Rent Red Dead Redemption for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Red Dead Redemption

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
8.5

34083 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

7th Generation at best

posted by micdanchris Jun 17, 2014

Out of all the games of the 7th generation of consoles this is among the best of them!

Game of the year 2010 for sure
Beats Grand Theft Auto V by a long shot
Rockstar's best game
Overall Perfect Game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

pathetic, GAMEFLY SUCKS

posted by broadwaystevie (Lincoln, IL) Feb 26, 2014

Member since Oct 2012

iduuno who these azzh0les r but 20$ should get more in a month than 2 games, while i send them off every other day. seriously thinking of canceling account will get better deals from purchases, maybe by a NEW compeditor. so sad to see the workforce at such low standards;[

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I freaking love this game

posted by western_warrior (HOBBS, NM) Jan 25, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

this actually a really good game good job rockstar you have redeemed your self from all you bad games ( every GTA)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

it was great!!!

posted by jj530655 (CORALVILLE, IA) Jan 10, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

so I may sound bad but I love killing civilians and I feel its cool because you can kill them but the shreff comes to find you if your spotted kinda like ac4 another game I own. I recommend you get this for high-schoolers because its pretty bad for kids. I actually recommend no m games till age ten not 17 cause parents out there don't do that to your kid 10 good. because their friends play them and they wanna play them and it just isn't right for them but never ever ever get gta 5 or 1-4 its got woman in it who are raped and abused I don't even get it and im 25!!!!
plz leave thumbs up so more can see great parenting advice!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Squandered Potential

posted by Deacon_Rayne (QUINCY, MA) Nov 14, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

A cute game with some clever dialogue and a decent story, but side missions like ranching, herding, and the like proved frustrating to the point that I just chucked the whole thing.

Whilst these side missions are not essential per se, they do open up a great deal of plot material and to have them hinge on such things as attempting to manhandle a herd of horses this way and that is really not fun.

In short, when I signed on, my interests were pretty simple, if somewhat juvenile; revenge against those that have wronged my character, hunting down criminals for money and essentially living out every Clint Eastwood fantasy I've ever had. Playing rancher was not in the job description.

I like my westerns in the style of "Deadwood". Stop mixing plot elements into this "Little House on the Prairie" BS, it's irritating and unnecessary.

Better luck next time Rock Star.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

over hyped

posted by GamerDawg (SCOTTSVILLE, VA) Jul 12, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I had great things about this game but it didn't live up to them entirly. the shoot outs were the best the best partbesides using those machine guns every now and then. but the worst part that made me want to send this game back was the save locations becuase to save you must first go to somwhere and buy that bed. so for it got really boring traveling to the next safe. this was due to the fact that you seemed to go pretty slow when traveling. the story was pretty good but to prolonged. the graghics i heard really things about but they were okay. they were not terrible but they were not that great either. another thing the wildlife was nice with the hunting and all of that but there were no snakes. in wild i'd imagine you'd run into a couple of snakes and a maybe they'd bite and kill your horse. and know talking about the horse, it was kind've messed up to. if a cuager killed your horse you could whistle for another. you should have to get a new one. but the game is fun with the shoot outs and the random quest were a guy getiing robbed or something. but there wasn't any random quest for you to lose honor just gain it. still a good game though you should still play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

amazing

posted by sportslover34 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jul 6, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

Red dead redemption is the best game ever. the game doesnt limit u to any thing. You may do as you wish and as you please.Im going to rent this game for the 3rd time that is how amazing this game is. I can hunt, play card games and the best of all is doing bounty missions. I reccomend this game to all of my friends. I hope this helped

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME!!!!!!

posted by Dukesfan (CYPRESS, TX) Jun 21, 2013

Member since Jan 2012

This game is awesome, especially as a Western, thanks to its side-missions, story, open world, gameplay, gunplay, economy, missions and characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Could have been better.

posted by Johnnc (PISGAH FOREST, NC) Jun 8, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

There are several problems with this game. From confusing and counter intuitive controls to the complete lack of an on disc manual or any kind of help system. Tutorials are Very short (like a few seconds) and only display once. The character also apparently cannot swim becuase entering water kills you. I found myself reloading my saves so often that it took up a large portion of my game time. The lack of a traditional save system is quite irritating. The requirement to place a campsite at an absolute perfect spot is also trying. I saw the 'dead' screen quite often and usually from rediculous circumstances. The graphics and music are great and the game can be fun sometimes but it suffers from far far too many shortcomings in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best western on the market!

posted by msr419 (MOLALLA, OR) Jun 5, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

Getty up for hours of fun in the Wild West! Other then a few glitchy parts A-/8 single player. Multi ok kind of simple but vas C-/6. Would have gotten higher single player rating but there is know way to receive honor in the game after u finish it. So u have to play it again to get the 100% completion achievement if u did what I did and not wear a bandana while committing crimes and accidentally shooting civilians. Don't forget to wear that bandanna

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Confused why everyone raves about this game

posted by drock1 (CHARLESTON, SC) May 3, 2013

Member since Feb 2011

My biggest issue is with the controls - I abhor cutscenes you can't skip but can take damage in. It's horrible. The character controls were worse than the first Tomb Raider in like 1996. Getting stuck on things. Not being able to turn around without moving forward before turning. Horse randomly dies. Horse and character see 1 foot step as insurmountable cliff. The world is wide open, but is really just filler between cities/towns. Story lines were separated which made things hard to follow and honestly were just bland. Some of the missions were terrible. One was follow some one riding really slowly (everyone rides really slowly and you most times you can't ride ahead of them) to a location "bantering" along the way. Get there. Cut scene talk to push the plot forward in foreseeable, uninteresting manner. Dead-eye ruins things. There's no difficulty gradient. The missions are either ride to, or kill/capture someone in a different location Follow same slow rider back to original location. The challenges were interesting for the first few then got repetitive and were hard to keep track of despite the in-game tracking system. Voice acting - especially when you control his son who which is really annoying - was laughable at best. A lot of things were time dependent yet there's no real good way to advance time. Saving the game adds around six hours of in-game time, but that's annoying to constantly do. Fast travelling adds variable amounts. Lots of glitches: flashes on the screen, multiple times I had to restart my xbox because the game got stuck in a loop on a cutscene eliminating anything I hadn't saved. And the horse-calling. Don't get me started. Some times it runs away from you. Sometimes it runs around you. Sometimes it stands still. Maybe 10% of the time it actually comes to where you are. Half of that 10% it carries your momentum, the other half it stops or has you run in an opposite direction.
I don't understand how everyone loves this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

RED DEAD REDENPTION

posted by B1b25S23e5t19 (FORT LAUDERDALE, FL) May 2, 2013

Member since May 2013

Nice game. Good color graphics. I just didn't understand how to use the control cause the wording when, it came to showing what buttons to push on my wireless Xbox controller I couldn't see what each letters on the screen. All in All it was just a new game I wanted to play on my Xbox since I have no games to play on my Xbox that I likes to play.Nice action game to play if you understand the objectives of the game. Following the map was complicated since I've never played this new game on my Xbox before.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Perfect Game!

posted by HoustonRiot55 (FLORENCE, KY) Mar 17, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

No game ever has ever been able to pull you into a world like Red Dead Redemption does. Many companies have tried to make Western games, a few have been good but none have been able to make you feel like an outlaw or a cowboy. Rockstar in my opinion is the best gaming company because of their other perfect games such as Grand Theft Auto, L.A. Noire and Max Payne. With such a stellar record, making the greatest Western game ever seemed destined. Everything about this game is amazing. The single player is one of the best stories a game has ever told, telling how an outlaw named John Marston who left his old gang to become a better man and be the father he never could be to his son Jack and wife Abigail, but this is all ruined when Bureau agents kidnap his family and force him to kill the 3 other members of the Dutch gang, his former family. The way this game pulls you into the Wild West is unprecedented, travelling from one side of the map to the other could take quite a long time being that you go from the modern town of Blackwater, to the gang haven of Thieves' Landing to the classic Western town of Armadillo to the civil war torn Mexico with dozens of towns in between. I could go on and on about the perfect Singleplayer but it would be a sin if I didn't boast about the Multiplayer as well. Most games with such an expansive Singleplayer just throw a few Multiplayer modes in to keep the peace. Rockstar being Rockstar does nothing of the sort. They made the lobby the entire map of the single player, free to kill and take down gang hideouts, not to mention the modes such as a Mexican showdown, The Good the Bad and the Ugly style and so many other to name. All in all this is the greatest game I've played to date and I recommend this to anyone who loves Westerns and anyone who loves amazing games in general! I give this game a 10/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

guns dont kill people ... but they do help

posted by headzombie1 (EDGEWOOD, TX) Mar 6, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

this game is a epic tall of redeption as u join a man... with everthing to loose... john mairston... is after the men who left him for dead.....2 times.....and if he fails his famley will pay u will travel over mexico ... and the usa ..to save ur famley... in the end.. it proves that thares always a choice and thera not aleays a secon Chaince..ps.. this is my first review

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Rockstar Game Made.... So far

posted by Milkweed33 (DALLAS, TX) Jan 7, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Best game I've probably ever played. Good story line and fun game play. I've literally played the campaign 6 times and I'm waiting to play again as soon as it comes in the mail. Check it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Could be a 10.

posted by lonewolf1991 (WINDER, GA) Dec 27, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

The only reason why this game gets a 9 is because there are several glitches, but still really fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Rockstar does it again...

posted by desolate23 (LAWTON, OK) Dec 26, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

Rockstar greets us to a brand new wild west game of red dead redemtion. The first good wild west shooter since GUN. while Rockstar continues to push really good game of the year material games out the door with other franchises of Midnight Club, GTA, and RDR. I urge Rockstar to create RDR2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME EVER.

posted by mntpowder (MECHANICSBURG, PA) Dec 21, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

Period.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Game is good

posted by brett83501 (LEWISTON, ID) Dec 15, 2012

Member since Dec 2009

Game was going great until I hit a snag where I was supposed to follow this guy Seth on a horse from a graveyard and he kept out running me even when I was cutting accross fields to keep up with him. And once he gets so far away from you the mission is automatically over and you have to keep trying agian. After about the 8th try and he still kept outrunning me I figured I would send it back and try a differnt game an come back to this game sometime in the future.
The gameplay was good and an interesting story line. My only complaint is the horses are sometimes hard to control they don't turn around easy and they won't run down a small hill, but you get off and slide down it and call the horse and it runs right down the hill to you. That was my only main complaint with the game on the first try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A really good game.

posted by MrJames4u (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Nov 24, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

Best game Rock-star developed, way better than GTA IV. The western style gives the game play a lot more meaning and depth of it's previous games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I was blown away....

posted by jnordby (BOISE, ID) Nov 14, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

The thing I loved about RDR was,well,everything.First off the game has beautiful scenery and graphics plus the voice acting was amazing;you can really get into the character's lives.The only thing I wouldn't like is that there are many glitches that aren't to hard to find out about.Second the multiplayer.The multiplayer was not just something like CoD multiplayer to were you just level up by killing,there is so much to do,(personally) I find it hard to find anything boring to do.Because you can either grab a couple of friends and go hunting, sky diving, and of course killing one another and/or just dominating every other player.But since I haven't talked much about the singleplayer experience,this review isn't over.The singleplayer really makes you feel like an actual cowboy back in the Wild West,you can feel the emotion that John feels throughout the story,oh yeah that's right the actual story.Well the story isn't something really short like Mafia II there are many missions to complete but also,a down side, there is way to much horse riding and this isn't horrible but does get kinda exhausting to go through it all.Also you know how I said it was long,well I'm not quite sure but it's like 21 hours of gameplay,I know what your thinking,thats quite a bit.Anyways other than the flaws the dlc's were also great,so basically it's probably the best 3rd person sandbox I have ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game

posted by atoosay (NORTHRIDGE, CA) Nov 8, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

This game is very fun, even when it becomes very repetitive once you get the story going it can give a trill. The only problem I had were its minor glitches which annoyed me. But the shooting, horse riding was excellent. The story line was fun, you meet interesting characters that make you help them as you go along your own journey. I really do feel like I'm in the wild west playing this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

My review of Red Dead Redemption

posted by awsomemanperson (SANDY, OR) Nov 5, 2012

Member since May 2012

The game was a little glichy but it was good.

Why did you take so long to get the game?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game but

posted by Thenickster4912 (NORTHRIDGE, CA) Nov 3, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

The game is very addictive but after about three days of game play the game does get a little boring. It needs some type of BAM!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Red Dead Redemption - XBOX36o

posted by Nitro1957 (MODESTO, CA) Nov 2, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

I love the Red Dead Redemption. I have beaten about 5 times now. It is a awesome game. But there are some things wrong with the game that I don't like. I picking flowers - why! And the wild animals. They don't just come after you for no reason. And you get killed are you house. Because of them. And John did everything he was told to do. And he gets with his wife and son. And they do things together. But after John did everything. They come and kill him. WHY!!!!!. But other then that the game is awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse