Rent Resident Evil Archives: Resident Evil for Wii
view large frontback

Resident Evil Archives: Resident Evil

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.9

911 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by chemlight (WARNER ROBINS, GA) Jun 29, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

19 out of 19 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Don't know what these complainers are whining about because this game is great. The aiming system is dead on which is nice and the revamped graphics are really well done. I have never played the RE1 remake on game cube, the last time I played this game was when it first came out on Playstation One, so I am very impressed with the Wii port of RE1. If you are a true hardcore Resident Evil fan you will enjoy this game, very creepy on surround sound but fine without it too. If your not a real Resident Evil fan then go play GTA or Madden or something along those lines...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Port?...maybe, but still one of the best.

posted by Halos15 (Albuquerque, NM) Jul 3, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

13 out of 13 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's sad to see so many bashing this game based on playing RE4 or RE5. Let me remind you there would be no RE4 or RE5 without this title. I played it when it was new on PS1, and again when they released the directors cut, and once more when they updated it for the GameCube. It was amazing then, and it's amazing now. Yes, the motion controls are weak, but aren't they mostly niche in all Wii games. How many times have you used the motion controls for a game only to go back to hitting buttons when you realize how much easier it was to just to hit the A? One thing not being mentioned here is the updated HD widescreen presentation. Something you cannot get on the GC version. However minor it may sound to you, if you have an HDTV you will appreciate this addition. This game was made for all of those that haven't played through the game that started this whole franchise, and if you haven't ever been to the mansion do yourself a favor, and get this game. Still one of the greatest stories ever put to a videogame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

For the RE fans since the beginnig

posted by Viper301 (SARATOGA, CA) Oct 26, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For everyone who has only played Resident Evil 4 and 5 and loved them, This game is not for you.

But if you are like me and you use to have hours of fun playing the original resident evils for the PS one you would deffinately love this one.

As you already know in this game you are not a one man army and have tons of ammo for each wepon like you do in RE 4 and 5. This game is a true survival horror, which means you have to conserve ammo by choseing which monster to kill and not mention all the crazy puzzels you have to solve.

If you are a fan of the original you will notice that the voice acting has finally gotten better the controls are pretty much the same apart from your using a remote and nunchuk, and they have added new rooms and changes to all of the areas (the mansion, guard house etc) also they have added some new twists and changes to the story lines, and they have also added some new creaturs and wepons.

Please dont listen to any of the bad reviews about this game if you liked the orignal and are thinking about renting or buying this game, you will not regret it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

easyer way to play

posted by resedental (CINNAMINSON, NJ) Jan 15, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

if your looking for this game but in a better format resident evil the umbrella and darkside cronicles will be better however this game if best played to learn the story the other 2 games will tell you about what happened but is more for good old zombie killing and gut busting challenges

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Resident Evil Remake: Well done

posted by relicoffering (GRAPEVINE, TX) Mar 7, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Having played and beaten the original on the PS1 several times, I give this port of a remake an 8/ 10. The graphical and gameplay overhaul is amazing. Now the lights flicker, the water is beautiful, you can use defensive weapons, and you kick up dust when you run. The gore is gorgeous, the monsters are disgusting, and the mansion is creepier than ever. Also they included the Lisa Trevor storyline in this game which is nice. If you've played the original before you'll notice some of the layout of the mansion has changed, which keeps things fresh. This is a well made remake. IF YOU HAVEN'T PLAYED THE ORIGINAL you most likely won't appreciate this high quality remake, that's probably why it has a 5.5/ 10 average score on this website. Also it's because the player controls are exactly like the original game: tough. THIS IS NO RESIDENT EVIL 4. It's not action-packed or fast. It's creepy and meticulous. It's scary because you can't kick or do suplexes. It's scary because you can't fluidly run away from enemies. The limitatons make it good. After all, it's a remake of a game from 1996, this is not a modern game. It's a difficult game to master, but that's why it's good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The best version of RE1

posted by Tyler137 (MODESTO, CA) Aug 11, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the best resident evil wii game so far for me. Its like playing the gamecube version but on the wii the controls you have to work on yourself. But for a wii game it off the hook.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Recommended

posted by shocktroop (BROWNSVILLE, TX) Apr 16, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've played this game on the original PS1, DS, and GCN. Now I find myself playing the Wii port of the GCN. This game has a secret formula that somehow has me playing it over and over again, its also good that each title has something new and different thus adding a new experience.

If you have never played the GCN version I recommend you to hop onto this one. Although it is nearly identical the new control options are quite comfortable, I personally like the Wii remote + nunchuk. The game is revamped from the original PS version, its going to be a whole new experience.

So if you have not picked up the GCN version I recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

If you loved the Game Cube version...

posted by djcomputro (SAN ANGELO, TX) Jan 4, 2010

Member since Jun 2004

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The first thing I thought when I started this game was where the heck is the cursor. I was sitting there waving the controller at the screen trying to make the cursor highlight the 'New Game' option. It took me several seconds to realize that there's not going to be a cursor here. I then decided to go to 'Options' to get the picture in widescreen mode so I won't have the black bars on the sides. No luck there. Finally, I started a new game and figured out that this is in no way different than the Resident Evil for the Game Cube. I was disappointed because I was expecting an updated Wii version kind of like what they did with Metroid Prime Trilogy. As far as I can tell, there is no significant difference between playing this game or playing the Game Cube version( except the GC version was on two discs ). I should have probably read up a little more about this game.

All that being said, I absolutely loved the GC Resident Evil. It took a while, and some effort, to get used to it but I was hooked. It was the only game I had played that really made me feel like I was in a scary movie. The odd fixed camera angles and the difficult controls only added to this great experience. Sometimes, you don't know what's around the next corner or what will jump out at you and you can't peek. When you encounter an enemy, you can't easily dodge or jump out of the way of attacks. Neither can you just start pumping bullets into the enemy since ammo can be a precious commodity. Also, some enemies can come back faster and stronger if you kill them. Sometimes it's better to just avoid them all together to save ammo, health, and hassle. The game had amazing atmosphere, a fantastic story, good puzzles, and a lot of replay value. You'll definitely want to play it over and over.

Since I loved the GC version so much, I really can't say anything bad about this Wii version since it is basically a carbon copy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A very good game for the old classic RE fans.

posted by thugj71242 (PAULLINA, IA) Dec 14, 2009

Member since Apr 2004

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have to say for starters people who hate on this game is probaly because that they have been playing the most recent one like 4 and 5 and so have I but still i prefer the old games better they may not of had that good of graphics but the games freakin ruled so yeah to all those haters out there your to used to playin the new style of gaming and dont respect the old style games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It's a great game so stop the hate!

posted by WraithX79 (LUBBOCK, TX) Sep 7, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For those of you saying that you're big 'Resident Evil fans' yet you say this one is terrible because of it's controls and it not being like number four or five. Face it, you're not a big fan of the series...you just like four and five, which is fine...They are great games.

The thing is though I loved this game, it was my first time playing it and it was just what i hoped it would be. Yes i had to get used to the control scheme, but really, it's not that hard guys, if you're having trouble just run around a little in an empty room to get used to things, that's what i usually do with a new game.

Now if you are expecting something more like four or five you need to realize before you get this game. Four and five are more action based, with more shooter elements, where as number one is mainly survival horror, with a portion of action, and more puzzle solving.

This was my two cents about this game, I'd recommend it as a rent if you just want to check it out, but if you really love the Resident Evil series then i say you should buy it, thirty bucks is not a bad price at all for the game that started a great survival horror series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Why all the hate?

posted by DiggerNix (MANCHESTER, NH) Sep 1, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

RE: Archives, in my opinion was a very well done game. I'm a long time fan of the series and can remember playing this one back on the old PS1. Any of you, who like myself have played the original Resident Evil 1 will be happy to see that the gameplay has been adjusted slightly so that the movement of Jill and Chris are no longer so "blocky" and restrictive along with the graphics being re-vamped for the Wii makes it much easier on the eyes. Also, what i thought to be the scariest part of the original game... the voice acting; has been re-done so the characters seem like they acually have some emotion and almost feels as if watching a movie during cut scenes and not some animated robots like it was before on the original. I was very pleased with the game and it was tons of fun being able to play through it again on today's much higher quality systems, overall making it much, much more enjoyable.

I would recommend that anyone who has played the original definately try this out as its a very worth while experience. Along with some people who maybe have never played it before should try it now that its been re-done to today's standards. This is a definate rental, although I doubt that anyone other than the "hardcore" fans of this series like myself would be buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Back from the dead

posted by sTuaart99 (OLYMPIA, WA) Jun 23, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

The Original RE was great. Superior to many games of its era, it stood out from the rest and just begged people to play it. This Wii remake is no different. Spruced up graphics, controls,and gameplay give us all reason to play this classic again and again. If you want a good review of this game, check out the Resident Evil reviews on the Gamecube. Buy this game, if you don't, at least rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A classic game

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Jul 6, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The beginning to the Resident Evil series is now on the Wii. And thats just about the only thing changed in this game. Its kind of like Pikmin and Mario Tennis that were on the gamecube and they modified it to work on the Wii. The controls have been changed so you can use the wiimote and nunchuck, but i dont really think the controls work as good as they really should. But atleast you can also use the Gamecube controller and the classic controller aswell. I really wanted to see some enhancements, but they basically just copied and pasted this game from the first version. So yes now you have the first Resident Evil on your wii, but unless you dont already own the first, i suggest your just pass this one by.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Intended for those who dont have it.

posted by ibfreakin (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jun 28, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I am glad to hear that it is essentially the same game. I have been holding out on buying the game cube versions for my WII. Why should I have to buy another controller just because I dont have a game cube? This game was intended for fans like me who dont own this classic yet. I hope they re-release ALL of the RE titles!!! I WILL BUY THEM ALL!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Word of Warning

posted by Wendigo17 (EASLEY, SC) Jun 24, 2009

Member since Nov 2004

10 out of 19 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

Let me caution all of you who are considering buying/renting this game. All it is a lazy port of the GameCube game. The only thing new about it is the title and the Wii motion controls, and the motion controls are poorly implemented. There are countless versions of this game across a variety of systems, so unless you're desperate to play the original on your Wii, I'd suggest skipping this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wow. At least some people have sense.

posted by swfan34 (OCEAN SPRINGS, MS) Feb 4, 2010

Member since May 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I am appalled. At what? Some of the reviews for this game.

"it suck camaera was on the wall chackter"

And that was all I could take.

Okay, not let me discuss this game.

The story? Not all that great.

Controls? Good for the type of game it is, but by today's standards, horrible.

Graphics? It's a GameCube game. It's not new. They're GameCube graphics.

Now more in-depth.

This is a Wii port of a GameCube game that is a remake of a PS1 game.

The controls aren't too great. But for the kind of game it is, where camera angles make the game seem cinematic instead of like a game, you need this control type. Pushing up on the nunchuck's analog stick moves the character forward. Pushing to the sides rotates.

It's very simple, really. It you play the game for more than 3 seconds you'll get used to it, and then you'll be able to play other great games, such as the rest of the RE series and Silent Hill (Except 4 & 5).

If you want to know how today's preferred controls would work in an RE game, play Outbreak.

Now, the story.

It's cliche. Terribly, terribly cliche. The GameCube remake made the story make a bit more sense and less cliche, but the basic idea is still horribly, awfully cliche.

An evil corporation makes a super virus to create the ultimate soldiers, and it creates zombies.

Yeah.

It gets a bit deeper than that, and overall I think it's okay. The RE series got better stories as it went along, so 2, 3, CV, 4 & 0 have good stories.

I exclude 5, because it was terrible.

Anyway. The graphics.

GameCube, we love you.

Aaaaand that's it.

Yes, I am giving it a 10.

And no, I don't think that's even a bit wrong.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disapointment

posted by beaver (WOODHAVEN, MI) Feb 22, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

Huge disappointment. I got this in the mail assuming they had updated the game for a widescreen tav since it was on the Wii. I had played the mario tennis archive game for the Wii and it was updated to use Wii controls and for newer Tv's. This game was not updated at all. It looks awful on my tv. Not to mention the game is extremely erie and creepy at many part, but some of the monsters are so cheesy its ridiculous. It completely ruins the game. I was highly disappointed with this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible Controls

posted by GameBoyz (MIDDLETOWN, CT) Oct 10, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

This game tested my patience with the control. I guess capcom is just pure lazy to not improve control for this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Save your time

posted by lazyturtle (HONOLULU, HI) Mar 5, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

Its EXACTLY the same as the PS1 version, down to the awful controls. I played for about 15 minutes before I realized that I'd rather be sleeping. If you have a real love of retro and don't appreciate all of the improvements made to the gaming world in the last 15 years, you'll enjoy this game. Also..my TV is a little on the dark side. Even at night with the lights turned off I couldn't see what was going on. I get the horror aspect of that, but when I can't even walk down the hallway because I can't see whats going on..its just not fun.
Skip it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

please read this before renting this game!!!!!!!!

posted by wildbeast2 (PALATKA, FL) Aug 24, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 17 gamers (6%) found this review helpful

this game sucks i play it for 10 mins and it suck the camaera was on the wall when the chackter ran all so sent it back the day

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

same

posted by MATTROCKS (SOUTHGATE, MI) Jun 26, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 20 gamers (5%) found this review helpful

its the same as the gamcube version only diffrence is the motion control

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Useless

posted by Fausett (CHICO, CA) Jun 26, 2009

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 35 gamers (3%) found this review helpful

Where to start? The controls were annoying. The storybord and gameplay was lame. The combat was weak. I mean using the knife...? It was helpless. Sure you get can get like one swing at the zombies and that's it. And the aiming of the gun was not good at all like Resident Evil 4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

resident evil

posted by dawndupree (NEWNAN, GA) Jul 7, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

this game is no good it takes at lest 10 bullets to kill a zombie story is bad oh and controls are horrible no matter what you have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Zombies weren't responsible for the groaning..

posted by HYRUL3 (NASHUA, NH) Apr 29, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

I really, really tried to like this game, and give it a fair shot. Unfortunately the game was working against me at nearly every turn.

The controls/camera shifts are just... awful. You will die multiple times from running in to an enemy when you don't mean to. You will waste ammo. You will miss timed objectives over and over because you can't turn a corner easily.

I don't have a lot of time to play, and the VERY limited inventory and save system are equally frustrating. I finally stopped about 2/3s of the way into the game and said "I am not enjoying this. I haven't even been scared once."

The story and setting are cool though. If they remade it with RE4's perspective, it would be a must have. But I can't recommend a game that actively works against players.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

pretty awesome.

posted by Chloe16 (NORMAN PARK, GA) Sep 7, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

i liked this one. mainly because it makes you think with your brain and not just with your thumbs and fingers. The game isnt very scary, unless creepy mansion freak you out... but aside from the sprinting zombies you THINK are dead, it's not all that scary. if you like brain-teasers, zombies. and exploring mansions, i know you'll love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse