Rent Resident Evil Deadly Silence for DS
view large frontback

Resident Evil Deadly Silence

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.5

736 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Just another version of Resident Evil 1, but good

posted by heimburg (ORLANDO, FL) Apr 22, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2005

29 out of 30 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

This is a very reasonable port of RE1. All the classic elements are there, including the cheesy FMV and the really awful voice acting. The 3D looks just as good as it did on the PS1 back in the day -- actually, probably better. The load times are certainly better than the original. The whole port seems very polished, and it's impressive that they managed to do the game justice on a hand-held.

If you've never played a Resident Evil game, well... you should really play Resident Evil on the Game Cube. But say you don't have GameCube -- in that case, I can recommend this game. However, if you've already played RE1, you won't find the new additions to be very interesting. The arcadey new feature forces you to fend off monsters with the stylus, which is just weird.

So this is a good rent if you've never played RE1 before, or maybe if you played it a decade ago and have forgotten how the story goes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A great game though somewhat lacking in new stuff

posted by Sonodsadak (PORT RICHEY, FL) Apr 20, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Resident Evil is a classic, and so is this game. The updates to controls are great, and the knife fight system, though annoying at times, adds a lot to the fun and also danger of the hallways we have wandered so often. The only problem is that chances are you have wandered these halls, very often. Sure there are a few puzzles that are different, but in most ways the game is the same game you have played on the ps1. But don't let that deter you from playing multilayer can be fun at times(if you can find someone else with the game sorry no single cart multi). And the master of knifing game you unlock after beating the game is great.
All in all this has always been a solid game and it remains so. Now we just need an original RE game for the ds using the same mechanics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

RE fans

posted by Torg001 (LAMBERTVILLE, MI) Apr 27, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

If you are a fan of RE, and I mean a true fan and not some 12 year old that saw the RE movie, this is our game. I greatly enjoyed Classic mode. I didnt care for the new touchscreen games but they aren't in the Classic mode. I hope they make RE2 for DS since that is considered as being one of the best of the series.
In conclusion, there isn't much that can be done to improve on RE and if you think there is, go play something else:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fun if you haven't played the first one

posted by C5Load (SANFORD, NC) Apr 15, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

9 out of 19 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

I found this game at first to be a lot of fun because I was playing an old playstation game on a nintendo handheld. At first I was very curious to see what was new with this game as opposed to the original. I soon did, the only thing that they have done differently is add a few touch screen puzzles and combat scenarios. Nothing kept me wanting to play this game.
This is a great game if you have never played the original and are a fan of the series. If you have already played this game before then all you can get out of it is a little bit of nostalgia on a portable gaming console.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Nostalgic Feelings Quelled, Gameplay Mechanics...

posted by fatnerd (ELK GROVE, CA) Oct 23, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is probably one of the better ports that I have seen in quite some time, the controls feel almost IDENTICAL to the ps1 version. Keep in mind that this is a very STRONG 6, I'd give in a 6 1/2 if I could. It's funny that when you compare nostalgic wonder with a "revisit." Graphics are intact, the top screen map really helps out a lot when you look back at the original gameplay.

However, in spite of this, things have simply changed overtime. What was once thought of as riveting and suspenseful has lost significant luster over the years. The aiming system is TERRIBLE, when ammo is running low because you hit everywhere AROUND the target, you can whip out a knife and begin slashing at the air which may stun the enemy, but still end with a pretty nasty zombie bite. AIDS don't wash off. A really cool addition though is the DS enabled features, such as the random encounter which requires you to make slashing motions to deter and kill oncoming enemies. While this is pretty neat, it's infrequent and happens at really random and irrelevant moments in the game.

All in all, this is a pretty fun portable game, especially for those misty eyed with fun memories. However, if you want a TRULY harrowing and amazing experience, please PLEASE play Resident Evil 4 on the PS2 or Gamecube. Seriously, I don't poo myself over many games, this one (RE4) is an exception.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not So Good

posted by luigimario (FRANKFORT, NY) Oct 8, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This resident evil was fun until you get stuck on a very hard part. Not trying to kill a guy, but when your trying to open a stinkin' door that has an unnecessary riddle that takes so long figure out. Saving is a pain. If you run out ink ribbons or can't find a type writter your DOOMED! I suggest not to buy this game unless your a super genius.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

this game is the best

posted by benjamin (BRONX, NY) Apr 17, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

hey im 14 years old, right and i just finished resident evil. Man think that this little game can be this cool. Its one of the best games for ds. it makes you want to keep playing, and it has ok graphics.And it is fun also. the puzzles and knife fight are cool. Some part are a little weird and hard. Plz try this game once. i give this game a 9 because i took 1 point off for graphics because its ok, but the 9 is how th game and storyline was. good weapoms. Nice fire power. The one thing i dont like alot is when u have to go back to save but there is alot of save points. and theres alot of green erbs just look around. and u can play multiplayer its fun i played that to. i beat the game and i only died 10 times. ok so just try the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Resident Evil Deadly Silence

posted by alex9993 (FORT ATKINSON, WI) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

This game looks and sounds good in my thoughts. If you think any other game is good, well lets just say it's the orignal Resident Evil game from the PSone. Plan and simple, except the touch screen is for slash enemies on you. So it's just updated nothing new but the touch screen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Old-School

posted by Artgamer (CHICAGO, IL) Apr 19, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

I rated this game fair mainly because it is a remake of the first ever Resident Evil. Same gameplay except for a few things you get to use the stylus and there are things missing that were in the 1st one. I do say it was a great attempt to bring it on the Nintendo DS but I feel like they failed. It does bring back great memories though so I gave it a 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE

posted by Slagrow (CARSON, CA) Aug 28, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

I love Resident Evil games, but this one was just stupid! the controls are complicated and its super corney! I don't recomend this game at all!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

if you now where to get the gold emble tell me ..

posted by coolchris (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Feb 7, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

This game is cool but I just can't find the gold embel so tell me. By the way if you go to the walkthru at faqs under game specs at one time cheak keeniths body you can find 30 hand gun bullets the walkthru is prrety cool but it never tells you where the gold emble is which stinks but if you ever need to go some where just write to me or go to walkthru where you can find all the anwers and also trust me rent this game and you will love it here's a tip(if you'r a beginer use normel first and when you get use to it you can go to hard if you want).Also when you enter the blue dubel doors after the nife fight when you get a chance don't wery you might get scared when the wolfs jump throw the window cause even I got scared at first and try not to go screming like a baby so if you now where to get the embel just tellme so I can pass the game so I can relly buy it (seriusly I'm going to buy it)so tell me if you now where to get the embel so just wright you'r own if you can so by.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Resident Evil Deadly Silence

posted by rich12 (LANCASTER, CA) Nov 22, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

This is not a bad game but if you all ready owe it, I see no reason to get it again for the DS. Maybe if you never play the game and want to give it a try it is fun to play when you got nothing better to do after you play one of your better games. Once I got use to the game play it was fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Resident Evil Deadly Silence

posted by whardy4 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Aug 26, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

This game is awesome! The graphics are a lot better than the one on the original playstation. It still reserves the original movies, and it adds more twist, turns, and puzzles than the original. The best part about this remake of the classic 1996 Resident Evil is that it it is portable and way more interactive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

one of the worst games ive ever played

posted by Krazy93 (PITTSBURG, CA) Jul 8, 2007

Member since Jan 2004

ok first of all the camera angles sucked. and i cant move when i shoot. this game is terrible

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Resident Evil

posted by ibliz231 (MONMOUTH JUNCTION, NJ) Sep 2, 2006

Member since Dec 2004

I was so excited about getting this game,but soon after i found out it was a rip off. Well the game is okay, but it does not meet high expectations. It really does not have that resident evil feel. The graphics and sound are okay. I do not really reccammend getting this game. Sure if your a big Resident Evil fan, you can rent it,but dont buy it!Thats a big $34.99 i wasted, which could have been gone to a great title like Mario kart ds

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best DS Game Available For Those With Sick Minds!

posted by drunkyb (FORT WORTH, TX) Aug 17, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

Of all the games available for the DS, this is by far one of the best. If you are not in the know, this is an extremely graphic and fun survivial horror game. If you enjoy games such as Max Payne or Dino Crisis, and have a sick vein for films such as Land or Dawn of the Dead, then this game is right up your alley. A lot of people complain that this is a near-direct port of the original, however I could not be more thankful. Much like Mario 64 DS, this is one of those games that will remind you how fortunate you are to have a game of this depth on a portable system. This game is not for kids, it is for adults who want a little more BANG for their buck!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Resident Evil "DEADLY BORING"!

posted by killerskid (YUMA, AZ) Aug 9, 2006

Member since May 2006

This game definitely didn't toot my horn, it was just another shoot a few zombies, walk around find things, the redundant over and over again, put you to sleep type of game.

If your looking for a game to put you to bed, this is the one to do it! When is someone going to come out with a game that really peaks my interests, wakes me up, slaps me in the face and scares the "liquid" out of me,(ok maybe that was a bit dramatic)?

A few hours of good fun would be nice however.

Thanks your Killerskid Game fiend reviewer!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

refund/ the worst game in 2005 to 2006

posted by devonaleen (LATHAM, NY) Jul 29, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

this is the worst game i ever played the game is worth 5 to 10 dollars the blood is green you can make it red but it's annoying you'd think it'd be red already i want my money back any if your thinking of buying it don't rent it i sorry i even did that much

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

RE offers new surprises to a old storyline.

posted by hahalina (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Jul 27, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

It is a good reincarnation of the platform. With no change to the original look and sound, the game revamped and offers new surprises. Very good uses of the dual screens on the Nintendo DS. Highly recommended for any RE fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very fun game!

posted by gonzo3333 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 16, 2006

Member since Aug 2003

This version of Resident Evil 1 is a remake of the playstation 1 version. If you've played and beat the PS1 version, then there really is no point in getting this unless you feel like playing it again. The only differences are the puzzles, (some use touch screens) the items laid around, and the first person battle. The puzzles are pretty easy. You might get stuck on a few, but nothing too serious. There are more and different items laid around the mansion and other areas. You'll probably notice it's easier to get items than the original if you've played it. The first person battle is nice, but it comes at you too fast. What I mean is that when you enter a door, all of a sudden you're in first person and BAM a zombie is raping you. So the only way to get past that is by holding the stylus while playing which is uncomfortable. Or, if you don't care about scratching your touch screen, that's fine. You won't have enough time to switch from your hand to the stylus during a first person battle because it's too fast-paced...

The graphics in the game are pretty much just like the PS1 version. There are some updates, like the zombies head's bouncing around if you shoot their heads off, but it looks the same.

The music in the game is the same as well. Classic Resident Evil music that goes perfectly with it. Also... They have the same cheesy opening and horrible voice acting, which is a plus for those who played the original ;)

I haven't played multiplayer because nobody I know owns this game, so I'm not too sure about it. But in one player, it's pretty easy to get ammo. At some points I have the maximum you can hold in bullets. It's nothing like the remake for the Gamecube. Now THAT one is hard! :)

This game is worth buying or renting. If you've played the first, don't expect a huge difference. It's still nice to play on a handheld, that's for sure. And there are a few unlockables you can get.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Faithful Port

posted by CHClF2 (SEATTLE, WA) Jul 9, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

The normal game mode is almost exactly as I remember from the PS1.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Old school meets new

posted by Vivameecro (FAIRMONT, WV) Jul 7, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

First off, I believe you must be a fan of the original RE on PSX to enjoy this game.

PROS - For those out there who are long-time RE fans, this is a neat title because the cheesy voice acting from the original is back. Hooray for nostalgia. There is calssic mode, which is an exact port and there's rebirth mode which utilizes the DS touch screen. Neat. It adds a little replay value for those who have beaten the original, but I wouldn't imagine anyone would want to play this nay more than once. A few of the updated control features are used (Like the quick 180 degree turn not in the original). Also, some of the puzzles have been moved around or otherwise changed. Nice use of ambient noises and music.

CONS - Trying to play this game on such a small screen can cause comfort problems. It's RE, so of course, the controls are still clunky. Rebirth mode has parts that randomly come up after you enter a room and a bunch of things are attacking you and you have to use the touchscreen to kill everything with a knife. Unless you have a knack for it, get ready to use all your healing items after these parts. It's wasteful and I found it very annoying (On the upside, there is a boss fought in this manner, and it is fun). If you are not into older games, this is not for you. You really have to enjoy the classics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Good Idea. Horrible Execution.

posted by Dwight (ATHENS, GA) Jun 22, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

The Idea of a Resident Evil port on a Nintendo system sounds good on paper. Everything people liked about the first Resident Evil is here The scares and the graphics(although very dated. Not bad for the DS). Here is my number one problem, Along with everything people loved so is everything people hated. The Bad V-O the awful control(made worse by the DS limited buttons). Let me also mention the lighting is horrible in this game and I am playing on a DS lite. So basically dont waste your money and if you really really want it. Just rent it. You can punch me in the face if its not being returned the next day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ehh it's okay

posted by DOOKIEMAN (SUNRISE, FL) Jun 10, 2006

Member since May 2006

It's okay, at least for the DS and the controls are pretty easy. But the part when you open a door and have to do the knife thing is pretty annoying, because it is at random. Also, it is pretty much the same Resident Evil/Biohazard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A good twist on an old Classic

posted by jumppack (DAVISVILLE, WV) Jun 2, 2006

Member since Oct 2004

This game is what you expect and then some.The DS version offers you all of the original rooms but with a new twist.

It has two selectable versions(the origianal and The Rebirth ds style).

Control is the same and all of the enemies are the same,but the puzzles are enhanced and with the addition of random knife fights with all of the enemies the DS version is awsome.

This is a MUST PLAY for Resident Evil Fans!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse