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

This is by far the worst Resident Evil game I have ever played. It is extremely boring and dull game. Missions are about 20 seconds long. You can not play co-op in campaign which really sucks and is stupid since there are two people. The only thing I saw about weapons is doing the so called "Raid" mode which is multiplayer but you can only play levels that you have done in campaign solo first. And it seems most things are done through campaign. Also there is no buying/upgrading or anything that I have yet seen in the single player missions only at the raid section.

Bottom line save your time and money get something else. I stupidly went out and bought this game what a disaster and waste of money but was in a hurry to play with friend who already purchased game only to find out there is no campaign co-op

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better then resident evil 6

posted by SHAKEandBAKE09 (LIVERMORE, CA) Jun 5, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game played like resident evil 1&2, low ammo and alot of enemys, short but fun campaign, was better then resident evil 6

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

pure garbage

posted by Anarquia10 (ROCHESTER, NY) May 28, 2013

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

plays like the old Resident Evil game, it's silly predictable slow. PURE GARBAGE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

boring and klunky

posted by SimianRage (FISHERS, IN) Jun 3, 2013

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I've enjoyed most RE games, but this one just went on and on with a boring story and controls weren't good even be RE standards.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Can you say hard

posted by silentdark22 (HOLLAND PATENT, NY) Aug 2, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

I got to the first boss (Comm Officer) does not die whatsoever you try to do to him. Granades, Shotgun upgraded 20% damage. Physical attacks when staggered, gas Canisters. NOTHING kills it. I tried and tried... If the sheer amount of ammunition the thing eats to the face isnt bad enough the guys got a one hit KO. If that wasent enough he summons a million and one stupid BOWs. After dieing over and over on the first boss and getting frustrated the game found a home in the sleeve it came shipped in back into the mail box the same day I got the game.
I honestly don't know how anyone beat it or why this game got good reviews. Mediocure graphics, Glitchy at times. Overall disappointed. I thank a service like Gamefly because I would have been upset if I purchased this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

As A RE Fan, 1.5/5

posted by xXLilxMafiaXx (CHICAGO, IL) Feb 19, 2014

Member since Sep 2012

a few things to point out, no zombies, just a bunch of B.O.W.s, not much of a challenge as of RE's are, beat the game lil over 5 and a half hours. overall wasn't a bad game. ive give it 1.5/5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't bother with it.

posted by HeadHouseSlave (OCEAN SPRINGS, MS) Oct 16, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

First, I will Prasie the game solely for bringing back the slow paced, puzzle solving and combat system from Re4. Thats it. Personally, I did not like this and will go out of my way to say RE6 is better. Which it is. I understand this is a port, but It felt like the controls where a bit difficult to use. I had moments where I would use the knife instead of fire my weapon for example. Theres no run button, which means I spent the entire game briskly running away from bad guys. The bosses were very difficult, especially the final boss. They included the 'dodge ability in the game, yet whenever I tried to dodge something, I wouldnt. When I first played, I made it all the way to chapter 12 without dying(going for the no deaths achievement) but once I got to the final boss, I was done for. Combining the clunky controls with a near impossible boss was so frustating I just gave up. I spent hours using different tactics, but due to the horrible controls I was tired of wasting time and just sent it back. I am a huge Resident Evil fan, but in my experience... I dont think I would recomend this game to another fan. It was an interesting story though, and thats about all the good I am ever going to say about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

dissappiontment

posted by 11pbauza (RODEO, CA) Oct 6, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

resident was known for co-op that what made this game fun you needed team work this game is just a let down

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun

posted by Tatatijo (TAMPA, FL) Aug 27, 2013

Member since Feb 2008

Had a good time with this game. Played solo, had no idea it had coop. It would have been fun in coop.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Glad i rented

posted by DirtShark (DAYTON, OH) Aug 19, 2013

Member since May 2011

I was severely disappointed (disappointed is an understatement) to find that you cannot Co-op the campaign on this game even though the game states it has co-op. it has a raid mode where you fight enemies of varying difficulty but no co-op of the campaign. Lame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A return to form with Resident Evil:Revelations

posted by ColeCreek (KREAMER, PA) Aug 17, 2013

Member since Feb 2010

I was suprised at how good this title was, considering it was a port from a 3ds game, and also given the trend for the last Resident Evil games to shy away from it's survival horror roots in favor of a more typical 3rd person action game. Now don't get me wrong, I actually enjoyed both 5 and 6 but this game really feels like the older titles like the originals and Code Veronica. Surival horror at it's best. You have to scour the game for ammo, items to upgrade your weapons, and green herbs to heal you. Resident Evil created the whole genre which uses tense music and scare tactics to create a tension that is fun and thrilling, and a true survival horror fan knows that the tension created by not being sure if you have enough ammo or items to get you to your goal adds to the overall feeling of unease. Graphically the game looks great for being a port, other than the overall animations and things are typical of a 3ds or handheld title. Revelations also has great moody synth music that is reminicent of the older titles. Also I have to mention Infernal mode which to be honest coming from a player who has finished Dark Souls on new game plus and who plays games on the hardest difficulity settings, was brutally difficult from the get go and I opted for normal which is very rare for me. I have writted reviews from time to time here and I thought I would share with other hardcore gamers who might pass this by given that is a port of a handheld title and how the other RE titles lately have been trending away from survival horror to try this out. Peace

gamertag FalloutNewVegaz

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Okay

posted by kck5426 (CHICAGO, IL) Jul 22, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

I thought this resident evil was a descent game play. It was nothing like Resident Evil 6 which I believed had so much more to offer as far as gameplay and graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Garbage!

posted by James8668 (PLANT CITY, FL) Jul 8, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

Absolute Garbage!

Graphics = Garbage!
GamePlay = Garbage!
Story = Garbage!

Who ever gave the green light on this game should be FIRED!

What has happen to RE? I'm a true hardcore fan, and played every RE game every created, and this one is by far the worst one I've ever played!

RE 6 on the other hand was GREAT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse