Rent Resident Evil Code: Veronica X for PS2
view large frontback

Resident Evil Code: Veronica X

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.1

571 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tired of all these RE4 fans being stupid!

posted by ZMX082 (FOREST CITY, NC) Jun 23, 2008

Member since May 2008

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Ok I would like to start out saying i own and like RE4. Its a fun game that was an addictive shooter. Now that I've said that.
Resident Evil 4 is...NOT A RESIDENT EVIL SURVIVAL HORROR GAME. Resident evil was made for fans who loved to kill RELISTIC zombies! Code Veronica IS A SURVIVAL HORROR GAME. All the people who are bad mouthing this game are most likely fans of the Resident Evil 4 shooter type. Resident evil is know for its "evil" camera angles. This makes the game more challenging and suspenseful. Now to address the angry users issues.
The controls are difficult...if you've never played a classic Resident Evil game. Otherwise you will get the hang of it very quickly. People who rent this game (if not a fan of the classic RE)will die a lot. but if you are willing to learn how these games work you will find a very fun game. If your easily angered then don't rent (or write a review for this game). And as a last statement if you like this game you have to find a copy of RE3 Nemesis for the playstation or the Gamecube.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

resident evil code veroica X

posted by swannyman1 (ROCKFORD, MN) Feb 19, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am a very big fan of the series I love his one. The storyline was good. But it would be better if you started when you sneak into the building. The weapons are cool. The only problem is the AK one clip for it. I can't wait for 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Traditional and Basic RE Fun

posted by vidb0y (MESA, AZ) Jul 27, 2007

Member since May 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

First off, when compared to such titles as RE2 or RE3 this game is just as good if not better. The characters are well placed and work well with the story.

The game starts off with Claire Redfield being captured and imprisoned on in some sort of Umbrella research facility. There she meets (forgot his name) who helps you figure out what is going on in the facility. The action starts almost instantly and the puzzles are relatively easy. After escaping the prison, Claire sends an S.O.S. to her brother and is attacked by a creature.
From here the game switches to Chris Redfield's perspective. You play as Chris as you try to find your sister. You are now in the arctic. Here you encounter Wesker, who's beefed up to some sort of uber-soldier.
Soon you discover that Claire is alive and the game switches perspectives between the two characters.
The final boss battle is with Chris and is as standard as previous RE bosses.

Overall:
Graphics are nice for the time.
Controls are no different than the previous RE titles.
Story revolves around Veronica and twin brother and sisters.
As far as ingenuity this game offers none (other than being able to use dual guns, unfortunately its with only one weapon).
Oldie, but is enjoyable to any RE fan.

Bottom line: if you like old school RE you'll like this game. If you like RE4 and compare all RE games to it, then you won't think much of this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

zombie games are the best

posted by homerzilla (RAMONA, CA) May 27, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

if you cant beat this one try picking up a different resident evil title except dead aim it sucks the camera angles are hard to add suspence but hinders your ability to see whats next

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

this game

posted by drummerboy (CARTER LAKE, IA) Jul 9, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is pretty desent the controls or kinda easy when you get use to them ahh nothing like owning a few zombies no wait let me say that over nothing like killing a lot of zombies well this game was a good game the best out of the but re 4 is better still this game is still great for the people who love and enjoy playing resident evil

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

fine addition to Resident Evil series...

posted by april12 (SILVERDALE, WA) May 7, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I liked this game alot. I mostly liked the creepy settings such as the hidden torture chambers and the spooky castle owned by crazy people. ( i like the cool music once you are in the castle) but anyways i found it to be very intertaining. people who rent it wont be sorry.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

it's an old game..

posted by dulun21 (CHANDLER, AZ) Aug 19, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

the controls is kind of arkward .. but other than that.. the game is not bad.. but then again.. i didn't get far into the game. It's hard to continue on any further if a game has bad controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I couldn't get around the controls.

posted by kewljt (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) May 30, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

4 out of 16 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The controls are terrible not to mention the camera angles. There are way to many good titles out there to even bother with this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BOOOOOOOOOO

posted by bigelliot (LAKEWOOD, WA) Jun 5, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 21 gamers (24%) found this review helpful

Dont even bother renting this game. The controls suck, the visuals suck, everything sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

can't be able to play with a lighter

posted by lukeop1456 (ALAMEDA, CA) Nov 29, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I use this lighter to look around for some medicine for this guy in the game is it on the table no where is it then it's a bad set-up quality wise graphics are kinda choppy I turned right off cause of the way it was made I looking for zombies none of them are until you look for meds which is bad and I mean come on That is all capcom must be thinking hmm we made a game so people would get confused that's the reason why people buy the game to get confused then turn off the ps2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Loved it

posted by twiztidjug (MC ROBERTS, KY) Aug 16, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The Game was awesome...Game play was great...and the ending was perfect but a lil confusing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Just couldn't get into this game.

posted by turnedown (Dolores, CO) Oct 26, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I love all things RE, except the movies. This game just doesn't translate well. First of all I'm pretty certain this is the 1st RE to not have static backgrounds, the only other exception being RE: Survivor, a light-gun RE game for PS1 which was horrible. The moving camera angles really detracted from the action and were really uninspired. If you're going to make a moving camera, do what RE4 did. My other complaint was a serious lack of ammo. I like to pull the trigger, but running out of ammo just forced me to avoid the zombies. No fun there. However since this game was released on a quasi-new generation console the graphics were quite good for a Dreamcast game, but the PS2 version does very little to polish them any further.

If you like RE games, rent it for sure but don't expect anything mind blowing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Resident Evil Code Veronica X

posted by coderevenger (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Mar 5, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

This Game was really good and very challenging it is worth playing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

controls

posted by snowqueen (SAN JOSE, CA) Dec 29, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

Perhaps I could enjoy the game more if I had more practise with controls....and if there was a part in the start menu to practise. As it was without any help and recieving it in the mail I didn't get very far. I had enough trouble in the beginning just trying to pick things up and get out of the prison!

Unless you are familiar with the controls from previous games you may want to skip...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun, but noticeably dated.

posted by LeeringDog (HOUSTON, TX) Mar 1, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

I enjoyed this game a lot. Much of it's appeal, however, lies in the nostalgia factor. If you owned a Dreamcast and played RE: Code Veronica as I did, this game will most certainly bring back fond memories. Otherwise, you're playing a dated classic that will have many seemingly archaic features. If you're into classic games, you'll love it. If you aren't, you'll probably throw it down in favor of something more modern. It has many peculiar idiosyncrasies which are more acquired tastes than they are immediately gratifying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Another good Resident Evil

posted by sandollor (APO, AE) Jun 15, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

Although the camera angles are a let down, again, this game is fun and creepy. Isn't that what you look for in a horror game?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »