Rent Red Faction: Armageddon for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Red Faction: Armageddon

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.0

8218 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Red Faction takes a 180

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Jun 12, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

51 out of 61 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

THQ took a much different approach with Armageddon by creating a well made over-the-shoulder shooter with some intense action. They traded in the open-world RPG experience I loved in Guerrilla for a tighter level-based shooting experience. Because of that, replay value is low. The other online modes like surviving waves of enemies are all played out, and you'll get sick of that real fast. The other "Ruin" mode has 5 maps that you can beat in 30 mins. I missed Guerrilla's multiplayer format.

Armageddon is a shooting game, not an RPG. It feels like Dead Space in how you view the shooter, but you are much more well rounded instead of having just some sticky bombs and a maul. I found myself using the new Magnet Gun the most. Point it first at a large metal object like a car, then aim the 2nd shot let's say 100ft away at a group of enemies in the building, and watch the car fly 100mph into the building destroying the foes and everything in its path. This created some very unique ways to dispose of foes and pretty much everything in the level. It doesn't use ammo, so I had this nasty thing equipped all the time.

You also have a repair gun, used by holding LB. Anything destroyed can be repaired by this, simply to be destroyed again of course. So if you blew up the bridge to your area, just rebuild it like brand new. You can rebuild broken stuff and upgrade stations. Collect salvage to upgrade and equip/apply some sweet perks and upgrades.

You also have Jedi-like abilities and can manipulate energy by creating "force waves" to destroy anything in a path, launch foes in the air to pick off like Bulletstorm, or create a shield to stop incoming fire, etc. SO combine your Jedi powers with a boatload of new guns and explosives to create an unbelievable amount of destruction and explosions. And even with 1000 things all blowing up, I never had one freeze, blip, or lag from trying to keep up. Nice job THQ.

Milt Drucker
-gamertag-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Nothing new.

posted by ThInKiN (SANTA ANA, CA) Jun 11, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

17 out of 22 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

If you have stopped one invasion you have stopped them all. Armageddon is fun for a few hours by then the repetitive combat scenarios will leave you in the grind.

THE END

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun but not the kind of comeback i thought it was

posted by toilfoil (PEARLAND, TX) Jun 8, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

29 out of 39 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

I totally agree with the guy below me, moving it underground killed and the aliens were so annoying it just killed the games campaign. The cool factor would have to be the everything falls apart, and thats about it, The only other fun thing was ruin mode, which is a free roam blow everything up mode. The only thing is it costs 400 Microsoft points to get. All in all it was fun but i'm gonna stick with Red Faction Guerilla for now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What a dissapointment..

posted by thrashr139 (PARAMOUNT, CA) Sep 5, 2011

Member since May 2010

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

It seems like the game developers said, "Hey let's throw away everything that made Guerilla an amazing game and let's make this one way more repetitive!!" I played it about an hour and a half and got extremely bored, not even the destruction element makes it better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Horrible

posted by joshszos (RICHLAND, MI) Sep 4, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

compared to red faction guerilla this game sucks they took away the free roaming and vehicles and really ruined what could have been a great sequel

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Keep playing it will get better.

posted by psimpson18 (HYDE PARK, NY) Jun 13, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

When this game first arrived I didn"t know what to think, it was linear which is the opposite of Guerrilla. The starting missions are a bit repetitive but they they do help you get a feel for the new style of gameplay. At this point I took out the game and took a break for a day or two.

When I put it back in I was on the mission that was used in the demo, and that is where the story starts to pick up. The story started getting better and the missions get less repetitive. From that point I played straight through until the end because I wanted to see how they would end it. It turned out resolving the main issues that i had with it.

Pros: Great Story
Destruction is as good as the last game
Combat is easy if you upgrade certain abilities first

Cons: Repetitive at first
Story takes a few missions to pick up

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Wasn't fun.

posted by Bachtiger22 (PHOENIX, AZ) Jun 8, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

23 out of 34 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

Cons-
1:Aliens are not as fun to kill as humans because they are agile and annoying. (Also very unoriginal)

2:Moving it underground killed it. Your path is lain out for you so you can mindlessly shoot bugs on your way to an unoriginal objective. There isnt the choice to blow things up, get the authorities on you, drive around in a car, etc. It's just boring. (Also, falling into bottomless pits isnt very fun.

Pros:
1:Destructible environments. (Not new)

2:Repair ability

I guess I thought it would be more like Red Faction:Guerrilla, but new features. I enjoyed the first mission (where you fought humans above ground) the most. Do not buy this game, but if you want to see the new features, renting isnt too bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disappointment

posted by Hicksrch (LAFAYETTE, IN) Jun 9, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

17 out of 26 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

I don't typically do these types of reviews but this game was such a disappointment. I really enjoyed Red Faction: Guerilla for it's open world semi-nonliner story and freedom to destroy whatever you can get a sledgehammer on.

For some reason, the game designers decided to forgo everything that worked in the original game and replace it with a sub-par third person shooter with a linear story line and no open world.

I played this for about an hour before checking online to see if somehow it was going to get better. It doesn't. Only brightside to this game sucking so bad is I can send it back in time to get Duke Nukem!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Gets old real quick.

posted by BadLarry (DEER PARK, NY) Jun 12, 2011

Member since Jun 2005

13 out of 21 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Starts off decent with a couple neat concepts, but once you realize that you've seen every enemy by the third level, the game gets obnoxiously repetetive and you just want it to end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

surprising

posted by ajholiday (GOLDSBORO, NC) Jun 21, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

i must have missed out, i never got to play red faction guerrilla. a lot of critics were complaining about this game as it does not hold up to the firsts standards. well not having played the first i really quite enjoyed this game. the weapons are all quite entertaining (the magnet gun kept me happy the whole campaign) the campaign isnt too short, but not very long either. the characters are a little cliche but like-able. humorous dialog and the difficulty seems to stay fairly the same throughout. enemies start to feel a little boring after seeing them all and just blowing them all up over and over, buuuut. it was fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good game

posted by ssmonkey25 (TAMPA, FL) Jun 14, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

alot of people forget were red faction came from i played rdf 1 & 2 on the gamecube there was no free roam on that and i still played it alot so before you think that this game is bad play it and find out what you think of it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAME.

posted by JCD89 (HIALEAH, FL) Jul 2, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I dont know why everyone is saying the game gets boring, or that its so bad compared to the first. Its obvious that they wanted something different. But Atleast for me the game was extremely fun.

If you enjoyed the first one, its just as fun. The only bad thing about the game is that they removed the free-roam gameplay from the first game, but even with that the weapons and levels are still fun.

I also liked the fact that playing the multiplayer will help you unlock things in the campaign and vice versa.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GREAT GAME, RENT THIS!

posted by ggtggt (WEST PITTSTON, PA) Jun 8, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

9 out of 19 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

i loved this game, if you liked red faction gurilla.... you will love this. The olny thing bad about it is that the story mode doesent really have any free roaming anymore =(. But the graphics are great, the gameplay is awsome, and it is really fun. The story mode is pretty good too, i guess it kinda follows with every red faction. overall its a great game give it a try!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It was alright

posted by TheNyealator (CLAREMORE, OK) Jul 4, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The campaign starts off very bland and gets better. it seems like they tried to make the gameplay shorter by putting you in vehicles and making the gameplay quick and easy i personally myself found it entertaining enought to get 46/48 achivements for it but its a alright game the multiplayer is fun some maps require some teamwork others are plain easy

the downside of the game is that the campaign is a set road there is no free roam to the game

other than that it was an okay game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not a solid sequel

posted by Killplz (SPARKS, NV) Jun 9, 2011

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Doing something different and it did not turn out so well. The story is not solid, it's vary linear, not much to blow up. I say it's a Rent. But avoid buying this one. Sorry. Next Red Faction, make it a big world with lots to blow up, because that is why we play Red Faction!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

what were they thinking?

posted by caddieguy02 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jun 9, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

If u didnt like the last red faction u wont like this one...they took away all the free roam...u drive no vehicles at all...there isnt that much stuff to destroy as the last....the playing environment is tiny caves...graphics arent great and u just do the same thing over and over....to be honest i dont kno what the story was even about...

a game this bad should atleast have super easy achievements...most of the achievements ull need to work for, which sucks cuz they game isnt worth playing enough to get the achievements

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This title is ..bleep.. !

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Jun 9, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

7 out of 17 gamers (41%) found this review helpful

Normally , I give good detail in games show the game strong points... All formally and what not... BUT not this time.

Red Faction went from awesome to nothing in nano-seconds.

They took away ALL the vehicles.
They took away ALL the free roam.
You will are in caves(small, tiny maps) and the story takes about 6 hours.

The graphics arn't that great... I am still unsure what they spent this amount of time on doing.

I like Science fiction and a indepth of probability, but crystals on Mars. You do know Mars is mainly silicon right? A very soft/non-dense matter because there is less gravity on Mars.
Red Faction had an underground cave that had water in it... There is no water on mars... You have massive spiders(volcanic vents) with dioxide/compressed hydrogen in them... Mainly from the ONE ICE CAP that is constantly moving on the planet surface. Thats right -- One ice cap because Mars has a interval axis spin.

But beyond theoretical sciences... They took apart the game and just made it rhetorical.

You do the same thing over and over. You will constantly be waiting for the game to start. Then just be saying -- Is that it?
They had this real cool destruction engine and you forget its even there.

Multiplayer is basically just that... killing endless aliens over and over... See I think the developers were playing zombies on COD... AN was like -- Yea man, killing one thing constantly is fun. Lets make the game just like that.

So if you like running around in small maps, against a laughable enemy of aliens constantly comming at you--and if you think you might like it in third person--try this game. Because the story trails off into having no real point.
There isn't any real skill needed.
There isn't any tactics you need to have.
Just run around kill things. After 4 hours game is done -- Play it with Co-op of running around doing the same thing and voila YOU JUST MIGHT LIKE THIS GAME.
NOT ME... NO
I gave it a 4 .. FOR THIS TITLE IS %$&!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

REALLY BAD GAME!

posted by connorman001 (WILMINGTON, DE) Jun 8, 2011

Member since May 2011

8 out of 20 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

before anything else, I LOVED RFG, the mutliplayer was awesome and the campaign was too. however ive been playing RFA for about 2 hrs. and i have hated every minute of it. i can understand screwing up either multiplayer or campaign, but BOTH!?!? i was playing campaign and i was bored from the beginning. so after 2 hrs of a claustrophobic, dark, and repetitive campaign, i thought "this is boring, ill play some multiplayer to cheer me up!" only to fing out that there is no competitive (good) multiplayer. its a survival thing. have they seen how bad halo ODST's firefight went? i thought "oh well i guess ill try it". BUT WAIT! i have to download it with MS points (I HAVE GAMEFLY). i instantly sealed it up and mailed it out. VIOLITION REALLY MESSED THIS UP! THIS COULD HAVE BEEN A GOOD GAME! THEY BETTER NOT DO THIS TO SAINTS ROW 3!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun Experience! KABOOM

posted by CanadianVandal (SPRING, TX) Jun 8, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Like blowing stuff up? Then Red Faction: Armageddon is for you. Based on Planet Mars, an alien life form has escaped and has begun causing havoc on the population. The game is fun, but not amazing. Similar to Just Cause 2, every structure can be blown up. However, each structure can also be repaired. This ability gives you a feeling of great power. Cut scenes have great graphics and the story is interesting. However shooting aliens becomes repetitive and it takes a million shots to kill them, at least in insane mode. While the game play is fun, some missions are less exciting. Wish more action would have occurred on the surface of Mars instead of underground, it all begins to look the same. But the overall experience is very fun, Red Faction: Armageddon is definitely worth renting!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Awful

posted by vassilliz (ROCHESTER, MN) Jun 8, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

6 out of 28 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

Would give a 0 if possible

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

RED FACTION ARMAGEDON

posted by anthony78 (PUYALLUP, WA) Jun 8, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

3 out of 16 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

alright first of all have to say is this i would not go buy this game for 65 bucks if thq was smart they would have marked it at 49 it is worth the play if you are looking to beat the game in one day i rented it and was like ok its ok not great but thing i noticed witch it lags its like during gameplay u play and u can totally walk past the bad guys like fix the glitch dumb dumbs oh well so my rating would be about a 5 if that happy gameing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not Guerrilla? Not as fun.

posted by KrakenGrey (MIDDLETOWN, CT) Jun 9, 2011

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Guerrilla was fun. Whether it was MP, or discovering your OWN way of taking on a mission through all out destruction, the devs discovered a formula that was fun from beginning to end.

Then, they collectively decided that fun wasn't good enough, and they gave us the same old bull we see in every game that comes out.

No story, no freedom, no fun. Linear pointless shooting.

Sorry. there are too many games out today I can choose from that will provide something other than more of the same.

Games like Guerrilla.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

AWFUL

posted by tymmac007 (DREXEL HILL, PA) Jun 13, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

I played this game for about an hour and it's HORRIBLE. I thought maybe it just started off slow and would pick up but nope. If I could give it a zero, I would.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

the reasons red faction is alful

posted by killkilla (CANTON, MI) Jun 14, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 14 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

they messed up the campaign the multiplayer EVERYTHING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! DO NOT EVEN THINK ABOUT RENTING IT IS HORABLE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

free mode dlc

posted by shootandloot370 (GASTON, SC) Jun 7, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 35 gamers (6%) found this review helpful

We were all excited about armageddon but when we figured out about a rainbow deathray farting unicorn we all pre ordered. too tell the truth the only reason i play red faction is to make structres fall over or explod. not to kill or fight anyone i just wish there was a free mode where you could walk around blow up buildings with no time limit. if i had that i would knock over sky scrapers with killer rainbows rebuild it with the fix option with lb then blow it to pieces rebiuld it and make the ceiling fall rebuild and make it fall over while inside it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse