Rent Resident Evil 4 for PS2
view large frontback

Resident Evil 4

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, GC
GF Rating
8.6

6378 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One Of The Very Best PS2 Has To Offer

posted by JAMMASTERJ (BOULDER CITY, NV) Jul 6, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2005

18 out of 20 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Capcom's Resident Evil series has had its ups and downs in its history. But, in this case, Resident Evil 4 has brought the series to the top of the mountain. This is by far the best game in the series and one of the very best games that PS2 has to offer.

I have followed the series since its beginning when Resident Evil debuted on PSOne. The story continues in the same direction, but it brings a unique twist. A virus is still involved, but this time, Leon (from Resident Evil 2) is facing a tougher group of enemies that the classic zombies...this time, they are human!

The story brings some closure to the series and would be the best game of all to be adapted into a screenplay for the big screen.

As for the game, the action never ceases and so your heart will never stop pounding. The cinematic areas of the game are amazingly detailed. The storyline is so deep that you feel like you are involved in creating the movie.

The graphics bring the best out of the PS2. The controls on the game are great and very easy to use.

This game is a deep action/role playing game in my opinion. It will bring hours of game play even to the best and most experienced Resident Evil player. The puzzles and enemies are challenging.

My personal favorite part of this game was the action that was inserted in the cinematic elements of the game. Leon would reach a part in the game that would trigger a cut scene. Normally, you just watch the cut scene. But, in Resident Evil 4, this is not the case. You are involved in many cut scenes. One scene in which you meet an old comrade, a knife fight ensues. But, you fight it as the cut scene plays by hitting certain button combos as they appear on the screen. If you mess up on a combo, your former comrade takes your life. But, if you get you combo correct, the battle will length with Leon either making a block or a attack or even parrying from the enemy. It is awesome!

I highly recommend this game to anyone, especially those with Resident Evil exp!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Greatest PS2 Game Ever. Period.

posted by StepAside (FORT OGLETHORPE, GA) Jun 12, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I saw all of the review websites giving this game really good scores, so I thought, why not give it a try, sure enough, a really great game that no PS2 owner should miss. It is great in every aspect of play.
Graphics - The graphics department is truly top of the line. There are all kinds of effects you might not expect to see. You can see shells flying from every gun you fire, at least the ones that use conventional ammo. I have never seen any jagged edges or bad looking textures. All of the enemy and ally textures are very detailed and realistic. Also, when some doors open you can see dust falling from them. Last but not least, gore. That has to be the best thing about the graphics. If you shoot an enemy right in the head with a shotgun at close range their head will almost always explode into a bloody mess and only their body will be left to fall to the ground.
Sound - Sound is another thing the Resident Evil 4 team perfected. All of the guns, explosions, footsteps, and voices sound very realistic. A great thing about the sound is enemy voice. If an enemy is behind you, you may hear a laugh which will usually give you enough time to turn around and dispose of the enemy unless there is an intense battle going on in front of you.
Gameplay - Gameplay is what makes a game fun, and man does this game have good gameplay. In the first part of the game you are automatically given a selection of weapons and other items such as items that heal your health, and ammo. All of these take up space inside your case which you can access by pressing start. Over the course of the game you will be able to buy bigger cases to hold more weapons and items. After your finished stocking up its time to blow away zombies. The game has an over the shoulder camera which narrows view when you aim so you can see farther without squinting. You cannot move while reloading or aiming, which actually gives the game great pacing. On your first play through it may take you 25 to 30 hours to finish.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by lizogan (POST FALLS, ID) Apr 15, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

22 out of 26 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

This is by far the best resident evil game ive ever played. I have been a fan of the games since they first came out on ps1, and this game tops them all. The laser sight shooting is amazingly easier then the old move in a direction and shoot hoping your actually going to hit some one. I loved every minute of the game. It actually is alot longer then the origanal games as well. I also liked the fact that you could collect money and buy things from a merchant, like guns, gun upgrades, and first aid spray. I was very dissapointed when it first came out for gamecube because i am a strict ps fan. so when this game came out for ps2 i was not dissapointed at all! A little tip for the first time player conserve ammo by switching guns often. Use your pistol for single weak enemies and your shotgun for multiple enemies at once. use your TMP for tougher enemies or when your out of bullets for your pistol. Use your rifle for far away or up high enimies and make sure you shoot them in the head as it will kill them in one shot. use your 45. for bosses or if your in a really tough spot and you have no choice. and save your rocket launcher for main bosses only because it usally kills them in one shot. then u can buy another one from a merchant and save it for another time. I didnt bother getting a mine thrower because it takes too much room in your box but you can try it if you want. Any way try buy it have fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Cool Cool Cool!

posted by kewljt (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Mar 12, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This game was awesome. Cool graphics, creepy music, nice cut scenes, upgradeable weapons, and a fun story. There were enough scares in it to keep me jumping and as the game progressed it picked up a more action game feel so you didn't get tired of just creeping around the map waiting for something to jump out at you. The only things that kept me from giving this a perfect rating was the same poopie controls as in all the other RE games.( You think they could make it more intuitive after all this time!) The other jerky thing were the cut scenes, they looked pretty good but they unexpectedly throw in controller commands as you watch the scene and if you don't hit those buttons right away you have to start over again. That sucked, I had to watch a few of these videos more than once with the "your dead" endings on them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

could not be better

posted by jordandfco (SAN DIEGO, CA) Dec 7, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

the game is absolutely perfect. it hits the nail on the head. i mean shooters arent my favorite but dang! it is just a crapload of fun! if you beat the story, you want to do it over and over cause its just so much fun! and once you beat it 13 times(not like i did) then you do the mercenaries, and thats just a pure killing spree! awesome game no doubt about it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome game

posted by Kane777 (PLACENTIA, CA) Mar 16, 2007

Member since Nov 2004

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Out of all the Resident Evil games, this one takes the cake. The camera angle is perfect, the graphics are great, and the weapons are just awesome. Don't bother renting it, just buy it, geez. Beat the game, and unlock games that will unlock more cool stuff.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simply the best.

posted by ShadoOfGon (REDMOND, WA) Apr 23, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I have never truly loved or been into the Resident Evil series. But with the release of a game with so much praise I had to try this game. PERFECT! I only had to jump out my first window and shoot one bad guy before I was completely hooked.

- - - Gameplay - - -
Amazing, this isn't just the same first person shooter. You either run around or hold the designated button down to hold up your gun. You cant move much while you hold your gun up, but when you put it down it allows you to run, jump, climb, go through windows, and do pretty much any action. Guns are SUPERB, every gun has its own specific use and not a single one is useless. They are in the basic category's such as pistol, sniper, shotgun, and rocket launcher. All of them upgrade through the game getting bigger, badder, and better looking.

- - - Graphics - - -
They are nothing but top notch taking up every advantage on the PS2. The GameCube's version is a little nicer but does not hold the extra levels the PS2 version has. Shooting a zombie never looked better, especially when you can now kick one with the touch of a button when its either too close or you shoot it in the shin. Exploding heads are beautiful and fun, some zombies even like to keep walking and have tentacles grow from there neck.

- - - Characters,Bosses - - -
You are Leon Kennedy, in search of the Presidents daughter. Through the game people will come and go, some will help you others wont. But there is a nice amount of them, not to many so you just forget about them and not to little of them. The zombies look different every time you see them, and trust me you will see a lot of them. This game has got to be the only game that makes you want each boss to come sooner, every one is different and unique. To kill them is always fun because the surround area can trigger help full blows to any beast.

- - - My Opinion - - -
Everyone once in a while a game comes along that everyone needs to play just because it truly shows you what joy is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Game of the Year

posted by Reaver (Columbia, SC) Sep 16, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Virtually perfect in every way. No survival horror game has ever come remotely close to matching the depth of Resident Evil 4, and I suspect that nothing will until Resident Evil 5 rolls around.
Not only is RE4's gameplay finely honed to the point of surpassing all competition by leaps and bounds, but it boasts easily the most breathtaking graphics ever to grace any console of the last generation. Even the most beautiful of the mighty Xbox's titles are incapable of matching these ultra-realistic visuals.
As I have stated, gameplay is finely tuned to the degree that it could not possibly be perfected any further. The sound is beyond reproach - shockingly enough, even the voice acting is on the upper end of quality for games as a whole (which is certainly a major step forward for the series). The atmosphere is as chilling and intense as anything I've ever experienced (and I've experienced the best of the genre). The enemies are in no way the typical moronic zombies that tend to inhabit such titles - rather they are insidiously cunning opponents that will stretch your stamina to the breaking point on plenty of occasions.
What else can I say? Everything works. Perfectly. The boss fights are some of the most remarkably innovative and memorable in recent gaming history - not since Shadow of the Colossus have I felt such a sense of accomplishment in bringing down such hulking monstrosities.
Everyone should play this game, whether or not they are fans of the genre. Resident Evil 4 is not only the greatest survival horror game on the PS2, but it is arguably one of the greatest games ever created - and I do not give out such labels lightly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome!

posted by PiusFuror (HERMANSVILLE, MI) Jul 16, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed playing this game a lot. The graphics were amazing, the storyline was amazing.. It was just all around awesome. Leaon is better than ever, I say.
Some of the parts were difficult, but all in all, It's a really enjoyable game.
I highly suggest playing it at night with lights off, makes it all the more fun. =P

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Outstanding

posted by LEXLUGER (JAMAICA, NY) Feb 18, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Absolutley the best Resident Evil game I played (30 times over!) they have completley revived this series! the mechanics, & the characters which is a good thing for us diehard RE fans, I'm looking forward to RE:5!! THANKYOU CAPCOM!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Freakin Sweet

posted by HKULYIG (KENT, WA) Feb 18, 2007

Member since Jul 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game is the best ever.....i dont understand those people who give it a 1,2,or 3.this game is awsome because the graphics are awsome,the gameplay is freakin sweet, and the characters and settings are so real looking,the enimies are real groundbreaking and the main idea is alltogether great........this game is a easy 10......trust me when you play it you will want to glue your hands to the controller so you will never have to stop playing!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fantastic Game!

posted by superhomer (MISSION VIEJO, CA) Apr 13, 2006

Member since May 2003

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Two Words: "Almost as good as God of War". (Well I guess that was seven words but you get what I mean).

Simply terrific game. Excellent visuals, story, music, control. Draws you into the game very quickly. You won't be putting this one down once you start it.

Don't miss this game!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

RE4

posted by Omegaman777 (CARMICHAEL, CA) Jan 6, 2013

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game was okay the grahics were very bland and yawn inducing. The story doesnt make sense of not giving leon a better gun like a micro uzi, which is smaller and higher firing rate. The gamelay is kinda scary and nerve tingling. but worst of all...the controls, it is horrible beyond the realms of the mind. The standing and shooting mechanic sucks, no regular gamer who is not used to it will die eight times against salvador in THE VILLAGE AT THE VERY BEGINNING WHERE THE DRIVERS WHO DROVE LEON ARE BURNING ATE THE STAKE. Bottom line the controls for DS and RE6 are infinitly more better. Also, WHY IS THERE NO MORE DODGE ROLLING LIKE IN KH IN GAMES ANYMORE!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Less shiny, but a better package deal

posted by Metoo999 (NEW YORK, NY) Aug 21, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Without RE4, there would be no Gears of War (or Uncharted or Dark Sector etc). Capcom reinvented the series with a much better camera and breathless gameplay. Probably the best game of 2005 for the PS2 and the Gamecube.

Pros: Loads of atmosphere and tension! For 2005, these were groundbreaking graphics never done as well on consoles by any other game back then; the soundtrack has to heard to be believed - the villager whispers, the gunshots, the monsters grunting - it's amazing; good voice acting and story; run and gun play is great; a good variety of scary environments to go through - not much backtracking like the previous games; intuitive control scheme with some neat QTE gameplay; Leon comes off very cool and competent, not too dorky like he was in RE2; the Ashley babysitting bits were surprisingly enjoyable - her sections were intriguing because she had no guns, only some projectiles and her wits; Mercenaries mode is okay, but I play more for the story and action together; the PS2 version got the excellent extra Ada mode, Separate Ways, which is way better and longer than Assignment Ada, and actually fills in the background of the main story pretty well; the game has true widescreen support, unlike the GC version.

Cons: Downgrade in graphics and sound from the GC version- everything looks fuzzier and the character models have less polygons - the villagers sound more muffled; no strafing or shooting while moving (something that Gears added and improved upon); pointless "run" button - you don't need that with an analog stick, developers; repetitive action - no place in the game is quite as sensational and eerie as the first village; there were no real surprises in the story and not much actually happened in the middle; the villagers phrases and character models get repetitive.

A trade-up - a less pretty game, but more gameplay. If you can, play the GC version for the main quest, Assignment Ada and Mercenaries, and then the PS2 version for Separate Ways.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

brilliant

posted by xdoughboy (ATHOL, MA) Jul 20, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is awesome it gives u a variety of guns over the course of the game and itz a very strategic game u must chose ur guns wisely depending on power and reload speed and it features upgrades 2 and it couldve only been sweeter if there where special upgrades 4 every different gun not jus the same reload speed and power of the gun but itz a fun and nerve wrecking game itz a good game if u want 2 hav fun and shot sum zombies along the way

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

RE4 is awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by zombie2000 (SHREWSBURY, PA) May 5, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

when i played this game i thought i was going to be scared........I was right! In 1 level 1 guy comes out of a furnace on fire and chases you,i was scared as a puppie! ! The game is long,great extras for completing the game like the "TOMMY GUN". its a unlimeted machine gun. It has some of the scariest bosses like a gaint whale who can eat you in 1 gulp,dont mess with him,unless you trying to commite sucide! Overall,its a great game. Hint:watch out for crazy chainsaw people!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good game... on the Gamecube

posted by Iceman (BOCA RATON, FL) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

15 out of 40 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Before you start accusing me of being a nintendo fanboy, listen. I absolutely loved this game on the gamecube. The controls where great, graphics where far beyond my expectations and it was just plain FUN! However the Ps2 version which i rented had some issues, for example the ps2 controller seemed to fight back against you when doing things like running, or shooting. Second, the graphics were striped down a tad. If you own a gamecube and are 17+, go and get this game now. If you only have a ps2... by all means get this game. You may be disappointed like me if you play the gamecube version before or after this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Real Review, Now To Settle The Score

posted by Balln2k6 (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 15, 2006

Member since Nov 2004

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Great game that every PS2 owner needs to play.. The RE line had been garbage for many years until RE4 came out on GameCube in 05. 3rd Person View made the game much more exciting to play and scary... The Ai on this game is to smart, you can't just shut a door to run away from enemy's like in the old days. Also you get your moneys worth on the PS2 version with added footage and extras "Side Mission".

GameCube
Pros: Much better graphics and controls then the PS2 version.
Cons: It's a GameCube

PS2
Pros: Extra Footage and the game is longer then the GameCube.
Cons: Didn't use Progressive Scan features, so graphics are ok, not great. Controls are not as easy and it feels like they are working to make the game more frustrating.

If you have a GameCube and RE4, stay with what you have. If you only own a PS2, get $120 together and get the GameCube and RE4 (Greatest Hit Title Now $20) and try to prove me wrong.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best Action Adventure Game For Ps2

posted by Donti01 (LUDINGTON, MI) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

One of the best games i've ever played for ps2 since God Of War. You Cant Put It Down. I give it a 100 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Subtitles????

posted by DeafGod1 (ROCHESTER, NY) Dec 5, 2006

Member since May 2005

5 out of 16 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

Okay, for the serious deaf gamers like me who like a good video game with all the neat graphics - this game is not the game for us!
I rated it 2 for obvious reasons, there are NO subtitles in the mini-movies. The only subtitles that I actually saw were when Leon is communicating via radio.
There's not even any opportunity to turn on any subtitles in the options menu at all!
I do have to admit that the graphics are top-notch, and very realistic for a game. If I gave it a rating for graphics and the way the game flowed, it would be 6.
Somehow, we gotta try and convince Capcom, and/or any video developers that hey, there are serious deaf gamers out there so subtitle their games! How the heck are we gonna be expected to enjoy a game with out captions or subtitles?
I know I seem to obsesses over this but...video games are a huge money market, and to leave a majority of a group - deaf people - out is so wrong!
I got this game today, and am sending it back out next day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

read my Barbie Horse Adventure review.

posted by kratos305 (CULVER CITY, CA) Apr 16, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

3 out of 11 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

this game has finaly come out for the ps2. all i can say is that the waight was worth it.

RE4 is just simply fantastick. the graficks work wall for the Ps2, and hold up well to the cube virtion. the sound holds the creepy feel to the alredy sckary titel. RE4 hasent changed everything however, the game still has strang puzzels and you do play as leon frome RE2.

if you need to know the bad ting about it than i will tell you. the controls arnt nearly as pallished as the cube was. Thow te titel for game of the year definatly reserving.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Overrated

posted by theracketm (WHEELING, IL) May 26, 2006

Member since May 2006

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This is a great game. One of the best resident evil games ever. I just think it wasn't as good as everyone is saying it is. You don't go to that many different areas. Even though each place has a bunch of sections to it, it doesn't make much variety. The camera is also zoomed way to far on Leon that it gets very annoying. The story is good, like every resident evil, and the graphics are top notch. It's better how you buy the weapons instead of finding them in random places. You can also tune up your weapons by using gold which is a nice touch. Gold is very easy to find, most of the time a zombie or any enemy you kill will give you gold. You can also sell items and even sell them for more if it's tuned up. There is a lot more blood and gore in this game. A lot of times if you knock off an enemies head an insect-like creature will grow out of it. The first time you see this, it will give you a shock, but that's what's cool about it. In conclusion, all the aspects are great. I'm just sick of seeing more and more resident evil games. Why don't they just think of a new idea for a game? They did bring resident evil to the next level, but that's all they did. I just think God Of War was much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

it sack

posted by richmen19 (ORANGE, TX) Mar 12, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

i like better game cube

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ok game

posted by Mojoe01 (ALTADENA, CA) Apr 13, 2006

Member since May 2005

3 out of 17 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

Great graphics - horrid, and I mean horrid controls. I heard the Nintendo version was much easier to play. I lost patience and returned the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

What, are you kidding?

posted by ceresur (Somerville, MA) Mar 8, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

2 out of 12 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I don't know why anyone would provide this game with a high review. The dialog is TERRIBLE (it could just be the dub, but there's no way to turn off the english dub and turn on subtitles), the gameplay is UNREFINED (I mean c'mon...the main character can't run!), and the battles are unnecessarily difficult. That last part may generate some "l3rn 2 pl4y, n00b" but the difficulty of the title directly destroys the flow of the action. It doesn't feel right.

Enough ranting. Just skip it. There are much better games to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse