Rent Red Dead Redemption for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Red Dead Redemption

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
8.5

34086 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Almost a 10

posted by Rob1989872 (BUCKEYE, AZ) May 20, 2010

Member since Nov 2005

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have to say this exceded my expectations, and i have only played the single player so far.

Graphics/animations are very good, the terrain out in the open country gets a little repetative after awhile, but what can you do with a bunch of rocks and cactus!! Very good considering how much open terrain there is.

Missions are fun and varied. moving from known location to location is a nice add-on.

The only problem I have to nit pick on is the control for switching to a different weapon. Find it sort of hard to switch in the middle of a fight while running around or on a horse, to switch to a different weapon. for example shooting the gun out of some guys hand and then switching to the rope to hog tie.

I would give it a 9+, just short of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by HollandJ (MADISON HEIGHTS, MI) Jul 14, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

One word.....Amazing...This games has an enormous free roam environment with incredible graphics. The gameplay, the graphics, the voices, everything captured the essence of the wild west. This game is Amazing. Rent it, Buy it, do what you have to do but you have got to play this game.

- J

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Red Dead Redemtion review

posted by Bronco2000 (MCCOOK, NE) Jul 13, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Red dead was awsome never have i had an experience like that i wanted to watch some clint eastwood the whole time i played nothings better than shooting a guys hat off the gun out of his hand and the legs out from under him before he even has the chance to draw arms the horse back was a awsome change of pace from gta put the mechanics were real easy to pick up on after 100 hours of gta the hunting makes it so your almost never board even once the game has closed u can take down 35 bears or catch all so and so species found across the vast very realistic landscape that u find everywhere in the game the duels were difficult at first but u start to catch on i played poker almost every day of game play but rarely did i use the fast travel my game time was prolly longer than most through the story line cuz i traveled every were on my horse taking down wolves hawks most of the stuff u can dream up to shoot with out cabelas take three days to get a freakin buck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

red dead repedetive but fun

posted by wolfenstei (GRASS VALLEY, CA) Jul 8, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you like grand theft auto and the old west then you will love this game. after you beat the story mode you have sidequests to do which are not that fun. The online good and decission to be a outlaw or good guy is cool andover twenty five different guns makes this game a deffinite buyer. The game gets repetitve after a while and while hunting if you die all the stuff you got from annimals is lost.

storyline 9\10
weapons 7\10
online 10\10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

red dead redemtion

posted by Crimson91 (EMPIRE, AL) Jul 8, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is rockstars best game they have ever made it rock the universe!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing game!

posted by CatsOnFire (HONEOYE FALLS, NY) Jul 8, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have rented this game for over a month, and i still have been playing it.
Its so great! The graphics are amazing, and the landscapes are like the actual old west! The gameplay never fails to amaze. A must get!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

So So Close to perfect...but still a 10 in my book

posted by ironhead (ANDERSON, SC) Jul 6, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ok...lets start of by saying that I had lost all hope in Rockstar after all the GTAs after San Andreas. The games just became repetitive...but after this game. Rockstar has won me back.

To be honest, there were almost 0 flaws in this game except for the occasional random freak glitch. The glitchs never affected the game though for me. The targeting system was slighty more player favored making it almost to east at times, but I did notice that you could change it if you so desired. The story line was great. The voice acting amazing! You really feel like you are in the story yourself. The only con, which did take away that perfect 10 is the multiplayer connection issues. It may be just me but i only was able to get in a game one the entire time I had the game. When I did play though it was very fluid and well done. Slightly confusing on what to do but very fluid. If give decimal subtractions I would just take away like (.15).

One thing I wish was added to the game...(THIS IS JUST ME BEING PICKY!)...was RPG element. It would have allowed for a more strategic approach to how someone would play the game. (This did not affect my final rating.)

This game has given me a breathe of fresh air for gaming. I was on the edge of losing confidence in games but now I have a whole new outlook on them. Very Very VERY well done!

Summary:
+ Everything is perfect
+ Storyline
+ Voice acting
+ Controls
+ Graphics

- Multiplayer Connection Issue
- 1 or 2 Tiny tiny Glitches

Rent or Buy = Buy
Final Rating = 9.85

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Cool Game

posted by Killer26 (COLDWATER, MI) May 27, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

The only flaw of the game is no quit option you have to save it and dashboard it but other than that its very good. Multiplayer mode is very funny to play enjoy the game everyone

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by sword86200 (BROOKSVILLE, KY) May 25, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

this is an awsome game i suggest everyone play it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very great game.

posted by Hippiex (EAST DUBLIN, GA) May 19, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

This game can be compared to GTA but in the wild west. It exceeded my expectations and this game is a must buy!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game but with some poor menu and level design

posted by Zaho75 (THOUSAND OAKS, CA) May 19, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

12 out of 32 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

The so long time anticipated game from Rockstar is finally out. I am sure many people were impatiently waiting till the date when they can grab the disc and pop it into their console. Here's what I found out and what my impressions were:

Graphics: 9 - very modern up to date and what's expected to be for a game released in 2010. Beautiful landscapes etc. The game though appears to be a bit dark at times, especially at night scenes even with the Display's contrast and brightness controls cranked all the way up.

Controls: 8 - fairly smooth "ride". It doesn't take too long to learn, a bit more complex than it should be. To be simple is the key. The Reload button is "B" not "X" as most games. NO OPTION to remap buttons or not even alternate manufacturer options.

Sound: 9 - You can hear everything. Sounds are distinct and well placed in perspective. You can control the volume of the Music or the Sound Effects only, but not the Dialog, although it hasn't been necessary so far. Some sound design elements do not match up quite right. It is still to be desired in this field in the game industry and it is still far beyond from what the film industry is.

Menus: 5 - They took a great deal of care to program all kinds of tracking records for the player in both Single and Multiplayer, but somehow they did not even consider to put QUIT GAME or EXIT in the menu!!!. You literally have only one option - abandon game by going to Dashboard. It's like pulling the plug. NO SAVE GAME. You have to be in your room and sit on your bed or make up a camp in the wilderness in order to reach the save slots. Nothing in the Pause Menu! If you fail to save and you are chasing a gang member for bounty and get killed, you'll wake up in your room and have to ride all the way back to the scene.

Overall - nice looking and sounding game, fairly smooth controls, but poor menu and level design as far as checkpoints and saving/exiting the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GTA in The Wild West

posted by jvivlemore (ROSEVILLE, CA) May 20, 2010

Member since Jul 2007

5 out of 15 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I'm a huge fan of the GTA series so I decided to give this game a try. I will start before I review the game by saying that I'm not a "Wild West" genre gamer but as a fan of the GTA series I decided I'd try this out because I was addicted to GTA.

The graphics are pretty good. I've seen some reviews saying they are amazing but I wouldn't go that far. Graphics in the distance are great, however, up close are just what you would expect from up GTA.

I've played about 3 hours so far and the horse takes some time to get used too especially stopping (Right Bumper BTW). I ran over someone I was doing a mission for so failed that one immediately and if you're impatient and speed up the horse too much you'll get thrown off. The Horse was fun and a pain at the same time. If you haven't been to an area yet and can't "fast travel" there yet by setting up a campsite where you're at you'll have to travel there to discover it first. It seems like it takes forever to get anywhere which is a downfall. They show cars but I've yet to be able to find one or drive it (I'm assuming you never do and they probably would be as slow if not slower than the horse).

The gameplay is exactly like GTA. You'll do missions for various people and there are sidequests everywhere like picking flowers and hunting. I'm 8% of the way through and I've played for 3 hours so it appears you get a good amount of gamefly out of the game like other GTA titles.

In the end I'm impressed with the concept of the game, however, I'm not BLOWN away. It was hyped quite a bit and I don't feel it lives up to that. Yes, It's fun. What other game can you lasso a nun and put her on train tracks? The game has a lot of slow moments which kill the momentum and mood of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game in a long time!

posted by Steve76 (WEATHERFORD, TX) May 23, 2010

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

If you like the Godfather, Mass Effect, and GTA, you will love this game! It really is the best game I have played in a long time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Just a great game.

posted by 1010111 (COVINGTON, LA) May 23, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

With the best plot I've seen in a long time, near perfect graphics, and great gunplay this is the best game I've played all year.

You take control of John Marston, an ex-gang member whoose family has been kidnapped by the US government and are forcing him to give them his services as a bounty hunter which lead you through a bloody campain through a ranch, a Mexican civil war, and a professor's exploits in a land he has no place in.

The great part of that is that there is a plethera of great side missions and odd people to pass you time apart from the main campain.

The controls are good for the most part. The gunplay is better than most shooters. Unfortunatly, the movement control is sub-par (as in you have to do a large circle just to turn around), but shooting while on a horse is so fun that it pretty much would have made a game by itself.

The one real drawback is the cheat codes. After beating the game I decided to put a few in, but they don't work. I did unlimited ammo, but ran out of bullets, I did invencability, but was killed and so on.

One extra thing is that you should find a newspaper salesman anytime you can, it has cheat codes(the ones that don't work, but are fun to look at), the articles have a funny take on events of the day and on you exploits as well as things about old aquantances after you part ways.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

just make sure to player in private on multiplayer

posted by krmkse (HIGHLAND, IN) May 23, 2010

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

the single player is great...except for a few 3rd person view flaws (no zero radius turn around)

multiplayer is a blast...if you go to the private one with friends. the public multiplayer is annoying because people wont let you finish gang hideouts to gain xp... they just sit there and wait for you to spawn and then shotgun you from behind or snipe you.

if people would stop being jerks online (which will never happen) then the public multiplayer would be awesome.

id buy this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

C'mon guys chill out.

posted by cabheat (OTTAWA, KS) Jun 19, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

7 out of 23 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

Guys Guys Guys... Relax, this game isn't half as good as everybody's making it. I've always been the biggest fan of all the Grand Theft Auto's and this game is basically the same thing just back in time a bit. I played about the first three missions before I became tired of it. Tied for the best game on this site with Mass Effect 2; I would recommend Mass Effect 2 one million times over this game.

The Good

Great graphics
good plot
different

Bad

TEDIOUS
boring
riding on horses for way too long

Final verdict; If you like western themes; you'll most likely like this. If you like westerns and GTA, you'll LOVE THIS... If you like GTA but not a fan of westers, just stick to GTA it's the same thing but modern. Overall its' only for certain people, and i'm not one of them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

an amazing game

posted by skulkruncher122 (ROANOKE, VA) Nov 28, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Red Dead Redemption seems to be a verry great game.Wide open fields and wonderful plains give you a great feeling you dont have to have a big tv to experiance this. The game has a great opening sequence and a long campaign with lots of different things to do my favorite part of this game is its alot like the gta series it has a lot of violence and fun in it. It has a great storyline kind of like a western movie. Tthough there are some things i dislike about it like the fact that there are no cars and or any othe technology but what do i expect this is the old west. On a rating from 1 to 10- 10 being great I would give this game a 9.5 its amazing game and fun with friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Definitely a good game, a few hiccups

posted by fredthebeagle (LANSING, MI) Nov 15, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This was a very good game. For a novice video game player, its very easy to get through without pulling your hair out. There is an "auto-aim" feature that helps people who stink at that part of video games. Its still semi-challenging, and its a lot of fun. The plot is pretty straightforward but still keeps you busy, and you feel like your actually accomplishing something when you do the missions. And if your one of those that can't focus on one thing for two seconds, you can always randomly go around killing animals or other people. The most annoying part of this game to me was the horse. It worked fine a lot of times, but theres plenty of times when the horse just ticks you off, and doesn't go where you want it to go. There are a few graphics glitches I noticed but it didn't seem too invasive or irritating to me. For the most part I thought the graphics and playability were fantastic, and I, as a poor quality gamer, was able to beat the game, but it still took me several days. The only reason I give it a 9 is because of the horse, and because of one thing I didn't like at the end of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cow hearding is terrible

posted by Rocko092 (JACKSONVILLE, AR) Jun 19, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game isnt getting a 10 because i had to herd the cows.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

For all the people who think its repetitive

posted by sevnik (MATAMORAS, PA) Jun 7, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

When you say that all u do in this game is ride a horse and shoot ur pretty much putting the game in bland words which is like saying
All u do in COD is run and Shoot or like saying all u do in halo is kill aliens
Red dead redemption is a great game with good graphics storyline and characters and deserved game of the year for 2010 ( which it did)
So if ur into shooting games or old west games pick this up it's a great game with few flaws but what game dosn't have flaws?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A beautiful and engrossing experience but...

posted by RebelJPL (ARLINGTON, TX) Dec 4, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

... Is it too engrossing?

Let me start by saying that this game is awesome. Some ppl complain that its just a GTA with big empty spaces but it is more than that. There is so much to do in the game that at times it is a bit overwhelming and it can be easy to forget the main story mode. The single player is enjoyable with a good story and memorable characters and a solid mix of different mission types. The place where this game truely shines is in the online free roam. Initially it was a bit basic with just gang hideouts, basic MP games and a light version of PvP but now with the add ons through the DLC, the free roam gives you much more to do solo or with a posse of buddies. There have been more than a few times that I've gotten on solely just to play a few hands of Texas Hold em or a round or two of Liars Dice. Be it single player or online, there is plenty to do if you have someone to play with or not. The flip side of that is that it can feel like there is TOO much to do. Out of the ppl I know who have played this game only one other guy besides myself has completed the story mode. The others all tell me that the game is too big and you get lost in the side stuff that it does not feel like you need to complete the main story. All in all this game is an experience to be had and remembered fondly for a long time. A definite must play, if not a definite buy!

Pros
+ Awesome Graphics
+ Insane amount of things/activities to partake in
+ Enjoyable story with some of Rockstar's best characters to date
+ Deep online experience which is enjoyable with or without friends to play with
+ Great setting that properly portrays the Old West feel and vibe

Cons
- Too much to do, easily takes away from main plot of game
- Some mission types get repetative and boring
- Overall game length could be thought of as too long
- DLC that makes free roam better isn't free, must be purchased
- Exploiters/Cheaters tend to show up in Free Roam and can really irritate you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

red dead redemption

posted by redhead28 (SWEETWATER, TN) Oct 20, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

as you can see the makers of the game is rock star and that says it all they have always made excellent games in my book. the graphics are awesome and the game play is good. have not got bored of the game yet. never run out of stuff to do, when you run out of your jobs you can always find more stuff to do. the game is all good to play, rent, or buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

red dead redemption

posted by jenny60 (MAYFIELD, KY) Jun 22, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i really enjoy playing this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Almost a Bullseye

posted by Worhammer (LEE, MA) May 29, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I would really love to give this game a 10. In fact, I think it's worth it in every aspect but one. The controls. I had a lot of time getting poor Marsden to go the right direction, especially in a gunfight or when on horseback (However, I can forgive the horseback issue because...well, turning on a dime on a horse isn't exactly realistic...)

My only real issue with the game was simply that. When running around in a gun fight (jumping into cover works great, but turning and going through doors is where I had issues) is what ruined the perfect 10 for me.

Other than that, this game is amazing!! You MUST pick it up. I was skeptical at first. Who wants to skin animals and pick flowers all day? Somehow it's become addicting (Maybe it's the achievement addict in me...) but I find myself going around for hours looking for strangers to help and animals to shoot.

The storyline is awesome, but many of the stranger's missions feel somewhat abrupt in their ending (Others are absolutely brilliant....Flowers for a Lady, for example...best side-quest ever!!!)

The graphics are stunning, you could not expect more, even the transitions between storyline cutscenes and gameplay is flawless.

The execution of the fine guideline between challenging and tedious is well tread here, many of the achievements are hard to earn but very satisfying, not to mention some of the avatar awards (extra points to rockstar for being one of the few games to use that...)

In the end, the game can be either as short or as long as you want it. You could easily blow through the main story in a couple days of casual play, but if you want to become a Legend of the West, you gotta spend countless hours skinning animals, fighting off wolves with your knife, and shooting birds while moving on a train - which all, somehow, become fun and immersive.

Rockstar, you've done it again. I have not been this impressed with a game since the original Bioshock.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Holy Moly, That's Fun

posted by BkLivewire (BAKERSFIELD, CA) May 25, 2010

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I'm not a big gamer by any means. Certainly not a 'shoot-em-up' player. Tend to gravitate towards games that are based on puzzles/logic. Was intrigued enough by the commercials for RDR to give this one a shot. I grew up riding horses in Montana, and loved the look of the game based on the ads. Have been absolutely amazed -- the graphics, the story, the tasks/challenges... I'm hooked. Bravo!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse