Rent Red Dead Revolver for PS2
view large frontback

Red Dead Revolver

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox
GF Rating
7.5

1589 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Rebirth of Western gaming

posted by cjizal09 (ELKTON, MD) May 1, 2009

Member since May 2009

12 out of 12 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Red Dead Revolver has many things going for it. The story is of the average revenge stroy, but not many games make you feel for the characters like this game does. Great voice acting takes it to another level and good animation also helps the feel of the game. The levels are amazingly detailed and there is literally no backtracking. You also take control of other characters as they all have different goals, but they all at some point meet eachother and join forces. The gameplay is just as good. There are dozens of guns, each level has you doing somethimg else, and each level feels different in every way. The bosses in most of the levels are fun and they take some thinking to defeat them. Though some bosses tend to make you feel awkward. The game is also filled with showdown events in a classic western fashion. The controls are just plain great! Though some things are a tad screwed. The multiplayer has tons of levels, characters, and powerups to collect, but there is no online at all. Also, some fights feel unfair due to cheap deaths and the occaisional we get all headshots enemy.There's just no denying the fact that this game has great set pieces, fun battles, great story, addicting gameplay, and when you throw in some offline multiplayer with some friends, you just can't go wrong.The game even has some emotional moments, and an ending that will make you go get the tissues. This game just screams extremely good and this must be in anyone's ps2 catagory.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game, I reckon, ifn ya like gunslinger tales

posted by makoeyes (EL CENTRO, CA) Oct 1, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is fun as heck. In fact, ignore my bloody rating, because I gave it that for a snobby reason: they don't name gun brands. Other than that, great game. It's got that old western cliche greatness, and it feels great when you sling a forty five and pull nothin' but head shots. Try it, stranger.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

the number one gun of the west.

posted by videochris (NORTH ADAMS, MA) Apr 22, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

15 out of 18 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Great storyline, multiple playable characters, great unlockables, huge variety of weapons. Whats not to love?

In Red Dead Revolver you play a cowboy, Red. Who is trying to get revenge for the death of his parents(cliche, who cares). The story follows him on his journey throughout the west killing bad guys and eventually killing his parents murderer. You get to use a variet of weapons, like different types of pistols, shotguns, rifles, knifes, and dynamite. You also meet other characters along the way that you get to play as, Like an indian, a soldier, and a farmgirl. All the different characters have different moves and weapons that you can use. Also, in the game you can ride horses which is also fun.

Other then the "story mode" There is "showdown" mode, which is multiplayer at its finest. There are different types of matches, a form of deathmatch, team deathmatches, showdown( duel) etc. If you do well in story mode you can unlock tons and tons of characters to play as or against in showdown mode.

the only things this game is missing or doesnt do right is :
it would be great if it had an online mode.
it could be longer, i can beat it in 5 hours now.
IT NEEDS A SEQUEL!

this game is made by rockstar games(gta,midnight club,state of emergency) but it is not urban gangster game like most of their games, it is a great western, that stays true to the setting, you wont be seeing uzis or gangsters in this. Outlaws are the bad guys you'll be facing.

this game is unbelievable and since its a greatest hits title, can be picked up for only $20. trust me, its worth it, go get it now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Red Dead Revolver

posted by champ20 (ROYSE, TX) Jan 3, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Dude I'm just going to get straight to the point. This is a game you have to rent if you want to have fun playing a shooting video game. I mean it has a fairly easy storyline to follow but I've seen better story lines. And that's the one thing that made this game not be a ten. It has all different weapons from shotguns to rifles to pistols and knives and dynamite and fire bottles. One last thing that I didn't really like about the game was that the first boss is kinda way too hard. But other than that the game is awesome. SO RENT IT PEOPLE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

hard but fun

posted by clayton (WICHITA, KS) Jul 20, 2006

Member since May 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

this game has its good and bad moments. there may be alot of guns but some suck bad. like the sawn off shotgun, were you half to be right in their face to kill them in one shot. beat the game and get that scorpion gun and for 6 guys you only need 6 body shots. overall the best western EVER.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Red Dead Revolver

posted by GAMER15 (MERRIMACK, NH) Jun 1, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is totally amazing! Sick guns! In this game you play as a cow boy named Red. You must get revenge over you father. This game takes place in he old west and you must have shoot outs and extreme good horse riding abilities. Just some tips: you have to be really good at vid games if you want to succeed in this game. you also want to be a able to play games with blood and violence bacause this game has alot of violence. So I would recommend not getting this game unless your 10 to 14 years of age or older.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game

posted by mrreview67 (WIMBERLEY, TX) Apr 15, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i thought it was a great game but the missions were all the same for example go to this town kill this guy kinda game but i still thought it was good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

the old west,.. old western style!

posted by kew13than (MONTICELLO, IN) Oct 25, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

without being hollywood, rock star pulled off an old western game with all the niche appeal. it might feel corny and tongue-and-cheek - but there lies the appeal. its stylistic in the same manner we refer to the works of our favorite directors. the gameplay jumps around from character to character for being as linear as it actually is. so there no abundance of free-roaming play, buts its gnarly and paced well. relive all the gritty goodness youve nostalgically watched for years.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great shootin', pardner!

posted by jgarbuz (FAR ROCKAWAY, NY) Jul 12, 2007

Member since Jun 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Excellent albeit challenging western shooter. Although GUN may be better overall, still, I wouldn't miss this one if I were you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

RED DEAD REVOLVER

posted by sandollor (APO, AE) Jun 15, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Other then the coolest game name I have ever seen this game has a great story, unique dual mode, fun gameplay, interesting characters. Starting someone on fire never gets old. The only downside? It's too short!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Based on 60's/70's westerns? Yeah, pretty much...

posted by RAWKUNC (HAMMOND, IN) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I went into this game after playing GUN, expecting something just as good... I was greatly disappointed. There was no free roam. the "Chapters" each featured a small closed level, and too much changing of characters. And the villains... incredibllllllly lame. At least in GUN the enemies could all be beat the same way... by firing your shooting irons at them. The whole game reminded me of a sci-fi gone bad. By the way, for those of you who don't know, MOST 60's and 70's westerns were terrible, and this game aint helpin there case.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome game!!!!!!!

posted by ManueL379 (SALINAS, CA) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

This game is way TighT it has way cool guns and plus it was made by RockStaR!!!(u know GTA)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Red Dead Let-down

posted by DangerGuy (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Aug 3, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

HOLY MOLY!!! For all the grand standing hype and rave reviews of Red Dead Revolver, you would almost have to expect a world of dissapointment: and to quote every shallow video game critic's review of every video game ever -- RED DEAD REVOLVER DELIVERS!!!

It delivers -dissapointment- in large boxes to your house every day and makes you sign for them. And while you're signing for your boxes of dissapointment, the Take Two Entertainment delivery man is smiling at you and saying, "We're sorry. Yeah... Yeah... So sorry. Yeah..."

You know all those high ratings and glorious praise you read about this game? My theory: bribery. Within the first five seconds of hitting the start key on this giant mistake of a video game, I'm sure that you will agree that either those critics were playing A DIFFERENT GAME, they were ON DRUGS while playing this, or Take Two flat out gave them a brief case full of cash and whispered, "You know what to do."

Hey Take Two, go away. Seriously. Shut up and go away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i love it

posted by anime3443 (NORTH STREET, MI) Jan 1, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

the game impressed me from the start. the characters all had there own fighting style which made the game more interesting and the story line was great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Spaghetti Western? More like a Limp Noodle!

posted by Zippertuck (NEW YORK, NY) Mar 7, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Based on most user reviews one would have thought this game to be better than average - it is not. The graphics are horrible and smudgy, the game engine is clunky, game play is anything but smooth and overall it is a very frustrating experience. One would expect more from Rockstar. Do not expect a Western GTA. This is more of a 3-D linear video game without much of a story and it seems all you do is shoot people. If you are expecting a Western GTA you are out of luck. Do yourself a favor and skip this. Quite a disappointment

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good not Great

posted by Tak911 (GULLIVER, MI) Jul 26, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

It is a good game, but if you want a western game get gun. That is awesome game and better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is so fuuuuuuuuuuuuun

posted by Chloe10 (LOUISVILLE, CO) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

This game is the best game ever I own and I have finished the whole 4 times who ever dose not like
this game sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

worst game ever

posted by pman98 (MUSKOGEE, OK) Jul 30, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

this game needs more gore and dosent need to be back then in the westeren times but out of all i give it a 2 i woulda gave it a 1 but its a little fun it gota 2 because that proffeser parry fight was the best boss fight ive ever had baetin ever well that and then the final fantasy v2 fight

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LOVED IT

posted by nightmarewolf (DOWNEY, CA) May 22, 2013

Member since May 2013

I love this game when i was a kid there was one level i could not pass for the life of me still cant today

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

RDR

posted by ImpendingTurnip (BANGOR, PA) Aug 24, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

I used to play this game with my dad all the time and i rented it for old times sake and it is amazing i love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Very linear, no story, and boring

posted by NekoTheKid (OLATHE, KS) Aug 14, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

Very surprised to play a linear Rockstar game, the sandbox set up always works out for them, they did not use it for Red Dead. Graphics are sub-par to the year it was made in, and really no story to follow or really care about

Bottom line, play GUN or Read dead Redemption, just skip over this blob of mess.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My childhood

posted by ccool123 (FAIRFIELD, IA) Aug 4, 2012

Member since Jul 2011


im amazed at how short and easy the game was compared to when i was younger but this game never stops being exciting, alot of people compare this to red dead redemption and say it sucks, but you have to remeber that this is the original, red dead is a great seiries and im hoping they make more, if you looking for a funny, action packed, short time filler than pick this game up and simply shoot stuff up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Tbonne Games Reviews- Red Dead Revolver

posted by TbonneGames (GULFPORT, MS) Jun 10, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

Red Dead Revolver was an awesome game! And if you think it sucks your only saying that cause it's old and has old graphics so stfu It was a great game. and it has multiplayer. A new game came out called Red Dead Redemption. I'm gonna be honest. If they remade red dead revolver with free roam, better graphics and online multiplayer this game would be better then redemption.
Not to menchon in redemption you got all these noobs using high power pistols. honestly it the old west and the cowards uses high power pistols. in the old west we use Revolvers! NOT PISTOLS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Be a cowboy baby!

posted by slicknick (Brooklyn, NY) May 9, 2012

Member since Oct 2009

This game is decent.its just short.the characters are cool as they always are in rockstar games.its not as good as Red Dead redemption cause you cant really explore. it has set-missions.and youll beat it fast.but worth a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BORING

posted by dadadadadadada (PORT CHARLOTTE, FL) Apr 16, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

htis is the worst game iv ever played LIttarly u dont get to do anything but stupid missions its very boring i dont reccomand wasting ur time downloading it unless u wanna play a boring boring game.HHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHskfgmnskjgfnbsjbgjhsdbfjhgsbgjsdbfjhgbhfuckifongjusgkiusnfdgkjnfskjgdnkjfbgiuaqbgjhbvsdjhfvvvvvvvvvvggggggggggggaooooooooooooooooooooooHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse