Rent Resident Evil 4 for Wii
view large frontback

Resident Evil 4

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, GC
GF Rating
8.1

5728 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

An excellent game on gamecube, now almost perfect

posted by Itsumi90 (MONROE, NC) Jul 4, 2007

Member since Sep 2005

60 out of 63 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

This game, put simply, is amazing. When I played the original on the gamecube, my jaws dropped at the graphics, gameplay and environmental details, not to mention its high replayability factor. Resident Evil 4: Wii Edition is a must own for those who never bought the original.

Gameplay - Phenomenal and groundbreaking, action prompts, interactive curscenes all handled by the wii-mote, and quite well too. The laser sight is replaced with a crosshair, allowing excellent accuracy even at a distance with guns. Enemies are very smart, you will be flanked in the open. If you try hiding in a house they will bust down the doors, windows and in some cases jump from the ceiling. Enemies are varied.

Controls - Good as well, you can even switch to a classic controller for a laser sight, although i wouldn't reccomend it. Actions and aiming all performed using the wii-mote. Sometimes you will have to wiggle the wii-mote to run, dodge attacks, turn levers, you name it. Reloading is handled by pushing B on th wii-mote and then wiggling it. Overall quite fitting, although it takes about 10 minutes to get used to.

Story - More fleshed out than the original, but not by much, thanks to an extra side story. It's pretty straightforward, with a plot twist here and there.

Sound - Great sound, everything is well placed and sounds right, and voice-acting is very well done.

Replay - Plenty of minigames to play and unlockables give the game more replay value, story mode will last about 20 hours depending on if you played the original.

Graphics - Amazing, even for wii still looks good, some effects are better looking, but more or less same as gamecube.

Overall - A great game on the wii, and also the best version, a definite buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREATEST GAME EVER !!

posted by jsteele622 (RALEIGH, NC) Aug 2, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game left me speechless ! Its wonderfull in every aspect , there arent any flaws i can name

MUST PLAY !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Resident Wiivil 4

posted by Leonhart (SOUTHAMPTON, PA) Jun 24, 2007

Member since Dec 2004

15 out of 16 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

I give it a 9.5/10. The graphics are smooth and not choppy like ported PS2. It maintained its awesome gamecube graphics. The Wii Remote is sweet, holding the gun out and lowering the wii-mote to reload. I was hoping we could hold B ( aim ) and flick our wrist up to fire the gun, that would be more realistic. BUT moving your wii-mote side to side is the quick swipe for Leons' Combat Knife ( which is the best weapon in the game for me ). With a better A.I. this time around, i was having difficulty dodging those creeps in the village segment. The only downfall i have encounter is the knife, quick draw, at the wrong moment. When you aim at the screen for a while your arm does get tired and you'll put your hand/arm down to rest it, at that moment whatever Leon is currently doing (running/shooting) you'll just stop and swipe your knife. This ruins your aiming moments when its 5 on 1.

Resident Evil 4: Wii Edition holds up the Resident Evil 4 potential, with fusing all features of the ps2 and gamecube versions, your sure to get a full feel of this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It actually would have been worth buying!

posted by strykermp5 (KENNESAW, GA) Jan 5, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is one of the few games that would have actually been worth buying. My first play through gave me 20+ hours of entertainment. The second is even more fun with the "special" weapons and the bonus games that kinda fill you in to other characters back stories. This game started the RE franchise on the right path to RE5... There are only good things to look forward to in the RE future!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Outstanding game with a outstanding port

posted by Darkshadow (CONCORD, NH) Apr 12, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok first thing I read the 50 low & high reviews before I post mine and counter them.

I mostly noticed that people didn't like the controls. Thats because this game was made originally for the PS2 with a port to the GC and now a port to the Wii. Plus the Wii controls aren't the most natural, I remember spinning in circles the first five minutes of Red Steel getting use to the motion

Any ways to my review

Capcom's Resident Evil has been defining horror survival games from the start, RE4 though was something new, in past games it was more puzzle then action

Story:
You start out looking for the presidents daughter whom has been kidnapped. You've tracked her down to this little town which turns out to be full of antisocial psycho carnivores (aka zombies). So first you have to find her, and then protect her, and then escape. This is actually easier then it sounds since she actually will try and stay behind you instead of run off to die like some games 'escort' missions

Gameplay:
At first (even on the PS2) it takes some getting use to, the wii controls aren't the best, but after getting use to them they are great

Graphics:
For the PS2 they were top notch and for a port still good

Variety:
As you get use to one monster, another one pops up to knock you down, bite you and then try to decapitate you with a chainsaw. Yes they all truly love you. Plus boss fights, which are insanely fun.

Replay:
On my 12th run, trying a Pro Handgun run. Basically beating hard mode with no upgraded guns. Plus unlock ables like the infinite rocket launcher.

All in all a great game with a few faults that easily become acceptable.

Tips:
Never trust a review with all CAPS or bad spelling.
Get use to aiming shoot the crows at the start.
When you get to the village, don't even think you can kill 20 zombies with 12 bullets and a knife, your not Rambo. Bunker down in a house.
Conserve ammo by shooting them in the face then kicking them.

9.5/10
Noname6272, lover of hard mode and pie.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GREAT GAME.....SO FAR

posted by MURDER101 (CAROL STREAM, IL) Nov 13, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

ALL THESE PEOPLE WHO BASH THIS GAME BECAUSE OF CONTROLS ARE DENSE! I HAVE BEEN PLAYING IT FOR A COUPLE OF DAYS AND THIS GAME ROCKS! THE GRAPHICS ARE NICE THE AIM IS DEAD ON,AND THE AUDIO IS SUPERB. MAYBE ALL THE CRYBABIES WHO WHINE ABOUT THE CONTROLS NEED A NEW REMOTE! RENT THIS GAME,IT'S A BLAST.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome on Gamecube, better on Wii.

posted by pkessler (LOUISVILLE, OH) Jan 25, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game rocks your socks. It's even easier to aim at the zombies now that you can actually point and shoot them. This game never stops being good. "Food for Astello!"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Eric's Resident Evil 4 for Wii Review

posted by pspman3 (MURPHY, TX) Jul 3, 2007

Member since Apr 2005

14 out of 16 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This is probably one of the best games out for the Wii right now.If you have a Wii but u r thinkin about gettin the ps2 or gamecube version because it's $10 cheaper then ur mental.Resident Evil 4 on Wii might be a bit more expensive (hardly though) but it features all of the ps2 content and extra missions.Resident Evil 4 Wii edition really does capture what the Wii can do and uses it every way possible.so if u have extra money or wanna try something good. Then this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Silent Hill, eat your heart out.

posted by Ceridwen (SANTEE, CA) May 22, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

Like I said in my youtube review, this game is AMAZING. True, it's not as atmospheric and scary as previous RE titles--which is a good thing, because I was always too scared to play those! It's been a long time since I loved a game enough to beat it multiple times, not to mention beat all the extra unlockables as well. The controls of this (the Wii edition) are a lot of fun as well, and of course the graphics and sound are very good for the time. The only flaw is the lack of a strafe button--but even that you eventually learn to work around. In summary, this game rocks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A great title to own on the wii

posted by Bootie (AVON, OH) Jun 23, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

12 out of 15 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

i absolutely looove this game. i played it on the ps2 and loved it then and it's just as great on the wii. the graphics are a little bit better than the other versions. the controls are great once you get used to them which should take a beginner about 15 min. the story is the same but still a fantastic game even though it came out a few years back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by Draconic (PHOENIX, AZ) Jun 21, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

This game is one of the best games i have ever played and now being able to free aim with out having to fight with an Analog stick who could really ask for anything more. well maybe being able to configure the Wiimote buttons a little but thats really all. But that is really Trivial its a great game and Great Port. Definate Must have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The best RE4!

posted by Longshot (STATE CENTER, IA) Nov 25, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

There’s no question in my mind that RE4 on the Wii is the best version of this game. The reason is the controls, they’re a big step up from the CG and PS2 versions of the game. Shooting enemies where you want to shoot them has never been easier thanks to the smoother and more precise aiming that the Wii remote gives you. Using your knife and reloading feels better on the Wii too. However, Other then the controls there isn’t much difference between the other versions of the game. CG owners of the game will get to play the content that was previously only on the PS2 version of the game. Where PS2 owners will just get new controls. So if you already own RE4 on another system (especially PS2 owners of the game) it’s probably best to keep the Wii version of the game a rent. But if you don’t own and have never played RE4 save yourself some time and just go out and buy the Wii version of the game. Bottom line even though the only real new thing about the Wii version of the game is the controls, it’s still enough to make the game at least worth renting.

Be safe all and happy gaming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Resident Evil 4

posted by rarrarrar (WALNUT CREEK, CA) Jun 20, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I own this game for gamecube, and I have to say the Wii version is twice as good. If you are under 10 years old this game might be scarry for you. If you own a wii and like games that keep you on the end of your seat this game is fo you.

Today the first day it came out I bought it and it is awesome. If you have 30 bucks and you want a fun game i highly recomend you buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A very good game for the Wii.

posted by zzzxxx (CHICOPEE, MA) Jul 4, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Having played through RE4 on the Gamecube many times, I was really loking forward to this new edition of RE4 for the Wii. The controls work very well, and in many ways even better than before. Aiming is easier, and using the knife is as simple as flicking your wrist. Everybody seems to be complaining about the fact that you can't strafe. Well, this is not a big deal. The game still plays flawlessly, and is a ton of fun. This is a survival horror game, not an action shooter. Apparently these people have never played old RE games, because they were all like this. The graphics are well done, and are some of the best graphics you will find on the Wii. The sound is some of the best in any video game to date. The music is appropriately haunting and moody, and really immerses you into the game. I would give this game a 10, but it is a port of a 2 year old game with new controls. Other than that it is perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Wii EVIL!

posted by 123321 (LERNA, IL) Jul 22, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I am half amused of what the Wii can do rather than other RE4 console hits. Although the graphics are top notch, and the control aiming are amuzing, there are still some bad news. When your in frantic situations, the last remote you want is the Wii's, and the controls just don't seem right if you've played this game on other consoles(GC, PS2). Overall, i would be best that if you have a Wii, You'll probably want to get this game for the huge amount of how scary this game is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

WOW!!!THIS GAME IS AWESOME AND ONLY 30$ BRAND NEW

posted by monomarth (PALMDALE, CA) Jun 20, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is the re-release of Resident Evil4 for for the Wii.The controls are so great better then Twilight Princesses you shoot with you Wii mote and walk with the nun-chuck.And since the new Resident Evil is coming out in a couple months you know it will be just as good.This game is a must have and it offers up to 20hrs of game play which is pretty considering
Twilight Princesses is only 33hrs.I'm about to beat this game and this time around you get to use none other then Ada Wong.If you like Resident Evil on the Gamecube then you will love this .This game is great and only 30$ brand new.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I hate when games make me jump

posted by 6twentysix (CENTENNIAL, CO) Jul 5, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is a great title for the Wii. Its tension can nearly be cut with a chainsaw. The controls are good for the most part, too bad I suck at them because I loved this games story and overall mood. This game is probably too hard for novice players and definitely too gory for kids (that should go without saying by now). Great game to own and chip away at!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Definentaly fun, but lacking...

posted by Kral402 (GRANDVILLE, MI) Sep 23, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Don't get me wrong it is a good game. There aren't many more enjoyable things in life that shooting zombies in the face with a shotgun. The controls are my only issue here and that may be because i played Metroid before this game and the controls for Metroid are excellent as far as i am concerned. Anyways, there is no strafe button. So all we get is forward and turning. Also you can't shoot while your moving. I don't know about you but i don't like being a sitting target.But there is still the fun of upgrading weapons, buying new items, finding secrects, exploring new areas and of course, shooting zombies in the face.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Everything is better on the Wii!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Jun 20, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

10 out of 27 gamers (37%) found this review helpful

Gameplay: Fun
Difficulty: Moderate
Graphics: Good
Audio: Excellent
Controls: Excellent
Camera: Good
Length of Play: 30hrs
Replay Value: High

Sega said the Wii won't last; the PS3 won't (maybe 360); because all you do is button mash and you been doing that for decades (boring). I got this sytem in February and I bought a game every month compared to 1 a year with the Gamecube. They range from casual Brain Age/ Mario Party 8 to hardcore Scarface/ Resident Evil 4.

Anyway; the graphics could be improved and maybe Umbrella Chronicles will do that. I am not a fan of the Rail Shooter so I will rent that; {just buy this}. The Wii offers good games for all ages and the graphics can be improved if the developer want's to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good But A 10 ?

posted by jvivlemore (ROSEVILLE, CA) Oct 16, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I've seen a lot of 9 and 10's on this game and while yes the game is pretty good and things seem to run pretty smoothly the controls are just akward. I find myself naturally wanting to use the wii remote to actually look around. I think the nunchuk should just be used for walking back and forth. It would allow for quicker movements. The controls just kill it for me and it appears theres no way to change the sensitivity or control scheme.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Terrible Controls Render it UNPLAYABLE

posted by GoCards311 (BALLWIN, MO) Jul 5, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

11 out of 35 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

This game does NOT translate well to the Wii control system. Granted, this is the first time I've played an R.E. game since the original on Playstation, but I just can not do what I want to do in the game. Aiming is done with a combination of Wii remote pointing (for targets that currently are shown on screen) and Nunchuck joystick control (to move the viewable screen). I know this is my first RE experience in awhile, but you can't shoot while moving - you just can't (at least so far in my game, which only lasted 20 minutes) and when you do stop to shoot, your "movement" joystick is now your "aiming" joystick, and throws off your aim from the get go. This would not seem to be an issue on a traditional GC or PS2 dual-stick controller.

If you are a stickler about controls and are not familiar with this control system, AVOID THIS GAME AT ALL COSTS. I'm hoping that RE5 (if it comes out for the Wii) takes a more traditional First Person Shooter approach to the controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

welcome to the Resident Evil 4 wii

posted by ravensnake (WEST HARTFORD, CT) Jun 21, 2007

Member since Oct 2004

4 out of 13 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

yea yea we all have played or known about this game for 2 years so how does it stack up on wii from previous installments? well the pros of re4 wii edition are great use of the wii controller, great story, un-surpass action, and great bonus features. the cons are graphics arent on par with today's standards, no wii specific content besides the umbrella chronicles trailer which u can easily find on the internet, and this really should have been RE5. bottom line i recommend this game but as i said its a 2 year old port do we need another RE4 or should we get RE5 and the controls will feel odd but u can get used to it and if u hate the wii controls u can use ur classic or gamecube controller so do ur self a favor and buy this game because if u missed out on re4 or the ps2 extras as i did this game is for u.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Never got started (Control)

posted by Charlie22 (KAILUA, HI) Jul 13, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

3 out of 11 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

I gave this game a try because I like games that make you take your time or jump, but I never got into the game because the controls a BAD. It's hard to turn, can't stride, and worst of all the aiming sucks. Should be point and shoot, instead you get locked in that spot and then have to shoot with another button. I wanted to run and shoot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Terrible Controls, slow framerate

posted by Takedeze (PALM BAY, FL) Jun 2, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

3 out of 12 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

In my experience, the game is unplayable. The movement/camera controls are unintuitive and terrible. The framerate is slow and choppy, adding to the sense of disorientation caused by the controls. Even the button layout is extremely poorly organized.

All in all, this leads to confusing and unsatisfying gameplay.

The only reason I didn't give it a 1 is because it's got some nice graphics and sounds.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrendous controls

posted by wayniac (NEW ORLEANS, LA) Jul 23, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

6 out of 26 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

i have played quite a number of games in my day but this is the first that i have ever felt passionately enough about reviewing. the game controls in this game are so amazingly terrible that they absolutely ruin the game. in every other wii game i have played the remote moves your head and the nunchuck moves your body -- it makes sense. in this game, for some reason, the remote only moves your head within the picture displayed on your screen. so if you need to look slightly off screen, you can't just point your gun at the target you want to shoot and have your head spin. no, you have to spin around your body with the nunchuck, then aim with the remote. it's unbelievably stupid...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse