Rent Remember Me for PS3
view large frontback

Remember Me

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $9.99

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.3

735 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Garbage

posted by TenaciousP (HASKELL, NJ) Mar 9, 2014

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The combat in this game is garbage. the concept is pretty cool, but never really goes anywhere. Terrible cheap bosses. Lengthy, drawn out fights that let you sit for 20 agonizing minutes getting pummeled with no hints on how to progress. Even on easy, these fights are annoying, and not fun. I really hated this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

SO much potential, SO disappointing...

posted by JesterCGI (LOS ANGELES, CA) Sep 26, 2013

Member since Apr 2004

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

What starts out as a Great game, sums up in a mass of disappointment. Near the end of the game are a few battle scenes that are so amazingly slow and repetitive that they almost completely ruin the game. Check out some of the later game play videos on you tube before you rent this. One fight in particular takes over 25 minutes on there... and is REALLY BORING!
Check out the new Tomb Raider instead

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The first of its kind for me

posted by Sokuro (PORT NECHES, TX) Jun 6, 2013

Member since Aug 2007

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Remember Me is one of those phenomenal games where the story keeps the player completely enthralled. I'm quite fond of role-playing and actions games, so the mix of story and game play was spectacular.

At first, the combat system seems borderline flawless, but the mass of enemies and no means of defense can make for a cluttered mess at times. I have never been a strong player for this style of "tag and dodge" combat, so my opinion of this system is purely personal preference.

I don't want to spoil the game play, but I will say that if you enjoyed Heavy Rain for its interaction methods, this game is sure to catch your eye. I know that for me, personally, this game is the only one in all my years of gaming to legitimately make me feel for the characters.

Storyline(all aspects) gets a definite 10/10
Detail/art: 9/10
Gameplay: 8/10
Voice acting: 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Some design flaws

posted by RobPsyence (COLUMBIA, MO) Jun 6, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

I've played the game for about 5 hours now and so far it is a good game but there are some design flaws. The production level is high but the game is very linear and there are some branching paths that lead to nothing at all. Also the inability to change the controller button mapping is annoying because having to use L1 and R1 often while controlling character movement and the camera is cumbersome.

Also I am almost 43% done with the game and the only memory remixing i've done is the tutorial one at the beginning of the game when the Memory Remix concept is what is supposed to make this game unique. All the moments where you can steal memories they could have inserted the memory remix mechanic and they didnt, it is a bit annoying.

Also a side note on the L1 and R1 situation, it makes the invisible "leapers" and the robots difficult to deal with. if I could switch to L2 and R2 it would be a lot more comfortable to use.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Tomb-Raider meets Cyberpunk

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Jun 17, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Too sum it up easily... The title is resemblant to TombRaider but in a twisted future of an Ai driven society.
I'm not sure why so many cirtics have knocked this title as being, incomplete or not good enough. Perhaps, those few critics do not have the capacity to understand what the story is about. Not understanding the whole cyberpunk genere would really leave anyone aimless or confused.

If you are familiar with TV series, "Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone complex" You would instantly love this title. It has that rich sense of future outlook of inetegrity of human and system.

You play as Nilin, a memory hunter that is patching her life and catastrophe together with data.
Based in a distant future where man and machine are seamlessly integrated with a credit/system, SENSEN. Sensen is the technology that every human is plugged in with, before they can even walk. Humanity often shifts into not understanding itself and memory holes are plauges of human intellect. Nilin is a memory hunter... Being the best she is able to rewrite entire segments of a person's mind and exploit it at her very will. Tied to conspiracies of corruption Nilin finds herself, lost and nearly mindwiped. It becomes, up to Nilin to patch everything together to see what has become of herself.

The surrealism of the game is amazing. I have not ever seen a game that had so much thought placed into the storyboard. The philosophy of cyberpunk, of soul and machine integration is all refined with a erry, twisted Sci-fi plot that is almost as good as some of the top horror titles out there.

The game world is very linear but well designed, there is something new around every corner.

Capcom has done a brilliant job bringing the world of Cyberpunk to life in this title. Some may not fully understand, the story... But if you like Ghost in the Shell -- A popular TV series... You would enjoy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Truly terrible

posted by Love4Games (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jun 8, 2013

Member since May 2005

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is linear and repetitive. The story line was interesting at first but quickly falls apart. combat is both boring and frustrating. The ability to customize your combo is tedious.

This should not have been an action game. It should have focused more on memory interaction. This was like a poorly done Beat-em-up game with a sprinkle of something special.

You will find yourself bored, frustrated and waiting for the game to end (the story is cliché and you will know all the "twists" before they happen).

I would avoid this game if I were you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by DaTrustedGamer (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Jun 5, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

Don't listen to anyone else this game was one of the best I've ever played everything about it is fantastic! Just lay it right now you will love it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Very short, Don't buy.

posted by Jm3rks28 (MOUNTAIN HOME, AR) Jun 6, 2013

Member since Feb 2012

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This is a typical button mashing action game. The combat system, got old real fast. The only way to better yourself is to seek out and find hidden packs to raise your health/focus meter. It plays about 12hrs long so its pretty short. The graphics were alright, I've seen better. Dishonored is a better game and that only has a rating in the 7's. I rated this a 5 for story and the memory remixes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Don't skip this game!

posted by YoungD24 (EAST STROUDSBURG, PA) Jun 5, 2013

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

First off let me just say, I thought I wasn't going to be impressed with the opening, but it got me hooked! This game is just mind blowing. Finally Capcom does some justice for the gaming industry, and they did not disappoint with "Remember Me". Mind blowing gameplay is what you can expect from this game!(Graphics are good too, but tend to be too repetitive at times). All in all I would give this game an honest 9 out of 10. Mainly because the gameplay in here is epic, and its kept me on my feet! What's very unique in this game (SPOILER ALERT!),is the way you can remix peoples memories, and change events of what they done. And you can reverse the memory cut scene as many times as you want! Its like reversing the cutscene in a game without any lag!! Excellent game so far, in fact I'm still not done with the game yet! For me, its only a must rent. But if your looking for great gameplay and good graphics, this is a must buy for you. I still believe it won't be as great as Last of Us coming out in a week. Yet this game is a winner in my book!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

laaame!

posted by PatriCo (CAMDENTON, MO) Jun 4, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

5 out of 18 gamers (28%) found this review helpful

Ok the graphics are amazing! I was so excited to play something in full high def. I played it for hours used 3 buttons (sigh) controls like an old tomb raider can't hardly focus too much . going on in fight scenes. If I had bought this it would be in the trash broken. Shipping back same day

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Good Game

posted by Kezzmo (NORCROSS, GA) Jun 5, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Please don't listen to what people are saying. This game has a unique experience and it is worth a rent. Be the judge not people telling you what to do. I personally like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

not impressed

posted by lhardwick6 (GENOA, WV) Jun 6, 2013

Member since Aug 2004

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

sitting here playing this game it looks great and controls seem decent but the way you act like creating own combo moves but it tells you how to do them and what order to put them in . and you have to enter the combos buttons in a certain manner at certain timing and if you don't then wont do any good--in order to stay alive your find these first aid packs all over the place and not too often -in order to stay alive you need to use a combo move that regenerates your life

I kind of had hopes for this one but don't get this game you will be disappointed more than likely I know I was

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Give this game a shot.

posted by XYA (NEW LONDON, CT) May 3, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

I'll be as spoiler-free as possible.

I will admit, the first 2 1/2 chapters were pretty dry and full of tutorial material. It was almost a turnoff for me. But after all the cruel and unusual punishment, it opens up and feels more 'fresh'.

The story seemed half-a//ed at first, but the more you progress, the more you'll appreciate it. In my opinion, it was actually well-made with minimal plotholes (compared to other games of it's genre...i'm looking at you 'Killer Is Dead'.) and gets you thinking outside the box with it's take on what type of future may come of social networking. (PS: Storywise, the chapter intermissions were my favorite. They were dark, yet philosophical.)

The combat system is "blargh" at first (that's the only word I can describe it with), but the more options you open up, the more fun you have with it. Also, you'll be running into new types of enemies throughout the entire game, so you'll have to switch up how you fight in order progress, which keeps things 'fresh' enough until the end of the game.

The boss battles are all around great. It's probably the most fun this game has to offer. I won't describe those. Reading details off of an online review does no justification.

I honestly give this game a 7.5 ('8' rounded up), since I had a good experience with it, but overall, the beginning could have been better. As for the ending: it was worth it.

--And for the books, this was a GREAT weekend rental, but I do not advise buying it. The replayability dies once the credits finish.--

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

An actually amazing game!!

posted by madhatterboi (CONROE, TX) Feb 24, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

The story was interesting kept my attention fairly well the graphics were fantastic the only bad part is the length it's a fairly short game wish there was more to play honestly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

remember me

posted by md632 (HOMESTEAD, FL) Feb 14, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

would not work on my PS3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

not good

posted by tristengrl (MIAMI, FL) Nov 29, 2013

Member since Jul 2011

this game got boring real quick. the controls to this game is dumb..you try to run straight and she is like all over the place. you have to customize our combat moves..not to many energy around. to get energy you have to correctly do the combat moves. i just got bored real easily with this game.. this is a wannabe rip off of tomb raider. and tomb raider was just way better than this junk. i got it today and its getting sent back today. a waste of time...thank goodness i didnt purchase it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sucked

posted by will234 (PEARL, MS) Nov 15, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

sucked

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

one step from good.

posted by micviper (BALTIMORE, MD) Nov 13, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

i loved the story but the theme and gameplay dont mix well, you have to remember how to fight??? made me lose interest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Rental

posted by dedguy (KATY, TX) Sep 3, 2013

Member since Nov 2009

Don't know what happens with games like this, and I'm sure the big wigs at Capcom were not happy with it, but I'm glad games like this get made.

First, yes, the combat system is a bit shallow, repetitive, but you can say that about a lot of games, including favs like Max Payne 3. BUT, the storyline, a dystopian Total Recall meets Neuromancer meets the Matrix, is intriguing and wonderful to watch unfold. The animation sequences are brilliantly rendered, and so are the set designs. Yes, it would have been fun to explore them, but that's why this is a great rental.

The neatest part of this game, truly groundbreaking, and I hope they do something like this again, is the remixing of memories. You play through memory sequences and alter someone's memory to get them to do what you want. This is the most awesome part of the game, done quite well, but, alas, not done enough.

However, unlike most games that come out these days, which are simply the same old run-around-shoot-kill-stab-solve-puzzle-rinse-and-repeat, Remember Me actually strives for something unique and different. You get the feeling that this game sort of had a fixed budget, and kudos to the director who decided to not skimp on the art design. Neo Paris is gorgeous, and something different when every other game is trying to blow up NYC all the time.

Great rental, and worth anyone's time who is looking for something out of the ordinary that is creative in a world of cookie cutter clutter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Best Linear Game

posted by TheGameReviewer (MIAMI, FL) Aug 29, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

Had lots of fun in this game. Even though it is very linear, I see it as one of the best linear games I'v ever played. This is a game worth playing through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great Concept, Lacking execution

posted by RexDeLaCoeur (KATY, TX) Aug 25, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

Pros:
-Visually Stunning
-Unique Concept
-Fast Pace
-Decent Story

Cons
-Combo systems fails due to deluge of enemies
-Too Linear
-No Backtracking for collectibles
-Weird Camera Angles
-loose controls

Thankfully, this game is short. You finish it before any of it's problems really annoy you. But there are plenty that the developers tried to cove up. THe combo system was only half thought out, as it's nearly impossible to string together combos when you have a group of more than 3 enemies.This is made worse by the camera doing it's own thing at times.

THe game gives you the IDEA that it may be at least a semi-open world, but very early you realize it's not. Almost every door, shop, room is labeled on screen, but you really can't interact with anything that the game doesn't want you too. You can only hang on ledges that follow the path, jump to platforms that the game wants you too, etc. You are guided along by waypoints that keep you to the linear path... except when the waypoints are oddly just not there. This is especially problematic when collecting powerups. YOu have to explore a little to find the "hidden" areas, but if you explore too far in the wrong direction the game locks you out of the area and you just miss the collectibles.

The controls are very loose, getting Nillin to run in a straight line or jump in a direction you want is frustrating at times. This makes aiming and evading in combat even more difficult. And some of the special powers are so pointless they are forced to be used to make them seem important. (i.e. Once you get the Spammer, you no longer just open doors, you have to shoot EVERY. SINGLE. LOCK.)

The story was decent... but it goes one boss too far. The final fight was unneccessary and added nothing to the game.

Hopefully, any sequels will work out the kinks that were in this one...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Remember Me? Why?!?!?!?

posted by chimptor (SHREVEPORT, LA) Aug 24, 2013

Member since Apr 2010

Remember Me: Oh, I'll remember you alright cause this game is so frustrating!!!!! It has decent graphics, really interesting sound, good story, and by far the best thing about this game is the memory stuff especially the ability to rewind memories, manipulating them to suit your current needs. Without a doubt this is the best feature of RM!! And now the absolute worst thing about Remember Me, absolutely the most annoying aspect of an otherwise good game.......THE CONTROLS!!!!! DID THEY NOT BETA TEST THIS GAME!!! I MEAN, REALLY!!!! This game, has without a doubt, the most frustrating controls ever!!! The most annoying two aspects of this problem is, 1. Your avatar will walk no matter if you are touching the controls or not. My idiot avatar would routinely just walk off a building or into a deadly swamp without me doing a thing!!! 2. Trying to get her to just walk straight is a huge chore!! For some reason they decided to create this game with the most uncontrollable controls. This almost, almost ruined the game for me, but I like a challenge so I'm sticking with it. And one last thing, could you have made the "Pressons" more confusing?!?!?!? I still don't know how they work!!!! I have been just randomly putting them here and there until the numbers go up. Is that how it works?!?!? I just don't know. Rent this title if you must, but , be prepared to be driven mad by shoddy, sub standard game design. Next time bring your A game, I mean, really!!! DO NOT BUY FOR ANY REASON!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun game to rent

posted by zlariviere20 (WOONSOCKET, RI) Aug 18, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

it was fun to play throguh and check it out but thats abotu it for me it is too linear to play more than once but other than that it has great graphics few non gameplay affecting issues the combo system and style of fighting is alittle different and amusing than other games i dont know about her jump though looks liek shes trying to gallop like a hoarse when not in combat id recommend a rent atleast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Feels Good but Flawed

posted by ciordia9 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Jul 31, 2013

Member since May 2004

I'll keep this short and sweet. It has a lot of feel like Mirror's Edge. I wouldn't be terribly surprised if it was some of the same teams behind it.

Graphics, audio, concept are really stellar.

I was lured just for the 'choose your own adventure' memory style gameplay.

I was let down that there were only 4 or 5 remixes in the entire game. I thought that remixing might be a part of the combat sequences, but alas nothing much there either.

Combo system was simple and easy enough to follow. Nothing as noteworthy as a current Batman incarnations but it flowed easy enough and the rhythm of button mashing made it rather straightforward to get everything you wanted done.

Where the game really got cramped was it's camera control system. We had fights nearly the whole game. I also had 2 crashes which made me a bit gamer-rage-worthy but this too shall pass.

I really hope they make a v2 since the guys wrote a decent story, had great voice acting and CG, not too long, not too short, all in all a stellar rental.

Grow the ability to mind jack, bring combat into the modern age, stop being so repetitive in how you create fight stages and this will have some legs to grow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A pretty good game to rent

posted by Existence (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Jul 27, 2013

Member since Jul 2011

Given how this game came from a studio I have never heard of (DontNod) and published by Capcom, I was expecting this Beat-Em-Up game to be kind of irritating, but I was surprised that it was decently put together.

The main story is about manipulating memories, and as such I found it a little difficult to follow (the accents didn't help me either, turn on subtitles!) up until it finally concluded. I will give it points for putting together a story that I felt was fairly creative and original, but story is mostly subjective, and others may not agree.

Combat is fairly similar to Batman: AA or AC, but doesn't require as much finesse. It doesn't want the player to mash buttons, but happily combo strings do not require precise timing. Combo strings may be customized by the player, with each button either doing extra damage, regenerating HP, or reducing cool-downs on specials. I kind of liked the idea because I could tailor my strings as I needed to (which is great for Hard) although it may disrupt the flow of combat for some.

Combat is simplistic overall (which is probably why some reviews find the game repetitive), but that's not necessarily a bad thing; I would prefer that over designers trying to overdo it and making the game more irritating to play because they don't design for it properly. The Dodge system is great; it gives a brief second of invulnerability, and feels fairly responsive.

Combat still has its flaws: the camera can be a problem at times (it moves a lot); the targeting system with your "gun" isn't the best; some enemies are aggressive to the point where it becomes difficult to pull off combos which draws things out.

Level design is certainly linear, but the levels are graphically detailed enough that it masks it to a degree. The game is also short if going through it with minimal collectibles; perhaps 6+ hours.

The remixes (where you get a scene to interact with to produce different results) were great, and I wish there were more of t

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse