Rent Red Steel 2 for Wii
view large frontback

Red Steel 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.5

2247 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Red Steel 2: A Cut Above the Original

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Mar 27, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

21 out of 22 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

When Red Steel came out (with the Wii), it had one of the most basic stories that you can get: Rescue the Damsel in Distress.
Now Red Steel 2 comes out, and it’s story isn’t much more original. In this game, you are the last of your clan and are out to avenge your clansmen and women by slicing, dicing, and shooting everything that gets in your way.
But this game make a huge improvement over the original when it comes to swinging the Katana. You no longer can just block and attack and wildly swing your Wiimote. The Wiimotion Plus makes the gameplay much more intuitive. Swings com naturally, and it does a good job of finding the difference between horizontal and vertical strikes. With these controls in hand, you can maneuver around your opponent, you can block and attack and you can do some special moves.
Special moves like knocking your opponent off balance, leaping high into the air and bashing his skull in, knocking several opponents with a shock wave, and so on. The sword play is so good that I wonder why bother with the guns?
One other thing about the sword play, it will give you a workout; when you swing, you have to put your whole arm, shoulder and your upper back into the swing. Otherwise, you will get a weak attack that does very little damage.
But the biggest problem this game has is the auto targeting; far too often it picks the wrong target (the guy way in the back of the pack) and getting it to the right opponent can be a headache.
As for that story, it is very bland and disposable. I never really was interested in any of the characters in this game.
Still, Red Steel 2 delivers on the basic swordplay that many are looking for in the Wii. It’s too bad Ubisoft is getting out of the Wii market; there aren’t many good third party Wii game makers to fill the void they leave behind. BUY IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This Game is What the Wii was Made For!!

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) Mar 25, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

37 out of 40 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Okay, so after a year or so of waiting, its finally here. Red Steel 2 promised a lot, and the question is if it delivered; the answer is simply: YES! I never played the first due to the numerous reviews that said it was horrible. So I can't tell you the difference there is between the two, but I do know that this one has nothing to do with the first. My first point, is the games amazing graphics! The sand and dust that blows around is very realistic. Red Steel 2 easily has the best graphics on the Wii. With its graphic-novel-style visuals, and amazingly superb soundtrack, this game will hopefully start a magnificent series. Here's my review...

Pros: Amazing graphics, awesome graphic-novel presentation. Some of the best gameplay I've ever see on the Wii. First-person view works wonders, story-line is top-notch for a sword-brawler. MotionPlus makes the game with the awe-inspiring actions. Sick finishing moves.

Cons: Some mildly uneven difficultly. You have to have experience playing first-person games before to thoroughly enjoy this. One girls voice seems out of place.

So, my few cons are mild, and I have played many first-person shooters on the PlayStation, so the viewpoint is easy for me. I've even played The Conduit, another awesome Wii first-person shooter game. And there were a few parts that I've gone through that were much harder than other parts, so it's a tad-bit uneven there. But this game is why my family bought the Wii. For action-packed sword-fighting games; and Red Steel 2 delivers on ALL fronts. So if you're like me and have been waiting impatiently for a proper game that takes full advantage of the Wii's capabilities, then this is your game. I would invest in the price, and if you already don't have the Wii MotionPlus, then buy the bundle. It'll be worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Spaghetti Western, Samurai Story from the Future

posted by dgolightly519 (PRESTON, ID) May 21, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Red Steel is one of the most unique, intriguing, and amazing games to come for the Wii. Exclusively for the Wii.

First and foremost. forget what you hear from people about "stupid" motion controls that "don't work." The problem with those people (not the game) is that they don't understand how to use the motion controls correctly (i.e. they suck at motion controls). Yes, the controls can be difficult. If you think wielding a sword would be easy, then this certainly isn't for you. However, the motion+ does work if you take the time to learn to use it right. I know. I have completed this game on Ninja difficulty several times with minimal damage to myself and using almost no bullets. That is another thing about motion controls. They allow the use of both a sword and a gun without the "random" or "preordained" swings/blocks and a lot more depth.

Second and second-most, Graphics. This game has them. This is because realism is not striven for, though the graphics are definitely not "overly cartoony." What has been struck is a kind of graphic novel art-style that you will either love or hate. I love it. It suits the Wii well and brings the game to life on a whole new level.

Lastly, Music. The music and effects of this game are sensational. It never lets you forget that this is a western. Nor does it let you forget that it is an action ninja game either. The tones are well set and add a great deal to the game.

The combination of these things make a game that is great beyond what we Wii owners normally get for an "action" game. I have friends who despise both the Wii and motion controls who have said they love this game entirely and rate it up there with CoD and Halo, though on a completely different genre-plane. They enjoy it as much as me.

If you have a Wii that you use or that gathers dust and you don't try this game. I guess we know you aren't a true game, huh? No Guts to try something different.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

much improved over the 1st game

posted by mostlyharmless (ROUND ROCK, TX) May 21, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The first game was decent, but was glitchy and hard to play because of it. This game is well polished and designed. It is fairly easy to play and not hard to beat, but is a lot of fun on the way. If you like fps games, I highly recommend giving this one a shot (as long as you have wii motion plus, otherwise don't bother because you have to have it to play lol)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

RED STEEL 2

posted by Gamer223 (OAKDALE, CT) Oct 31, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

simple...... BEST GAME EVER !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!111

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

RED Steel 2 IS NUMBER 1!

posted by lizzy25 (ATLANTA, GA) Sep 21, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Love this game!! LOVE EVERYTHING ABOUT IT.. THE BEST FIGHTING GAME I EVER PLAYED

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Red Steel 2

posted by Blainman12 (CHICO, CA) Sep 14, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is AWESOME for the wii. Finally a game to say "Wii is awesome because of this...." I just hope other people like it too. Great gameplay, yet there is a drop in the story. The story is a bit weird but thats not i was going for. Its great because when you swing your character actually swings that way you do. And when they say finishers they mean FINISHERS. They were awesome. It may not have been gory but man it made up for that in gameplay. Just make sure you have enough juice in the wii to actually play. A few times i ran out of juice in the remote and had problems swinging so full batteries as much as possible. Great game I will buy definitely when i get the money!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best Game For The Motion Plus

posted by Snuggie101 (HAPPY VALLEY, OR) Sep 3, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game takes Red Steel 1, and hugely upgrades it with the Motion Plus, and the ability to use the sword at any time, unlike RS1, where you could only use it in certain areas. This is by far the best game for Motion Plus, EXCEPT Zelda Skyward Sword..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Ubisoft delivers... in a big way

posted by XGamer24 (WINDSOR, CO) Mar 24, 2010

Member since Dec 2004

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

I just got this game today, and i must say it was totally worth my 60 dollars. I spent the extra 10 for the wii motion plus bundle, it being required to play Red Steel 2. This game delivers in everything the first one set out to do but failed. In fact, the namesake is the only thing this game kept from the original Red Steel that we all know and hate. They could have named it Monkey Assassain with sword and gun(totally random) and i would still love it. This game is totally different from the first.

A lot of people are complaining about the "backtracking" aspect and I actually really like it. It gives you a chance to really explore and learn about the town. The swordplay in this game is Top-Notch and totally amazing. While guns are included, it is clear that this game was mostly focused around swordplay.

I gave it a 9 instead of a 10 because if we called this one perfect, the next one wouldnt have a name to describe it, if there is to be a next one.
If you have a Wii and Wii Motion Plus, get this game. If you dont have wii motion plus, get this game in the bundle with wii motion plus.
Either way...

Get
This
Game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I'm glad I rented this piece of mediocrity

posted by MykeJinX89 (CHICAGO, IL) Sep 25, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Red Steel 2 is mediocre; it's better than it's terrible in-name-only prequel, but how much does it improve? Not much. The swordfighting works better thanks to the addition of MotionPlus. Everything else sucks. The story and its characters are cliched, the entire gameplay gets repetitive after two hours, which consists of training with the old master, taking a mission, fighting bad guys, rinse, repeat. And most importantly, there no multiplayer, which is a must for FPSs in this day and age. This game is only worth a rental and nothing more. I'm hoping after this, Ubisoft can do the smart thing and put the Red Steel name to rest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Red Steel 2..

posted by SeanMc (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Apr 13, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Positives - Game story, speed, options, and fun

Cons - Shakey controls even with Wii Motion Plus

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Game!!

posted by Nore14 (URBANA, IL) Mar 29, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Great game!! Plot and story good and mission and training are fun. the wii remote not very accurate at times and your arm my get sore from hours of playing. In all in all, a solid 7 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Controls and actions decent, very poor overal

posted by celtic82 (BOLTON, CT) Apr 6, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I had not played the previous Red Steel title but was very interested in this one. Overall, the game was not worth continuing to play. I will break this up for you.

Graphics:
Please keep in mind that this is a Wii game, so do not expect superior graphic capabilities the likes of PS3 or Xbox 360. however, the graphics just don't equal the capability that the Wii has. Now, possibly the creators/designers sacrificed some of this for playability, but I'm not convinced.

Controls:
The tutorial for the controls is easy to learn and actually fun, however, most games for the Wii control-wise are fun.

Storyline:
The storyline is lacking and the different areas are as well. Explorability is something you need to figure out yourself, as I accidentally punched a mailbox and found I could gain money from it. The different missions get rather dull and boring and it becomes the same outline of a few missions and a big boss to beat.

Other:
The vocal components are lacking and overall the game becomes inconsistent with sound, graphics and playability. The controls are sometimes annoying as they do not respond exactly like they should at all times. Overall, Red Steel 2 is not a bad game but not a great try overall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Pretty Weak

posted by Paulotron (BROOKLYN, NY) Oct 7, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Usually, when I get a new game, all I can do is think about playing it. I played this for about 30 minutes, and then turned it off cause I was bored. I had no desire to play it again. I had more desire to start a new game on Fallout 3 (ps3), even though I'd already played it for 70 hours.

If you like to sit on the couch to play video games (I work out for real, not when I play video games... that's relaxation time), this game won't work for you. Because the sword mechanism is based on the size of your arm swing, you have to stand and clear some space; sitting on the couch just doesn't cut it.

This game had a great premise, but that alone does not make a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

lots of fun

posted by kwithers (SINTON, TX) Aug 30, 2010

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed this game - good action, and especially fun for wiimote. My arm was killing me with all the fighting! Things that could have been better - a final accounting of how I did overall, and it is always a little disappointing to come to the end without really seeing that the end was coming. I think this game could have been much longer and still be fun. An overall map of each of the areas would have also been useful to see a little better where I'd been and where I might have missed when looking for those pesky wanted posters etc.

It seems like Ubisoft has some of the better games - another of their titles that I really enjoyed was Dog Island - but they could be longer, and perhaps have a bonus at the end instead of just, well, ending. Kind of the way the Mario games often have a whole new game to play once you beat the first one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Derp

posted by barp123 (ROSWELL, GA) Mar 31, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was pretty fun considering its on the Wii. The only problems i had with it was the lame voice acting: like people saying japanese words in the whitest accent possible. Sword play starts out pretty easy and fluid but as the game progresses, you have to do more and more as you get surrounded by a bunch of hard enemies and the Wii motion plus can't always keep up with your fast movements. The story is pretty much poo. The mission aspect of it really ruins the flow of the story. All in all, this game was good for a Wii title, now i just have to wait till Mario Galaxy 2 comes out because we all know theres not gonna be any good Wii games till then.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by Marilyn (WINCHESTER, CA) Mar 23, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

It's a very good game. The swordplay is realistic, and makes you feel badass. It transitions to swordplay and gunplay seamlessly. But if you try to rent it from here, you're screwed. You need the Wii motion plus, which it doesnt come with. Great game. Good storyline. Makes you feel like THE badass in a time of badasses

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Red Steel Zero

posted by Tefached (WALNUT GROVE, MO) May 22, 2010

Member since May 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Red steel two and the wii promised alot; I went out, bought it right off the bat without any hesitation. And as far as I see it, it was a test game for the motion plus. The graphics were cartoonish (like most wii games are), the storyline, i found boring and flawed.

Yes, the motion plus makes it an interesting game style, though its very sensitive and the aiming seemed off for me. I found using the gun feature pointless and mainly played around with the sword instead.

Sure, if your a big fan of Red steel, i never played the first so i can't relate to if it was fun or not or if it followed the continued storyline.
Im unsure, but I found this game flawed and a test run for Nitendo to start making more Motion plus games...rs2, was the start of something great and I do hope that Nitendo advances it further.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

dumb, first one was better

posted by str8sixxx (ORLANDO, FL) Jun 15, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

ok i will admit the use of the sword was much better in this game then the first, but everything else was straight dumb. ok let me get this straight you went from being in the yakuza trying to rescue a woman to a japanese cowboy? in this game your a cowboy in a ranch in the old western but at the same time have some advance technology and be japanese. you fight the same people the whole game and you just go back in forth from the HQ to the outside doing missions THE WHOLE GAME. i felt the guns were useless because half the fighters would dodge the bullet and for some guns bullets were pretty hard to come by so i was using the sword the whole game. there are only 3 bosses and the last boss fight was weak..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Near Perfect

posted by Figgs77 (BOYNTON BEACH, FL) Mar 25, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

All i can say is this game is truly masterful. Simply great the sword fighting and gunplay is amazing. you dont get that laggy delayed movements. only thing bad is the wired nunchuk gets in the way if your really wileding out lol otherwise i can simply say i find no real faults. Lots of custom upgrades for guns/sword skills. pretty long story line graphics are awsome(kinda like borderlands style item pick ups and character designs) this is without question the best shooter/action game ever made on wii. wee can just hope ubisoft comes back to wii to make a sequel. 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not very inspiring.

posted by Collink (SEQUIM, WA) Apr 4, 2010

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Yes, I know. You, like me, are dying for a decent sword-swinger that uses the Wii-Motion accessory. While this game does do a fair job of utilizing the new add on, it is not all that fun. The primary problems are:

During heated boss battles the motion + button combos feel awkward and don't always fire off as intended.

There is pause durring special attacks and if you make your followup attack too soon durring this pause it wont work. I ended up having to do the second attack motion several times to make sure it would go off. There should have been a buffer for follow up moves. (This was probably my second biggest gripe. Its a big problem for the flow of combat!)

The 'turn by pointing' control scheme, even with some tweeking feels clunky and though it works okay, it tends to be a headache over the long run. (Yeah, its like Metroid, but I didn't like it much there either.)

Nowhere has the limitations of the Wii been more obvious then in this game. It is FILLED with 'waiting at the door' moments while it loads the next section of the claustiphobicly tiny maps. The graphics look like something out of a PC game from 15 years ago. Go ahead and cound the sides on a wheel on any random 'truck' (They all have 12 sides, BTW) It had me wishing Nintendo had put some guts into the Wii instead of just tacking on cool controllers to a slightly updated Gamecube CPU.

My BIGGEST GRIPE is that this game had no storyline what-so-ever. Honestly, why am I running around this poorly rendered town? I don't care if any of these charactures lives or dies... including MINE. I suffered through this game to the end, (which was short enough I suppose, but it felt long.) but I came this close to sending this one back unfinished.

Here's hoping the next Zelda game does a better job for the Wii-motion then Red Steel 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Big disappointment...

posted by jjohn2478 (CARLSBAD, CA) Mar 29, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

People may think I'm crazy for saying this, but I like Red Steel 1 a lot better...

I was highly anticipating this game as I loved the first one and the only problem I had with it was the sword fighting was inaccurate and frustrating. The sad thing is, even with the Wii motion plus and tons more time to get it right, it is still extremely inaccurate and frustrating. One of the great things about the first one was the separated gun and sword fights. It was much easier to focus on one type of weapon. In this one, you have thugs shooting, slashing, and swinging at you all at the same time and having two main weapons to choose from makes fighting all of them extremely difficult.

The movement feels clunky and awkward. The graphics look horrible. Little to no detail and boxy, dull scenery. There are maybe four thugs and from a distance of 30 feet, all look exactly the same. The story is pointless and the voice acting is poor (I have no idea why you would give an Asian tattooed punk girl a southern accent). The main character went from a slick, cool business man with ninja skills to a clunky, covered up cowboy with a dumb looking hat.

I may be in the minority here, but I'm proud to be. I played this for two hours and sent it right back. I wouldn't even rent this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Greatt Gammee!!!

posted by Carlos5877 (ASHBURN, VA) Mar 23, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 13 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

I think this game is really the best sword playing game in the world for atleast the wii

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Lock on Target system Awful

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Apr 2, 2010

Member since Dec 2003

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

When you get like 8 guys attacking you the Lock on Target system this game has Sucks- Wish it was more free Roam to the Game with this in battles- Sure does screw it up- About Half-way through the Game and just gave up who wants to messs with a target system thats broke- If not for this would of been a Great Game- Plus no Blood Noo Blood what is this 1990- 2010 Baby get with it- Music is Good Boss fights good- Graphics Good- Rent Frist try out the Target system before you Buy- I dont like it so i will take a passs- Thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Red Steel 2 for wii

posted by newageghos (GREEN LAKE, WI) May 23, 2010

Member since May 2010

2 out of 22 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

Do not rent it unless you have a wii motion plus controller. I cannot review the features of the game because I could not play it at all.

This is just a forewarning that you must have a wii motion plus controller add on to play this game.

This is nintendo pulling an n64 trying to sell 20 dollar addons like the extended memory needed to play perfect dark. Gamefly is doing a great job keeping it in stock but it isnt compatible with most people's systems.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse