Rent Resident Evil Revelations for PS3
view large frontback

Resident Evil Revelations

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:3DS, Wii U, Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.9

659 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Better than expexted.

posted by BlaketheReaper (GATE CITY, VA) May 23, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

After that nightmare Opperation Racoon City I didn't have to high of expetations but it surpassed them, they kind of took a play out of TT's Walking Dead and made it where after each chapter it does a last time on Resident Evil Revelations which is kind of cool but some people wont like this because this game does have a LOT of cut scenes it's like a movie within a game, another cool thing is you play in a lot of locations you haven't before like mainly on a boat but you also play in other areas (beach, snow.etc...), a con is it's fairly short but packed with trophies(trophies is a plus for all you hunters out there) I gave this game a 7.5/10 even though it surpassed my expetations it could have been better I suggest putting it in your Q and giving it a try before buying.

Story-Descent typical RE story but like I said it's as much story and cut scenes as gameplay.

Controls-Same as the others

Graphics-Good but not great

Sound-Good

World-Amazing

Gameplay-Fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid Resident Evil

posted by Metoo999 (NEW YORK, NY) May 30, 2013

Member since Aug 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is closer in feel to RE4 & 5 in terms of action, but more of the PS1 titles in atmosphere. Most of the game takes place on a ship, which is a good thing for continuity of levels, not like disparate chapters like in RE5 & 6.

Cons: Hit detection was poor and inconsistent. A primary tactic is to stagger the enemy so they slump over, then do a charged melee for maximum damage. You have to shoot one hand and then the other. Sometimes this just doesn't work even though you're hitting the right areas. You end up wasting bullets, which are scarce.

Other times the game won't register a headshot even though you clearly got it. It's most obvious in Raid mode when you can see damage numbers popping up.

This is especially infuriating on boss fights (bulletsponges) and harder Raid levels. You might often end up without any ammo, running around slashing your knife for 10 minutes like an idiot.

Aiming itself can be kind of iffy. It feels too slow and unresponsive even at the highest setting. It doesn't help that they took out the sight laser that was in the 3DS version.

Graphics and sound are generally good especially considering it's a 3DS port. Not on the level of any PS3 game, it looks like a higher res PS2/Gamecube game.

The story is kind of interesting, but it jumps around too much with too many playable characters, especially with two comic relief guys who could have been cut out. There is some backtracking, but it is nothing too daunting. I was hoping to see more outside areas of the ship, but you're stuck inside a lot.

If you're looking for an older-style RE itch, this is it. It's not perfect though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not worth it

posted by cannedi (LAS VEGAS, NV) Aug 24, 2013

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The storyline does not compel you to finish,it was rather predictable. Its something between a a cliche detective story and a slow adventure. Actual gameplay is rather dull, weapons have little impact on creatures that don't pose a real threat (you can use a table as a shield at almost every encounter). The "monsters" were laughable at some points, some looked like puffy tongues and all moved at incredible slow speeds. The graphics were not horrible, they were unnoticeable. Altogether this resident evil could have been successful a few years ago but it does not compete with today's games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the Return of Resident Evil

posted by zzetagundam (HOUSTON, TX) May 28, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Simply put, the game brings back the suspenseful atmosphere as RE4 and then some. Overall great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

At this point change the franhcise or can it.

posted by Chessfu (PORTAGE, IN) May 29, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2005

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Let me first state, RESIDENT EVIL is always going to have a place in my heart. RE1 was the 1st video game I had ever play back on PS1.

But enough is enough! Tired of the same boring game format. Example your main characters know they face B.O.Ws. So why would THEY start game with a puny 9mm?

RE has not been worth buying in over a decade. Including the two titles which I bought in the last two.

RESIDENT EVIL used to be about survival HORROR. Not TEAM PLAY, NOT LEADER BOARDS. SURVIVE or DIE. Now there's too much that's not important to the game experience. I feel that RESIDENT EVIL is no longer a great title to waste $$ on buying.

My PROS are as followed.
1) 3rd person shooter- BEST TYPE OF GAME!
2) assortment of characters to kill
3) like playing a 3D movie.
4) Your AI sidekick doesn't get kill or get you kill

My CONS are as followed
A) Not enough health. On cruise ship. Why no vending machines with health?
B) Constant puzzles is beyond interesting at this point.
Useless to have them unless you just want to appeal to pre teens.
C) NO GPS to guide you though the decks.
D) Monster re-spawn in areas already cleared.
E) Health and Ammo do not. Why?
F) No manual save points. If you die before game saves for you. Must re complete same area.
G) If AI sidekick doesn't get kill or heal you.
Why is it needed?

The programmers of Resident Evil needs to make up their minds once and for all. Is their product for TEENS or a MATURE AUDIENCE? Come up with a role playing game revolving around their LIVE ACTION MOVIES. Not just one section or world has B.O.W.s. But entire planet. Then and only then launch a RESIDENT EVIL in the same fashion as FALLOUT 3.

These pre teen version of this once GREAT and once upon of time scary game. Are sad. Not since RESIDENT EVIL 4 &5 has it been worth owning.

This RESIDENT EVIL's hands down more enjoyable than the last two. But in reality that's not saying much.
Right now THE WALKING DEAD

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

10/10 Diamond Game

posted by RealGamerNewz (DRACUT, MA) May 28, 2013

Member since May 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

My RGN Rating for this game is 10/10 Diamond Game. It's the ideal Resident Evil experience perfectly mixing modern action elements with the classic survival horror gameplay that made the franchise so great and unique in the first place.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

RESIDIDENT EVIL

posted by Skypeee16 (HUNTINGTON PARK, CA) May 24, 2013

Member since May 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

GREAT GAME ! The expierence is super good . It's like your playing a movie , and it plots in one main place not like other games witch makes it seem more realistic

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by onefalseproffet (GRANADA HILLS, CA) May 25, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

1 out of 14 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

This game is terrible. I received it on Wednesday, played for about 4 hours, then sent it back Thursday. The story line is stupid. The camera controls are frustrating, and the overall experience of the game is weak.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

6.7 A Revelation of Good or Bad?

posted by SlaughterFox13 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jun 8, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Capcom's next game, after the...Let's just say "sub-par" games of Resident Evil 6 and Raccoon City. This game sets you as Jill Valentine (mostly...). As you cover the secrets hidden away on an abandoned ship lost at sea.

Some key elements to this game I saw is that it was a MAJOR step in the right direction for Capcom. This game has good atmosphere and chilling settings to play from. They brought back the In-Game inventory box thingy! I heard that was in them original RE games and I found it quite handy. Character designs were very well done with some creepy looking enemies. The level design was one of my favorite things, reminding me of Dead Space! The game played smoothly with beautiful cut-scenes. Then why am I giving this above average?

The thing is, old games were meant to simply pass the time and had no key story to focus on, at least it was for me (never really played much games when I was young). This game gets TOUGH after a while and instead of having fun, researching and running from these creatures, you start you start to get frustrated. Boss battles are ridiculous! I died countless times not knowing whether to shoot whatever was coming at me, or lead it to some spot where I can get a vantage point. Yeah I know, I suck at games, have not heard that before but there is a difference from killing something with skill and relieved that it is dead and being completely frustrated with it. The story was so cliche, I already knew what was going on throughout the game. NPC mapping to the enemies would break, having them not attack. I would get upset over enemies I'd sometimes just ditch them altogether. My partner...Worst of all would always be useless! Enemies would flat out ignore them to come after me. Side characters were annoying, aside from Jill and Chris, I didn't want to play or even listen to anyone else.

All and all, it was a good game, don't get me wrong. Just not my style. Definitely give it a rent and buy it if you enjoyed. Hope this helped.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game i have played in awhile

posted by cwoolard5 (WADESVILLE, IN) May 30, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

Title says it all. Played for about 20 minutes. Game is just horrible. cut scene city

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

same old bullcrap

posted by abram170 (BROWNSVILLE, TX) Apr 21, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Good: atmosphere
Bad: Same bio-terrorist plot that is too familiar. dialogue and characters are cartoonish. Controls are sluggish.
WORST OF ALL: the final boss is a huge departure from what you had been doing throughout the game. too much trial and error because of cheap hits and constantly moving around.Hated it!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Resident Evil "Resurrection"

posted by Godzill (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Apr 10, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Game rocks,! Lot's of Action :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by juggaloforlife2 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Feb 18, 2014

Member since Jun 2012

I love this game. I've played every RE title. Honestly this game does confuse me a bit considering it goes against the original story line how ever I do love it. The controls are like the recent RE games easy to play and move around along with shooting wise but it also reminds me of the original RE games where it has a lot of strategizing and thinking in order to move forward in the game along with going back to places you've been quite a bit of times only to find things you didn't notice before or unlocking a new room you weren't able to until now. Of course its not as great as the first RE but it is a great game and I recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

LOVE!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Jewlez (BRUNSWICK, GA) Feb 3, 2014

Member since Mar 2013

I am a huge fan of the whole series!!! I love everything about this game, the game play is very easy to learn, the game itself is stunning, and man does it throw you around. the plot is thick with deception and its up to you to figure it out!! I also love how it switches between characters and gives a whole new outlook on our favorites!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

alright

posted by zombiefan (QUINCY, FL) Jan 13, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

really easy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Progress, but a ways to go

posted by chargerbrett (PIQUA, OH) Sep 6, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

Resident Evil games have come a long way over time and that's saying the same about this one. Good story line. Not a big fan of the shooting aspect of the game however. The enemies are very strong and the weaponry just doesn't pose much of a threat and still takes to long to pull up and aim. By the time you gain some distance between you and the target then turn around to pull up your weapon they are already back on you. I wish that there was a way to fire without having to aim down the sights. I didn't even finish the game because it started to get to frustrating at parts. I would say if you enjoy these games it's worth the rent. If your good at them then worth the buy. However, I just don't feel this game hits enough positives for my liking.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ai is slow and lame

posted by ksambad (SANTA ROSA, CA) Aug 23, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

ai is not very good in this one, that was a turn off and the story was lame and unentertaining, had to finish and was disappointed. im a RE fan my the original days and i feel like everything after 4 has just sucked..... they need to copy dead space movement and gameplay and get back to there orginal story lines.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sent back after 10 minutes

posted by blaze1620 (CONWAY, AR) Aug 15, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

This game would've been good a few years ago, but the gameplay and graphics are outdated. Maybe it gets its good reviews from The Japanese speaking market or die-hard RE fans. I rarely send a game straight back but this one was a flop for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Resident Evil Title Ever

posted by Greywolf_HTAC (FORT HOOD, TX) Aug 3, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

Not even sure what they were shooting for. It was so bad in my opinion I turned it off in the first ten minutes, removed from my PS3 and sent it back to Gamefly. Would give it a zero but Gamefly will not let me. Just think of the 1 as a negative one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not fun/cheesy

posted by temak82 (SCHENECTADY, NY) Jun 28, 2013

Member since Aug 2007

I don't understand how so many people gave this game anything higher than a 5. It truly boggles my mind. This game was truly terrible in almost all aspects.

Cons:
- Graphics are very poor and all characters feel stiff.
- Voice acting and dialogue is moronic. They talk in monotone and just say very very cheesy things over and over again.
- No run button, strafe extremely slow and not useful. If it was me on that ship, I'd hurry up a bit if there is a huge deformity following me.
- Aiming is poor and slow. While sniper rifle is powerful, it takes forever to get into the zoom mode, so it's not useful in most fights.
- Dodging is very poorly executed, especially when the camera angles are taken into account. You can't see where the enemy is and you have to try and blindly dodge their attack, which is next to impossible most of the time.

Pros:
- Story was ok, the only reason I actually got to the end, and because there are no other good games out now that I have not played.
- Health items/ammo is in decent supply, did not have a problem with that.

I played this right after Last Of Us, which is one of the best games I have played in a very long time, so perhaps that also soured this game, but truly, this game could have been so much more.

A huge disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Slow roller

posted by TheWarOwl (NOVATO, CA) Jun 12, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

Lost my interest as soon as you get passed the first couple sequences, all of a sudden your put in a weird house with locked doors and ghey monsters jumping out of tables and no real objective, I dont like having to worry about back tracking in a game and then realizing I wasted a bunch of time by going back. Just did not have the patience for this game as the other ones have been such let downs, except for the original, wonderful first one a true classic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Please continue this way

posted by BEN_JI (MIDLOTHIAN, VA) Jun 3, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

Capcom, I lost all hope after RE6. This was absolutley refreshing.

Please continue to Scare the player rather than overwhelm them with enemies.

I loved the intertangled stories, but I wish it had done more to create that atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Better than RE 6 but not quite there...

posted by Swerve (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jun 2, 2013

Member since Apr 2009

This game was fun and good for a gamefly rental and to be honest after playing RE 6 and Racoon City this game tops those 2. All in all it still falls short of a GREAT RE experience. My only question is this... Why can't the developers of RE recreate the same gameplay and feel of RE 4, which was by far the best RE game to date. I have been a huge fan of the RE series since RE 1 but to be honest the best game of the franchise was RE 4 by far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Back to clasic RE

posted by florin Jun 1, 2013

this game born on RE 4 and RE5 with modern story, Good job CAPCOM

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not all that

posted by RawTalenTx704 (DENVER, NC) May 31, 2013

Member since May 2013

To sum it up Boring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse