Rent Red Dead Redemption for PS3
view large frontback

Red Dead Redemption

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
8.4

21708 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game Through and Through

posted by LrdAzamoth (DOUGLASVILLE, GA) May 27, 2010

Member since May 2010

123 out of 132 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

Red Dead Redemption, The tale of John Marston through Americas Final Frontier.

The unproven western genre has now been proven. Red Dead Redemption offers countless hours of entertainment. Be it through the amazing Single player story. The fun and well balanced Mini games and side missions, or even better, The Multiplayer.

For people who may remember Grand Theft auto 4's Free Roam. Red Dead adds in countless things to do in free roam. Be it shooting up a gang hideout, evading us marshalls via horseback, or simply hunting some bears with your buds.

But the single player story is by far the height of the experience. The story is beautifully woven together. A very rare commodity in most todays games. After awhile you just kinda fall into the role of John marston as if you were in the game itself.

I have been unable to find anything wrong with the game, infact I think it's perfect in every way. I have come across very very few bugs, but most of them made me laugh hysterically.

So to sum up my review, I give this game a Ten for Perfection. All other western games here on out will without a doubt, be compared to Red Dead Redemption.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Brilliant game...

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) May 18, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

107 out of 122 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Red Dead Redemption is a continued game from a Playstation2 classic Red Dead Revolver... However, the new title Redemption is nothing like the first Red Dead title.
The game play is a lot like Grand Theft Auto IV, a lot of realistic motion, but with a greater area to Roam in and a lot more fun. The Multiplayer is very unique with a role playing `sense(XP points and Character exceeding abilities) with a variety of things you can do..

You play as John Marston.
John Marston has a bad history and trys to leave the history to rest. Instead of finding that peace in mind, John Marston is forced by Federals to help hinder his old accomplice. He travels far to figure how to bring his past to an end -- How ever he can bring his past to an end.

A well written Western, placing you in the rural Wild West. Now, unlike games like Saboteur by Panademic. RockStar Games knows there isn't 100s of people constantly walking around the country side at night.
The Wild West Rockstar conducted really brings to mind the obstacles people back then faced, beautifully. Rich, vast landscapes, inhospitable strangers... The motion detail in animation is superb in every thing too the tumble weeds.
Side missions include: bounty hunting, breaking(taming) horses, playing poker, herding cattle, hunting, holding up trains or strangers, and to even playing a game of horse shoes[tossing].

Multiplayer.... is hilarious, you select your character and that character can upgrade after ranking up. You start with a donkey el' Senor. You can get a horse later on if you like. As soon as you start multiplayer: They throw you into free Roam with other online players. In free roam you can either run around the World of Red Dead Redemption, shooting anyone `thing that moves. Or you can play strategic game modes that are Posse(team) orientated.

The game is really great, and I haven't mention all the co-op modes or other side missions.

Rockstar has produced a marvel, that is worth every penny of it.
Try it..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Glitches all over !!

posted by Skippy8477 (TELLICO PLAINS, TN) Feb 7, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As the title says glitches through out, but you don`t care.
The sheer wealth of fun crammed into this, for me" the best game i have ever played", makes the glitches fall by the way side.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

RDR FOREVER!!!

posted by ThInKiN (SANTA ANA, CA) Aug 29, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is one game you will not return. I 100% this game for my XBOX360 and now doing it for my PS3. RDR is one game you should have to play by law.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

There's a Reason It's Game Of the Year!

posted by cah150 (LOUISVILLE, OH) Aug 11, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The only introduction that comes to mind when i think about this game is, "I can't think of a single way this could be improved, subtract a few glitches." Yeah, sure it has it's bugs, but what game doesn't? It's realism is the best I've ever seen. You shoot a guy in the face, he dies. What about his chest? If you hit lungs or heart, Adios! Aside from combat, Your main character, John Marston, goes through a story so realistic it's RIDICULOUS! Not in the bad way, either! Even if the story sucked, which it doesn't, I would still get it because the personalities and expressions matched with the graphics alone would win me over. If you are looking for a great game, DON'T RENT THIS!!! BUY IT!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome game

posted by bowolf3000 (PLEASANT VIEW, TN) Aug 10, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

red dead redemption is a very amazing game & a lot of fun, now if you want to get this game I would highly reccament that you buy it, because it's actually pretty awesome, but long, as the description gamefly has told you it is over 20 hours of story line alone, plus theres the undead nightmare version, but thats actually a good thing because even if you beat the game you still have much to do, hunting , shooting, gambling, everything that you see in a western is right here, if you want to feel what it's like to live in the wild west but you don't have a clue where to get uraniam to power your time machine that you made out of an old car, just click buy om red dead redemption, buy it, wait a couple days, sit back, & live the wild west, & i would probably reccamend you downloading the 2 free add ons to red dead redemption before you get it, & you might want to buy a psn card or one of those X box 360 points cards & try to buy the undead nightmare add on & if you have any cash in your x box or psn wallet, get the small add ons for it as well. it's so amzing that the only way to get an even BIGGER western experiance out of it is to buy yourself an actual western outfit from a western store, a cow hyde lounger, & a horse, then play red dead redemption & play while sitting on the coy chair & wearing the cowboy outfit. it's that awesome, & if you not completely satisfied with it, then you can just trade it in for another game & I'll eat my cowboy hat, hope this was helpful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best single player experience ever.

posted by ChckNrris (ELIZABETHTON, TN) Jul 5, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

25 out of 31 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

Everything about this game is top notch. Amazing graphics. Awsome gameplay. Absolutely great story. This game had some minor issues with glitches but I rarely ever had a glitch. This game had one of the best endings ever in a game. And you could play this game for months and not get tired of it. Theres so much to do in this game. And after you finally beat the single player it dosen't end there. The multiplayer could be a game in it's self. I had so much fun playing this game. I look forward to the next one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DonHey's Reviews: Red Dead Redemption

posted by DonHey (FORT MYERS, FL) May 17, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

43 out of 58 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

~ NO SPOILERS ~

Red Dead Redemption is perhaps one of the best games of all time, ans is, thus far, the best game of 2010. I have a strong feeling, young Padawans, that this game is going to sell millions and millions.

The protagonist, John, has, like all NPCs, a character that is displayed beautifully through the game's wonderful story. The story isn't cheesy, cheap, or stupid. Of course, there's maybe one moment (in the beginning) that's a little dumb. But, other than that, the game is magnificent. It balances action, drama, and an unexpected chunk of comedy perfectly through it's cut-scenes and NPCs conversations with one another. To get a good laugh, stand outside a saloon to hear the drunken patrons' conversations. It's a hoot.

There is a TON of extra activities in the game. It's loaded with mini-games and side missions that will provide endless hours of entertainment. There are also "random" events that occur in some towns and on the roads. These include hangings, pleads for help, shootouts, gang encounters, highwayman checkpoints, and getting bamboozled by a seemingly harmless woman who is actually working with gang members to draw you in so they can attack you. You really never know what to expect, and it's that feeling that is oh so wonderful.

In conclusion, Red Dead Redemption has everything a good game should have. Only cons are that the player character (PC) runs a bit odd, and selecting weapons via the weapon-wheel can be agrivating sometimes. Still, I'd say this is a revolutionary game that has raised the bar sky-high. It is now probably one of my favorite games of all time. Rockstar did a fantastic job, and I wish every game developer worked as hard as they did on this game.

Combat score: 9.5
Traveling score: 10
Interaction score: 10
Variety score: 10
Weapon selection: 8.5
Side-missions: 10
Main missions: 10
Other: 10

OVERALL SCORE: 10 out of a possible 1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

TAKE NOTES GAME DESIGNERS

posted by RAMBOSOTE (TAMPA, FL) May 19, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

18 out of 24 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Simply AMAZING this game is by far one of the best i have ever played.
For the simple reason i love wester games and movies this game gives you control over anything you wanna do be a bandit or be an honorable person and uphold the law.
You can run off and and not do any missions and just enjoy youself killing all kinda animals ranging from wild boars to bucks and doves to coyotes wolfs and cougars and birds like owls and hawks and crows there are tons of different animals. The controls are hella easy to learn and use if there is any downside to the game is sometimes your horse will dissapear when you get off to skin some animals.
But other than that its such a fun game to play you will not get bored anytime soon with this tittle. I wanna give my thanks to ROCKSTAR games personally because to all other game designers this is how you make a game not rushed lots of tought into it and great substance.
Two thumbs up i would do more but i only have 2 hands :)

Thank you guys i LOVE THIS TITTLE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Love this game !

posted by BigEric (QUINCY, MA) May 19, 2010

Member since May 2010

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I use to talk to a friend about a game like this when GUN came out. I felt like that GUN was okay but it could've been so much more. This game feels like Rockstar adopted the Title from whatever company made the last one and Impregnated that game with GTA 4 's Semen and this is the miracle child. I have logged in about 18 hrs. online now. About 2 hours of Single Player. And I Fricken love it.
The gameplay is very much like grand theft auto but with Six Shooters, Horses and Moltovs. I have had very little lag online and no complaints about the Single Player. I recommend this game to everyone. This is definitely a game to buy............

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great western

posted by zoolandor (BLOOMINGTON, IN) Jun 2, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed the game a lot, It was the most complete game I have played in a very long time. It took the best parts of Grand Theft Auto and blended it into a seriously epic game.

Story: 8 : Good story- maybe DLC could do more with the ending

Visuals 10: Top notch looked great on my ps3

Gameplay: 9: My only complaints are cattle herding and accidently running into people and being wanted for it

Replay Value 7: After beating the game and doing a 100% run there wouldnt be too much replay for me, the multiplayer is fun but seems to be in its infancy and could use some work

Overall: 9 one of the best games I have played in awhile a must rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NICE GAME

posted by Taylormade (SPRINGFIELD, MO) May 28, 2010

Member since May 2010

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Whoever said this game has bad Gfx mayb your tv is broke idk but the grafix are great. and online play is fun too.. Someone said it was boring cuzz all you do is kill ppl well what do you do in any online shooter game? (Thats the point) the movement is reallestic and fun LOVE THE GAME Have 20 hours into it and im only 40% done if you beat the whole game in 30 hours or less your just sticking to the story line and not doing all the other stuff there is to do!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Surprisingly Good

posted by chocoboRum (GALVESTON, TX) May 27, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I am not a fan of Westerns and not a fan of shooting games at all, mostly because I find both of them insult my intelligence and take me for a mindless trigger-happy fool killing things for the sake of killing. Red Dead Redemption is both of these things, but without their base qualities. There is an adequate WHY to everything, and their focus on realism of the Old West, from the quiet contemplation under a setting sun in a field of wild flowers to the consequences of turning outlaw and selfishly getting your way with a gun, makes the gameplay meaningful and not some slaughterfest. There is also many other things to do besides wielding a barrel at someone's face, like card games, skinning challenges, horse races, and a plethora of others that will keep one engaged and fully in the spirit, nothing out of place or breaking the desired mood. It doesn't hurt that the lands are expansive and beautiful, probably the most realistic and natural of any open world game. And the citizenry and wildlife are just as believable and not forced. This all culminates into something that really deserves the high acclaim that many review sites have given.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

a must play

posted by GFtoocool (YAKIMA, WA) Jun 30, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

What can I say about this game? Well, it's amazing. This game has everything that a gamer could want. The characters and story aren't the most original but they are still great. The things you can do in this game are almost limitless, like starting a bar fight, kidnapping someone and putting them on train tracks, or getting drunk in a saloon, the options are many and they are all good. If you are the type of gamer who likes to play with friends online, this is the perfect game for you. Start an online multiplayer game and play with your friends, join in a posse or start your own, attack the many forts scattered across the map, or become a public enemy and see if anyone is man enough to fight you. The only downside to this game is the ending, why, because its the end of the game duh! It doesn't matter what type of gamer you are, this game is worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GTA in the Wild West

posted by Niftyifty (MARANA, AZ) May 22, 2010

Member since Jun 2007

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Well I should preface this by saying, i'm not really a an of any of the GTA games. They were always far too easy and filled with mindless violence. The type of game I would enjoy for an hour and then never have the desire to pick it up again.

This one is different though. I am compelled to play this game. So far I have been working my way through completing single player but I did give multiplayer a try and it was fun as well. Something to look forward to when my fame/honor are maxed in single player.

-Good graphics
-Plenty to do for everyone - if you dont like one type of activity there are plenty to choose from and your never really locked into doing any one sort of thing.
- Fairly decent story line which is surprising coming from Rockstar.

One of my favorite overall aspects of the game are the little things though. A good example of that would be, so far, they never explain to you that you can jump off a roof on to a horse but I jumped off a balcony trying to get away and randomly landed on someone elses horse and proceeded to ride away. Random encounters in the wilderness make the game feel more realistic as well.

Overall definitely worth a rent if not buy. If if your not quite sure if the game will be for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing graphics mix with amazing gameplay!!

posted by ztm21 (LEXINGTON, KY) Feb 8, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The graphics are really good in this game, especially for an open world game. The fellows over there at Rockstar really out did themselves in creating a world that the players can really get into. Little things like over-hearing bar conversations or reading the current events in the newspaper (much of the articles are about your deeds)! The voice acting is top notch and there are many different voices too. The controls are smooth once you get used to them and the story is a good 20-30 hours of play. I would recommend renting the game not buying because there is not much replay value.
The online free roam is fun too! But killing each other does get old.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Redemption for Dead is Red because of bleeding.

posted by MechanizedRob76 (WHITTIER, CA) Jul 27, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I recently signed up with gamefly and Red Dead REDEMP. was my first choice game to check out. This game is a combination of genre games married together. To make one great western saga. Which would be good to see as a film. Enough about that.

Lets break it down.

Story is really excellent I have not cared for a character in a game for a while. Ex bandit who ran with a gang who is trying to make a new life for him and his family. Anyways he is tuning a new leaf, or riding a different cattle drive. As we all know you just cant quit the people in the past life so you know trouble is a coming.

Game play: is similar to Rockstar grand theft auto with a few obvious differences. On foot you have a cover base shooter. The guns do not all reuse the sound bite over & over again. Each gun has a distinctive sound as if you were out on the firing range. Rockstar did their homework and it shows.
On horseback it is a lot harder shooting moving targets on uneven terrain. This is a draw back but if you use dead eye on horse back it will save your butt. This also goes for wagons and car.

The merchant system as Fur trader. You basically make your money as fur or skin trader always hunting for meat. The bigger the game the bigger the pay.
or Gambler: All sorts games to play for money.

Oh did I mention Fallout 3 FAST TRAVEL. Yes.
Sometime as gamer playing these open sandbox games what I hate is losing my life traveling between mission points. This is usually when I turn off the console, this why I have hard time playing grand theft auto .
Besides all the cool weapons you can choose on your weapon wheel I love the LASSO tool. Great for wrangling horses and bandits. When you are on horseback and you wrangle a bandit sure you can hog tie em but why when you can just drag the into town.
Multiplayer 8 player Excellent
Graphics: Excellent
Controls: good
Replay value: Yes

Lets put it this way if Clint Eastwood & John Wayne injected their dna to make a super cowboy it would be John Marston

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by homefront (SALEM, OR) Jul 12, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

best game in a while

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Red Dead Fun

posted by Dustin84 (SEFFNER, FL) Jun 10, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This game not only is fun but has a good story as well. With rich enviroments and deep game play you will spend hours alone just doing side jobs. I only have had one problem with the game freezing and minor glitches. Other than that the game is a solid 10 worth playing and is on my wish list.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

10lbs of Awesome in a 5lb bag

posted by Cerras13 (POPLARVILLE, MS) Jun 10, 2010

Member since Sep 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game has everything. Compelling story, fun quests and side activities, and a beautiful landscape.

The graphics go far beyond your average ROCKSTAR game and just draw you in. It's like being in "Once upon a time in the west" (if you havent seen that moive, go watch it!).

Besides a few graphics glitches here and there I really have no complaints on this game.

Now ROCKSTAR needs to make one just like this, but about pirates :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing, simply, amazing

posted by DropADime (TAHLEQUAH, OK) Jun 8, 2010

Member since Sep 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I don't even know where to begin. There are so many things you can do in this game....Be it texax hold'em, blackjack, dice or any other gambling game or maybe you want to be a bounty hunter? You can do that too! Perhaps you would like to be a treasurer hunter? Oh maybe instead an outlaw, robbing trains and innocent citizens of their hard on cashed? Oh maybe you want to be a hunter and kill animals and sell their fur? Or maybe you would like to be known as the fastest gun in the west by gunning down every man who is dumb enough to challange you to a duel?!?!?! Well with this game you can do all those things!!! and so much more.
All the things I just mentioned are only the side missions and things you can do if you just get bored with the main storyline!!! I mean this game is so huge that is very hard to get bored with it. The graphics on it are amazing (although sometimes glitchy).
The only opening in this titans armor is perhaps the story itself, it is sooooo long that you often find yourself saying heck with it and just going off and wondering around to entertain yourself.
What grand theft auto did for the mob life, this game will do for the wild west. It makes everything seem so real and in your face, and frankly just makes you want more western things...I think I am going to go watch Tombstone now!
Final verdict? Rent this game if you have a pulse!!! Buy this game if you are a fan of any of the following: Westerns, Grand Theft Auto, and shooting people!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

one of the best games of 2010

posted by frankie255 (PARK CITY, KY) May 27, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

the funnest game i have played in a long time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW

posted by knif3call3 (HUGOTON, KS) May 21, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is very impressive. The single player is legit and the side missions are pretty cool. However, the multiplayer free roam is pretty good, but it lags badly. My friend and I were playing private free roam, and there were many times, at long lengths, where no bird, rabbit, or any animals would spawn. The public free roam is good, but the spawn sucks cuz u pretty much spawn where you died, giving people free kills. Hopefully after this update, the good game will be great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

a truly MUST-HAVE!!!!! (if u have multiplayer.)

posted by viper3400 (NAVARRE, FL) Jun 8, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Everything in this game is fantastic! The only flaw are the glitches. But everything else is awsome! If you like long story modes that actually tell a story, then you'll love the story mode. But the main sorce of the awesomeness is the online multiplayer. If you dont like playing online or dont have online connection, you SHOULDN'T buy this game. Unless you like doing long story modes over and over again.

Weapons: 9.8
Story mode: 9.9
Multiplayer: 9.99!
Mounts: 9.7
extra games (including poker, blackjack, horseshoes, etc.): 9.9
Characters: 9.7
Average: 9.8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game design but the story is a sleeper

posted by JayRidge (BROOKLYN, NY) May 31, 2010

Member since Apr 2007

9 out of 18 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Lucky for me, I did not watch any gameplay trailers or previews for the game and jumped into this thinking that it's going to be a GTA clone out in the West. It isn't so much a GTA clone but completely redoing the experience by giving the world a serious landscape, the sunrise, sunset and the stars in the sky look great. The controls are dramatically improved, too, not like GTA4 where the character felt heavy.

The horse controls get pretty easy after a while and moving from town to town is accomplished with fast travel using camp site, no more trying to cross bridges and boroughs to get to the objective, then dying during the mission and having to get there again.

The part where this game doesn't live up to hype is the story, the dialog is pretty good with great voice acting, but the story is just really boring. The missions are well paced but they get pretty tired and boring after a while. The other quests like hunting down some bad guys for cash gets old as well. The funny stuff in the old GTA's are gone, the madness of the missions or free roaming disasters are gone too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse