Rent Red Steel for Wii
view large frontback

Red Steel

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.6

3404 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

RENT IT ITS AWESOME

posted by deltaspike (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Sep 12, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

THE BEST GAME IVE EVER RENTED SOOOO FUN THE CONTROLS ARE KIND OF WEIRD AT FIRST BUT YOU GET USED TO THEM.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun! Could have been great

posted by RichScarry (MISSOULA, MT) Jan 22, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

39 out of 45 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

I rented this game after reading all the other reviews. I figured the Wii remote would make a first person shooter like this difficult and joyless, but I was way wrong. It was a key component to the game that keep me coming back, as intended. The biggest problem is it was obviously rushed, and it shows in numerous ways. Also, the story line and the cut scenes are a little weak, but not enough to keep you from playing it.

First off, the Wii remote takes little time to get used to. There are 3 sensitivity setting for aiming, and 2 for the sword moves. These options make it almost perfect for each individual need. Aiming with the Wii remote was simple in my opinion, and using the A button to keep an enemy target made it that much easier. Secondly, the sword was a little harder to get used to, and they styles that you learn through out the game were hard to do. Even so, once you got the hang of it, it is more fun then just mashing buttons and using a control stick. The Wii remote is perfect for this game, and is the major draw toward it and keeps you playing it with your friends.

The problem lies within the production of the game. They had a lot of good things in this game but were clearly rushed. The people in the game would sometimes just stand there and not shoot, or in some instances would be below the floor board where you could not hit them, or them hit you. Graphics were good, better then the original xbox anyway. If they taken the time to smooth out the edges and make sure the game functions properly, this game would have been great.

Overall, a great title to try out. If you are like me, you will probably spend the 50 dollars to keep it and play with your buddies in multi player.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

red steel

posted by dudeguy (WALNUT CREEK, CA) Oct 2, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is absulotly awesome no doubht about it although i was never able to beat it i loved it but the multiplayer is terrible it has terrible graphics and since there is no way to locate the people your playing with its going to be a long time to find each other. but the storyline is rich and just when you think you beat the game it turns out there is more and it gets better ND BTTERE the father you are in the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

My name... is not... Johnny

posted by KintaroOe (YAKIMA, WA) Dec 16, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First of all, if you can place the movie quote in the title, play this game. Secondly, Red Steel is a horrid game. It's also one of the most fun times I've ever had on my Wii. The controls are awful, since it's a first generation Wii title trying something new and pretty much failing. Thankfully you don't need to control the game very well to succeed. Most levels amount to you rounding a corner and seeing a ton of dudes in front of you to pick off shooting gallery style. Occasionally you'll want to crouch behind a box to regenerate health, but that's the extent of it. The sword fighting is totally shallow, and strangely obligatory... why not just shoot these dorks? But it's still fun, and that's what's important.

What makes this game memorable is its atmosphere. If you have ever loved terrible 80's action films, especially ones that seem to think Japan is a super neat land populated solely by Yakuza and ninjas, this is your game. Think Dolph Lundgren in Showdown in Little Tokyo. All of the characters have atrocious Japanese accents, and you are taunted with barbs like "You're a long way from home, g-----!". The graphics are fairly low-res, but with some really awesome lighting effects. The rays of sunlight in buildings and explosions effects in particular are fun. The story is inane, and your girlfriend is the most annoying damsel in distress to walk the earth. I really didn't care a lick about saving her. Thankfully, there were angry Yakuza to ventilate, which I was totally fine with doing. There's also lots of Fast and The Furious style gang members and exploding cars to liven things up.

Red Steel is by no means a great game, and indeed is barely competent. But you should still play it.

Note, the bleeped word above is the Japanese word for foreigner, which Gamefly won't let me use in a review. Bleah.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

chopping the enemy to pieces

posted by trex6504 (HAZLE TOWNSHIP, PA) Dec 12, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this game after reading other reviews and because i like first person shooter games. When I started this game I was unhappy with how poor the graphics are, the subtitles take up most of the screen and the characters look like a bad saturday morning cartoon. The controls are pretty good moving with the nunchuk and aiming and shooting with the wii remote. The thing I didnt like about the controls was the fact that you need to duck and pick items up by swinging the nunchuk up and down. Also I didnt like the fact that you could not reload the guns, so after you were out of ammo you had to find another gun all while being shot at. This game would have been better if you could shot swing the sword and move all with just the wii remote. I would recommend this game as a rental, dont waste your money on this game there are better first person shooters out there for the wii. better luck next time ubisoft.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Don't go by online publishers ratings

posted by PiercedLip (BARBERTON, OH) Dec 20, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

19 out of 22 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I knew going into Red Steel as my first game that was a First person shooter it was going to be different. The controls definately felt off at first, but after getting used to the Wii controls I was able to pick off people with headshots constantly.

Don't listen to online reviews from major sites bashing the game. The graphics are fine, the controls are new, and its an amazing effort. This game left me wanting more, and when I beat it, I was upset it had ended. I plan to replay it and try to get a higher % score at the end.

If this is just a taste of whats to come on the Wii, I can't wait for the coming 2007+ lineup!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Bottom Line...

posted by Browell (ROANOKE, VA) Nov 26, 2006

Member since Oct 2004

28 out of 34 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

BOTTOM LINE: The game is fun; has some great gameplay elements and even some amusing moments. It's meant to be a send-up of the Japanese action film industry (with comic-book elements thrown in). I am thrilled to still be playing it.

What hasn't been touched on as much is the unique aspects... Using the controller as a phone (the "Killer" 4 player game is really, really cool); reloading with the off-hand feels very natural and even cool when you're using the shotgun; the music is actually pretty good (whereas in most FPS' it's forgettable at best; distracting at worst); and the pacing very well done, considering how difficult some areas are.

...this game is not only a great launch title for the Wii, it's also a decent (if not great) FPS. I make that latter concession because I believe that those who are hardcore shooter junkies who have a PS3 and XBox360 will find the graphics less than the games they are playing. Are they ridiculously bad? No way. They are at times plain, but they are far from ugly. In fact, at times the gameplay has a strangely serene tone to it thanks to beautifully placed, if not rendered, graphics. Moreover, the lighting effects are great.

As for gameplay, I'm 5 hours in and I love the control scheme (yes, it takes getting used to, like ANY scheme that wasn't set up on a controller). But don't let anyone fool you into thinking that for an FPS that this control setup is somehow horrible. It's different. Period. Just like many people complain that FPS' on home consoles are less-than-perfect because it's not the same as playing on a keyboard with your PC, this game will have its detractors merely because it's different.

You can't go wrong renting Red Steel, but I'm happy I actually bought it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game with that Asian film feel

posted by FatalVsion (RALEIGH, NC) Nov 27, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

16 out of 20 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I bought this game for my first Wii experiance and glad I did. At first the controls do have a learning curve in getting the hang of it. But after that it's fun! Giving a quick jolt on the nunchk to reload and aiming with your mote really puts you in the game. The game storyline has a Asian movie film to it, sorta like Chow Yun Fat's Hard Boiled, that whole Asian gangster feel.If you even tilt the mote side ways you'll shoot gangster style. One of my favorite things is in a combat situation, you can give a jolt on the Wiimote and flip over a table to use for cover. This is a very exciting game, at first the learning curve was a lil tuff t get used to, however after calibrating movement of the Wiimote at the fish tank in the begining makes it a lot easy to control, after that I played the game non-stop till 2am and didnt even know it. The graphics, well it's the Wii and lets face it we play the Wii for the innovative gameplay, ot for the graphics, if you haven't already click on the Rent It!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The coolest First Person Shooter Ever?

posted by SethThomas (LOWELL, MA) Nov 24, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

There has been a lot of controversy about Nintendo Wii's First exclusive First Person shooter. The truth is that it really is a great Game. But it does have a few flaws.
First of all the controls, which seem to be the biggest problem. When i first started playing the game i didn't like it. The controls were awkward and unwieldy. After about an hour i was completely into the game. Later on i started using the sniper rifle, slowing down time and shooting guns outs of my enemies hands to make them surrender. Ubi soft put alot of intuitive ideas into this game and for the most part they work. Its just hard to get used to it. But once you do you'll love it.

As far as graphics and sound. The sound is great and using the speaker in the wii remote is a nice touch. The graphics are a bit dated and the "cut sceens" (if thats what you want to call them) are terrible. However huge explosions actionpacked gameplay and some really inuitive conrols make it a fantastic game. If you are willing to learn.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent!

posted by Midwestgam (HUXLEY, IA) Feb 4, 2007

Member since Jun 2005

14 out of 19 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

I got this game for christmas as a gift, and boy, this is incredible! Sure, the learning curve is a little difficult, but the interaction is incredible! Flick the nunchuck and knock over a table, or to parry an enemy's sword slash. Turn the wiimote over on it's side and watch as you start taking them out, gangster style. The graphics are pretty good for the wii, but no one plays wii for the graphics, we play it because of the gameplay. I gave it a 9 out of 10, it is a great game, but not exactly perfect, because none of the levels can really match the joys of the 3rd level. But, this is still a great game, if you haven't already clicked the rent button, then take my word for it and click it now. In about a week, you'll be shooting like a mad gunman right in front of your tv

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Let's suck all the fun out of a FPS!

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Dec 16, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Red Steel seems like the kind of game that can't fail, no matter how hard it tries. I mean, it's the only real shooting game on the Wii, a system who's controller lends itself to such gameplay. Should be a slam dunk. It's not. Instead, Red Steel is a game that tries to use every little feature of the Wii to completely complicate the actual gameplay. You want to open a door? Twist your nunchuk downward (of course). By the way, you also twist your nunchuk downward to pick up replacement weapons and reload, which becomes, well, frustrating. The targeting reticule is very small and it occasionally jumps around the screen. Also, you turn by bringing that reticule to the side of the screen, which I found more hindering than helpful. Try to aim at someone while your trying to turn. You can zoom in with your weapons by actually putting your controller closer to the screen, which is great because I love getting of the couch to zoom. Anyway, there is a story that involves the yakuza, but you won't really care. The thing that really becomes a pain, even though it breaks the action up, are the sword fighting sequences. They just don't function as well as they should. And all strategy gets thrown out the window when you realize rapidly swinging the controller around the room is pretty effective. And you'll mostly wonder why you didn't just pick up an uzi and shoot the guy instead of engaging in close-quarter combat. This has some fun in it, but you have to look for it, and that's not a good sign.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Red Steel Review

posted by kale870 (WAKE VILLAGE, TX) Jul 21, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game has gotten so many rotten tomatoes thrown at it, it really makes me sad. Not that I pity it, I just really think it's a good game. Did I say good? I meant near perfect! This game is the first FPS for the Wii, and you move the cursor like you were holding the gun. It consists of mainly shooting, but around 40% of the game is very awesome sword fighting. You swing the Wii-mote like a sword. Sweet eh? Now on to graphics. They aren't the best, but the lighting features make 90% of this game look beautiful. Many people say the AI in this game is the worst ever. I disagree. I found most of the game to be quite challenging, or maybe I'm just a noob. Either way, the AI is decent. There are quite a bit of guns, from uzis to shotguns to sniper rifles. The story involves rescuing your fiance from a yakuza clan leader, with so many twists and turns, it makes my head spin just thinking about them all. The audio in this game is quite impressive. There are very realistic gunshot sounds, impressive voice acting and dialogue. There is the very entertaining ragdoll physics too :)! There is 2-4 player multiplayer which is really fun if you have siblings or friends who are always around.
There are 4 maps and 3 gametypes. In all, this game is very impressive, despite what some people may think. I give it a perfect 10. I highly recommend putting this game in your Q if you have a Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A more-than-decent first shooter for the Wii

posted by Kashabo (MIDLAND, MI) Jul 5, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Y'know, I hear a lot of complaining about first-person shooters on the Wii, and the argument consistently comes from people who haven't played any of them for more than five minutes. Then they suck it up, act like a man, play it and they have a good time. I see it happen a lot. When you actually let yourself get into it, Redsteel is a very solid game with a few forgivable issues.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

10 is an unfair score, but so is everyone's 3s& 1s

posted by insanebane (HOLDEN, LA) Feb 24, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I bought this game before i bought my wii. I was caught up in the hype that came with it, and i had to get it before it was gone. Is it without flaw? No. All of my friends would rather bowl on wii sports or shoot pool on wii play that gun each other down on multiplayer mode. However, if you take the multiplayer mode away, it is an outstanding game. The thing is, it gets better and better as the game goes on, both in fun and graphics. The story keeps you wanting more and the action is steady enough to keep you hooked, but not overwhelmed. I've beat the game once and i am now playing through to get the alternate ending. That is unheard of in most cases for me, but this game is so electric that i'm still hooked. I don't know why everyone has problems with the controls. Once you train your shooting hand to stay locked on the screen, the rest is completely natural. You can disarm enemies, close kill with your Tanto, and shut down entire groups of bad guys by making the leader throw down his gun. Is it everything we were promised in the build up to the wii's release? Not quite. I will however say that it is a game worth renting. Don't let people who haven't yet adjusted to the wii's innovative control system get you down because they have shaking hands and A.D.D. This is a great FPS and a good time for any wii owner that wants some meat in their game line up.

PS: I dare anyone who has played the creepy funhouse level to say this game isn't worth playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Interesting for a first shot for the Wii

posted by psychomhlo (WINTER SPRINGS, FL) Mar 9, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

So I had heard mixed reviews about Red Steel and now I understand why. The game play has an interesting rhythm to it between shooting and sword fighting as well as the cut scenes. What I didn't like was my feeble attempts to make the aiming maneuverability a little more controllable. It seemed that when zooming out my guy would just start moving in circles and looking at the ceiling. Good game, poor control scheme but for a first of its kind on the Wii; I have to give it some props.

Just be sure you're willing to walk around in circles if you're gonna rent this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun shooter, irritating swordfighter.

posted by Dellacroix (LAUGHLINTOWN, PA) Feb 9, 2007

Member since Sep 2005

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I was excited to play Red Steel, for a couple of reasons. The first was because I wanted to see how the motion controlls would play out, the second was because the idea of a sword fighting simulator sounded awesome, and the third is because I love Tokyo, and any game that takes place there should rule.

Anyway, as for how the motion controlls work, they work very well. They were responsive, fluid, and really made the game feel more "real". Aiming and firing with the Wiimote was both more fun and more satisfying than doing so with a standard controller. I was very impressed with this function.

Now, as for the rest of the combat. The shooting segments of the game are awesome. There are a wide variety of really cool guns, and they all rock. My favourite was the M4 Shotgun. The shooting was fast paced, entertaining, and felt good. However, the swordfighting sections didn't hold up nearly as well. While I realized that the gameplay wouldn't be on par with a real swordfight, it let me down none the less. Fighting just felt random, with no real strategy. Enemy attacks were easy to dodge, and the Kata's were hard to execute. Most of the time you would just end up flailing the Wiimote at the screen untill the enemy fell.

Finally, the enviroments were good as well. The graphics were of good quality, and the you have to learn to use your environment to fight enemies, and in some cases to advance forward. And many of the environments were just downright awesome, although I can't tell you about them without ruining the suprise.

In conclusion, Red Steel is an entertaining and well paced shooter with rock solid shooting gameplay, an interesting story, and some of the best settings I've encountered in an FPS. I'd definitely say you should rent it, as I had alot of fun, and the only real draw back was the lackluster swordfighting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent FPS Elevated Slightly By Its Controls

posted by dapimple (ANAHEIM, CA) Nov 29, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

First things first: Red Steel does not deliver on its initial potential to be the definitive first person shooter for the Wii. It still manages to be enjoyable though, more so because of the nascent Wii controls.

Those looking for a keyboard and mouse combo experience similar to the PC should look elsewhere. Similar to how dual analogue sticks introduced a new way to play FPS games in an effort to emulate the classic keyboard and mouse, the Red Steel Wii controls attempt to do the same but with improved accuracy due to the ability to point at the screen. While other Wii FPS games control better (Call of Duty 3, Metroid Corruption, Far Cry), Red Steel is by no means bad, but simply unrefined. Being a launch game, Red Steel exhibits controls that are too sensitive or not sensitive enough, missing that perfect medium. Given a little more development time, it seems that the sensitivity could have been nailed down.

The graphics are a mixed bag. Some levels are stunning, with detailed textures, bloom lighting, motion blur, and field of depth effects. Some levels are derivative, with flat textures and minimal effects. You will get more of the latter than the former. Environments are interesting and varied, though, with plenty of explosions and props to destroy.

Sounds are decent, and music is upbeat. The lack of Dolby Pro Logic II surround sound makes positioning enemies difficult, which is critical in an FPS. Voice acting is horrendous. If you go in expecting a bad B-movie environment, then it lends itself well to Red Steel. Otherwise, you will cringe when the enemies, who are shooting at you, are killed and call -you- a murderer in horrendously bad "engrish".

The game moves at an even pace. Imagine a Goldeneye (N64) pace. There are several areas that are run and gun, but RS seems to encourage pop-and-stop type gun play, with your character finding cover, firing a few rounds, and repositioning. Gears of War it is not, but it is fun, despite the limited AI.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Let it grow on you

posted by MIGamer1 (MACOMB, MI) Apr 18, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is definitely a game you have to let grow on you, if you play it for just a little while you won't like it, you have to get further into it and let it grow on you, this game does get aggravating and hard, but it is very good, you just have to give it a chance and you will like it, but other than that the game is great, its worth at least a rental if not the buy. Great game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

worth your time

posted by spartan135 (TEMPLETON, CA) Jan 7, 2007

Member since Jun 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

nintendo did a fairly well job on this title
its got to be hard to develop a FPS style game on the new Wii console

but the problems i expected to see happend right from the start

pros:
1.exciting,
2.interesting story(love the asian gangster style),
4.art like cut scenes,
5.a fine line of guns including the japanese gun many have never seen: the Type 89 rifle,
6.loved the slow motion feature that you retrive.

cons:
1.controls=BAD,
2.zoom in feature is really awkward,
3.sometimes the missions are too easy,
4.sometimes there way too freakin hard,
5.graphics....meh,
6.sword play i actully hated, my Wii seemed to have lots of problems picking up the movement i made i tried adjusting the sensor bar maaaaaaany times but it didnt help.

overall I commend nintendo on pushing the Wii to its limits, but maybe they pushed too far

if you have some time, wanna shoot stuff but want a kungfoo style instead of another WWII style;
dont hesitate to try it out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Great Concept, Bad Results

posted by Zcritic (AUBURN, ME) Feb 4, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

9 out of 15 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I had high hopes for this title when I first read about it. The idea of using revolutionary controllers in conjunction with swords and shooters had me convinced to at least give it a try.

The Good: Overturning tables with an upward motion of the controller was nice and made you feel a little more like part of the action. Letting the game teach you how to do things as you played the 1st level was nice.

The Bad: To start with, the selection menus tried to be cool by using neon graphics and making you drag and drop your selection onto a big electronic billboard, but were actually just annoying and cumbersome, 'nuff said there. Next: I know the Wii is not, nor is it supposed to be the king of high end graphics, but these were truly below GameCube/PS2 quality. The control scheme was innovative, yet sloppy. Sword play was very limited and allowed for pretty much zero creativity. The shooting, was .. well shooting. There need to be more options on how you want your targeting to work. I messed around with the settings and never found anything to make the aiming or movement any crisper. It always felt like I reacting in slow motion, like the main character was sick or intoxicated.

The Bottom Line: Unless you are someone who has to play every FPS that comes out, then I would suggest skipping this title. It felt like a chore to play it. The fun level was zero for me.

-Z

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

MUST BUY GAME

posted by maddad (OCONTO, WI) Nov 24, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

9 out of 15 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Red Steel is one of the best shooting games I have ever played. The controls take a while to get used to at first, but it feels very natural after 1-2 hours of play. The only bad things I could say about this game are that the graphics can sometimes be pretty bad, the frame rate can be a little slow sometimes, and there are a few minor bugs (but they don't really affect the game overall). If you like shooting games you must buy Red Steel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Multiplayer Lack Luster

posted by PandaPyke (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Nov 22, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

I haven't had a chance to play the single player as of yet but I can tell you a little about the 2-4 player multiplayer. First off don't even bother with 3 or more players. The controls become ultra sensitive for some reason even with the sensitivity set to low. This makes the game nearly unplayable but with good A work you can get a few kills in. Also the graphics in four player mode take a huge turn for the worse and its basically a very poor experience.

Two player mode seems to not suffer as much from the draw backs of the four player mode. I was able to control the game much better and the graphics seemed to be the same as 1 player.

A neat feature is the mission based mode where your wiimote actually rings as a cell phone would and you answer it with the (2) button. The lady on the other end gives you a mission such as Kill the Cook which you must achieve to gain points/win the match. Fairly neat and original, plus its pretty hard to hear other people's wiimotes give missions.

I have only heard good things so far for the single player mode but I hope my multiplayer review helped you guys out a little.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Red Steel

posted by Scarzilla (CALDWELL, ID) Feb 9, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I recommend everyone avoid this game unless you like headaches. The game has a great concept, make a FPS with motion controls that allow you to actually point and shoot at the enemy. The only problem is this basic function does not work. Several times while I was playing I found myself looking at the ceiling, while I was being shot at. Another problem I have are the cut scences, which are pretty much 2-D drawings with words attached. The ingame engine is pretty good, why couldn't they have used that?

I give it a 3, I give it a couple of points for trying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Most awsomest awsome game in this awsome world

posted by SakoWii199 (TUJUNGA, CA) Sep 18, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is awsome. It has action and everything.The gun fights are awsome and so are the sword fights.This game is the awsomest awsome game in this awsome world.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A good effort for a first time...but falls short

posted by cptgarrett (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jan 18, 2007

Member since May 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

With all the FPS (first person shooters) out on the market today, Red Steel trys to separate itself from by leveraging the Wii's motion sensitive remote into the gameplay. While this is a good idea, the game falls significantly short when being compared against the other titles on other systems.

While the Wii remote does a good job keeping up with the player's shot location, there are several basic flaws with the game. First off, the graphics are something I would expect to see in a PS1 era system. The hit detection for enemies is a little iffy, not to mention that there's no specific location detection of your shot...either you hit someone or you don't. On top of this, sniping and zooming in with your Wiimote is very difficult. As the Wiimote requires you to move toward and away from your TV in order to zoom in or out. Above all, the storyline is a little dry, almost a "Been there, done that" sort of feeling.

Now while Red steel does fall short, it does have some nice features. The sword fighting is very interesting without being too involved. Also, if you have a Wii, you need to experience the ability to point and shoot a bad guy.

If you have a Wii, the game is worth a play, but don't expect too much out of the game. It's worth a rent, but you'll be done shortly after receiving it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse