Rent Resident Evil 6 for PS3
view large frontback

Resident Evil 6

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.0

3213 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Loved it

posted by Scientist_ad (OAKLAND, CA) Oct 29, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

14 out of 19 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

Despite the low reviews I found that re6 was a blast to play! I really enjoyed the revamped mercenaries especially online. Campaign was exciting, the story was ok nothing fantastic but good. I just wished it would explain a bit more about the other characters who are not mentioned in the story. Never the less the game is not that hard to platinum, spent a great deal of time on it. I just loved playing this game! I've been a RE fan since the ps one days but I don't mind the change it's still a great game! People need to get over the fact that the games are not as horrifying as the past but that capcom can still make a great game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Games like this are what makes Gamefly great.

posted by AlwaysTumbling (DOW CITY, IA) Nov 6, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

14 out of 21 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I wouldn't buy this game. Not because it's terrible, which it isn't, but because I can't support what Capcom is doing with the series.

The Resident Evil franchise is drowning in itself. It's not an obviously bad thing at first glance because the game isn't all that bad but the series is becoming stale incredibly fast as the people behind it refuse to pick a direction to go with. They're afraid to cut the hokey pseudo-horror elements because they don't want to completely alienate the older Resident Evil audience and because of that they can't compete with today's shooter/action games. So what we get is a game that is neither scary nor precise enough in it's action to be truly satisfying for anybody. They're still doing things like hindering the controls/camera to make the player feel helpless at times, which is a classic horror game technique but unfortunately they still made the characters themselves into invincible action heroes, creating a paradox where it doesn't become scary but instead just becomes annoying. Not to mention the story they chose - which is a convoluted mess of an excuse to bring all these characters from the other games together and they had to do this because they're unwilling to bet on their new characters being able to carry the franchise. The final confirmation of the cowardice at Capcom to push this series forward is Chris' catastrophe of an ending. I won't spoil it but they could have done something amazing and fitting for the way they built up the story but instead they played it safe and it fell flat on it's face warranting no emotional reaction.

Capcom's decision to sit and fester in a middle ground that nobody is perfectly happy with is disappointing.

The game itself is a solid 7 at best and a lot worse at times. Definitely a good rental but not much more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Definatley is one of the top games of 2012

posted by xGH05T408x (SAN JOSE, CA) Oct 4, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

16 out of 25 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

This game is not as bad as most reviewers say it is. This game is high paced and jam packed like RE4 and 5 with the scary horror that is RE1 - RE3. One other thing to mention is that the Mercenaries mode it a GREAT feature to the RE series. But in RE6, its really good. The story mode will make more sense if you actually have played one of the previous RE games. But even if you didn't, it should be pretty obvious. There's not that much replay value other than going back to earn more stuff like Skills or Serpent emblems. However, Comming from a "old-school" Resident Evil fan, this game is surely not perfect, but it is still a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dont listen to bad reviews

posted by badbrains (VENTURA, CA) Oct 4, 2012

Member since Nov 2007

16 out of 26 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I think most of the bad reviews for this game come from cod fans who don't like change, they would rather play the same game year after year. As you all know resident evil has been changing since resident evil 4 released back in January 2005. Although i love the original resident evil style, i think the changes they made were necessary to keep fun and diverse game play. The biggest change which is switching the camera angle to a third person over the shoulder view really makes game play alot easier and less frustrating . Resident evil 6 took this and added to it to give you more control over your character as now you can dodge , duck , dip , dive and dodge as you shoot through hordes of a wide variety of enemies not just brain dead foe. Another change that was made that i thought was very useful is hand to hand combat, as we all know ammo can sometimes be scarce in resident evil games so having another means to kill is warmly welcomed :note resident evil 4 and 5 started to include this but it was limited to counters. Now you can start brawling with zombies anytime you want instead of having to time the counters. Anyways i could go on alot longer but the main point im trying to make is change is good and thats what this game has done success fully. I recommend renting this game if not buying it because it has a great coop (even split screen which is rare now days) and great replay value do to the returning mercenaries mode. 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game

posted by StrickNi9e (DAYTON, OH) Oct 25, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Its alot better than its rated

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Don't listen to bad reviews that give 3s and 4s

posted by murrellbrittany (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Oct 1, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

18 out of 31 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

Resident Evil 6 may not be PERFECT but no game is. I rate this game an 8 because, it tries please every one, Leon is the survivor horror super spy, Jake and the Ustanak is similar to resident evil 3 and has awesome action and he fights like his father minus super speed. And Chris is action packed like in Resident evil 5 (Which I enjoyed). Not to mention Ada Wong whos campaign is like the truest to you (OLD SCHOOL HORROR FANS).

Truthfully, the game is awesome and I never had a problem with the camera, quick time events, cut scenes, or aiming even when playing the demos. The controls were a bit awkard but thats the same feeling for every game... you gotta adapt to it, once you do you will become a pro. The cover system also works well enough.

The game offers a good amount challenge especially deeper in the campaign and the freedom of movement is a vast improvement over its predecessors and melee combat is cool and usefull, boss fights can be epic.

Overall, avoid negative review and you be judge, some people gonna love it, some will hate it, but I bet you as the consumer will enjoy it. HAVE FUN.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Lack of saves

posted by sott3yahoo (CARMEL, IN) Nov 19, 2012

Member since Apr 2005

9 out of 16 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

The "save" opportunities are few and far between. I like playing games in smaller doses, and RE6 doesn't let you save your place often enough. Killed it for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not Really Resident Evil, But Still a Great Game

posted by rumpleskag (LINDALE, TX) Jan 4, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

After reading many reviews (not restricted to this site) I realize that this game is getting a lot of flack. I have been a Resident Evil fan since the T-virus was isolated to a little town called Raccoon City. I have always been a fan of the survival horror genre and I have RE to thank for that.

Having said this, I will say that every game after Resident Evil 3 has gotten farther away from that familiar city, and simultaneously farther away from that genre as well. However, despite that fact, it still does a remarkable job of using the same characters and continues the basic story threads that I fell in love with in the originals.

So, I say, take this game for what it is, a third person action shooter (among the ranks of Gears of War, Army of Two) made by a group that must have stopped to watch every Michael Bay movie ever, and let that inspire the way they crafted the game.

If you are a RE fan, DO NOT pass up this game because it is technically "not like the original." Instead, play it for the pretty good action game it is, as well as, the furthering of the RE universe narrative.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I hate it

posted by MrSche (MEMPHIS, TN) Nov 29, 2012

Member since Jun 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I couldnt get past the first chapter. I want the old resident evil back. They have strayed too far from their origins with this. Feels more like an action shooter, rather than a survival horror.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Flawed to death

posted by Eldavo (RANCHO CORDOVA, CA) Nov 14, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I pre-ordered this game, and I'm sad that I did. Here's what you need to know:

- Aiming is more precarious and clunky than in any previous RE game, and that's hard to do.
- Context-sensitive commands come and go in less than a half-second, meaning that you're usually punching instead of stomping, thereby getting your leg bitten off.
- You will lose hair trying to manage an inventory of about seven blocks at a time, with no way to store for later.
- Some loading screens will take you to a balcony (for example), only to have you jump off the balcony right into another loading screen or cut scene.
- Random quicktime events will keep you from enjoying the cut scenes. They also happen during combat, which will kill you, because you were already pressing other buttons.
- The dialogue hasn't gotten any better, and the characters have random and poorly-defined motivations. The localization team phoned it in.
- There are four campaigns to play from, none of which tell a story other than "there are zombies, and it sucks."
- Your character is usually blocking your view.
- Boss fights can take hours, and you rarely know if you're shooting the right area, or whether this is a scene where your bullets do anything (they don't always).
- When you're down on health, there's a second-wind system like in Borderlands, except it's pointless, because anything capable of almost-killing you is capable of finishing you off.
- Between the awkward second wind system, the unskippable cut scenes, and the auto-saves, about half the game is spent being unable to pause.
- Lots of money was spent making a computer-generated point of view as shaky as it could possibly be. It's like they were trying to convert the stench of zombies into visual format.
- The spinning camera will try to make you motion sick during combat.
- There are missions you can fail without knowing it, and you have to keep playing to know it.
- Gets a 5 because it's pretty.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Spoiler Alert!

posted by sma78642 (AUSTIN, TX) Oct 15, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The whole story can be summed up in one bad sentence. "I'll tell you later, let's go downstairs." If you can get past the ridiculous premise and turn off all of the horrible HUD, this game can be a fun co-op romp through some of the best environments I can remember in a game. It's like a big budget action movie with a buddy. That is if the servers are working that day...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Flaws keep action/horror hybrid from greatness

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Oct 7, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

"Resident Evil 6", the latest in Capcom's successful zombie franchise, suffers a bit of an identity crisis. The series began its transition from survival horror to a more action oriented game with RE4, and moved further into action territory with RE5. RE6 tries to be both, and while there are certainly outstanding moments in this game, there are a whole host of flaws that hold it back from being the best of the series to date. It is certainly the most ambitious entry into the RE series, with 4 campaigns (Ada Wong's unlocks after you beat the other three), a Mercenaries mode, and an online mode called Agent Hunt, where you infiltrate another player's game as an enemy. The campaigns are all 5 chapters long, each running between 5-7 hours for a playthrough, depending on your skill. That makes for a 20-30 hour game (more if you play the campaigns as both characters, as there are 7 total playable), which is a fair amount of gameplay, giving you a decent bang for your buck if you purchased. Graphics and voice acting are very good, and the story is decent, though, typical of the series, a bit convoluted. Improved is the AI of your companion, and being able to move and shoot is a welcome change. The controls work fairly well, but the camera can be troublesome in spots. QTEs are plentiful and in some cases awkwardly implemented. Cheap deaths abound, caused by failing QTEs or by having the camera wrest control from the player. Sadly these occur often enough to make the game very frustrating at times. Also, the campaigns overlap, forcing the replaying of whole sections, making things redundant. The inventory is awkward, you can pause only in single player, and forget about changing options mid game as bringing up that menu leaves you vulnerable to attack. Checkpoints are not save points so make sure you see the save icon. There is only 1 save file, so no jumping between campaigns. This is a good game but not a great one. Rent before you buy, as it's at least worth playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

No Hope Left

posted by StarRaven (LAKE WORTH, FL) Oct 16, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

11 out of 20 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

Such a disappointment.

The good stuff. 4 Campaigns! YES! All Co-op! Totally awesome.

Leon: Okay, classic character. The closest thing to resemble Zombies in a RE game since 4. Helena is okay. Still not scary.

Chris: Okay, classic character, no more muscles. Drinking problem!? Piers is... unimportant. J'avo are awful. All action, everyone compares it to COD and they're not wrong.

Jake: Not too bad. A little ridiculous. Nemesis guy is no Nemesis, but a decent attempt I suppose. Shelly is offsets Jakes ridiculousness by being rather useless. But whatever. J'avo still ruin everything.

Ada: Okay.

Mercenaries Mode aka Horde Mode, aka, LAME/Unoriginal.

Graphics are actually worse than 5, and the gameplay is significantly worse. It's very cheap. Capcom cheap. Dragon's Dogma cheap. Dead Rising cheap.

It feels like they built this game on left over tech from Lost Planet and Dead Rising. Not good. Not good at all.

There's so many characters in this series now. They don't kill any off, just move on to more and more characters. STUPID.

Not scary. And UNLIKE 5, it's not even a good action game. It's a mediocre action game with some stuff stolen from COD and the name RE attached to it.

This series has lost all of what made it good. All of it. It began to peel away at 4... and then moreso at 5 but was still good. Now, it's over.

There were some great opportunities for what's in this game. They just got lazy, rushed, cut corners or work for a company like Capcom where they don't make good games to begin with.

Play at your own risk. Co-Op makes it more bearable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not what RE fans are expecting.

posted by RedPillEater (DALLAS, TX) Dec 27, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I'm sure you are seeing a lot of mixed reviews for this game. The reason is simple. This is NOT a very good survival/horror game, which is what is expected from the Resident Evil series. It is however, a pretty decent first person shooter zombie co-op game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst RE game so far

posted by kreyes19 (NEW YORK, NY) Oct 5, 2012

Member since Oct 2010

8 out of 16 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i had i hopes for this game even before it was mentioned & when it did i was pump for it but after playing it i gave up its a boring generic 3rd person shooter good job capcon on destroying this franchise r.i.p RE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Doesn't even save my game .. gave up on it.

posted by Relnin (AUSTIN, TX) Oct 6, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Got past several check points and it didn't save my game, start up on second play couldn't get past credits, I loved RE5 and RE4 .. ever since Racoon City this set of games has lost it's way.

I kept this game for a total of 2 days .. what a waste.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

give it time to develop:

posted by piggiepie (DALLAS, TX) Oct 4, 2012

Member since Mar 2010

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

As I started the game I immediately saw many of the issues reviewers were discussing and I thought I was headed for a let down. Never the less, I understand that not all games have the luxury of instantly capturing that thing in every gamer that makes you say "Wow," this is one. But, with a little perseverance, like 30-45 minutes, a truly entertaining game reveals itself.

As the game develops, the fluidity of its functions begin to take off and the intensity grows with each step. The mechanics open up and your off fighting the zombie onslaught like you had hoped to. If you are able to not force this game into something that it is not I believe you will find a real thrill.

I highly recommend playing with another. I picked up a random patron and we set off through four chapters. Never had so much fun with a stranger, who became a friend, in a long time. That was a pleasant breath of nostalgia.

The cover system and the ability to slide, roll, dodge and leap to your back blasting from the ground with a shotty is just flat out fun. The boss battles are intense and the zombie AI isn't as bad as people say. I actually like the fact they are dumbly wielding a weapon, while some are in armor and others are good ole brain dead targets we all love to mow down. Yes, some of the puzzles can be a waste of time but others having you saying, "I can't believe I was that stupid," creating a good laugh at your expense.

I am only through one character play through but anxiously await to play the reaming three. In closing, if you are fan of this genre of any kind I highly recommend giving this a shot and implore you to let it develop. Patience is key through the first half hour and then it is off to the rescue. Happy hunting -

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A Confusing Mess

posted by ShaneCedtTexas (CONCORD, CA) Jan 27, 2013

Member since May 2012

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When Resident Evil 7 is made, that game will be touted as a "return to the series origins", because this action-heavy game was a critical and commerical failure.

I understand the desire to be like "Call of Duty" and sell as many as copies, but this was a flop and the weakest of the series.

The GameFly Rental description I received talked about the game starts off in the Oval Office, with Leon deciding to shoot the President of the United States. Well, actually, Leon shoots the Prez in a midwest college, but it shows that the story itself is confusing. When playing the game, it feels like you're reading a book in the middle and have missed out on the backstory.

Turns out Zombies have been created by Neo-Umbrella and everyone's getting infected...and it's more of a annoyance than horrifying, really. It feels pasted on.

There are many story gaffs in just Leon's campaign alone. Your lady agent tells you that she'll give you the answers at the Cathedral, even though later in the game higher ups want to know what's at the Cathedral. She could just tell them, but...nah.

So off you go, and the game is just boring. Soon you'll find yourself fighting off zombies in a gun shop. The store owner could release the shutters (which he does later), but nah.

At one point, a douchebag survivor's gun jams. Not realizing he's in a gun shop where there is plenty of guns and ammo, he runs outside and gets killed.

You then fight a Boomer. Then you go to a cathredral in a bus. The bus driver sees one zombie in the road, decides not to slow down, runs over him, crashes and causes a big clusterf--k for everyone.

Then you find yourself in a graveyard and, at one point, have to backtrack to find a dog with a key in his mouth. That's when I gave up and turned off the game.

It is fun to roundhouse kick zombie's heads in. The combat roll is disjointed, but it's fun for me to go Max Payne like and go "pop pop pop" on these zombies with two guns.

Overall, a mess of

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Clumsy and unpolished

posted by BraveSam (DALLAS, TX) Jan 6, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is the worst Resident Evil game I've every played and I've played almost all of them.

Like Resident Evil 4 and 5, this game is designed more like an action game. Resident Evil 6 takes that style much further but fails to provide sufficient ammunition to sustain that style of game play for more than a few minutes.

Ammunition goes fast because the zombies can take a beating and there isn't much of it out there. That alone makes the game feel way out of balance and empty. The lack of ammunition takes away the fun. I actually switched the game to unlimited ammunition but that option didn't work.

To make matters worse, the controls are clumsy and awkward. I won't bother explaining why, it just is.

The A.I. isn't bad but I wasn't impressed either. Having a companion felt unnatural. I would've rather been alone.

It's also easy to be at the wrong place at the wrong time. I got hit by a train many times and died for reasons that weren't my fault. It wasn't about skill. I simply should not have been in the trains pathway or should have know to hold down the buttons that were on the screen instead of pressing them. I also got hit with cars out of nowhere. I guess that was punishment for running away from zombies while trying to ration my ammunition. Again, I was hit by a car, not because I lacked skill, but because I was trying to run in a certain direction.

If you run out of ammunition you can punch, kick, and stomp zombies. But you'll often end up kicking the air while being abused by another zombie. Again, the controls are clumsy.

The save system is horrible. Sometimes I was set back 20 minutes or more when I decided to continue playing the campaign.

Like the first Resident Evil, this game uses herbs as a healing system. Herbs don't fit the style and theme of Resident Evil 6 so picking them up and using them feels strange.

This is simply an awkward game. It's unpolished and clumsy. Capcom should be ashamed for releasing such an unfinis

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Poorly copied game

posted by mrman1234 (LITTLE FALLS, NJ) Oct 9, 2012

Member since Sep 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game looks and feels like they took resident evil 5 and just added a worse storyline. The graphics look 2 years old alot of time, the game mechanics and gunplay is redundant at best. This series needs to go back to its roots, a horror survivor story with action that ramps up and then it goes back to horror. The story needs to be less convoluted and the characters need to have more interesting personalities. There is almost no difference between chris, jake ,and leon. They are all the same guy with a different haircut. All in all, please stop expanding the RE scope in each game, condense it, bring back the horror survival, and give us a more complex protagonist and a please identify who the RE antagonist is. You need a better bad guy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good

posted by thekavinwall (DAYTONA BEACH, FL) Oct 20, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Its a solid Resident evil, a much better game than 5, however, while the multiple story lines are cool and add length to the game Leon's is really the only one I've thought to be outstanding, taking you back to the root of the evil with zombie enemies and chaos . Overall I find it to be visually great and a step up from 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Thumbs Down

posted by kbellis79 (PALMERTON, PA) Feb 11, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Well I have played RE since the beginning of gaming, this was bad... real bad. The feeling was like no RE game I ever played. I was warned about the quality of this game and didn't listen. Maybe it's just me but I was not impressed with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Worst gaming experience ever

posted by barlo420 (RENSSELAER, IN) Feb 2, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Your character takes up nearly a full half screen with a very close in camera angle which makes it nearly impossible to watch what's coming besides what's directly in front of you. In addition to that your ammo/health box takes up nearly a quarter of the screen itself. The aiming controls are horrible as well. All in all a very poor showing for the Resident Evil franchise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Never Again

posted by wilsonhb21 (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Feb 2, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Never again will I allow a game review taint my decision to try or buy a game. There is just too many different opinions out there. Res 6 is a great game that I would love to add to my game collection. I give it a 10 for all of it's improvements from Res 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game ever

posted by alldayshooter (LAS VEGAS, NV) Feb 1, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Best game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse