Rent Resident Evil 4 for GC
view large frontback

Resident Evil 4

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, PS2
GF Rating
9.2

5271 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Do I even have to say anything!!?

posted by gonzo3333 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 15, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2003

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is one of my favorite games EVER!! Defenitely in my top 10... At least for the Gamecube.

Graphics
These graphics really impressed me. My jaw opened a little bit ;) Really good. Defenitely takes the Gamecube's power to the maximum...! :)

Gameplay
Within the first few minutes of gameplay, I knew I was in for a fun game! I just couldn't take my eyes away from the screen. This was one of the few games that have come out in the past few years that actually made me stay in front of the TV screen all day. This game took me roughly 28 hours, and everyone has completed it in about 20-30. If you play very slow-paced and explore everything, it'll take you well over 30 hours. This is NOTHING like the old Resident Evils. You don't even face zombies! You go against "ganados" in this game! The AI is BRILLIANT, and the difficulty is at a perfect rate. It's tough at times, and you will die MANY times. But for some weird reason, I get happy when I die. I don't think any game has ever done that. There's so much action in this game. And after every chapter, sub-chapter, and at the end of the game, it tells you results such as how many ganados you've killed, your accuracy in percentage, how many times you've died, etc. And there are TONS of weapons which can all be upgraded. It's just too fun! You'll be talking about it to all your friends! Oh! And for those of you afraid of it being a scary game. Don't worry: It's not scary at all! At the most, you'll jump a couple of times if played loud, but it's as scary as...say, for example, Metal Gear Solid!

Replay Value
Another strong point to the game. Everyone I know including me have played this game several times. Even right after you beat it, you come back for more. It's that good! And there's a bonus mission (at a good length, and not too difficult) with Ada and a bonus game. And there are PLENTY of unlockables!

You HAVE to buy this game. Nobody I know was disappointed! ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Resident Evil 4

posted by nintendo (BUTTE VALLEY, CA) Apr 12, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2006

36 out of 39 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Resident Evil 4 is by far one of the most best games ever in the history of video games. It is a million times better than any other video game that you've ever played in your lifetime. Sure, Code Veronica X is good, but this game is way better. It's got great graphics, great storyline, and amazing bosses. The story is about a government secret agent named Leon Scott Kennedy,(who was previously in Resident Evil 2), who was assigned to protect the president's daughter,(Ashley Grahm), but before he gets the chance to, she gets kidnapped.
Then Leon ends up in a village somewhere in Europe. This village is filled with cannibal villagers who don't want you to find the whereabouts Ashley. You may think Resident Evil 4 is just another anoter slow-zombie moving suvival/horror shooter, but its not. The games villagers and other enemies will come at you no matter what through the fastest route, plus they react so realistcally to where you shoot them, if you shoot them at their foot or ankle they fall flat to the ground, if you shoot them at their left or right arm they step back a few paces and grab their arm as if they were in pain, if you shoot them in their eye, they lean their head back a little put their hand over their eye an scream in pain, then if you shoot them in the center of their forehead, their head literally explodes like a melon. But when you shoot the center of their forehead at night, get ready to kill the parasite that pops out. The game is filled with gore, language, and very intense Sci-Fi violence. I suggest anyone to play this game if their into survival/horror titles, Resident Evil games, or if you love great games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

resident evil MORE!

posted by griffin090 (SHAKER HEIGHTS, OH) Apr 12, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game makes you wish there were more sequals cause this game kicks sh## up into the air! this game has cool aiming systems that allow you tou shoot the enemy wherever! the story is revolutionary, the graphics are perfect, and everything is reactive! really! heads can explode, buildings can blow up, and much more! the weapons are great and the gameplay gets a 10/10 to me. now i have promised to do this once a month. this game gets an 11/10! capcom has also made lost planet! another favorite of mine! this game could have suprisingly been better believe it or not! the inventory kinda sucks. and the main villain is awsome but could have been cooler. so buy this game! when you finish it you can replay it with all the money and stuff you had when you finished the game! and if you are still bored you can play the two minigames, mercenaries (i recomend that one!) and the diffucult and boring assinment ada minigame. this game will make you wish you never said "i hate these stupid resident evil games!". it has unique gameplay,really beautiful landscapes, creppy looking cretures, EVEN FREAKEIER LOOKING BOSSES!, destructive and fun weapons, acesories, and of course..... IT WILL SCARE THE HECK OUT OF YOU!!!!!!! resident evil 4 proves to everyone that the gamecube had some of the best games ever! resident evil 4 puts capcom back on top! it is the best survival horror shooter game EVER MADE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Resident Evil Game EVER!!!

posted by RedWolf (LITTLETON, CO) Apr 26, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have been a Resident Evil fan ever since the series started and I tell you this is the best one I have ever played in my life. This as a great story mode and great fun unlockables. This is aust rent game or buy like i did. Hope you have great fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Resident Evil $

posted by LadySilver (OAKFIELD, ME) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Nov 2004

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This has to be one of the best games in the resident evil series. Everyone in the house (from my 9 year old to me 38)loved playing it. I can only hope that the new upcoming resident evil keeps some of this games wonderful game play and character control.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Non-stop thrilling action

posted by KUHawksfan (GERMANTOWN, TN) Feb 18, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Before playing Resident Evil 4 I had previously only played one Resident Evil before it. It was strange and I'm not sure which one it was.

When I rented it I was hesitant but after playing 5 minutes I was glad I rented it. RE4 offers Non-Stop thrilling action. I found myself losing track of time because it seemed like I was addicted to this game!
The only annoying things about this game was that sometimes you would run low on ammo and there wouldn't be any weapon vendors near.
I loved the Butterfly Magnum but almost no vendors sold ammo for it.

The RE4 for Wii is in my gameQ now and will review it also when I get a chance to play it.

I think Resident Evil 4, for the Gamecube, gets a solid, deserving, 9.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Why is there no 11 on the rating chart?

posted by StarCity22 (PORT ORANGE, FL) Aug 3, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I usually max out my reviews and run out of letters allowed for them, but for this one...i dont need to justify any short review. Buy this game. You may be a racing fan, a fighting game lover, you might love madden and maybe a little Pac-man here and there. but all of that goes out the window once you have played this game. if you dont have a Gamecube, buy one for this game. dont make me repeat myself....just buy it. what's it cost? $15? dont be cheap...that's less than a movie that lasts 2 hours compared to this game's 50. B-U-Y---I-T!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

If you haven't played this game then do so now

posted by Smartboy (NEWTON, MA) Sep 30, 2006

Member since Aug 2004

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

What a game! This is a thriller, your always of the couch, sometimes scared half to death. I mean the crazy towns people with the exploding heads. The excitement in this game is amazing. If you put down the controller and pause the game, then you must got to go bad. The plot line is great and new details keep popping up and until the end, you wont know what is happening. From the first level you know this isn't just shoot shoot bang bang, you need to use strategy and your head not just a machine gun. The games about a guy who goes to a weird town to save a girl. A very special girl, till that point the story is not that scary but after that it really starts to get scary. This game is great, one of a kind. The graphics are great and the voices are too. The perfect details go into every character from bad to good from the first minute to the last. Also this game is hard!!! So for the people who don't like playing games that are challenging and will take them more than a weekend to beat, should not play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BE CAREFUL, YOU HAVE JUST CROSSED OVER INTO R.E.4

posted by wordwithin (MCHENRY, MD) Jul 11, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This work of horrific art is really horrific, indeed. I almost shivered to death just thinking what would happen next, as I walked Leon through the dark, decaying walls of many distorted buildings. You might say I could of dropped the controller in fright, but no, I clung to that thing as if my hands were attached right to the plastic(God of War reference.)Well enough about how scary it is...........no wait I have more- as your walking through dark sewers your enemy will pop out at you, forcing a huge gasp to escape from your mouth,and when a tentacle shoots out of your grisly enemy's head after you have blown it away, you'll feel very helpless....at first.

You'll have many weapons to get rid of your frightening foes, like a rocket launcher, basic gun, knife, rock...and so on and so forth. All the unique weapons can be upgraded for a higher attack and faster reload;more bullet space and possibly a silencer. Upgrading is a very important task in the completion of the game and will add to your game time in the long run.

The dark,dreary atmospheres and the forboding sounds really spell Resident Evil right out for you. You'll be pulled deep into the amazing story in no time and probably have a hard time putting it down(or mabey, like I said earlier, your hands are just stuck.)The many characters play a huge part in the believability of the plot, with awesome visuals and great voice-acting which helps move the story along smoothly. Being a two-disc game you'll get a lot out of it.40 hours easy.

The bosses are great...I'll actually tell about one boss encounter I'll never forget.
In a secluded cabin, with the grotesque enemy chief,I forget how many times I fired my weapons, but I remember when I almost ran out. When I almost had him killed, and as my life was depleting rather quickly,I climed stairs to a loft and ran around to the far side away from the enemy. As it crawled toward me quickly I pulled out my rifle and shot at his head. Almost died, it was freaky.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Morbid Fun For Everyone

posted by Wendigo17 (EASLEY, SC) May 16, 2006

Member since Nov 2004

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

There's only two real problems with Resident Evil 4, and these problems are so insignificant that they don't even begin to put a dent in my score. First of all, the control is somewhat tricky but much improved over previous Resident Evil games. Secondly, you can't walk/run and shoot at the same time. If you lose the initial skepticism and give this game a chance you'll soon appreciate how great it actually is. The gorgeous graphics contribute to making RE4 a visually stunning nightmare, which is what makes that chainsaw wielding psychopath so scary. There's very little to do with actual puzzle-solving, and it's very simple at that. With that being said, you won't experience any tedium while playing, despite all the baddies you'll be taking down (Dynasty Warriors could learn a thing or two). The reason the game manages to stay so fresh is because of the variety of ways you'll be engaging your enemies. Upgrading and customizing the weapons you find and purchase in the game proves to be addictive fun, but it's also crucial to your survival. All of the boss fights are epic and provide a good challenge (minus one), and you'll most likely have these classic battles seared into your memory. I do not recommend RE4 for those that hate the survival-horror genre and/or great games. For the rest of you out there, pick this one up immediately!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The reason I still have a Gamecube!

posted by bf22222 (POUGHKEEPSIE, NY) Jan 27, 2008

Member since Jul 2005

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game is by far the best last gen horror action game.I didn't play it until recently AND I LOVED IT.The action is fast paced and gory witch made me very happy.The bosses are great,the not-zombie enemies are good and the graphics are wonderful on the Gamecube.This is a must play for all gamers,can't wait until RE5 comes out.
graphics 10 (very good 4 gc)
story 9
action 10

controls 9(would have been good 2 walk and shoot)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

......I'm still getting nightmares......

posted by Calcos (NORTH WATERBORO, ME) Aug 29, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

One of, if not the best game I've ever played, and I've played lots of games. The action is unparalleled, and instead of scaring you with cheap BOO! sensations (I'm looking at you, Doom 3), It crawls under your skin and makes you afraid that somethings going to happen at any given moment, and you don't know what to expect. This is definently a pants-wetter/browner.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Greatest Gamecube game EVER!!!

posted by Coop82 (CARROLLTON, MO) Jun 11, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Unlike old Resident Evil games this one is much more scary and much more challenging. Thought the old ones were hard? Try having dozens of "Things" running that's what i said running at you with hatchets and even chainsaws. Scary?? Anyway great graphics, perfect game play, and plenty of adventures and different areas. You need to buy or at least rent this game. A Perfect Game!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wow. That it all I can say. Just... wow.

posted by Ragnex (SILVER SPRING, MD) Jun 19, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I think I should preface by saying I've tried to play other resident evil games before, but I never really liked them. This game, however, is easily one of the top five games available for gamecube.

Pros:
Fantastic Story
Fantastic Gameplay
Very Creepy
Plenty of side quests/mini games.
Replay value and extra games when it's beaten.
Good length.

Cons:
Can be fustrating when it gets too difficult
Can be so creepy you're not sure you want to keep playing the first time through.
Since it's so much better then the others people new to the series (including myself) won't get the nostalgia from the throwbacks to previous games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Ultimate Comeback

posted by zman2231 (KATY, TX) Apr 24, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Resident Evil 4 is one of the best games ever! The camera from the past Resident Evils are gone. Now it is a 3rd-person view. The boss battles are very creative and awesome. The graphics are great for a game to be on the GC. The weapons are good. You can buy and upgrade new weapons from the merchant. The levels are very creative, and there are brilliant puzzles to be solved. The AI is smart. The story is that Leon who was in Resident Evil 2 is back to save the president's daughter. Their are cool unlockbells that can be unlocked. If there was an 11 i would give it a 11. However it only goes up 10. So that is why i give RE4 a 10 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good, but not Best

posted by swfan34 (OCEAN SPRINGS, MS) Dec 6, 2008

Member since May 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I am fed up with people saying this is the best Resident Evil. At the most, it's third best, behind RE2 and REmake. The story is great - But that's just Resident Evil. The jump to a shooter from Survival Horror isn't much - in fact, it's still sort of a survival horror. Ammo is plentiful, a strong contrast to earlier games. This lessens the survival. Your attache case is large - instead of six or eight item blocks. But weapons are reasonably sized - no block, but spaces. The larger the item, the more it takes up. Creepy creatures are still plentiful, blind guys with giant claws, potato sack wearing chainsaw murderers, creepy huffing hulks of meat that can't be stopped unless you bloow off certain parts of it's body only viewable through an infrared scope... In other words, don't play it in the dark.

Overall, besides the shooter aspect, this is still Resident Evil, even bringing back Leon from the best RE ever - RE2. So I say an Eight is deserving of this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Can it get any better?

posted by TheBauc1 (MOBILE, AL) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Now I may be new to GameFly, but I'm not new to games. Resident Evil 4 is so much better than previous Resident Evil games. With a new controllable over the shoulder camera and pin-point targeting, you should have some fun playing this one. The story is awesome, the boss battles are intense, and there are plenty of bonus missions after you complete the game. The graphics are great, the controls are smooth, and weapons are upgradeable. Everyone will love this game and you'll be playing it for a while. I give this game a 10, out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Resident Evil 4

posted by Sneetch10 (ROCKAWAY, NJ) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game actually isn't a bad game. Its not very scary, except at certain parts. But i loved it. With great graphics, and brilliant controls it feels like i am in the game myself. The bosses are fun and the whole game is pretty fun. The one thing i really liked about it was it wasn't to easy, but it wasn't to hard. It was in between, there where so really easy parts, and then some parts that where really hard. Over-all its almost a perfect game.
To make my review short and sweet it was one of the best games i've played. It would be a must buy for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

gamecubes graphics will never be the same!

posted by liukangx (CANAL WINCHESTER, OH) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

resident evil is back now with a some new guns and material and its up to you to save the day!
you are on a mission to save the presidents daughter and you are just the person to do it only bad thing is you have to fight some villagers and parasites to get her back.

If you love survival horror games you'll love this and even if you don't you love it, and even when compared to its ps2 counter part the gamecube version came out on the top

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Props to Capcom...

posted by Fallen1990 (CASTLETON, NY) Aug 25, 2006

Member since May 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I am an old School fan of the Resident Evil series, and after playing almost every one, I have to say, this is the best one. This game was believable, fun, and the graphics were great. I played this game expecting it to be like the others, which only take a week to beat, but this game was actually lengthy. Great storyline and controls and you gotta love the chainsaw welding murderers. I felt a sense of accomplishment after beating this game and I would recommend it to anyone who liked the other games. Definitely a must play if you are a Resident Evil fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best gamecube game I have ever played

posted by rarrarrar (WALNUT CREEK, CA) Jun 24, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game has astounding graphics, amazing controls and fun gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game rox ma socks

posted by carlito (FREDERICK, MD) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

i love this game!!!!11 its 1 of my favorite games of all time!!!! my choice for u ppl is to buy it now!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Targeting Woes

posted by jsteltz (WILMINGTON, DE) Jun 30, 2006

Member since May 2005

3 out of 35 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

The graphics in this game are amazing and there is a ton of action. Even some laughs. But...if you play a lot of Halo or Half Life (and you should) getting used to the targeting is a nightmare. Basically, to aim, you stand completely still and then pivot at your waist. All the while, getting nailed by zombies. I felt like I was drunk, wobbling all over the place. I gave up after an hour.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

boooooooooooooooooooooooo- ooooooooooooooooooooooooo

posted by hahahahaaa (BEVERLY HILLS, CA) Aug 6, 2008

Member since May 2008

2 out of 24 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

the aming is bad and its do this the all the way

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not Resident Evil.......

posted by Lodoss (MELROSE PARK, IL) May 2, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

3 out of 41 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

This game is nothing like the previous 4 resident evil games (Resident Evil 0 - 3)

Enemies spawn out of nowhere, you get no ammo for any of your weapons, you are stationary as you fight, the enemies are too overpowered...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse