Rent Resident Evil 2 for GC
view large frontback

Resident Evil 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.2

1009 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

better than all the others !!!!!

posted by codrules96 (KELLYVILLE, OK) Feb 14, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

the day i got this game it was valentines day and i spent all day in my room. i got it and died as soon as i got to the rpd building but it wasn't my fault i just wasn't used to the controls. i know all these people say this game suck well you know what they probably didn't like the controls but it just takes time to get used to. you get used to the controls usually about the rpd mansion. where the fun really begins when you beat both the scenarios you get to have fun when you do arranged game you start out with the uzi with limited ammo ughhhhh. fun.fun.fun.and even more fun when you get to the stuff box i dont now what to call it i call it the stuff box. but when you open it you get in it you can get the rocket launcher chain gun it has the hand gun wit ulimeted ammo and a bunch load of first aid spray where when you get the extension box you will be unstoppable for the should come out with another game just like this one i mean resident evil 4 is a great game but its different with the camera angle i kinda liked it cause im used to those angles but when you play this one let me put it this way you will fall head over heels in love with this game the only other game that could beat it is the greatest game ever made my advice get it.GET IT . GET IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Resident Evil 2

posted by novastador (WEST GROVE, PA) Apr 23, 2006

Member since Dec 2003

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I love this game. This was the first game I ever played and yet the only 2 games I like of the resident evil series RE2 and RE4.Leon will be my most favorite game character ever. Yes it may look bad but its one of the greatest games I ever saw.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Resident Evil 2 Comes Back With a Bang!

posted by Bahuamet (WEST ORANGE, NJ) Jul 15, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Resident Evil 2 is a continuation in the franchise started by Capcom. The game is colorful, dark, and full of scary things. This games is truly survival horror at it's best and Resident Evil definately delivers. Gameplay is awesome. The game runs smooth. Alot of people think the game is bad only because of the camera angles and the bad graphics. In true the cinematics aren't bad at all. In-game the blood is pixelated quite a bit but that doesn't not subtract in any way the frightening terror that is Resident Evil 2. Definately a step up from Resident Evil, Resident Evil 2 features a Arrange Mode. In this mode it is as if Leon and Claire (main characters) are prepared for this whole incident. Leon starts out with a fully-automatic sub-machine gun. It also has infinite ammo. There are 3 other weapons already in the item boxes aswell. A handgun, 120 bullets, 3 first aid sprays and the two godly weapons. You will just have to play to find out what they are! The arrange mode is great along with the main game. The game isn't too long. Focused gameplay, repeatedly, on Arrange Mode, would result in a game time of only a mer few hours. Although it is quick. There is Claire and Leon to choose from. You also play as Ada Wong in-game. In all, Resident Evil 2 is a true Survival Horror masterpiece. The camera angles only add to the supense and the feeling of being scared to go around the corner makes the experience all the more better. If you have played Resident Evil or any other Resident Evil and enjoyed it, this game is for you. If you get scared really easily and you are afraid of 1.Giant Spiders 2.Flesh eating zombies 3.Giant monsters 4.weird creepy music 5.raccoons, then this game isn't for you.

~Alex aka. Bahuamet~

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Amazing flashback

posted by Kryptale (WASHINGTON COURT HOUSE, OH) Aug 9, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

When Resident Evil 2 came out, it was one of the most frightening games of its kind. While Resident Evil kept you confined to a Mansion in the center of the Arklay Mountains, Resident Evil 2 thrusts you into the middle of a zombie infested city filled with conveniently placed vehicles that force you into detours due to your apparent inability to climb.

All jokes aside, this game has definitely aged well. Despite the ugly graphics and the tank-like controls, Resident Evil 2 remains one of the best survival horror games available for any system. It's puzzles and plot-driven game play make it worth a shot, and the four different scenarios make it worth several replays.

The only thing not to like are the graphics, which makes me wish that Capcom had remade the game as they did the original game. Added to that was the initial GameCube price tag, which was way too high for a half-baked port. If you have the time to spare, this is a great game and everyone should give it a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of my favorite games of all time

posted by abcdec (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jun 28, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Never played it for GC but did play it for the original PlayStation. The camera angles can get annoying but man is the game so fun and so scary. The story is awesome and so are the characters. You can switch sides of the story from Leon and Clair. Me and my friends would huddle up in my basement at night and play the flippin scary crazy cool game! I plan to play the GC version..hope nothing has changed from the PS1 version. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

resident evil

posted by beruzeruku (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Dec 16, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

great game but standards were low then so dont expect it to be like 4 or 5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game

posted by spongebob (TUCSON, AZ) Jun 11, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game was great on all of the old systems and is still great on the gamecube. the only thing that I don't like is the fact that the creators didn't enhance the graphics like they did for R.E.1. But still this is a great game that helps complete the story for R.E.4. everyone should rent this game whether you like blood and gut zombie games or strategic puzzle games, this game has it all!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Resident Evil 2

posted by ironmon (BEALE AFB, CA) Sep 26, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

It's a good games series at Resident Evil 5 but it was bad i mean my brother liked it yet i don't understand the controls they were stupid.
I didn't like the story they were bad no it was worst.

Well I know a few cheats codes Gamefly has lots of cheats also i watch X-play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

dreamcast version is way better

posted by zeldakix17 (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) May 14, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 16 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

I agree with ign, gamespy, and gamespot this game is not as good it looks like a ps1 game the detail is not good at all on the gamecube the develaphers should of fixed a lot of the bad stuff in the game like the controller of it's self is confusing I play game's for a living so I know a bad game when I see one the 4th evil game is way scaryer this game is not scary it's really bad unless you don't mind this stuff well then you "KNOW NOTHING OF A GOOD GAMES" this game is TRASH "so go gcycle" it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game sucks!

posted by bigd34 (TOBYHANNA, PA) Aug 21, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

For all the people that said that the game was good, are brain dead. I thought this game was going to be good since this is my first resident evil. I was disappointed by the graphics, controls, and pretty much everything in the game! I played it for ten minutes and I sent it back! I gives this peice of garage a 1 because there's no zeros!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Resident Evil...2!!

posted by Fabiocrow1983 (COVINGTON TOWNSHIP, PA) Mar 24, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

I Read a few of the other reviews of this game and it seems that a lot of people don't get that this game was made in the mid 90's. Yes the Graphics aren't the best,Yes the camera angles could be a pain,YES you control like a tank at times...but it's all apart of the game and the game is just epic. Once you get use to the controls and you get into the story You'll really enjoy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Resident Evil Excellence.

posted by GazetteGamer (HEMET, CA) Jul 15, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Resident Evil 2 is by far the most favorite RE game I've played.

The story is great, the graphics are great and the survival horror elements are great. I honestly kept coming back so many times just to play through once more because of how much fun it was.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best resident evil yet.

posted by sethson (PUEBLO, CO) Jan 9, 2012

Member since Oct 2010

As an avid game player, I know that the classics are the best. this game was the best one of the entire series, just the gameplay alone was awesome. if you love classics, then this is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

RESIDENT EVIL 2

posted by chaz_34 (TANGIER, VA) Oct 31, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

My brother said he returned this game because he dd not like it at all. Said it was not his kind of game.He is more of a harry potter game,legend of zelda game,or lord of the rings game........So he said he mailed this game back to you all......sorry............

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dont play

posted by brfeaster12 (BETHANY, OK) Oct 28, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

it has bad grfs i cant play whith the way it looks
do not rent this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome

posted by goodgamer500 (Coupland, TX) Jul 6, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

there was difficult controls but u get used to it in a minute very good storyline and scary good to rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Still the thrill ride it was

posted by dnol47 (CHICAGO, IL) Apr 7, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

To most, this is undoubtedly the best Resident Evil made (let's face it, 4 really isn't an actual RE). Unfortunately, I wasn't able to agree because...I wasn't old enough to beat the game. First, allow me to address the complaints: the game is just the PS1 port without the makeover REmake got. The controls (believe it or not) are similar to RE4, so the complaints about the controls are too hard or complex to learn are complete bull. With that said, let's go to my thoughts on the game, now that I didn't wake up thinking zombies were gonna get me (yes, I still do, even at an adult age): the game has the best storyline out of all the RE games, despite the game not being known for the storyline. The game is the longest of all RE games, ranging from 12 - 20 hours combined gameplay, so you'll be occupied for awhile as long as you're not aiming to do speed runs of the game. The camera angles are the ones I prefer, because you will have to rely on auditory cues instead of sight. The puzzles are still the puzzles you expect from RE, also the unbelievable amount of backtracking required. I give it a 10 because...I just plain like it. Remember if you aren't lost every 10 minutes, praying that you find ammo or health items, backtracking for everything, struggling on half the puzzles, and scrambling for a walkthrough: you're playing Resident Evil.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great

posted by jumpy401 (KETCHIKAN, AK) Feb 6, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

im a huge fan of resident evil this one is the best I've played besides re4 i love this one because it is old i admit some controls suck but it's fun and challenging those are the games i love so worth renting and buying if you have rented it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Resident Evil 2

posted by benbejamin (CHERRYVILLE, NC) Jan 31, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

The graphics are anything but amazing but i still had fun with this game, it really gives you the old style re series fun and puzzle solving instead of just blowing stuff up in RE5. If your a fan of the series you will love it i personally had a lot of fun. You will cacth up on all your RE history also.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

resident evil 2

posted by brianroepe (EAST SAINT LOUIS, IL) Mar 25, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

resident evil 2 is a great game i still working on getting far on resident evil 2 i know the boss going to be hard to kill.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Holds Up After All These Years

posted by Rumple (DALLAS, OR) Oct 22, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

I just recently gave this game a try. Never played any other traditional Resident Evil game i did not know what to expect. This port of the PS1 classic is no different then the original so i am not reviewing it as compared to modern games. I am not easily scared of horror themed video games but this game managed to make me jump once or twice. With all the high tech graphics and souns of todays games i think thats a big accomplishment.

You are put in the shoes of either Leon or Claire as you fight to survive in the zombie infested town of Racoon city. The objective is to simply escape alive. But this turns out to be harder then expected when much more dangerous creatures then zombies rear their ugly heads.

The camera and controlls take awhile to get use to but the gameplay is solid. At times it feels like a giant puzzle. Go collect the crank so you can collect a battery for another puzzle that gives you a key to this door that holds a card to a computer behind it. Its all a big fetch quest but its all fun.

Dont go into it expecting something modern because it is a PS1 port. If you have never played a traditional Resident evil title, i highly reccomend it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

fun but not the best game.

posted by sonicfan11 (Ferndale, CA) May 17, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2009

ok so i rented this and it was ok but i just could not get over the awful controles. it sucks because when u start the game theres like 50 zombies there and u can barely move

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best resident evil

posted by Hishiyama (BOSTON, MA) May 11, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

best game ever made. the new r.e.5 doesnt hold a candle next to it ..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the Best Games I've Ever Played!

posted by swfan34 (OCEAN SPRINGS, MS) Dec 12, 2008

Member since May 2008

Though this is only a port of a PS and N64 game, I don't think that matters, as it's still a great game. There are 4 scenarios - unlike most games, even RE. You start with ClaireA and LeonA, both on one disc - neat! You can unlock ClaireB by completing Leon's A scenario and saving, and LeonB by doing the same with ClaireA. The graphics aren't the best - but better than other PS ports. If you are a RE4 fan and want to get this game just for Leon, don't. You'll write a manic review giving 1 and saying it's the worst game you've ever played, and here's why:

1. Controls: Do I even have to say it?

2. Aiming: Not the RE4 laser pointer. side-to-side and up an down only.

Here's a whole run-down:

Controls: 7, considering the camera scheme makes the controls neccesary.

Gameplay: 8, aiming is not the best.

Story: 10, one of the best video game stories ever. Wothy of several movies (shut up about Re: Apocalypse, that was an RE3 movie, and it wasn't even good, it had to steal from RE:CV to be worth a 3/5 star review)

RE SPECIFIC RATINGS:

Ammo ammount: 7 (RE4 would be a 9)

Creature originality compared to other RE games: 9, the zombies are there as always, but that doesn't bring it down, Mr. X does. He's just a Tyrant with a coat. Billy Birkin, however, is an awesome monster, undergoing SIX mutations. Ivys come in, too, and lickers.

Characters: 10, second best characters in this game, best being REmake.

Cutscenes: 8, in addition to the infamous real-time cutscenes of RE games, fully CGI cutscenes first appear in this game, to return for good with RE3, though unlike RE3, not all cutscenes are like this, some are still RE1 style, which isn't very good. Mouths move, guys.

OVERALL GAME SCORE: 9

What brings it down: Controls, as always, and cutscenes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun and scary 2 best things together

posted by REFan360 (ROCKLIN, CA) Oct 3, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

Resident evil 2 more monsters and Characters. i like the story line and the new monsters and bosses. the ability to change the story by either choosing Leon story or Claire story. the ammo is pretty good because you are in a police station. one of the best game i have ever played. hope this helped.

10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse