Rent Red Dead Redemption for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Red Dead Redemption

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
8.5

34100 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Full Reveiw by [akrenoe(Gamer tag)]

posted by arenoe (ELGIN, OR) May 31, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

So i have put 1 day 4 hours and 52 minutes into the campaign. i have also put 11 hours into the online multiplayer. So for the campaign i thought it had a great storyline making john work for everything he gets. The scenery of the game is beautiful and realistic, it is not overly excessive in any parts and for the areas you go to it gradually changes. the randomness of the animals appearing or just attacking you is not to over excessive either. Also the randomness of the strangers appearing and asking you for help or just attacking you is a good twist to, although sometimes you get surprise attacked and usually it is difficult to survive. The Graphics are great and have great detail from the walls in a house the muscles of a running horse. There is enough in the games to get you side tracked from the campaign and keep you side tracked from gambling to having shooting competitions. Each part of the game has you guessing what can happen around the next corner. There are enough weapons to keep you messing around with them. Each town has a booming economy making it so there are so many people to deal with.Now for the online multiplayer. I think it is a little less fun than the campaign mainly because there is simply not enough to do. yes you can roam around killing other players or clearing gang hide outs and yes there are alot of new challenges to it but i wish that they had added strangers in the online portian needing help and earning experiance that way to. you also cant buy anything in the game like guns, ammo, maps, ect. But it is still kinda fun to just run around owning other players and then, them asking you to join there posse and owning even more people. Overall the game is great, fantastic, beautiful, surprising, and most of all Fun. Although the game is buggy/glitchy i would recomend the game to anyone that western games appeal to. I definately feel it is worth the money to buy the game. if you liked this search my gamertag on xbox live. Gamertag- akrenoe

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

nearly perfect game bad ending

posted by trevrules (PORT ANGELES, WA) May 31, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

i loved this game. you have the ability to shoot in slow motion. theres great voice acting. there is only one problem the end its slow and really unexpected

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Oregon Trail

posted by ChaosGlory (KANSAS CITY, MO) May 31, 2010

Member since May 2010

I love being able to go straight Oregon Trail on the animals in this game! You may a good guy but even good guys need to hunt...he he he. Of note animal activists will probably not like this game. Translation: Hippies beware!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wow

posted by DBOX12 (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) May 31, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

Just when I thought I have seen it all. I cant believe how they made this game. It is great in every way. Best western game I have ever played and seen. So much to do that the fun never ends. Just buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game of the year!

posted by badbrains (VENTURA, CA) May 31, 2010

Member since Nov 2007

Everyone that i let play it just gets hooked and wont stop for hours upon hours,

Theres no excuse for not buying this game it is the best game ive played so far and thats saying a lot because alot of games have been cheesin out like the new splinter cell, i expected a lot more from that game.

RED DEAD only has one problem..... the ending of the story well leave you pised off

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Good but a few issues

posted by MadMFV (OLDSMAR, FL) May 31, 2010

Member since Mar 2004

The game could use better collision detection other than that a great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

rockstar has done it again!!

posted by NewEraBoi (POMPANO BEACH, FL) May 30, 2010

Member since May 2010

this game is one of the best rockstar selects i have played so far yes!!!! if you are a gta fan pleeeeeeeeeeeease im begging you rent this,buy it, it,win it just play this fenominom called Red Dead redemption the open world in this game is bigger then gta 4 YESS!!
so once again if u like gta think of this as a western one because all the things gta is known for .good storyline,feutures,this game has so

i ONLY HAVE ONE THING TO SAY BYE BYE GTA 4 YOUR TIME IS UP

ITS RDR TIME TO SHINE YEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE HAWWWWWWWWWWW

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome game

posted by Grantimus (EAU CLAIRE, WI) May 29, 2010

Member since Jun 2007

Everyone of my friends that sees me playing RDR says oh, is red dead redemption anything like GTA? NO! This game is nothing like GTA. I hated GTA this game is nothing like it and is way better than it. I bet everyone that hasn't played it just thinks that because it's a rockstar game means that it's just like GTA. The only thing that I didn't like about this game was the controls. They were pretty bad, and really bad on the horse. I try to tell to go one way and it just does the opposite. All in all this game is amazing. Multiplayer and single. I would definetly suggest buying it. It's worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Wild West Of GTA IV

posted by zparks0123 (GREENFIELD TWP, ME) May 29, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

This game is better than grand theft auto in my opinion because you life is just like the life of an out law of the west.
Reasons why this game is AWSOME....
1. There are so many things you can do between missions.
2. this game i very realistic.
3. the graphics are insane.
4.The story line is amazing.
5. not every single person looks the same.
Reason why this game is bad.....
1. When you use cheats for weapons and stuff like that you can't save.
2. The sherif gets mad when you kill somone when they started shooting at you first.
3. I got in trouble for accidently shooting a wagon in a shootout.

As you canm plainly see there are a lot more things that are good about this game than there are bad things. And i recomend peopel to rent this game befor buying just to be sure that you like it (wich im sure you will). I rented it from gamefly and i bought it from here the next day. ENJOY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by killerkhan (NORTHBRIDGE, MA) May 28, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

Best game and gameplay available today. I was unsure about the wild west keeping my attention for too long but the missions, side missions and achievements are great! Wide open game play with incredible graphics. Officially addicted!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

COMPLETELY PERFECT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by snakeob (BAKERSFIELD, CA) May 27, 2010

Member since May 2010

This game is great i cant think of a way to improve it.The setting is great the gunfights are perfect i love it.This is a must have for all gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Red Dead Awesome

posted by Atrocity (OREM, UT) May 27, 2010

Member since May 2010

Just to get started this game is outstanding and hours of fun The Graphics Are Beautiful and look Great in 1080P i mean who does'nt Want GTA wild west style? The game is rated M so dont whine about nudity you see The M rating? that means that it can have that so dont cry. the Multi is way fun and will be better once they fix the glitches in it over 10/10 Best game of the Year

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsom

posted by killer917 (WADSWORTH, OH) May 27, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 word pristene

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wild West #1

posted by PopTartK (BELLEVUE, WA) May 26, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Just amazing. detail is the best i have ever seen. the story is indepth characters are great and the world is so alive. i bought it and there are no regrets. so buy or rent, you cant go wrong

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is the Best Game Rockstar Has Made

posted by nukesplode (PRAIRIEVILLE, LA) May 26, 2010

Member since May 2010

I'f you like GTA IV you will love Red Dead Redemption. The graphics are better than any game I have ever played. The old west theme was a great choice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

More

posted by Littlemack (ROSEVILLE, CA) May 26, 2010

Member since May 2010

This game is awsome!! i barowed it from my friend for the weekend and its amazing! i really want to play it some more but i cant becuase its on low. BUY MORE OF THIS GAME GAMEFLY!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse