Rent Reload for Wii
view large frontback

Reload

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
4.8

204 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

Tiny targets, huge headaches for Reload

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jan 17, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The makers of Reload claim that this game is all about real training on how to use weapons in certain situations. If that’s the case, than I am not ready to fire a gun at all.
The solo player mode has the player going through a few dozen levels, blasting certain targets while avoiding hitting other targets. Bonuses are given for head shots, consecutive hits, and taking down more than one target with one bullet. You have to score a certain number of points in order to get past the level and unlock the next level.
But the way the targets are laid out really frustrated me. Some targets are so small that they’re very hard to spot - and hit. If I’m just a hair off, I’ll miss the target.
This aggravation is bumped to a whole new level when you’re dealing with innocent bystanders. First off, the terrorist hide behind the innocents - so you have very little room to shoot with.
Then, you get guns that are ill advised for these situations - a shotgun or a semi automatic rifle.
With every press of the trigger with the rifle, you get three shots, and if you twitch just a bit, one of those shots will hit an innocent bystander near the target you were aiming for.
The shotgun gives a very large blast radius, and it’s really easy to catch an innocent inside that blast zone, scoring a hit on that innocent.
And guess what? With every innocent hit, you take a huge deduction to your score - and will likely fail that mission, and have to do it again - and again, and again, and again…
There’s multiplayer for up to four players, but there are only four mini games available here; I felt like this was slapped on at the last moment.
This game is for those of us with rock steady aiming and lots of patience. I suggest you go for some other rail shooter or first person shooter, save your sanity, and don’t play Reload. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good game but not great!!!

posted by johnny5 (Orlando, FL) Apr 12, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It was a good game to play if you are training for some sort of war whether in military setting or as a cop. Great variety of weapons and settings a bit too realistic. As far as other games of this genre go it is not as repetitive. Definitely not something to play with the family, but then again not many shooting games are. If you are a gun buff than i would really recomend. But all in all not that fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game will put u too sleep!

posted by SOULEPOLE (GOLD HILL, OR) Feb 16, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Don't waste ur time with this boring, tired, repeating game. I gave it a good 1/2 hour before I had to wrap it back up and send it back to Gamefly heaven. Good thing I rent these games before I buy them, I would have gotten ripped off on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Re-load, Re-nted, Re-turned Re-ally Fast

posted by Ricken (COLUMBUS, OH) Aug 31, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

Well, the summary didn't lie when it said "No animals to hunt. No people to target. Just real weapons and real training in how to use them."

The thing about having a game that's entirely training is that it feels like the game is just one long tutorial for a game that never happens. There's little functionally wrong, but the game becomes a chore to play within the first half an hour. Also, how does playing this game do any mroe to teach you how a gun works than say, Resident Evil: Umbrella Chronicles or Dead Space Extraction? The only "training" here is to point the Wii remote at the screen and hit B.

And not to make a cheap shot at what audience this game has, but it's pretty telling when the leaderboard is littered with numerous entries from usernames related to Christianity.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Guns and Targets

posted by MasterJET717 (WEST HARTFORD, CT) Sep 3, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

This is an interesting game filled with real life training like Embassy Shoot Houses, Skeet Shots and range shooting. Several reviews have criticized that the targets are moving, they're to small and other things like that.
If you are going to rent this game just remember, it says real life training for a reason; targets will move and be small.
For someone interested in training their eye for target acquisition in a variety of venues then Reload works great!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

OK....I Guess...

posted by PandaCow64 (CANNON FALLS, MN) May 25, 2011

Member since May 2011

I was really excited for this but I was kinda disappointed. Nonetheless, o.k. game, better than some shooters I've played, but it could have been better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »