Rent Reel Fishing: Angler's Dream for Wii
view large frontback

Reel Fishing: Angler's Dream

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
3.4

507 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boring

posted by lap1026 (SOUTH HADLEY, MA) Apr 30, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love fishing and hadn't played a fishing game yet so was looking forward to Reel Fishing. I think the problem is with me since no game can duplicate the real thing. I was bored to death just casting, reeling, hooking and reeling again....over and over. The game tells you that you hooked too fast or too slow...over and over again. The fun of reeling in a real fighting fish is lacking. First you start with one lake to fish in and catch large mouth bass and smaller fish. Once you've caught 3 fish, which didn't take me long, a new place unlocked which allowed me to fly fish. I found that even more boring because I spent all of my time casting and couldn't catch anything. I decided the game just didn't have any excitement even though I enjoy a relaxing game but some excitement is expected when catching a fish. I couldn't relax with this game due to utter boredom. This game might suit fisherman who know which bait to use with each fish and supposedly, the game says, can predict how a particular fish will act, ect. But for someone who likes to fish just for fun and is not an expert, this may not be the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Too Real For Me

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Sep 9, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

14 out of 18 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Fishing could be great at reducing stress; all you have to do is sit at a location, cast your line, and wait for the fish to bite. Then, you reel it in, and do it all over again.
Real Fishing: Angler's Dream could've been that game. It has easy to understand controls; using simple gestures of the Wiimote to cast the line and put up a fight against the fish. Reeling in the fish is just as simple - either you shake the Nunchuck or hold down the A button.
No time limit, no worries about any objectives to complete.
But this isn't that game.
There are 11 possible locations for you to fish in, but all of them are locked except for one. In order to unlock the rest, you have to catch a certain number of a certain type(s) of fish in single player mode.
Adding to the aggrivation is the game won't tell me which bait or pole to use in order to catch the needed fish. There's a "Fishing Master" that is supposed to help me with this task, but all he does is talk about his family and the legendary fish (which I'm nowhere near ready to catch).
So, I'm stuck at two locations trying every possible pole, tackle, and bait to find out the right combo in order to catch the needed fish to unlock the next location.
The game makers try to spice up the title by giving a multi player contest where up to four players compete to find out how many fish they can catch in a certain time limit.
But the locations of the contests are limited to the unlocked locations in the single player mode, so most likely, you'll only have two or three locations out of 11 to pick from.
Real Fishing could've been a grea game for the casual gamer - at $20 - but the large amount of locked material and the trouble to unlock that material ruins the game. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by Funkinya (BURLINGTON, VT) Sep 8, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game was awful! I can't believe I wasted the shipping time to receive it and send it back. And of course I got it over labor day weekend so I had to just sit here stuck with that terrible game.

First of all, the gameplay controls are really boring
The graphics are mediocre at best
Story mode is very boring and there's a lot more talking than fishing

All in all, this is a terrible game. I would not even recommend renting it. Especially if it takes 4 days for you to get your games and another 4 days before gamefly receives the game and sends out a new one. This game pretty much cost me a week or more of time I could have spent playing a game that was more fun than this (which is literally any other game)

As somebody else said in a review... Watching paint dry is more fun than playing this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

pretty sweet

posted by megreece (GAINESVILLE, TX) Oct 11, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

everything is real life. its cool after you catch a fish you put it in your aquarium and feed it and it gets bigger. if you like fishing,try this game out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't Bother

posted by Creaks (RIALTO, CA) Oct 27, 2009

Member since May 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Don't bother renting this one. It wouldn't respond to my B button or my Wii remote motions to cast the line. I played it for about 5 minutes then gave up. It responded to all my other buttons but if you can't cast then you can't fish!

Why can't someone put out a good fishing game for the WIi? I think I've tried them all and of course they aren't going to match real fishing but none of them are very enjoyable

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WHAT A SAD SAD GAME I COULDNT BELIVE IT

posted by stoner420 (BREMERTON, WA) Sep 6, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME LOOKED GREAT I WAS LIKE AWSOME ANOTHER GREAT FISHING GAME I WAS WRONG CHEAPEST GAME IVE EVER PLAYED IN MY LIFE THEY SHOULD PULL IT FROM GAMEFLY ITS SO HORIBLE I WOULD RATHER WATCH PAINT DRY THEN TO PLAY THIS GAME I MEEN IF I LIKE A STILL BACKGROUND AND LAME CONTROLS THEN THIS IS 4 U WELL ALL I CAN SAY IS DONT RENT THIS GAME RUN AWAY WELL U STILL CAN I DONT THINK ILL EVER BE THE SAME AFTER PLAYING THIS GAME I THINK LESS OF MY WII NOW

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

fishing

posted by mcneeley (PALMDALE, CA) Oct 26, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

not very good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible Game

posted by Brad_031984 (EVANSVILLE, IN) Aug 10, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

Game Play Sucks. Very bad. Hard to use. Complete waste of my time. Played for less then 15 minutes and realized it would be terrible. Way to many options with very little actual fishing. Graphics aren't that good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Game Ever

posted by lisapoet (KANEOHE, HI) Oct 8, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

If it were possible, I would have given this a negative score.
Isn't fishing supposed to be relaxing? After 30+ attempts to get past the tutorial, I gave up and went to put an ice pack on my elbow. I couldn't get past the "nice try, but you can do better" on the casting tutorial... it kept saying I needed to bring the controller down faster. Heck, I even tried throwing it to the floor... still not fast enough. Don't waste your time on this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

cool game

posted by Wiiiiii (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jun 15, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

It's a cool game,except that it froze on me when I was halfway though it and I forgot to save..so I shipped it back.But over all,I liked it a lot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Real Life Fishing

posted by Angelb3be (FORT MYERS, FL) Apr 8, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

This game should be rated boring...lol I think it would be better with the fishing rod controller.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very fun

posted by Sionaofak (ANCHORAGE, AK) Mar 28, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

Very fun! Amazingly real! The only issues we had were with casting.... We found that if you pull the rod too far back, grab the A/B buttons too soon, or didn't "flick" your wrist, the cast was ineffective.... Other then that, absolutely NO complaints!!!
Challenges are just difficult enough to keep you coming back for more, but not so hard you are ready to give up....
WILL be buying this one!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awsome game

posted by tonylena (POTTER VALLEY, CA) Mar 17, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

This is one of the best fishing games I have found and im an avid fisherman. The fish are very realistic about what they strike on and what they dont. Me and my wife rented this and have not set it down yet ( so of course you have to wait for us to return it so you can rent it . haha)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

couldn't play it

posted by sudz65 (BURLINGTON, VT) Mar 15, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

got it made to lake couldn't cast and couldn't do anything i think this game sucked

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this is the worst game i have ever played

posted by lopez5005 (KILLEEN, TX) Mar 11, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

This game was so freaking boaring i feel asleep playing. In the worst part is it was the middle of the day and i was drinking coffee.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Terrible Game

posted by jaypony17 (Gainesville, FL) Feb 9, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

Reel fishing is a terrible game..The graphics are not that good, the controls are wacky and the tournaments really have no substance to it. I advised to get the rapala frenzy fishing 2009

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Troublesome

posted by fleegle (IDAHO FALLS, ID) Jan 11, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

We had a lot of trouble with the controls. Perhaps it was just user error, but we gave up because it was only casting once out of every five or so times even after changing batteries, getting closer, farther, reading, rereading directions. Ugh.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

could be better

posted by jrok666 (RAWLINS, WY) Nov 20, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

This game would be a good game if it wasnt for all the tutorials and lack of info on how to catch the fish you have to to be able to advance in the levels. The game itself is a little to easy, but fun. Graphics arent anything great either, but all that stuff wouldnt matter if the game was a little better scripted.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Almost Deliberately Bad

posted by freshwater (MAPLEWOOD, NJ) Oct 20, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

Wow. I am beyond stunned with the near complete failure of this game to live up to its potential. REEL FISHING ANGLERS DREAM is apt only in that it might put you to sleep out of boredom. The pace of the game is slow which, were this game better executed, would be a compliment but here is is condemnation. It seems that the atmospherics were the primary focus of the builders and in fact are the only reason this game gets ANY points from me.
I am an avid fisherman IRL and was hopeful for a game that utilized the Wii systems unique controller possibilities. Alas, no. Something simple like casting out your line is unnecessarily cumbersome. While retreival and fighting are simply silly.
In short, REEL FISHING ANGLERS DREAM, is more of a nightmare of failed possibility and a dream realized of poor execution. If you have this in your Q then you should release it. Perhaps over time it will grow into something that might warrant your attention. For now....I continue my search for a decent fishing game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BAD

posted by uscgamecok (WEST COLUMBIA, SC) Oct 12, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

I wouldn't even waste the gas in my car to run this game over!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Poor Gaming!

posted by rwhinery (EUCHA, OK) Sep 25, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

The game title looks good, packaging looks good, but the game play is of no interest. Played this game for 15 minutes before it became boring and non-challenging. Story mode is boring and slow, versus mode after learning how to finally get the rod to cast was too easy to catch fish.

I would not recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Boring

posted by Ragnarokr (SOMERSWORTH, NH) Sep 17, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

you can't drive a boat and there is virtually no skill in catching fish. don't bother with this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrid.

posted by WCrawford (ORLANDO, FL) Sep 16, 2009

Member since Aug 2005

This is the worst fishing game yet. Why? The controls. They are basically nothing like really fishing, which is the only reason you'd play a fishing game on the Wii.

Reel Fishing Wild (Dreamcast) is my all-time favorite fishing game and to name this game as part of the same series is a complete disgrace.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

frustration

posted by lydia3553 (BROCKTON, MA) Sep 6, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

This game so far really stinks. the most frustrating part is a fish will swim by very quickly and nic your bait and thats it the game pulls your line out of the water and tells you the fish got away and it happens alot, like 8 times out of 10. very frustrating. who wants to play a game thats so much frustration instead of fun like its supposed to be?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

reel fishing

posted by smith48 (RICHMOND, VA) Sep 6, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

The game was weak and bad and horrible. My son says the graphics were bad and complicated to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse