Rent Red Faction: Guerrilla for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Red Faction: Guerrilla

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.5

14824 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good solid gameplay with few annoyances...

posted by thedepth (TWIN LAKE, MI) Jun 3, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

202 out of 215 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

Overall this is a very fun game to play. Pretty much everything in the entire game world is destructible. You could spend hours just running around blowing everything up if thats your thing. The story is a bit predictable but overall not to shabby.

There are a few annoyances however, the destroyable objects for example can take a wrong turn on the way down and crush you killing you instantly, this isnt to bad however since the "save" system is pretty merciful spawning you back at your closest safe house.

The missions in the game are very well made and the environments are each unique and give a much needed new flavor in the pacing of the game and the story. The AI is also extremely impressive, your enemies will dodge, run, jump, smack, get on turrets, get in cars, etc... but whats even more impressive is how your "allies" respond when you begin fighting they will arrive to assist you during a firefight or when your on a mission.

Rather not give to much away about it but its safe to say the world really feels "real" in terms of you fighting a war against a tyrant organization and others joining the good fight to help you liberate Mars.

Sadly though as is often the case with all sandbox games it becomes very old. The difficulty of the game can ramp up considerably fast if you tend to go on a destruction rampage, leaving you with quite literally an entire map full of enemies to deal with. Which may not seem so bad to most (I rather enjoyed being chased around the map) but to some it may pose a problem.

In terms of the type of game it is I would say its probably one of the finest ive played in a very long time. It does suffer a bit from some of the cliches of the games of its type but it more then makes up for it with its unique environments, destructible everything and wonderful AI both for your enemies and your allies.

I would fully recommend this to anyone as it will put a smile on your face and maybe even a few rage induced frowns.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best there is!

posted by Mr_and_Mrs_V (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Jun 10, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

EASILY the best game for xbox live. The single play is technically sound and beautifully destructive. The multiplayer will blow your mind!!! It is THE MOST underrated game out there. In multiplayer, if you stand still you basically die. It's amazing! Yes there are pros who play this game, but anyone can pick it up and easily lead their team to victory. The maps and teams for the most part are random. You can only cheat for the first minute or two, because every weapon and backpack have a counter attack! Not your typical shooter game at all, you will spend hours playing. The ranking system matches your skill and how many hours you have put in, but all weapons and packs are available to every rank. A definite must-have. =)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I wept when I sent this back.

posted by rezonation (WARREN, OH) Dec 14, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

40 out of 44 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

This title almost consumed me. The storyline was slightly cheesy, but the physics engine was borderline orgasmic. It's the gift that just kept on giving.

Multiplayer was amazing. If you can't shoot the guy, blow up the guy, or charge at the guy with the force of a rhino and launch him off the edge, you can take a freakin' sledgehammer and bash his head in. And that sledgehammer's got unlockable varients, bro - you can whack em with anything from a paddle to an ostrich. Yeah, a bird.

Personally I almost wept when I sent this title back. I had FINALLY found a game of which I was actually good at the multiplayer. But I just didn't have enough mulah to press the "Keep" button.

As with every other game, rent it before you buy it. But aside from a few glitches and frustrating missions, this was a must-have for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

blown away already

posted by marbly23 (PLEASANTON, CA) Jan 24, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is amazing.

its a cross between mercenaries and gta.

everything is so smooth in it, the aiming, switching your weapon and destruction. only thing i dont like is when you drive fast the turning in your vehicle sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

red awsomeness

posted by nickynick3 (LAKE WORTH, FL) Aug 13, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

so awsome so many things to do and openworld

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good game

posted by ThatOneDud (VANCOUVER, WA) Jul 26, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game was very fun and realistic. the graphics were awesome to me and the creativity in the game is so... good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one of the best games ever!

posted by psychogame (CLEVELAND, OH) Jul 19, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Personaly i loved this game.You can destroy almost ANYTHING!You can spend an entire day playing this game!! Graphics are really good you should deffinittly get this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This isn't your Fathers Red Faction!

posted by MrChambers (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Jun 5, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

80 out of 97 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

So I started this game with the mindset that I will be disappointed, GTA4 on Mars. Yippee... mash the A button through the opening screens, select new game, come on come on I'm already set for a let down, lets get this over with

Man was I wrong! Right from the start I was pulled into this story, sure I'm going in with the knowledge of the old RF from my PS2 days, and expecting to have my hopes dashed on the crimson sand of this destructible landscape, was I surprized when from the opening cutscene to the first few missons/quests/running-a-mock, Holy Cow! I'm actually having fun, and... dare I say it? Caring about the characters and NPCs! :O

Now for the technical bit, the controls are smooth, every weapon switching, bomb detonating, barrel throwing, gun butting press is near flawless, sure there are times when I would press a button only to have the EDF guard dodge, but Duh! that's the programming, they are suppost to move out of the way of a 100 pound Methane tank flying at their head, just makes it more fun for me to shoot the tank and blow them up! :D Since I'm now at a few hunder characters left

+Better movement and running than GTA4, driving takes getting used to but imho its good
+Weapons everywhere, weapon caches for stockpiling, no stop to the enemy drones that will drop more ammo for more reloading to continue that killing spree
+GPS, marker tracking system, icons for quests everywhere, makes for hours of game play

-Aiming is a little wonky - have to adjust the crosshair to the right a bit to line up a clean shot
-Cannot destroy the land (like in RF for PS2) but buildings crumble like a deck of cards
-Enemies will spawn "out of no where" instead of spawning in the "Fog of War" and coming to you, there have been times when I was playing where I would spin the camera and have 10+ Drones appear from thin air behind me

For all the negetives that happen with this game, I totally forget them because of how much pure FUN I'm having, hence 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Must for Old School Gamers and Newcomers Alike!

posted by Omegatron (LEXINGTON, SC) Nov 9, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

There isn't anything that I don't like about this game. If a perfect game was ever conceived, it would be this one. I've been playing games forever, but I've never had so much fun as when I played Red Faction: Guerrilla. The game isn't 100% perfect, but it definitely gets an A+.

Pros:

Cool Weapons - Use improvise weapons made from scraps or steal the enemies' state-of-the-art weaponry to liberate Mars. There's plenty of weapons to satisfy any shooter fan.

Destruction - Use a sledgehammer, hydrogen tanks, rocket launchers, and remote charges to bring down massive structures.

Open World - Go pretty much anywhere with a completely open world. Wanna drive a truck over a mountain? Go ahead.

Cons:

Repetitive - I didn't really see this that much, but I can see alot of people getting bored of doing the same few types of missions over and over. My solution: mix up your weaponry every once and a while to open up new challenges.

Summary: This is an amazing game. If you don't know what to try next and you like shooters, I highly recommend that you try Red Faction: Guerrilla.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Totally Awesome

posted by Skinny (THEODORE, AL) Jun 5, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

19 out of 27 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I preordered this game soon after I played both the Multiplayer and Single player demos on XBL.

This game is freakin' fun. I also read a few reviews in the back and noticed some were complaining that there was no cover system... yet there is. Just tap LB when next to a wall.

The weapons on this game or cliche at first. You only have a shotgun, pistol, assault rifle, and some remote mines. But as you progress through the game, you'll find some really awesome firepower. Like the Nano Rifle.

The areas are vast and each territory looks a good deal different than the last.

But Multiplayer is where this game really shines. Using a multiplayer setup (much like Halo 3) it's easy to connect with friends and jump in a game.

Then you figure out how much fun Capture the Flag can be with destructible environments. Why raid the enemy base when you can just take the whole thing down!?! Which also leaves their flag exposed on all sides.

There are other amazing multiplayer modes as well. But CTF is my favorite.

All in all. This is a very great and addicting game. Give it a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Destroy everything in site

posted by ebook32 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jun 3, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Red faction is the first game I've ever played that allows the player to demolish just about every building and that alone makes Red Faction fun to play. I highly recommend renting this game, I'm having a blast and I'm sure you will too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A great technical achievement that fall a bit flat

posted by Vamphaery (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Sep 25, 2009

Member since May 2009

11 out of 17 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

Red Faction Guerrilla is a third person shooter in the vein of its developer's hit title Saints Row 2, and boasts an impressive technical achievement in the form of fully realized, physics-enabled, architectural structural damage and destruction. This particular feature never gets old, and is always amazing to see in action.

Unfortunately, like the supporting structures of the many buildings you will destroy in the course of the game, the game's character development and narrative are nowhere near as packed with personality, fun, or interest as Volition's other, aforementioned gem.

Like Saints Row 2, the game has you gradually conquering territory by capturing it from a rival force. In this case that rival force is the tyrannical Earth Defense Force (no relationship to the one in Sandlot's shooter EDF 2017 incidentally,) and the territory you capture are regions of the Martian landscape instead of city neighborhoods.

However, where this game stumbles is in its lack of personality, colorfulness, or sense of comradeship as was seen as Saints Row 2. The game propels you from one mission to the next, all of them relatively similar. The game's visuals, which are largely cast in a dingy, realistic red and grey, contribute to a sense of not being able to tell friend from foe, and the game overall feels repetitive and tedious.

The game is fun. It's diverting, and in small doses you will probably find enough of a reason to keep playing. It just didn't grab me as much as I wish it had, its characters felt drab and uninteresting, and some more color and personality would have gone a long way toward making me feel like I was a part of an important struggle.

Instead I felt most of the time that I was just struggling.

None of this detracts from the fact that this game represents an incredible technical achievement, and that it is fun enough to keep you entertained. Just don't expect it to be quite the feature-packed joyride that Saints Row 2 was. By comparison RFG is tame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's fun to blow stuff up but....

posted by URSmelly (CANAL WINCHESTER, OH) Jun 8, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

19 out of 35 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed this game for a while, but ultimately there isn't much to it other than blowing stuff up. While that is fun, I felt this game could have been a bit deeper. All of the missions are a variation on two themes: "destroy this" and "rescue these people". The game is reasonably hard. I felt like I spent more time driving around the convoluted map than anything else (even with the ability to teleport to the safehouse).

I also felt like several of the weapons were less than useful. The only ones I found myself using on a regular basis were the rifle, regular bombs (not proximity), and rocket launcher. Don't waste your scrap on anything else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Alright

posted by gingersnap (BOISE, ID) Sep 26, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

This Game started out fantastic. The first hour of play you explore your demolition and hammer and all these new weapons and you think your possibilities are endless. Then you die. Then you change the difficulty to easy and really dont notice a difference.

The game plays almost the exact same throughout the entire game. Drive a car to a base for salvage( Which gets ridiculously hard about half way through), then maybe try for some demolitions which are actually pretty cleverly done. then go do a mission then move to a new area and do it all again. each time you feel like you missed something and the game ends up dragging on with you wishing the game would just end. It was alright to play once but some variety would have been nice.

I didnt get to play much of the Live play but it seemed to work alright but nothing special just another shooter in that aspect.

Rent it if you have played a bunch of other games and have no other options otherwise you would be better off choosing something else

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Explosive, yet Repetitive

posted by GrayeHoss (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jun 8, 2009

Member since May 2009

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

In terms of what has become the very much dull-drum shooter genre, I can say that this game does everything and nothing to fix it at the same time. I played the first Red Faction when I was young and the freedom to explode things was great. But that wasn't the only appeal to Red Faction. I felt like a revolutionary playing it. It did its job and remains a classic shooter in my mind.

The new one is a sandbox version with a realistic, but somewhat boring depiction of Mars life. The environment looks very similar most of the game and you spend much of your time running from place to place. The environment does not keep me interested and I found it impossible to remember paths because of it.

Its third person, which I like too. In terms of shooters, I prefer it.

Of course, everyone needs to talk about the destruction mechanisms. Its the selling point. My issue is that you can't sell a game just on physics-- especially not when the physics we are seeing are an upgraded version of physics we already know. The buildings break in pre-planned ways, just like always. There's just more logic to it.

They spent so much time thinking of ways to blow things up that they neglected to include a plot until near the end. Almost any mission could have been replaced with something completely different and it still would have felt the same, with the exception of the last few missions.

Despite my desperate love of games with proper plots or games with careful writing involved, I consider this new installment to be a rare game that I enjoy despite the plot. It gets repetitive the more you play it and the makers did very little to solve that issue, with the exception of controlling an artillery gun thing twice.

Standard rigmarole, as far as I'm concerned. The game is worth playing, simply because the things the makers considered, they did well. Its just clear where the creators' priorities were. Storytelling was not a goal, but hitting things with hammers happened to be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Marvin the Martian is MISSING!

posted by ReviewThis (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Jun 3, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

17 out of 35 gamers (49%) found this review helpful

I'm about to complete the first level - Town of Parker. Finished all the side missions, and only have the final mission of that level left.

Your brother is killed at the very beginning of the game basically forcing you into Guerilla warfare. You start out with the sledgehammer and some remote mining charges. From there you...

BLOW STUFF UP!

This game is 1 part Lost Planet, 2 parts Battle Field: Bad Company and 3 parts GTA with a twist of old school Donkey Kong (you know, cause of the hammer).

The weapons are upgradeable, and found that you shouldn't buy the Arc Welder as soon as I did. Upgrade the other stuff first. Sticking the mining charges to the buildings or enemy vehicles then detonating them is tons of fun and doesn't get old. The assault rifle fires off nice rounds, and the aiming/hit detection is spot on. Remember to upgrade this gun (more ammo) along with the charges prior to purchasing other weapons though (stupid Arc Welder!). There is also a cover system which works pretty well.

The vehicles are uniquely done, and would be what you would expect on Mars. It always feels good to drive one through a building with enemies inside. You are free to any of them from what I've seen, and of course you can roam the entire sandbox.

You have main missions along with mini-game missions. The mini-game missions consist of timed destruction, hostage rescues and invasion assists. The timed distructions are cool cause they give you a best time, and a pro time. I can see myself trying to beat the pro times which will increase this games replay value.

When you start taking back some of the colony, your morale increases. When this happens other colonists will actually come help you on occassion when fighting the EDF. If you take the EDF's Scout vehicle, they'll even climb inside with you, and take control of the roof-mounted light machine gun. This comes in handy when taking on hordes of EDFers.

Demo the multiplayer since it's not reviewed...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game

posted by GameFlyBRO (HOUSTON, TX) Jun 1, 2009

Member since May 2009

15 out of 31 gamers (48%) found this review helpful

this game is amazing, the story line is very gripping, and just pulls you in. The game itself is where it truly shines, and makes you want to play, and not stop.

This game is great, but i say its a game that would be better to rent than buy, but definately rent this and have a blast!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME GAME!

posted by Nicki31 (CAROL STREAM, IL) Sep 4, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ok...being a girl who likes shooting games, and just getting the xbox a couple of months ago, I like trying new games out. I had never played any shooting games before I got my xbox, except Socom for PS2, so this was new for me, even though there had been other ones before this one. These maps are huge! So many weapons to choose from. So many vehicles. So many missions. This, by far, is one of the best shooting games I have ever played. I love it and wish I could keep it! LOL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ehhh... its fun.

posted by pface86 (MIDDLETOWN, MD) Aug 16, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I rented this game with great anticipation but I was very disappointed once I got it. Pros and cons below.

Pros-
-Very interactive environment, the game stays true to what it says.
-Lets face it, blowing stuff up is fun
-The liberty to destroy what you want and take missions at your leisure is favorable.
Cons-
-No player creation, these days RPG's are taking on the role of immersing yourself into the story and this does not do it.
-Lack of a storyline, I really did not care about the characters or what they were fighting for.
-No direction, for all the talk of freedom in the game, it may have a bit too much, as it just starts and says go, with no backstory essentially I really didnt care for the game.
-Lets face it, blowing stuff up is fun but gets old.
-I felt like I was playing GTA on mars, which to me is like beating a dead horse, this formula is fun at first but then it gets old taking the "escorts" back and then shooting them to save money.

In conclusion, a rentable game but that is it. I didnt even finish it because I got that bored, I felt as if I had to muscle through just to play it and I couldn't wait to get my next game. So rent at your own risk.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Destroy Everything

posted by Demsky (COATESVILLE, PA) Jun 5, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is the first game to allow gamers to destroy everything they see brick by brick and it excells my 7 plus hours with the game so far has been awesome. It is has a kinda steep difficulty curb but what that really does is force you to think strategically instead of straight foward run and gun (though that does still work for certain situations. Rent or buy youll love it this is trully {next-generation gaming) Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game

posted by BfUnK718 (SEAFORD, NY) Dec 25, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Simply a great game, Huge environment to explore and almost if not everything is destructable, shoot, runover, blowup, knock down, everything in your path, collect trade and sell weapons. In my opinion its a hybrid of Diablo, World of Warcraft and call of duty.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Red Faction a clear winner

posted by GeneShep (MARIETTA, GA) Dec 16, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game “Red Faction: Guerrilla” lives up to the hype and propaganda of THQ Everything except the Mars itself is destructible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

every thing go boom!!!

posted by kingazaz18 (EMMAUS, PA) Sep 3, 2009

Member since May 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i love when something goes boom and that is what this game is all about. but there is a story line which i think is strang in this kind of game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Almost a revolution

posted by Syzygy (WOODINVILLE, WA) Jun 7, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

Perhaps 'inevitable" would be more fitting than "almost revolutionary", as it was only a matter of time before someone decided to make a game like this.

Graphics: 10/10
Truly beautiful. Mars makes for a great setting, each sector of the map has it's own style of vehicles and buildings, plus I couldn't find a single bump-mapped texture (Images painted onto an object to give the illusion that it has details)

Story/writing: 6/10
The story is very weak here, and the 4 or 5 cutscenes the game actually has do have potential, I really wish they would have expanded upon Sam and Mason's whole realtionship thing. And some marauder history would be nice. Sadly, the story feels more like an excuse to blow stuff up and kill space fascists, which isn't as bad as it sounds

Gameplay: 10/10
Everything runs smoothly here, the controls are mapped perfectly, the weapons are all useful and unique vehicles are great too, all feel very off-roady and properly suited to the terrain of Mars. Enemy AI is kinda dumb, and seems to compensate for that by just tossing enemies at you en masse, which actually works out well since it forces you to actually use guerilla warfare instead of just sitting in a corner gunning everyone down. The complete destructibility of every structure in the game is just... it's like poetry!

Multiplayer: 2/10
This is where the game sort of fails. The problem isn't that multiplay is imbalanced or boring, quite the contrary, it's unique and the backpack system is to be lauded. No the problem I'm talking about is one to do with connection. If you don't have a 500 dollar a month super high speed internet, you will lag so badly that MP is unplayable. probably due to all the physics MP uses, but if you can afford such a high speed connection, then it's completely awesome. Standard DSL will not suffice for this game

Overall: 8/10
Weak story, the mechs seem scarce, MP requires expensive internet connection. But despite all this, I had a blast. Try then buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GTA on Mars !!

posted by Jankstar (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) Jun 3, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Third person action on Mars. Environments are very, very destructible. Everything blows up real nice. Seems to have a nice storyline accompanying the mayhem. Control feels tight and shooting feels actually better than a GTA game. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse