Rent Resident Evil Revelations for 3DS
view large frontback

Resident Evil Revelations

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, Wii U, PS3
GF Rating
8.3

816 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best Resident Evil games ever!

posted by kewldom82 (LANCASTER, CA) Jul 30, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

This game is one of the best Resident Evil games i've ever played. It was scary, and action packed. They dont give you much ammo so you have to conserve it, the enemies are scary, and this is just a great Resident Evil game. This game brings back survival horror for the Resident Evil franchise, if you like survival horror or let alone Resident Evil, you'll love this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Scarier without Circle Pad Pro...

posted by Syco1316 (ANNISTON, AL) Jul 17, 2012

Member since Feb 2008

BUT with the Circle Pad Pro it actually controls WAY better than RE5! The story and Graphics are on par with the RE5 or RE4. the 3D in this game is awesome and helps the gameplay too. Play this game with a good pair of headphones and you will get the best Audio a RE game has had in a long time! MUST BUY! If you have a 3DS this must be in your top 5 games!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Must play 3DS game

posted by bradleyyo (MIAMI, FL) Jun 12, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Adaptable controls. Great Story. Online is cool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Shooter on a 3DS!

posted by Jman121 (SALEM, OR) Jun 1, 2012

Member since May 2012

Really fun game and great for teens who love shooters, espicially on the go. Get this game and you'll
love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Revelations on Revelations

posted by KaterinaKamina (PRAIRIE LEA, TX) May 30, 2012

Member since May 2012

I found this game first on the Nintendo EShop option as a Demo and started playing it almost immediately after I downloaded it. Now... I must admit. I got very scared playing this game. From the first B.O.W that I saw to the B.O.W Blobs on the beach that tried to kill me in the flashback scene. I won't give too much away, as that would ruin the game for any who haven't played. But this game was immensely wonderful. The environments were certainly immersive and I was captivated instantly. The darkness levels in certain areas made things very unexpected. And, honestly, when I was expecting something to happen here, it happened THERE instead, and I was very shocked, and scared. This game in entirely worth playing for those of you who want a good scare. And for those of you who aren't scared easily, the storyline is just as immersive and wonderful as the environments and characters within. But, as always, the best way to see, is to see for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent game.

posted by xSnake (BROOKLYN, NY) Mar 8, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Very good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

revolutions

posted by jeremyrice827 (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) Feb 12, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

get ready this game is about adventure,the truth,and lies. man i got really excited when i got it turned that bad boy on and i saw the graghics wow talk about improvement made me feel like i was playin it on ps3
ya controls good weapons okay storyline great my review i recomend thisgame for anyone that likes horror commedy and adventure

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A must own.

posted by Biscutbob (GRAND FORKS AFB, ND) Feb 8, 2012

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is my favorite 3DS game! The controls are very good and I don't even have the extra circle pad. Feels like I am playing a ps3 or Xbox game and the graphics are really good; plus I feel like this is one of the only games I play with the 3D on all the time. The 3D really is an asset to the game rather than a gimmick. It lets you play online co op after you beat the game in something called raid mode. I would definitely rent this game and then keep it!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best 3ds game out there!!

posted by FireBoost06 (BRONX, NY) Feb 6, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I have played with Resident Evil Revelation for one day and i just love it. This game has the best 3ds game graphics to date. I absolutely love this game and the 3d feature is a plus because it adds a whole new level to play Resident Evil. I am amaze by this game so far!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

very very good

posted by treywar25 (FREMONT, OH) Jun 7, 2013

Member since May 2013

the game has excellent visuals and was fun but i got stuck a few hours into it....so i just decided to send it back instead of looking up a walkthrough but i like the game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Like first Resident Evil

posted by Niantha (POWAY, CA) Nov 26, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

I've been waiting for a Resident Evil to come out that wasn't a first person shooter. This game is like the original Resident Evil. Very enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

RE:R Review

posted by iSebastianA (DALLAS, TX) Jul 18, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

This game is great even though it has its small shares of slight annoyines, but overall I had a great experiences. The story, although a bit hard to follow since it keeps you in the dark for most of the time until the end, was well thought out and interesting. The combat was like none other on the 3DS at the time of this review. The tense enviroment and action sequences are challenging and fun, dispite some difficult encounters such as the last boss. But then again it was the last boss so it made sense. The puzzles were more for children since they didn't really offer any challenge what so ever though. The bonus modes unlocked at the end were a ton of fun and actually more fun than the actual story mode, adding a lot of replay value. The only bad part was the lack of people playing this game online so I was not able to try out the online mode. This game has a ton of unlockables and great replay value. I almost didn't want to send it back to GameFly. I hope Capcon's next 3DS installment is just as great as this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

best 3ds game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by acevejm (MILWAUKEE, WI) Apr 29, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

this game was really fun and i think this game kind of scared me. It makes you go in cramp places where the abyss virus just swarms you(NOTE: abyss is the new virus).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing!

posted by Grip6390 (ALSIP, IL) Apr 27, 2012

Member since Nov 2009

It has been a real long time since I played a Resident Evil game that had a moderate to decent horror element glad to see the subtle additions of being able to walk and shoot and avoid attacks not kill the experience would highly recommend this for any true fan of Resident Evil!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Game on the 3DS as of March 2012

posted by pswilliams986 (ROCKY POINT, NC) Mar 12, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

This is what I've been waiting for, a cinematic video game on the DS. Mario and Pokemon are great, but having a game with fully animated cut scenes is a nice change of pace. This game really shows what the 3DS is capable of. It makes me hopeful for future 3DS games.

Story:
Decent for Resident Evil, delivered amazingly for a DS game. The characters are kind of bland but that's Resident Evil in general, not specific to this game.

Gameplay:
I felt like I was playing a mix Resident Evil 4 and the older Resident Evils. This game matches the newer action game style with the survival horror style of the old games. RE4 didn't win game of the year for no reason and this game is just as fun. The impressive visuals make the game lag on high action moments so I knocked a point off for that. It won't actually freeze during combat, but I've had the game slow down real bad when my character was going down a rickety elevator more than once. Its nit a game breaker by any means, but it is annoying.

Visuals:
These are the best visuals I've seen on a hand held. They are as good as a decent PS3 or Xbox 360 game.

This game is good enough to sell the 3DS by itself. With this game, Kid Icarus, and Kingdom Hearts on the way the 3DS may end up with a better library of games than the DS. A cinematic Pokemon game would be amazing. Nintendo promised to dish out more third party games with the Wii U and already has games like Batman Arkham City, Darksiders 2, Ninja Gaiden 3 and Assassins Creed III lined up for release. It seems like they may be taking this route with the 3DS as well. Let's hope so. To support them in this I went out and bought this game at full price rather than waiting to get it used like I usually do. Games like this should be supported to show Nintendo we want more games like this on their consoles and handhelds.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A nicely made game for 3DS

posted by Norsean (EVANSTON, IL) Mar 6, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

During the first year of 3DS life cycle, there are few games made for a mature audience, and not many of them are well made, however this is the best of its category so far. You have to give the admiration to Capcom for their ability to create such a good looking and fun game while facing the challenges posted by the crippled 3DS graphics card. The quality of the character modeling can be even compared to early games on Xbox 360. The female characters looks really attractive with their shinning a-ss in sexy leather suits.

The campaign game is not very long, at only roughtly 12 hours. However it is nicely paced and well divided into12 episodes, which are suited on the go. At the begining of each episode the game will kindly remind of you what happened previously. The game automatically saves as you progress to new locations.

The plot is not at one of the seire's best. But the CG cut scenes are well made and a joy to watch in 3D.

The games mechanics are faithful to the roots of the series origins which creates a constant tense and pressure. You will find your self saving bullets and trying to hit the target with more accuracy.

In short, you will have a very rewarding thrilling experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A wonderful installment in the series.

posted by dgolightly519 (PRESTON, ID) Feb 26, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The Good

Graphically speaking this game is not the best Resident Evil ever. The 3DS is certainly not the Xbox or the Playstation, but you won't get this story on either of those systems either.
There was a lot of hype around this game when it was announced. This left a lot to be expected when the game finally came out, but the weapons, graphics, sound quality, story-line, and other features meet those expectations head on. It is difficult to review the game without giving away too much.

The Bad

There is not a lot bad about this game, though the controls will certainly throw some off, unless they have played Resident Evil 4 for Wii. Firing is a two button process. First to aim and then to shoot. The challenge may prove too much for some (they'll call it bad controls, I'll call it sucking at adapting).

The Ugly

There are also several points at which the enemies become somewhat repetitive, enemies fall through things instead of over them, and online play is not the best (comprised mostly of running straight through a level killing generic enemies with basic weaponry and a partner... with multiple people, online could have been made more complex/better in general). None of this really takes away from the game too much. It is a solid 9.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It's back and on the 3DS.

posted by GreedSama (WESTLAND, MI) Feb 6, 2012

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game take place before RE5 and goes into the early careers of Jill & Chris in the BSAA.The game also follow other BSAA agents. With this said you will be moving around a lot as you play other characters. Moving you from a ship all the way to some snowy mountains and into the past to get some backstory on the characters and events.Sadly the story in this game is not that great.

The Controls are good and not much have change since the The Mercenaries game. You no longer have to put your gun away now you can equip a knife or grenade and just them by hitting X.

The Gameplay really goes back to series old roots. Sometimes it just best to run because a boss fight can happen anywhere and any enemy can and will come after you.Also it's up to you to find new guns most of the times.They do bring back the power to upgrade your guns.Touch screen will be used in puzzles and inventory management.

Raid Mode:Is this year mercenaries mode and it a mode that I hope to see in RE6. The raid mode have over 21 levels that you can play offline and co-op. During these level you will unlock,earn,buy new weapons. The weapons will be godlike and so will the enemies that you encounter.Due to fact that just get stronger and stronger as you play and you play on a higher difficultly.

Overall This is a amazing game it all the good things from the series put into the one game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Another Great Resident Evil With Minor setbacks

posted by MikePet (CAMERON PARK, CA) Jul 18, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Let Me start off by saying that this is a great Addition to the Resident Evil Series, it stays true to the series in terms of game play and adds a new chapter style that works perfectly for the 3ds.

The game looks visually awesome, with fluid animations and smooth frame rate through out most of the game. The Graphics are strong with great lighting and color effects, with the only downfall being the monsters which are all the same color, grey. Some stuttering mostly through the scenes where the game transitions maps, and loading times are somewhat long.

Revelations has a very robust music track that sometimes over samples and becomes distorted on the 3ds hardware. I have never noticed this on other games, however no other game has come even close to being as loud.

The game will take about 10-11 hours to get through and you will enjoy every minute. the multi-player (which is essentially a co-op version of single player) is online and makes very good use of these capabilities, allowing for Leveling up similar to what were used to in this generation of games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

FUN FUN FUN

posted by Carl55 (CONCORD, CA) Jul 9, 2012

Member since Jan 2005

this is a fun and a bad as game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Back to the Roots

posted by MCstorm (NEW CITY, NY) Apr 4, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

Resident Evil revelations is a great new installment to the series. This takes Resident evil back to it's survival horror roots. As always the story of the game is fantastic. The ship that Jill and Parker are on known as the queen zenobia is incredibly Erie. This just adds more to the horror feel of the game. Also returning from the old games are limited supply's. That means limited ammunition and health items so use them sparingly. The voice overs as always are less then impressive just being really dull and not helping with the feel of the game at all. The 3D aspect of the game was minimal and by that I mean they used it for subtitles ,and when you pick up an item. the aiming can also be done in either first ,or third person you can change this in the options menu to suit your preference. The graphics are also very nice to look at. If you're Fan of either the resident evil series or survival horrors then rent this game. trust me its worth it. I give this game an 8 out of 10 becuase although it's good it has some flaws. For instance you move like a tank and it takes forever to get from place to place. The load time for loading a new area can range from 15 -60 seconds, and the voice acting as I said before is just plain bad. Though this is my personal opinion , so keep in mind these flaws may not bother you as much as it id to me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Interesting...

posted by rpgfan72 (ATLANTA, GA) Feb 12, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game has that beautifully crafted Resident Evil look. Interesting story line that gets a little muddy towards the end but the story is also a problem. A welcome addition to the portable handheld yet the episodic presentation takes you out of the action and slows down game play to recap and go back and forth in the story line. It seems that the Resident Evil has gotten faster in its round type game play but what this player misses are the puzzles that were unique to the first three games and Code Veronica. The 3D doesn't do anything to really impress but the game is fun but more movie than actual game. It is also kind of short. Outside of Mercenaries this is a sign of better things to come.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A great mobile game with ups and downs.

posted by Vector48 (NEW YORK, NY) Jan 26, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Overall, Resident Evil: Revelations boast several triumphs, being a great display of the 3DS' capabilities, the game is worthy of it's upcoming console release. However, some downfalls means there is leeway as to how much you would enjoy the game. Please read my review and disregard the score.

THE GOOD: Revelations' wowing potential is instant. Boasting true "Survival Horror" gameplay, the game's great ship location offers dark corridors and beautiful sights. While the culprits are not the typical undead this time, rest assured that ooze zombies will keep you on your toes. They bear an aptitude for grotesque mannerisms and sudden appearances. The games best feat is the amazing soundtrack, along with other important sounds, you'll want to hear this mobile masterpiece.

THE GREY AREA: Revelations employs the series' long used chapter system. On one side this benefits the game being handheld, plentiful save points and chapter endings help short game sessions. On the other hand, chapters harm exploration, and the developers use it as an excuse to avoid the ship area. You'll be constantly zooming away from the horror bits for episodic gun-happy levels, and by the second half, the game is more action than horror. A tense last level also doesn't help the game's real problem...

THE BAD: Suffice to say, this isn't Shakespeare(though the game loves Dante). While the story starts nice and mysterious, things go downhill after the plot thickens. The game develops a cliche action movie plot regarding the BSAA, a rival anti-Bio terrorist organization, and long thwarted Bio Terrorist. By the second half of the game, not only is the the game more action-oriented, but the story is either very predictable, and starts a ridiculous cycle of bad plot twists, accompanied by goofy dialogue. This is a plot-heavy game, so if you can deal with a detrimentally goofy story, it might not affect you. Otherwise, the game can seems to take a dip in quality because of it.

VERDICT: An idea

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

RE: Revelations; A frustrating, but surprising gem

posted by GameMonkey27 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Aug 17, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thoroughly enjoyed playing this 3DS- only port containg events between Resident Evil 4 & 5. Now here's the good, the bad and the ugly of this game:

THE GOOD: This is easily the best looking game on the 3ds. it takes the atmosphere of a good console resident evil title and makes it portable. the enemies are as scary as ever and the character models are nothing to scoff at. This game will give you a good jump here and there, just as you should come to expect with this kind of title.

THE BAD: This game doesn't have any real glitches (besides the occasional lag), so there's nothing really to complain about here. one major thing is that the controls on this game SUCK if you dont have circle pad pro. this really took me out of the game and created some really difficult moments when trying to kill a larger zombie. add this to a subpar storyline and you have yourself a problematic experience.

THE UGLY: Two words: boss fights. the bigger and more difficult monsters in the game are hideous. but not in a bad way, in a good way. The visuals in this game are so beautiful for the 3ds that the monsters are abslutely disgusting.

Overall, i would give this game 7.75 out of 10 because although it did have its good moments, there were a few big problems that took away from an otherwise very enjoyable experience. this game is worth a play if you are looking for a good game to waste time on for a long car ride, or if you are a fan of resident evil or survival horror in general. this game is a definite rent for most 3ds owners, but dont buy it unless you are a hardcore fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Typical

posted by VeryEvilAsh (NEWARK, DE) Feb 13, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

The is your typical Resident Evil game. Run around in circles looking for keys with pictures on them and then get into the next room to look for another key with another picture on it. Throw in that the circle pad is pretty slow, and non-zombie like creatures sneak up from behind you, & you have this game in a nutshell. I don't understand what the critics love about this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse