Rent Red Faction: Guerrilla for PS3
view large frontback

Red Faction: Guerrilla

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.3

5810 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great in the beginning - Frustrating later on

posted by Shanghai (CLEMMONS, NC) Aug 19, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

50 out of 53 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

First, this game has some very addictive qualities to it. The destruction, and some of the weapons. However, as many people have said, this is a hard game.

The difficulty of this game is artificial because it relies on the old "spawn in more enemies until your dead" syndrome. Once you raise your alert status above yellow, the game constantly spawns in enemy reinforcements from all sides. And as you're forced to defend yourself, your alert status just goes to the next level. Volition just did not provide a clear cut way to reduce your alert level, and typically it meant dying and returning to a safehouse.

Although a lot of weapons are fun, some just seem to be way underpowered, especially considering their unavailability or low ammo counts. The singularity bombs just don't do the damage you'd expect, and the M.O.A.B's (mother of all bombs) are no more powerful than a rocket launcher you get later in the game. Considering the rarity of these items, I just expected more.

I also experienced bugs with some of the weapons, in particularly the proximity mines (AI walk right over them without setting them off).

The early part of the game is no doubt the most fun. However, expect a pretty high level of frustration and repetitive gameplay later on. I actually found myself avoiding doing a lot of the side missions just because they didn't vary from previous missions and they didn't result in any real gains (such as salvage or new weapons).

Although difficult, the game can be completed, but for the most part I just found myself just glad to be done with it. This game had a lot of potential, and is still a fun romp, but so many things could have been done better which would have kept me playing it well after the story was complete.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game

posted by SurfFreak (LAGUNA BEACH, CA) Jun 30, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2004

13 out of 16 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

This was a quality game with lots of different things to do. Even so, the length is a little on the short side. Way shorter than GTA 4. Its an open environment shooter that follows a loose storyline. You are a guerilla fighting with the red faction to free Mars. The series has evolved quite a bit and in this one, most things are destructable. This is one of the better games of 2009.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LOVED it.

posted by JGrizzle (ZEBULON, NC) Aug 22, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

18 out of 24 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I don't say this lightly: Red Faction is the most enjoyable game I have ever played. I loved all the vehicles, the weapons, the combat, and especially wreaking havoc anywhere and everywhere, especially when it was least expected.

Two things that I hope are addressed if there is a sequel:
1) Control over the other guerrillas that are helping you. They just charge in to combat, even when you might want to survey the situation first, or order them to flank or something else. Also, you can't order them to retreat. They will just stay there until they die, or until you leave, and if you get in a vehicle to flee the scene, they won't get in with you. When they are killed because they couldn't get away, it detracts from your control rating.

2) I understand that during the story part of the game, it makes sense to limit the number of weapons you can carry- makes you use 'strategery' and choose your weapons carefully. After you have beaten the game, though, I wish it would let you carry as many weapons as you want.

Still, Red Faction was FUN. That's what I'm after, and it delivered big-time. I give it the highest rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Just Blow it Up

posted by G00BERMAR (STERLING, CO) Aug 22, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

13 out of 18 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

The destructibility is truly something to be loved. The physics and structural mechanics, for the buildings and such, work together beautifully. No need to use a large number of explosives, although fun to do so, to bring a building down to eye level. If you can find the weak points like in real buildings you can make them fall with ease. Original and fun weapons to behold when taking on the baddies. Large map to run around in and many secrets to find. A nice story to play through and a fun variety of side missions to take care of. Also with a multiplayer section that is surprisingly fun to do this is a nice game to go through. This things a very nice step up from its predecessors in the past, so you should give it a go if you played the first two or if you just blow things up on the martian world like Arnold did in ''Total Recall.'' Either way it doesn't matter, so Asta La Vista, BABY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Absolutly fabulous!

posted by mwitters (SEATTLE, WA) Jun 4, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

18 out of 26 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

Volition are the creators of what in my opinion were 2 of the best PS2 titles ever, red faction 1 and 2. Red Faction Guerilla is set in the not too distant future after Red Faction 2. The destructable enviroments in Red faction and how they integrated them into the gameplay was absolutly revolutionary. To my dismay though, developers have not taken this concept very far at all after all these years! The PS3 has the power to have quality fully destructable enviroments but developers for some reason do implement it. Well with this game I'm happy to say voiltion is back with a vengence! They have brought the destructable enviroment theme into the next gen in a big way. The game plays like a GTA IV or infamous except EVERYTHING in the world is absolutly COMPLETELY destructable! Even the buildings metal frame structure can be destroyed with enough firepower or a few whacks with the sledge, watching a huge building come crashing down after breaking out the entire first floors's walls is awesome. The object of the game is to take out the EDF's buildings, complete guerilla combat missions, and win over support of the miners, doing this will get you to the point where you are able to undertake the main mission in that sector to take control of the sector from the EDF It really is a fun, fast paced and action packed game.The combat gameplay is spot on and fun, the missions are interesting as is the storyline. I LOVE this game. I am very very pleased with Volition for making something so far beyond anyone's expectations with this game. You will not be disappointed in this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great but Not

posted by Tmactown01 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Aug 18, 2009

Member since Sep 2006

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game can be great but sometimes it can be the most annoying games ever. Some of the drive missions are very annoying and dumb. Even the rescue people missions are dumb because they are always upstairs and you can't rush in or you will break the stairs and fail. Another fault in this game there is always a million people were ever you go. Even just little salvage missions there is always a bunch of people guarding even little things and it seems they just keep coming to if you don't rush in destroy the thing you will be there forever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

JOIN THE RED FACTION!!!

posted by WarChief42 (NORTON, KS) Aug 22, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

RED FACTION 2 rocks... This game wasn't something i thought i would like BUT it turned out to be one of the coolest games i've played in a long time. It has great solo, co-op (mini games) , and not too bad multiplayer. The multi player will seem dificult when playing against people who have owned it for a while but it doesnt matter once you play the single player. From the vehicles, Guns, even vehicles with guns. The missions are fun and progress the story lines very nicely... DID i mention the hammer? the enviroments are completely destructible!!! It is by far the coolest game in a while...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very fun game

posted by ootan5 (MENLO PARK, CA) Jun 17, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

This was one of the funnest games I've played in a while. With the introduction of almost completely and physically realistic destruction of everything this game opens up many fun and interesting styles of tactical gameplay. Its also great to have everything exploding and crumbling with lasers and gunshots flying everywhere, all at steady framerates. The singleplayer is very fun even though the story isn't very good because the gameplay is what drags you in and tempts you to try new things you cant do in other games. The multiplayer is pretty decent, definitely not the highlight of the game but a good pastime.

overall i give this game an 8.5 out of 10 for its irresistibly fun gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Lot's of Destruction

posted by Zeckard (CENTENNIAL, CO) Mar 1, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I for whatever reason thought this game was going to be like the game "Just Cause" which I wasn't looking forward to it coming if it was. However, I was pleasantly surprised that the game had all the destructive tools that anyone would ever need.

You can blow up buildings...over and over and over
You can use a sledgehammer to destruct buildings and vehicles
You can plant explosives strategically
You can drive multiple unusual futuristic vehicles

All that being said the game is fun, a little repetitious but what can you expect. Most missions are fairly simple, fun, and a few are pretty challenging. I recommend this game for anyone who needs to release stress/tension.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It Was Ok, Betty!

posted by wordwithin (MCHENRY, MD) Aug 10, 2009

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I like blowing things up big! And that's it because thats all the game is about. You will notice that the graphics are better than the face of a witch, which in translation means sometimes vague and ugly - to being grand when the magic is done. Sometimes you'll look down and feel like your in a washed out version of an old 64-bit and then you move a tad further down the road which leads to victory to find that Mars' rock surface looks like you could eat off of it. It's that pretty, sometimes, like the witch's magic. The combat and targeting system are easy to use, the particle effects are astounding when you destroy perfectly good buildings - most likely the best effects in the category of exploding stuff for fun, of any game on the PS3. The story line sucks, being straightfoward about it, because it's generic. This is how it goes without ruining the "nothing" of it for you: You're guy and you witness brother die so you are rescued by red faction that dead brother was in, then you fight for faction by doing mini missions and story missions and causing destruction and what-not. You fight for freedom...blahblahblah...of let me guess, another civilization under control by another evil civilization. That was simple speech because that's the way i feel about the simplistic storyline, fair enough! In the end i just wanted to get it over with. This game is very repetitive; you'll run around and crush buildings to drop the control number of the Earth Defense Force, or EDF, which has to be completely depleated in order to unlock more missions. You'll be subject to collecting Salvage to gain upgrades by doing mini missions or just blowing up more buildings and collecting the scrapes in the ruins below. There are some very cool weapons, like the nano rifle which obliterates anything it touches---an enemy hit square on with the rifle will literally evaporate---and you can obtain a jetpack that gets you to higher places (i'm interested in how that will play out in Dark Void.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good Fun

posted by enginepy (MIDLAND, TX) Aug 10, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I wasn't expecting too much when I got this game. The graphics and interfaces are what you would expect on a PS2/Xbox. It does move fast though, never bogs down and There is no loading time when you are roaming on the maps (which is awesome).

The controls are a little weird at first, but very easy and once you play for about 2 hours, its a breeze (unlike complicated games like Metal Gear Solid 4 and Prototype). Since there are few options on what you can do, you learm it fast and it comes second nature.

You get to free roam and pick when and where you do missions and side missions. Its fun and you can take your time through the campaign. Smashing stuff is great and a couple of the weapons are awesome. You cant really run up hills and its super annoying, but you get a jetpack later and its fine.

All in all, this game is addictive and a lot of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Red Faction Guerrilla

posted by adamzgamez (ROCKY MOUNT, VA) Jun 26, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

red faction guerrilla was just right. first off i'm beyond glad to be somewhere other than las vegas or new york. i was instantly pleased with the new landscapes in front of me, and even still the varity of environments filled with red martian soil, odd rock formations, and plenty of weapons and vehicles never before imagined. it took a while to realize all my options for entertaining myself. once i learned what had to be done and what could be done for fun i got way more creative and enjoyed every bit of it. the pinacle of this game has to be the strategic destruction of all things man made. given the multitude of building and structure designs mixed with a wide range of destructively creative weapons you could spend a couple weeks leveling the game and never get tired of it. with the bonus wrecking crew mode and plenty of side jobs the game is certainly worth playing even after the story is over. if you're tired of the city life in other games or just want a change of scenery, head to mars, bring some explosives and a big hammer, cut the lights off and soak in the red sky. red faction guerrilla is good stuff. enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This is it?

posted by Seek618 (WILLIS WHARF, VA) Aug 23, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

I had heard such great things about RF:2 that I was really excited to give it a try. As soon as you get the introduction about blowing things up and destroying buildings with your hammer, I was thrilled at the prospects. The the game started and all that went downhill fast.

Destruction: Yes you can blow everything up, but the targets you have to blow up (like military targets) are so heavily guarded that as soon as you're within eyesight of a guard everyone is alerted and a firefight ensues. Now, I'm not big on stealth games, but I yearned for the opportunity to sneak into a base, plant some bombs, and sneak out before blowing it. It would make sense that a guerrilla fighter would rather use stealth than a full frontal assault on a base full of troops, but apparently you have a target on your head at all times that is automatically identified at 50 yards. Also, how is it that I can set a room full of bombs and still have a building standing, yet I can swing my hammer through a wall a couple of times and the building falls down? Physics people...physics.

The driving is bland and unrealistic, you can ram your little dune buggy into a giant construction vehicle and send the giant truck flying into the air.

The shooting is frustrating as every enemy can take 5 or 6 shotgun blasts to the face before dying, yet 1 hit with a hammer will kill anyone (once again with the strangely god-like hammer).

I don't know, I just expected a game where I got to use guerrilla tactics instead of full frontal assaults all of the time. I even tried loading a vehicle with explosives and parking it in front of a guard shack, yet the unrealistic destruction physics didn't even leave a mark on the wall. However, I can take my hammer and swing it at same wall and the entire building will collapse.

For a game that prides itself on its realistic destructive elements, maybe it should have made the weapons and driving a little more realistic. As it stands, it's just frustrating and silly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

destruction commence!

posted by soloboy52 (HONOLULU, HI) Jun 4, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

8 out of 14 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

to be honest when I first heard about a new red faction game, i was not excited at all, i have played the previous ones and they were like well "um ah its ok". My mind has changed to "HEY!"

First off, this is not a first person shooter, its a third person shooter. You are a rebel, you have freedom around mars in 6 different locations pulling off different missions from destroying key buildings to assisting your fellow guerrela comrades defend from a attack or attempt an attack. main missions to progress forward is selected when ever you feel like it, can proceed with the story whenever you feel that you are ready. The play style is kinda like s sand box play.

Graphics - pretty good, not like Metal gear solid good, but its clean, detailed and its very, Very satisfying to see the destruction you implement on anything, and it actually is anything. You can practically destroy and damage anything you come across. The computer is very persistent and you actually can die very easy if you get overwhelmed, but luckily, time after time if you do nice stuff for the fellow civilians and comrades, random people will take up arms to assist you. The destruction is the most satisfying though, especially your ridiculously handy sledge hammer, that it was probably stolen from Marvel's Thor but without the super powers. You run out of ammo fast, The sledge hammer will be your best friend. It is like whats Gears of war did with the chainsaw, but red faction does with the sledge hammer, somethings in your way, something irritating you? bring down the hammer and watch it fall!

controls - are very simple and easy to use, one button hit, one shoot, one change view, etc.

Sounds - are very nice on a lot of ends, the explosions, the shooting, the crumbling of structures are well done. Voice acting is not as bad also, definitely beats voice actors from dynasty warriors.

Multiplayer - 2 types of play, shallow customization, not too great.

be a close 9, but boring multi.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Intergalactic Game Flys High

posted by hazefan08 (SLIDELL, LA) Jun 15, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This is the best intergalactic I have ever played. It's graphics, guns, and missions are insane and suspenseful and will keep you going. The best parts are FREE ROAM and DESTRUCTION OF EVERYTHING!!!! It is agame worth buying. I bought before I even played. I'm addicted now. Trust me you won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Game Title so far this year in my opinion!

posted by JacktheDog (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Jun 4, 2009

Member since May 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I tend to be very critical of games, and while it is only my opinion, I don't hang on to games much anymore unless they really peak my interest. Being able to destroy just about anything in the environment had definately peaked my interest and made me hit the keep button on my account within 12 hours after beginning to play it.

Other descriptions and reviews will explain who you are and what you are doing on Mars, so I wanted to focus on gameplay and mulitplayer. The settings menus are well thought out and intuitive. The graphics are top notch in my opinion. All you have to do is compare the game's graphics to the ones from the demo and you will notice a significant difference in clarity and sharpness. You will feel like you are another planet. You start off with the hammer right away and are bascially cut loose on an uninhabited outpost to test it out along with some demo charges of course. Don't forget to pick up all that salvage lying around. Those who are used to a 3d person shooter will feel right at home, as there is no way to switch to a first person; although, a zoom feature with a weapon will make it feel more first person when you target enemies.

The environment is huge with missions and vehicles abound. There is even a tutorial with gameplay videos to explain some of the new features that other games don't have - such as jet packs in mulitplayer.

The multiplayer is also top notch, but be warned, that this game just came out, and so the on-line servers will be tested and overrun for probably a few months. I had no trouble finding an on-line game though, and being able to briefly fly through the air with a jet pack or run through a building with a rhino pack just never gets old.

Do yourself a favor and give this game a try. You will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Essentially Mercenaries with a different skin...

posted by GFR013 (MERRIFIELD, VA) Jun 8, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2004

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

but that's not necessarily a bad thing. I did mark it down a notch though because they took a great FPS (my favorite genre) and morphed it into a 3rd person shooter/adventure (which is not my favorite). With that single rant out of the way, pretty much everything else about the game is top notch

The graphics and sound are on par with most of the games from this gen. There's nothing really eye-popping (except for the scale of the explosions) but that is getting harder to do these days anyway. The 2 things that are going to keep you coming back for more are the scale of the game itself, and the havoc you can create. I'm about 9 hours into the game, but so far I'm maybe only a 4th or a 3rd way through the game itself. Granted I'm taking my time and doing a bunch of the side tasks, so if you concentrate on the main missions you could make it a much shorter game. The question is why would you? With so many buildings to blow up with mines, melt with the nanotech rifle or just knock down with the sledgehammer, why rush things? The variety of vehicles you can drive, the weapons you can obtain and tasks you can do keep the game varied enough as to not be boring. If your are tired of hijacking convoys, go rescue some hostages. If you get sick of blowing up buildings, go help defend a location, or raid another one. There are a couple of different types of mini/tmed games as well; one is based on blowing things up, the other is racing/driving game. All these, along with the usual trophy "fodder" (destroying X number of boxes or mining Y amount of ore) should give you enough to keep you busy for quite some time. Also, if you do get sick of the story, or just have a little time for a little quick destruction, there is a mini game off the main menu in which you and other players take turns to see how much damage you can do in a certain time frame.

So minus the minor rant mentioned at the beginning I highly recommend renting it (or at least giving the demo a try).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

RED FACTION GORILLA

posted by mike6399 (WEST ORANGE, NJ) Jan 10, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

RED FACTION GORILLA is a awesome 3rd person shooter.I thought the way to find the missions was pretty weak. The controls are not to hard.If you get this game be ready to search ALOT!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Red Faction: Guerilla / What could have been

posted by VGPlayVet (LUSBY, MD) Sep 12, 2009

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Basically after playing Red Faction for about 20 hours I feel like it plays like a GTA on Mars. You run around doing story missions or side missions to capture territory and raise morale. You can take out enemies with an assortment of weaponry, and drive a variety of vehicles. This all sounds like a winning formula, but it just falls a little short of being a truly great game.

One of the best parts of the game is the destructable enviroments. And while I was very pleased to see my first building come crumbling down, the physics just didn't seem right. For instance, some buildings would not collapse even with more than 80% of the walls destroyed. Not a major problem, but it just was annoying at times. Especially annoying when you are trying to take down a building with remote charges and you have respawning enemies gunning for you. Thats right, I said RESPAWNING ENEMIES. Why? Respawning enemies has got to be one of the worst game mechanics ever created. Which brings me back to the frustration involved with trying to use any kind of strategy. Basically, once the enemy has made contact with you, its either fight forever, or retreat. And trust me, they will keep coming.....forever.

What I would have liked to seen is the ability to blend in, use more stealth. I would have like to been able to sneak in and set my remote charges, sneak out and go get a nice view as I press the button and watch the fireworks. Again, I'm not saying this would be fun every time, but the option would have been nice. That is rather impossible because anytime you get near an enemy structure their radar will spot you and they will go into alert/attack mode, and here come the reinforcements.

In ending my review and running out of space, I will say that overall I did enjoy the game. I really think they have something to build on for the next Red Faction. Framerate was stable on PS3, textures were pretty good. The open, seamless gameworld is amazing. Worth a playthrough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

this game is worth ur time

posted by drew101 (FORT STEWART, GA) Aug 20, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

game is awsome so much to do and destroy nothing to hate about this game good game play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

excellent, destruction rocks!

posted by halghastia (KINGSVILLE, MO) Aug 13, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is the perfect game for players who, in their spare time, like to burn, break, or shoot things, this is your own personal nuke in a box. It is unbeleivably fun to destroy things with the sledgehammer, and its not a bad meele weapon, either. I used it until i got to the really intense firefights, then i chose the enforcer, but the sledgehammer is the most fun weapon in the game, then the nano rifle. When i bought the game i was anticipating laying EDF controlled cities to waste, but i was given some compounds, some large buildings, but most of them were scattered about around the map. But the game wasnt perfect. in the free-fire zone i was constantly being rammed by my teammates, which made the vehicle hard to control. also the nano rifle has unfair accuracy when zoomed in. For example, i can shoot flyers out of the air with it on the hardest diffictulty.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Red Faction: Guerrilla

posted by medic1098 (STANFIELD, NC) Aug 13, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is a cross between Grand Theft Auto and Resistance 1 & 2. It has ever thing you can ask for lots of bad guys to kill and all the action you can stand. The game has easy to follow missions and a good story line. The graphics are outstanding. This game is a must play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It was ok

posted by jdh989 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Aug 6, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It was ok, not very similar to the original red faction.. more like Merceneries 1&2.. online game play is pretty fun but takes for ever to get to the next game after the first is finished..(this coming from someone spoiled by COD4 online play) but all in all its worth renting on gamefly.. but i wouldnt say its worth buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

everthing on Mars feels the same....

posted by rogue1 (WARDENSVILLE, WV) Aug 5, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First off Im not going to thrash this game....its fun....well its fun for a while. I enjoy the whole destructive sandbox experience, but I gotta be honest....after awhile it gets pretty repetitious either destroy, protect, or resue. The missions start to loose there luster, and with it so does your passions. I found myself starving for some real point to all those missions.... it just didn't add up. Upon completion of a section you will be giving access to new equiment which will be provide to you by your fellow rebels.....the catch...you have to pay for them. YOU DO THE DIRTY WORK+HELP ALL THOSE THAT ARE INSLAVED= JUST SO THEY CAN CHARGE YOU FOR EQUIMENT U UNLOCKED...bad developers bad!! The whole get credits thing really drags down a already drug down plot..cause if you want to survive you better be packing some firepower...In the end I really tried to like this game but it felt like one of those Rockstar games that are made in between GTA. .......THANK GOD 4 GAMEFLY : ] PS the multi player is worth some gaming hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

RF:G All around Great Game

posted by Darrgoth (BRYANT, AL) Jun 9, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I gave this game an 8, because it is a great game but single player lacks in some parts. You have to do repetitive stuff in order to progress with missions, much like assassins creed. It wouldn't be too bad if the missions changed but it is either defend this place, take this car to this base, steal this or kill someone, and you have to do more than a fair share of that throughout the game. On the other hand massive destruction, destroying building and enemy soldiers alike with your sledge hammer is pretty wicked and the story is pretty decent as well.

Multiplayer is where this game really gets its stars from. The multiplayer is really fun. Very competitive and well balanced for a game with respawns. I am more accustomed to Socom and like round based matches better, where if you die in the beginning might mean your team will lose that round for you being stupid. Anyhow, the backpack system on the game is really inventive and ingenious and the different gameplay modes add a whole new flair to the game. It also is just about no lag what so ever online. In a room with 10-16 people with explosions going off everywhere buildings crashing down and you get no framerate or latency lag at all, except on a minor occasion for some players with a slower high speed net and that lag is very minor, some people may not even see it, happens every once in awhile when getting a hammer kill on someone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse