Rent Resident Evil 5 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Resident Evil 5

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.8

26995 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NO fanboi review here - Honest and fair review!!!

posted by CNTRINSGNT (MANVILLE, NJ) Mar 14, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

242 out of 310 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

As usual I will list the Good and the BAD of this game with a final thought.

========
The GOOD
========

1. The gameplay is 100% Addictive! You will want to finish this game asap, as in non stop gaming action... it really never gets old.

2. Tons of action and some seriously EPIC boss fights!

3. Best graphics ever! Total next gen here.

4.Intense moments and tons of enemys on screen at one time.. gets the blood flowing in more ways than one!

=======
THE BAD
=======

1. The control system is a little different and some people might take a while to get used to it.

2.Framerate issues, but nothing too too bad.

3. Limited inventory kind of sucks in my opinion... I think we might all be used to fallout 3's huge INV! lol

==============
fInal thoughts
==============

This is a must rent/buy. Very very good game and I feel its a little better or an even match for left for dead, dont get me wrong they are very different but both are just as good, and if you beat left for dead.... what are you waiting for GET THIS TITLE!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Co-Op Experience of the Decade

posted by Atrius (EUSTIS, FL) Mar 31, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

65 out of 88 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

OK, to start this off I just have to comment on the visuals. This is a game that is going to justify buying your HD set. The colors are vibrant, the textures are sharp, there aren't nearly as many jagged edges that you'd find in Halo 3, and the level of realism and detail instilled in all of the characters and environments completely immerses you in the game -which is exciting since the situations and bosses you face can be really intense.

But the gameplay is what makes or breaks a game right? Well, I can gladly report that after playing the entire game splitscreen on Veteran that it is absolutely worth your time. As a cooperative experience, this game dominates the likes of "Army of Two". You have to plan and stategize who gets or needs what weapons, ammo, herbs, items and how each situation - boss fight or otherwise - is going to be approached. Personally, it's the best co-op game I think I've ever played (and I've gone through GoW 1 & 2, Halo 1, 2, & 3, Rainbow Six Vegas 1 & 2, Army of Two, and many more).

Another important thing to mention is that the pacing of this game was done masterfully. Following every intense fight or moment is a period of calmness where you get a chance to search for supplies and really just regroup and prepare for the next fight.

The controls are also super tight, the headshots are very satisfying, and the story is interesting enough if you're paying attention and is even more rich if you know the history of the Resident Evil franchise.

By now, most RE fans have rented or bought this title but for anyone new to this series you have to know that this game is good. If you have read or seen anything besides this review, you probably already know that.

This game just sets a new standard for what co-op games should have been all along. If you rent (or buy) any game in 2009, let it be RE5 - you will not regret it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Just Shy of Perfection

posted by SkinnyJr (DEERFIELD, IL) Mar 12, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

77 out of 107 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

Having a game come off the back of Resident Evil 4, one of 2005's greatest titles, is a huge thing to live up to. RE5 pushed the envelope with this installment. Capcom assured certain fear of both peircing light and pure darkness. Before you get going, you'll notice the controls are the same as Resident Evil 4. A simple and, at times, frustrating control scheme. As a personal preference, I would have liked being able to walk AND shoot at the same time.
The danger of the enemy is not in their smarts, but in their numbers. The infected will not always shuffle along; they come in all different speeds. At some points, an Infected villager will sprint at you to catch you off guard. The hit detection is amazing. Shooting an enemy in the arm or hand will cause them to drop their weapon. A few shots in the leg will make them kneel down - setting up a close combat opportunity. It did seem that in order to pull off a head shot, an enemy needs to be shot on the very top of the head; A shot in the face is no good. Mini-bosses are scattered in every level. These guys are tough. You may not beat them the first few times. Chris and Sheva can swap supplies at any time, as long as they are near each other. The only problem being the inventory menue which pops up in the middle of the screen. The game will continue while you choose your supplies, so make sure all enemies are dead. Luckily the D-pad allows for some on the fly switching. Levels are more open, so check your back. Sheva is always vigilant and will toss you ammo, and heal you when needed, but cannot be strategized with. This makes the final boss more than incredibly hard. While the game looks and plays on spectacular levels, I didnt find myself very scared while playing in the daylight. Its not a bad thing, but it may not make diehard fans feel at home. Double check every shot, each Bullet is precious.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

controls = not for me

posted by chris58 (ELK GROVE, CA) Jan 1, 2011

Member since May 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I wish the game had better controls. The game looks amazing but frustrating with the "in game" inventory management system which you are getting jacked up by zombies while trying to heal yourself. yea buddy it was super frustrating.

Your partner always runs out of ammo :(

Lastly moving around is so bad I just had to return it....I just could not play the game, I think I am just used to mwf and gears that this just did not work for me. However the story and cut scenes are perfect..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Different

posted by diazed (CARLSBAD, NM) Jun 13, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Upon receiving Resident Evil 5 I expected something BIG. I have not had the chance to play any of the other Resident Evil games past 2. I requested 5 because i have heard wonderful things about the game. I noticed that it has changed very much, for one you can not shoot and walk at the same time, secondly the aiming, really a laser sight that you can never see the end of. These where two big things that bugged me, another thing that influenced everything was the clunky movements and slow reaction. The knife was horrible and hard to use. This made my time spent playing this game different, i had a tough time playing this game, but i pushed on and finished, it was an amazing idea and if the controls where better I would rate it a ten.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

the controls...

posted by stevewea (BOTHELL, WA) Apr 6, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I'm a bit of a "ease of use purist", but for anyone who has not played previous RE titles, the controls and perspective will seem absolutely ridiculous. Capcom, break ties with the past and come up with a control scheme that the new generation can relate to.

Otherwise, the game, story, all that are great. :-)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Could not finish this game (horrible)

posted by gamindude (LOS ANGELES, CA) Mar 23, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Game mechanic feels so outdated (compared to others like Gears of War or Dead Space). Not being able to move and do a secondary action like shoot is not fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Could have been brilliant

posted by rubey2378 (Corvallis, OR) Mar 22, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

22 out of 33 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

It angers me to a degree to think of how amazing this game could have been. Don't get me wrong, it's good, but it could have been great.

The Good: Amazing graphics, beautiful cut scenes, and good story, and cool boss battles.

The Bad: To say that the controls are clunky is a vast understatement. This was touted as an action game, and yet i found myself fighting with the controls as much as i fought with the enemies.

The knife is the most worthless secondary weapon i have ever encountered in a game. I am convinced its only purpose is to break open crates and barrels.

7.5 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Meh

posted by dlmonkey (CAMPBELL, CA) Jan 9, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

this game didnt do anything for me, not really killing zombies, boring fights, cant move and shoot? constantly running out of ammo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Still needs work

posted by Lonewolf1 (MONROE, MI) Jul 24, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I got this from GameFly today - and sent it back on the same day. The camera controls are very bad - I didn't like the aiming system nor the stop and shoot - I didn't like the button combinations that had to be used just to use ONE weapon.

This was the first time I played an RE title - I was very disappointed too. I couldn't get past chapter 1-1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Mindless adherence to obsolete control scheme.

posted by RARuiz (THE COLONY, TX) Apr 13, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

13 out of 21 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Well designed, high quality game and graphics with a decent story. Truly impressive in those regards. Unfortunately, it is my opinion that their reluctance to give us a more 'free' control scheme only degrades this game. If I had been able to 'move + shoot', 'move + reload' and use the various melee attacks at will rather than through some obscure 'shoot + charge-the-badguy' mechanism I would have given this game a 9. As it is, those things really annoyed me. The incredibly limited inventory annoyed me slightly as well.

I have not played it in coop yet, which might increase my score if I find it highly enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Why?!?!

posted by st0icr4ven (GLASGOW, MT) Mar 18, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Resident Evil is still using an obsolete and fraustrating control scheme i.e. no auto run, no ability to move and fire in any direction. Sure the game looks great but the basic mechanics of it simply kill it. Capcom needs to bring RE into the 21st century of gaming because the 20th century of gaming was over a long time ago!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This game is bland

posted by Vitalious (MARICOPA, AZ) Mar 17, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

25 out of 42 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I've been a huge fan of the series. It seems Capcom is moving away from the survival horror type game and more towards action based FPS games like Rainbow Six, Call of Duty.

First the controls. Very clunky. They aren't nearly as smooth as they were in RE4. The knife is literally pointless. Your reach is less than that of the infected's attacks. So you have to hit them twice, until they stumble out of your range, then move close to them again to use the knife. While i understand this is a last ditch effort, you'll find yourself using it more often as your partner(AI controlled) wastes all your ammo shooting the infected in the legs and other non vital areas.

Second, your partner Sheeva. She's annoying and get's in the way frequently. She wastes ammo like its unlimited, and quite a few times she has failed to move out of a danger(like the chainsaw) and cost me to have to restart.

The story is decent, but it's not very involving. I don't feel swept up by it. Unlike the bosses in RE4, the bosses in RE5 seem kinda whimpy. In RE4 i was dreading fighting some of the bosses, but in this game, the bosses are so cliche.

The graphics are amazing and perhaps this games saving feature will be allowing a separate player/friend to play with you, but without that, this game easily ranks at a 4 or 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Overrated and disappointing....

posted by x360FANx (MURPHY, NC) Mar 17, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

32 out of 55 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

Let me start by stating that I am a huge Resident Evil fan. I have played almost every single game and most so far were exemplary titles. However, RE5 is an exception.

The Good - beautiful graphics, great story, impressive voice acting.

The Bad - TERRIBLE controls, extremely sluggish characters, frustrating inventory management (in real-time no less which means that you usually are getting chomped on by a zombie while you frantically attempt to use an herb), imbecile-like partner AI, and unclear objectives. Need I say more?

For me, the cons greatly outweigh the pros which led to my turning off my XBOX in frustration.

- This title is best left for die-hard/infinitely forgiving fans only!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

don,t waste your time

posted by emond9 (BOWIE, MD) Dec 27, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

9 out of 15 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

the graphics are alright. but the gaming controls suck. you arent allow to run and shoot, or walk and shoot. do not rent you will be upset

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by ryolacap (OVERLAND PARK, KS) Aug 9, 2009

Member since Nov 2005

9 out of 15 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

One of the worst playing game ever. Controls are unusable. YOU CANNOT ATTACK WHILE MOVING. You cant even swing your knife while walking. I can't believe it has such a high rating. With high rating for such sub-par games no wonder the industry keeps pumping out junk.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Clunky controls make for a bad game

posted by saberdino (MINNEOLA, FL) Jun 17, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

9 out of 15 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The controls are typical clunky 1980's style resident evil where you can't turn while walking making gameplay difficult especially when you are being pursued by infinity zombies and all you have to defend yourself is a gun with 2 bullets and a worthless partner who couldn't hit the broad side of a barn with a bazooka. There was just so little fun to be had in this game. It is extremely frustrating to the point I want to throw my controller through my TV set. You would think after all these years they could figure out how to fix the controls to make the game playable but I guess leeching off the Resident Evil name is enough for them to make a quick buck and nothing else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Death of a great franchise

posted by ORPsymon (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jul 20, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

10 out of 17 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

I dont know why Resident Evil has decided to completely change the Franchise that has done well. When i got this game I was hopeful, after the first battle I was repacking the game to send it back. I have a couple of issues with this game mostly that THERE ARE NO ZOMBIES! Which makes no sense ina RE game. Second the combat system is to clunky, to switch from gun to melee or even just shot is to slow causing you to get hit by someone you could have avoided. Third your partner, unless you are playing online (and have a friend to play with) you are stuck with the AI minus the I. When shes not just standing around she getting in your way which causes you to get hit. Bottom line if you where a fan of RE before outbreak go get RE 4 its a much better verison of what they tried to do in this game. So until they put ZOMBIES back in these games and not just really angry poeple with bugs in their brains im done playing RE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Where's the survival?

posted by Jacapo (TONAWANDA, NY) May 30, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I was very disappointed with this time. visually it was good but I found the sidekick buggy, the combat was rough to control at first but I never got the sense of dread. I never really felt I was in a survival horror game, it just felt too action oriented.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I guess you have to really be into it already...

posted by MeroMero (RESTON, VA) Jul 12, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

12 out of 21 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This game, to me...sucked. The controls are not particularly intuitive, the play feels choppy and not fluid, and I think they did a bad job pulling me into the plot. I really think you have to already be a Resident Evil fan to like this game because, as someone who has never played this franchise, I really didn't enjoy this game at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Biggest Disappointment of the Year

posted by cabnboi (DENVER, CO) Jul 15, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

26 out of 47 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

I found RE5 to be a huge disappointment and ultimately unplayable. If you're accustomed to the nimble and reactive game play of contemporary FPS / TPS shooters you will be sorely underwhelmed by this game. The pace of the game was torturously slow and the mechanics were cludgy at best. I know it's standard strategy in RE games to conserve ammo but I couldn't stand having to use melee attacks over and over. If the developers wanted you to depend on melee/knife attacks they should've made the controls quicker so you could effectively stand toe to toe with the waves of zombies that come after you. Don't even get me started on the computer AI. You're partner is worthless and wastes ammo like it's going out of fashion. Switching items and equipping weapons from inventory is a disaster. There's a nice diversity of weapons and accessories but the interface is a mess. To add insult to injury, the developers don't allow you to pause while you're fumbling around the inane inventory system. That means you constantly get hit while trying to equip weapons and grenades. I will give Capcom credit for making a pretty gmae. It is a visually appealing game. In the end, if you're renting this game with visions of CoD4, Halo or Gears you are in for a terrible experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Last gen gaming with new graphics

posted by DudeJon (HOUSTON, TX) Apr 22, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

20 out of 36 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

This game reminds me of doing a complete remake of an older game with better graphics. If this game had horrible graphics, it would feel like something for the original playstation.

Let's try and reload while we run back, wait. You can't move and shoot, move and reload, move and do ANYTHING. How about realistic effects from the zombies when you shoot them? nope, headshots are lame, nothing flows well.

The reason is probably because the zombies are so easy to avoid. I think this is a poorly built game, just something with flashy graphics that people care more about than gameplay.

Horrible...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Definitely Worth It

posted by SgtSnyder (ORLANDO, FL) Nov 6, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

8 out of 14 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

As always, I will say try before you buy. But don't be surprised if you find yourself buying shortly after trying. This is by far one of the best Co-Op shooters I have played in recent years. That being said, I would recommend playing it as a Co-Op with another player instead of goin it solo.

Pros:
-Awesome Graphics
-Decent selection of weapons
-Challenging (but not impossible) Boss Fights
-Great Co-Op gameplay
-Can swap weapons/items with partner

Cons:
-CAN'T MOVE AND SHOOT/RELOAD SIMULTANEOUSLY!!! (My least favorite part of the RE series)
-Frequently run out of ammo
-Low limit of how much ammo you can carry
-Partner AI is weak and useless (hence the warning to play with a partner)

Other Thoughts:
-Controls take some getting used to
-May be better if you could switch between FPS/TPS modes

Summary:
Not without its flaws but overall an awesome game. Definitely worth a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Navigation and control was terrible

posted by rizwanholo (LAUREL, MD) May 25, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I got really annoyed with the control and navigation.... It was just to slow to move around and it is super slow. Played the game for hardly 30 minutes and decided to return it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

THE FAILURE OF RESIDENT EVIL 5

posted by ColdCrush (GLENDALE, CA) Jun 16, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

11 out of 20 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

It is a shame that one of the most anticipated games in the successful horror action series has failed gamers completely. This game has some of the worst controls I have ever experienced. Capcom visually appeases gamers with their graphics but makes the main characters in the game move worst than the zombies. I have played this game now for forty five minutes and have come to a stark realization that LEGO BATMAN IS A FAR SUPERIOR GAME THAN RESIDENT EVIL 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse