Rent Remington North American Bird Hunt for Wii
view large frontback

Remington North American Bird Hunt

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.3

145 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

Not so Great Bird Hunt

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Nov 24, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

One of the first games that involve shooting birds is called Duck Hunt, where you spend round after round shooting down ducks - sometimes one at a time, sometimes two at a time.
Now comes a game that looks like the next generation Duck Hunt, Remington North American Bird Hunt. There's a single player mode and two multiplayer modes.
The single player mode has you shooting through 12 tournament, with five rounds in each tournament for a total of sixty levels. It starts off very easy, but gets much harder as you progress.
You score points by shooting the right bird, hitting a bunch of birds with one shot and making a chain of hits - each consecutive hit gets more points than the last.
You have to meet or beat a required number of points for bronze, silver or gold medals. Getting a medal also gets you to the next round in the tournament or the next tournament.
What sort of levels are shown here? Some of the levels have you shooting flocks of ducks or geese and others have you shoot male turkeys without hitting the female ones.
Some of the levels have a miss limit. Shoot a bird you're not supposed to or miss a bird you are supposed to hit and you get a "miss". After getting a certain number of misses (depends on which tournament you are in), the round is over.
As for the multiplayer games, they're what you expect; in one, up to four players can shoot at birds in three rounds of play. Highest score wins.
The other multiplayer has players taking turns over three levels. It's like the first multiplayer game, but there's an option to sabotauge the other players with armored birds, or reverse controls.
Truth is, the single player mode can get bland and boring after a few rounds; you are just doing the same thing over and over again.
The multiplayer can get fun - but there's nothing new or original on display here.
So, if you like shooting birds, then I say rent it, but most of us can give Remington North American Bird Hunt a pass. SKIP IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Duck Hunt

posted by cash35 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Dec 20, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Remember Nintendo Duck Hunt??
That's what this game reminds me of.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just another shooting game

posted by RicardoDVF (CUPERTINO, CA) Dec 24, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

It is an ok shooting game to play with small kids but even they will get bored after 20 minutes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

decent hunt.

posted by sarge19 (CHILLICOTHE, OH) Dec 22, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

i liked it, itd be more fora beginner outdoorsman, good teaching game for kids, good guns in it, remington upland a fav an sureshot. turkeys are the best hunt on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

If you liked old school Duck Hunt...

posted by Traeonna (TOLEDO, OH) Jun 16, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

...then you'll probably like this game. There is both single player and multiplayer modes.

Single player mode involves getting through a 12 tournaments with 5 rounds each tournament. Each round you will earn a Bronze, Silver, or Gold metal depending how you score. It also has certain requirements such as not shooting illegal birds, only missing a certain amount of times, etc. You score points by shooting legal birds. You will also get gun upgrades, bonus ammunition count, hunter glasses to make targets easier to see, hunter vision that slows down birds for easier targeting, and even a dog which will flush out bonus birds that are worth more points.

There are also several multiplayer modes such as Versus, Team Play, and Hunting Party. In Versus and Team Play, every player needs their own Wii remote. In Hunting Party, every player passes a single Wii remote around. Versus and Team Play are pretty straightforward with the highest scoring person or team at the end of the match winning. In Hunting Party, items are thrown into the mix to make the game more complicated for the next player or giving yourself more points. Like the other games, the player with the most points at the end of the match wins.

I remember the days when we first got Nintendo. My dad and I would play Duck Hunt for hours. My parents got a Wii, well, it was going to be for us, but my husband already got us one, so they kept it (good for the grandkids). I got a copy of this for my dad remembering how he liked Duck Hunt. I was pretty pleased because I got through a few tournaments with all golds. He took that as a challenge and calls me up excited one night...he got through the entire game finally...all golds. Needless to say, it was totally worth the money and has entertained us all. Well, maybe not my mom, but my son and I have fun playing versus and my dad likes beating my scores. Fun for everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »