Rent Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City for PS3
view large frontback

Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $29.99

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.4

3378 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Not as bad as everyone thinks!

posted by Azikira (TUCSON, AZ) Feb 20, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I know Resident Evil (and the horror genre in general) is changing a lot, from scary to more action and cheap jump scares. Anyone looking for a genuinely scary game will be thoroughly disappointed, but those of you looking for a fun little romp with your friends will definitely get the most out of this game.

This game was designed to be played with friends, and to be taken lightly (seeing as how it's an alternate reality). You load up a level, blast some zombies with your pals, fight a boss and call it a night. It's got a nice pick-up-and-play feel to it, and the characters all look pretty neat, even if the zombies only cycle through 6 outfits.

All in all, if you want a scary game, go play Amnesia. If you want a decent tactical shooter to play with your friends, Operation Raccoon City isn't a bad choice, especially given it's used price tag.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not terrible but a let down

posted by CaliGamer (SANTA MONICA, CA) Mar 26, 2012

Member since Jun 2006

19 out of 22 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

When I first read details on this game I loved the idea. You'd get to play as Umbrella special forces in a team based shooter resident evil game. What can go wrong??

Lots.

First, the graphics. They're simply very dated. They aren't horrible but they're very lacking in attention to detail. Bland walls, non descript ceilings, repetitive hallways and zombies and bios that simply aren't impressive looking make this game far worse than RE5 in the graphics category.

Level Detail : absolutely terrible. Everything about details in the levels is bad. For example in one level you're fighting through the streets of Raccoon City with crashed cars here and there and random piles of horribly low detail rubble and trash lying around. Not too bad until you find out that one of the abandoned stores along the street has an open door! A chance to explore Raccoon City post zombie apocalypse!! And then you enter the "store" only to find that it's literally nothing but an empty box. "Bob's Gun shop" is just a tiny room with a floor, 4 walls and a ceiling. Literally nothing else. This lack of attention to detail makes the level design seem cheap and horribly rushed.

Teammate AI : Oi..... the worst I've ever seen. My teammates constantly got themselves killed by walking into fires that were nowhere near anything they should have been walking towards in the first place. And that's when they're not running endlessly against a wall for who knows what reason, or running headlong through a very obvious laser trip mine. Be prepared to have to revive your lackluster squad mates frequently when controlled by AI.

Top it off with the campaign being far too short, voice acting that's really only average and a 5 second long "ending" that borders on incompetant on the part of the studio that developed the game and you have a very disappointing result.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Avoid this mess

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Mar 21, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

22 out of 28 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

I was hoping to like "Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City". The idea of playing the events of RE2 and RE3 from the perspective of Umbrella forces was quite intriguing. The graphics are fairly decent and the voice acting is competent. Sadly, I can't say much else positive about the game. The controls are okay, though movement can be slow, sometimes ridiculously so. The camera angles are often not in your favor; in fact, after one cut scene I was facing in the completely opposite direction, which resulted in taking damage from an attack almost immediately. The camera also tends to cause you to lose sight of where you need to go, and worse, where the enemies are. AI, for both your squad (I only played single player, though I've read things aren't much better in the multiplayer modes) and enemies alike is abysmal. Your squad runs into hazards, blocks your view and way, doesn't help out, and proves to be more of a detriment than anything else. Making things worse, the enemies are bullet-sponges, often causing you to run out of ammo before they drop. Cheap deaths abound, making this an exercise in frustration instead of a fun zombie shooter. If you have to, rent this only, though you're likely going to send this back the next day. Capcom should be ashamed for tarnishing the franchise with this subpar entry. Here's hoping Resident Evil 6 makes up for this abomination.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Resident Evil: Operation Bafoon City

posted by StarRaven (WELLINGTON, FL) Mar 22, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

19 out of 26 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Yeah... it really is as bad as the critic reviews say it is. Moreso, it's really just disappointing.

Honestly, I wasn't expecting this to be amazing or anything when it was announced, but I thought it was a cool idea. RE has had some terrible games/unimportant games pop up in the series before (Code Veronica, Outbreak, etc.)
But, I was surprised that the game got slammed as hard as it did, especially since the 'media's' way to deal with a bad game, is to simply not talk about it before it comes out, instead of giving an honest preview that says "Yeah, this game needs some work" so, that explains the lack of hype.

The truth is, when I started to play it (because of lot of user scores seem to imply it didn't get a fair shake) I immediately saw the framework what could be an amazing game.
Unfortunately, that's not how the game pans out. This game is FULL of great ideas, and terrible execution. The gameplay just doesn't feel good. The use a camera more suited to 3rd person beat 'em up rather than a classic over the shoulder RE view, or even any other 3rd person shooter. Seriously this game with Uncharted gunplay mechanics would be phenomenal.
I'm not even going to start on the side arm controls. I'm just not. Nope.
Enemies take a while to die and is pretty inconsistent in terms of how many shots to he body(or head) it takes to put someone down.
The melee started out as a good idea, but then wasn't.
The enemy AI is dumb, but, not incredibly stupid compared to most. The friendly AI is downright atrocious. Seriously, you HAVE to play co-op. HAVE TO. They didn't even program COM AI, it's THAT BAD. NO JOKE.

Ultimately, despite the score, if you find 3 people to stick this out with, it honestly could be a decent experience, a fond memory. But, the reality was they took a GOLDEN opportunity to make something unforgettably good in the series and multiplayer universe, actually had all the tools and ideas to do it... and instead got a game that just doesn't wo

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ugh

posted by Lafleuffe (LOS ANGELES, CA) May 14, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I rarely turn on a game so quickly, but I fired an entire clip into a soldier's head and not only did he live but he ran up and knocked me down. He stood over me and beat me down every time my character tried to get up.

Ejected disc. Sealed it in package. Sent it back. Not for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst in the franchise

posted by BPilcher07 (CROSBY, TX) Apr 9, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I got this thinking that it was going to be really good but I was so wrong on this. I have been a huge RE fan since September of 98 but this did it in for me. I mean the camera view sucks, your "team mates" if you want to call them that, doesn't really help you and just stands there like nothing is going on. Even when they get fired upon they really do nothing. The only thing that your team mates are good for is target practice. The only thing that this title is good for is a chew toy for your dog. I wouldn't rent this if I was you. The only thing that this good about this game is the graphics and the dude with the eye on his shoulder. You actually have to carry your team.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Resident Evil? Not So Much.

posted by chimptor (SHREVEPORT, LA) May 13, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Resident Evil: Raccoon City: Why? This game has infuriating control's, bad story, bad gameplay, is not scary in the least. It's just not a well done shooter. This game was obviously rushed with the attitude that, " there dumb gamer's, they won't notice!!!" well we do ! Pass, pass, pass on by, not worth a buy, rent,  or a coaster.  You Have Been Warned!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Doesn't feel right...

posted by Chaos1101 (WOOSTER, OH) Mar 20, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

I started off playing online and it felt like it took forever just to get one kill, using more than a whole magazine to kill one person. The controls take a while to get used to as they are slow compared to previous resident evils. Playing part of the single player campaign I noticed that your teammates are complete idiots, they stand way back somewhere and it prevents you from going to the next area (all teammates required to proceed). The graphics are pretty good though. And there are more guns than most of the other resident evil games. The enemy AI also isn't the greatest when fighting the special forces troops they would just stand still even with a grenade at their feet. The story it's self is pretty good but the less than average game play drags the score down. I give Resident Evil Operation Raccoon City a 6/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Could have been good..

posted by Dekaron (LAKE PANASOFFKEE, FL) Mar 25, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

When I rented this I was expecting refreshing change in RE game play.. All I got was a senseless story, poor graphics and bugs galore. Do your self a favor and wait for RE 6.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Resident Evil In Name Only

posted by aml50 (ACWORTH, GA) Mar 27, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

If your into action/cover based shooters like gears of war then you wont have much issue with this game. But if you are a R.E. loyalist who gets dispointed by how the series has been leaning toward action and away from horror and suspense then look away.

Its nothing but a generic modern shooter in a R.E. locale with some recognizable characters and enemies, nothing like previous games where you cursed the controlls and feared corners.

Its best feture is the multiplayer, it has some decent game modes an intereseting R.E. flare to it. You fight another team, but there are also AI zombies roaming the maps that will get in your way and try to kill you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

different

posted by bpundk (STAMFORD, CT) Jul 10, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

like it not just the same old shooter

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Resident Evil, Why?

posted by hamwitch (ORANGEVALE, CA) Mar 22, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Resident Evil : Operation Raccoon City I have a few grips here and there with this game, first things first the A.I. is mediocre to say the least. during close combat their wonderful but there is about a 50 foot threat distance for them, meaning if there is a sniper off in the distance the A.I. will not even acknowledge them. but besides that, this is a great game, story is a little short but a load of fun , and it's better with 4 players and no A.I. players. all in all defiantly worth playing. As a side not the multiplayer seems a little dull but it means well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

And how did this get past beta testing?

posted by AngelHalo (CIBOLO, TX) Apr 1, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

As soon as I saw the developer for this game, I knew from the beginning it would go down hill. Some people say that they are excited for this game for it's concept. I would be ok with that. The game came in, got mediocre to negative reviews. I knew it'd be bad, but when I finally got around to playing it. Oh dear...

The problems are everywhere in this game, with glitched cut-scenes, an unintelligent cover system (try Army of Two to figure out what I'm trying to say there), a story that contradicts itself, poor game play mechanics (it is easy to exploit the melee button and even grief your partners), and even the in-game lobby is poorly programmed, with no ability to change your level in a co-op game, unable to un-ready yourself in case your need to change your equipment, and not to mention being unable to change said equipment when you are ready. There is so much inconvenience from even starting the game. Also, the AI is awful, much more worse than Resident Evil 5's partner AI, except it's persistent even in your enemies. There's even a part where the enemies will take cover behind FLAMMABLE BARRELS!

If I were to list every problem, we would be here all day. I will say the controls do work, most of the time since there are instances where you want to revive your partner but the game figures you want their weapon instead (they die so close to their own weapon it makes reviving pretty difficult to do), the graphics look alright with some character models feeling out of place, the music isn't that bad but it has a bad habit of glitching out so I can hardly even appreciate the music. It's multiplayer is not particularly fun either, but that's a personal opinion.

To be fair, I cannot say that I am disappointed, because with Slant Six Games, I expected everything that this game delivered: An unfinished, buggy, uninspired, overly-linear, broken promised, hardly functional, cash-in to the otherwise one of the most popular franchises in the industry. Good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Turrible

posted by Lamrock (SEATTLE, WA) Mar 21, 2012

Member since Feb 2007

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

It seems that with this getting high user scores and Mass Effect 3 (among others) getting low scores, players seem to be "rebelling" against the reviewers.

This game sucks. Outsourced to another studio, while Resident Evil 6 (the real RE game) is worked on, this is a sloppy hybrid of Left4Dead and Socom set in Raccoon City, with lots of Resident Evil 2 references to appease the fans.

There's no splitscreen, but if you are lucky enough to play with real people, don't count on much co-operation as nobody owns PS3 mics. Try playing with AI teammates and get killed every time because they are terrible.

It just doesn't feel like Resident Evil when the primary mechanic is cover based shooting against heavily armored soldiers with pistols. There are zombies as well, but those prove to be more of a nuisance than anything else.

The controls aren't terrible and the graphics are fine, but this is just a bad game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible RE game

posted by orlando29 (HOUSTON, TX) Jul 13, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game gave a whole new meaning to bad.

Gameplay
I did not like the weapons at all, more than half of them had low ammo you would have to conserve your ammo or else you run out very quickly. The CQC combination is another miss cause unlike RE5 you are only allowed to do two CQC, a standard and a special attack. Unlike RE5 where you had a arsenal of CQC at your disposal depending on the position you were at. And another thing that is annoying is you can't just shot a leg or head for an opportunity to perform the CQC you have to get close and knife them in order to do it which is dumb cause sinch they can vomit on you it increases your chance for infection. Some points are simple you be lucky to get hit and some points it's like you need to use your whole ammo just to take one enemy out.

Freezing
During the first month or two I had horrible freezing resulting in me having to turn it off manually which pisses me off if I ever had to do that and I did it at least 30 times playing this game. Patches have come to where the problem is fixed but very annoying those first couple of months.

Character
With there gas mask on you could not see there faces except for two, if it was not for there special abilities it would not matter who you picked cause they look the same. There alternative costume is a joke cause it is just a color change, little to no effort was put into the characters which is ridiculous cause your suppose to care if there people live or die and by the end I want them dead.

Overall
This game put shame to the RE name, I consider it to be the worst of the series. Why on earth would anyone thing this would be a good game. They had a good concept but they really did not use that RE aspect, left so much out like herb cominations, holding more items even that RE5 9 items bull would of been better, and more indepth characters. 1/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Forbiddenflavor (DORA, AL) May 3, 2012

Member since May 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This to me is what happens when you attempt to merge two different games, it almost never works!
In this case it is the back story of one of the greatest RE games combined with the squad based game play mechanics of call of duty.
Which ruins the point of playing because if I want to play an RE game then I want to see it as it was designed to be, I want the signature controls capcom has near perfected, and in the same token if I want to play call of duty then I expect the squad based signature controls of call of duty.
Call me crazy but this game was a mistake and I would like to thank gamefly for the opurtunity to rent it, get it and send it back in the same day without wasting money on the perversion of one of my favorite game legacys

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst Resident Evil EVER

posted by wingxaero1 (TACOMA, WA) May 2, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

do not waste your time. sticky controls, bad ai, horrible hit detection and terrible shooting mechanics!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Racoon city- RE

posted by gagun (CLIFFSIDE PARK, NJ) Mar 29, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

TERRIBLE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad

posted by pfcgamer (ALCOA, TN) Mar 23, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

dose not live up to the resident evil games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Multiplayer???

posted by Resevilfan21 (SNELLVILLE, GA) Mar 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

What happened to two player campaign mode? I was so excited about the game coming out, and then realizing that its only 1 player? Very disappointed capcom...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Holy Bad Game

posted by Rikx (EASTABOGA, AL) Mar 21, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

RE: ORC is trash. The gun play is off and the guns feel like really weak nerf guns. Ever try to kill a zombie / spec ops soldier with a nerf gun? There is not enough directions as to what to do and when. There is very limited ammo if you think of how many bullets it takes to kill one enemy. If you are going to do anything RENT IT!!! DO NOT BUY THIS GAME! Big waste of money here

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Stopped playing within the first 10 Minutes

posted by bigkidforgames (PORTLAND, OR) May 9, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I normally try and give a game a chance..but this wasnt even worth it...awful I hope resident evil 6 makes up for this monstrosity it produced

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sucked

posted by sydlicious (SAN ANTONIO, TX) May 8, 2012

Member since May 2012

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

controls are slow, graphics are terrible, AI is stupid and just a horrible game over all. I made it to mission 3 and made my choice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible game

posted by desertdemon83 (AUSTIN, TX) Mar 29, 2012

Member since May 2011

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

One of the worst games I've ever played by far. It's nothing like any of the other resident evil games. You have to shoot the enemy 100 times to kill them and they only have to shoot you five times to kill you. The AI is completely worthless, the shooting is in accurate, you cannot shoot through windows. Please don't even waste your time with it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Its not that bad!!

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Mar 22, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2003

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Frist 2hrs i did not like at all- But things do pick up and the game is alot of fun- I love the gun-battles walking down the streets of raccoon city mixed up with zombies spec-ops fighters and the torn up city. Each Fighter you can pick from has diffrent skills plus even CO-OP-Play- with boss fights mixed in. Is the game perfect noooo- But Gosh come on score it as Trash the game offers noo fun? I dont understand the Reviews at all!! Its like they think every game should be like Masss-effect 3 are COD- Gesh!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse