Rent Red Faction for PS2
view large frontback

Red Faction

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.2

488 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

a sweet original game

posted by chipyg (SALEM, CT) Aug 15, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

Red faction is one of those games that is a good game but sadly nobody knows about. this game is an excellent FPS with a wide variety of weapons to choose from such as the 1 hit rail gun to the W.A.S.P. rocket launcher.
This game is about a man named parker who takes a trip to the mining facility on Mars to take some time away from all the stress. Soon he comes to find that the comforting mining facility is actually a decheveled trash pit with horrible working and living conditions. A orginization called the Red Faction tries to form a revolution against the head hancho Ultor.
One of the biggest things i hated about this game is that not only are there no cut scenes but there is practically no inter action with other characters at all, except with medical doctors. A cool thing about this game is that there is a great use of vehicals from the big battlesuits, to the submarine, to even the flying tank.
Another problem with this game is that it has weak AI. When you are charging and being accurate the enemy wilol start running around so you can pick him off easily. THERE ARE TO MANY LOADING SCREENS!!!!! There is a loading screen popping up every 5 minutes and it gets really annoying.
Overall this is a good original game for the PS2 but it has a lot of little mistakes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One Of The Best

posted by TamedAnimals (ENGLEWOOD, CO) Jun 5, 2013

Member since May 2013

People don't give this game enough credit. Not only was Red Faction revolutionary in terms of it's physics system (destructible environments), but it offered a story and vibe that few if any (other than maybe the Half-Life series) fps exhibit. The story was great, the gameplay was smooth and the multiplayer (pre-internet play days) was way fun. One of my favorite games of all time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Childhood

posted by Psycho1224 (CANTON, GA) Feb 8, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

I played this game when i Was alot younger and it was my favorite shooter at the time. It doesnt have good graphics, WELL THATS BECAUSE ITS ON PS2. What do you expect ps2 games are meant for fun not graphics and this game was made along time ago, dont expect it to be a Call of Duty. I like how the environment is destructible and how fun the levels are, story is short and lots of loading but its fun playing the campaign and playing against bots, you can even get a rifle that shoots through walls I like this game alot

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dont waste your time.

posted by jdehoyos14 (FORT WORTH, TX) May 28, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

i thought this game wouldn't be that bad, fight on mars, get cool guns, fully destructible environment. but it was totaly pointless. first of all, the graphics look like the game was made of blocks, same for the guns, and before almost every room, there was a loading screen. and when you die onthe first level you go back to the very beginning.
all in all i wasnt really pleased while i played this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Join The Revolution

posted by parkerps2 (SCOTTSDALE, AZ) Jul 18, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

Red Fation Is a short bad story line, no depth in charater. It puts right into the action winthin 5 steps. The only reson i gave it a 5 is becuse i like 1st person games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Red Faction WOOT!!!!

posted by poiuyt (KEY WEST, FL) Apr 30, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

The story is VERY!!!!!!!!! short. Best graphics ive seen since Half-Life on PS2!!!!!(im playing on Big HDTV LCD 52" so they HAVE to be nice) sounds like any other PS2 game. it does teach you something if a company called Ultor starts a mining corp best not go there.FUN 10 Graphics 10 Sound 5 Eductaion 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

red faction

posted by borbfjhv (SPRINGFIELD, OR) Mar 3, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

a fun but challenging game the thing i did not like were that 1.even on easy the enemies can be a challenge 2.on the clip where capik shows his shield function your character just moves his hand and the gun shoots (videos aren't that good)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not a very fun game

posted by emvkoopa (WARREN, IN) Feb 25, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

I received this game and it literally went into the mailbox that night, I didn't find this game fun at all, the storyline didn't make sense to me, and the only ''good'' thing about it was probably the way that you could shoot a rocket launcher at a wall, and it would actually destroy the wall. Overall.
THIS GAME SUCKS, DON'T RENT IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A decent shooter

posted by Ergonomix (OVIEDO, FL) Jan 4, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

I'll put the cons first:
-Frequent loading screens.
-Lack of autosave.
-Occasionally bland-looking levels.
-Really bad acting in the cutscenes.
-Annoying "stealth" sections.

But it's still a fun game, it reminds me most of Half-life. All the weapons are fun to use, there's a fair amount of enemy variety (later on, anyway) and the obligatory vehicle sections are actually fun.

So, if you feel like renting a shooter, Red Faction's a good choice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

way fun game

posted by GodOfWar14 (DACONO, CO) Jan 1, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

pretty straightforward
pretty short game
can be stretched out by taking many diversions
lots of cool weapons
game gets progressively harder

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty cool

posted by kingcobra (MOORPARK, CA) Dec 7, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

I havent played this game in a few years but it was by far the best FPS for PS2 in my opinion. I like the destructable environments and wide range of weapons. The story line is kind of cliche but other than that the gameplay and general feel was pretty original.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Join the Revolution

posted by sandollor (APO, AE) Jun 15, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

I don't know why this game didn't take off, it was a fun original FPS. FPS games have a tough job, keep you interested in basically what is doing the same thing over and over again, killing. This game does a good job. REVOLUTION!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

lots of fun

posted by MrBean (GALWAY, NY) Jan 31, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

This is a great 1st. person shooter, although a long game and a bit difficult at times, still lots of fun. What's really great about this game is that you can save it as many times as you want or need to, to get through a hard area and there' no short supply of guns either, lots and lots.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Going back in time

posted by MrChaos (SUMNER, WA) Dec 27, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

I bought this when it first came out and i just started playing it again and I forgot how good this game was. The graphics were ok and the storyline was fun to follow. The controls were the only thing that got to me because I was not use to them. But as you go through the game, you see that the storyline is what makes this game so great. Multiplayer mode is fun also, with a huge assortment of weapons and levels aplenty.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »