Rent Red Dead Redemption for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Red Dead Redemption

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
8.5

34002 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

RED DEAD REDEMTION

posted by xcel909 (MCKINNEY, TX) Jun 12, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

great game rockstar has done it again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME SO FAR!

posted by lalalala (ROYSTON, GA) Jun 12, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

when i first played this game i saw no diffince from GTA4 witch got me sort of worred but later in the game you will see a BIG diffence it gives you tones of new side missins like even your exploring vast open landscape radom events happen such as robers jacking a horsecarrege. The online mode was also great but the same stuff. You can also hunt whenever you want that got me relly pumped up for this game. You can skin'em,and sell the meat and skin for money! (also would advise NOT to put in cheats because they you won't be able to save your game.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

THE REAL DEAL

posted by Sully54 (COOPERSBURG, PA) Jun 12, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

This game is a wild west version of GTA. They pretty much did everything right on this one. There are tons of side missions , several outfits to earn , and a great variety of weapons. They even threw in a pile of animals to hunt, and skin for $$$ , not to mention some animals that hunt you. FROM BOUNTIES TO DEAD EYE DUALS THIS GAME ROCKS !!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FINALLY !!!!

posted by GuILtY74 (San Antonio, TX) Jun 11, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

BY FAR THE BEST GAME BY ROCKSTAR EVERRRRRRRR !!!!!!

BY FAR THE BEST GAME OUT RIGHT NOW !!!

I OWN IT AND AM ADDICTED !!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

YEE-HAA FOR THIS GAME!!!

posted by Titan11 (KAPLAN, LA) Jun 11, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

I think this is one of the best games in 2010.
rockstar games really out did themself.The dead eye adition is good just like from red dead revolver for xbox and ps2.
shows new and fun weopons like te sniper rifal,high powr pistal,and hand weopons like the fire bottle.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

pretty good game, better than gta4

posted by m80MoNST3R (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Jun 10, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

after playing this game i would say this is better than gta4 for one theres no big city and two the storyline is way better. I havent much played the online experience of this game yet since i've payed so much attention on the single player game. Another thing i like about this game is that there is so much other stuff to do other than the story such as playing horseshoes, poker, blackjack, ect. and u can also help strangers and watch movies at the teater which is pretty cool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by Spencer61 (MINDEN, LA) Jun 9, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

This game from the start was on of the best western shooters i have played. unlike other westerns this story line was long and it kept your attention throughout the whole story. everytime you thought that the story was gonna come to end, BAM! it hit you with a twist. From going and comming to Mexico and America this story takes you many places. I would reccomend this game to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is extremely beast!

posted by UnkeptScar (LOMPOC, CA) Jun 9, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

When I saw the commercials I thought, "Meh, just a cowboy game". My friends bought it so I thought I'd try it, since it was all they played. Now I think it's insane! It's like the old western version of fallout 3 only better! It knows how to make you feel like your unstoppable! The only thing bad about this game is horse stamina, which can get annoying in races. Over all, best game of the year so far!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

UNBELIEVABLE GAME!!!!

posted by macsmiff (ENDICOTT, NY) Jun 9, 2010

Member since Jun 2006

this game is awesome. top 3 best games i've ever played for all systems. when u shoot someone, holes go in them in the place that u shot. when u shoot someone in the head, the back of their skull blows out the back. its so realistic. deff. buy!!!!!!! get this game! rent it or buy it, u'll be happy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Outstanding I am awestruck

posted by brotherrot (MESQUITE, TX) Jun 8, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

I feel compelled to say, Wow!!! I'm a huge western fan and what I didn't like about GTA I love here. This is a vivid world were you can be the Lone Ranger or Dirty Harry. This is every great western rolled into one. a must play! It is a true masterpiece. Well done Rockstar, well done!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best? or Second to GTA?

posted by Andrew8 (HOUSTON, TX) Jun 8, 2010

Member since May 2010

Well what can i say? Red Dead Redemption. Finally i waited for 2 years for this to release, And let me tell you it was worth the wait. At first i was thinking that the hype of how great it was gonna be was gonna be a lie like most games but oh how i was wrong. i was hoping it was gonna be better then GUN. And my hopes came true BIGTIME!! First of all the story was spectacular, And the graphics was amazing in the first cut scene were it shows the fairy and the water it blew me away. And it only gets better with the missions and the mini games. When i found out i could play horse shoes i was thinking "People outside the country know what horse shoes is?" (Im from the country i now live in the city). And being able to cheat at poker just added the extra umph. There's more mini games too much to count. The cast of characters is as good as GTA titles. Hunting never gets boring. The music was a good aspect too. A part in the game where your riding your horse and the music WITH lyrics plays as you ride it will make your heart melt. The voice acting is top quality. Not famous actors but they still deliver. the horse movements is realistic it shows their muscles moving with their motions. when you shoot animals they will never fall the same way same with humans. its a high replay value every time you play through things happen different.My advise is rent then pay to keep trust me when you play it you will not want to send it back. 10 out of 10 hands down

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pros & Cons of Red Dead Redemption

posted by stormeater (RICHARDSON, TX) Jun 7, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

Pros:
1. Great story.
2. Great action and fun game mechanics.
3. Ambient challenges are original, well done, and consume your time.
4. Dead Eye (lvl 3) is very useful.
5. Open world is massive and extremely detailed.
6. Has the humor of GTA and the good mission designs (thanks to the Rage Engine).
7. Online is original too. It could use some better controls, but overall is fun.

Cons:
1. Becoming wanted and fighting the law is a bit lackluster and repetitive. It could have used more GTA styled anarchy such as multiple levels of heat and increasingly difficult enemies.

How to WIN:
Bolt Action Rifle and a fast horse.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Game of the Year Nominee

posted by OkanBS1987 (NEWARK, DE) Jun 7, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

I loved this game and I am making this one of my Game of the Year Nominees. The story takes over 30 hours and the ending is great ( no stupid cliffhangers). Now I also did like GTA 4 and this game is really Grand Theft Horse in alot of ways, but that is not a bad thing.

I did not really like the multiplayer, but that is not the main reason why you get a Rockstar game. The only complaint I have with this game is the weapon wheel that doesn't pause the game when you want to change weapons.

The shooting, the missions, the story, and the overall environment are just great and you would be hard pressed to find a better game this year. I must have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

tha illest game... probably ever.

posted by flashvenom (ANAHEIM, CA) Jun 7, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

This game kills it in almost every way. The graphics, gameplay, physics, shooting mechanics, acting, art direction, music, and menus are so on point, you actually feel like you're alive in the game. The ending will blow your mind - it is an experience unlike anything I've ever seen in a video game.

In a comparable "blockbuster" game like modern warfare 2, you feel maybe anger and violence as you go, but this open world game, it plays more like a movie - giving you the whole spectrum of human emotion. Sadness, humor, sympathy, excitement, comfort... revenge. And Red Dead Redemption sells these emotions better than any other game I've ever played... ever.

It's easy to spot the small bugs, and of course you start to think of cool ideas to make the game better, but that's only a testament to how amazingly deep and complex this game is. I'm not a huge fan of the GTA series as the missions feel repetitive, and this game does too at some points (doesn't every video game?), but what makes this game interesting and special is that it takes place in a -past- world so different, yet so real and close to our own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

red dead redemption is aswsome

posted by ww11998 (VALPARAISO, IN) Jun 7, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

I haven't played it yet but i think it's going to be great I might have it forver once I get it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing.

posted by jonnyyboyy (SALEM, OH) Jun 6, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

This game is truly spectacular. I love every aspect of this game and I haven't found one disappointment, The single player is so much fun that i cant even get myself to play multiplayer. The hunting is great, the story is great, and the free roam is great. I constantly find myself just going hunting or just shooting up the town. I love the Red Dead series and im hoping for another sequel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Red and Dead all the way!

posted by reddead93 (DENHAM SPRINGS, LA) Jun 6, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

I've heard it said you can not rate a game 10 out of 10. But what else can I say about Red Dead Redemption. It is by far the best game I have ever played! It includes everything I would want in a game. I love western games in general and this is the best! Get the game, I promise it's worth it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GREAT GAME WAY TO GO ROCKSTAR!

posted by ALDOGG (KEEGO HARBOR, MI) Jun 5, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

I purchased this game when it came out and was a bit skeptical at first but after playing it for multiple hours i am convinced that it was a great buy with a great story and great dialogue if there was a better selection of weapons i would have given it a 10 but even with the ones it has this is so far the game of the year take note game designers this is how you do it!!!!! Go out and get your copy....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Do you feel lucky

posted by Devincholo (PHOENIX, AZ) Jun 5, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

This game is a must get, you will love it!

The multiplayer is super in this game, the free roam is kinda like online co-op but not really but feels like it.

I give the story a 6 because in the begining it was boring, but once you get father it will still make you intrested, but i felt it was a little....cheesy, but the ending was a tear jerker and a feeling making you want to puch a baby turtle.

other than the story feeling useless. The multiplayer is 9.5.

THIS GAME IS A MUST PLAY!!!

( Herding cattle...really? )

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i'll be your huckleberry

posted by HoLyWooD (VACAVILLE, CA) Jun 4, 2010

Member since May 2010

It's more than a worthy follow-up to the orig game. The first red dead was one of my favorite titles on the first gen x-box & i had high expectations when it came to what i wanted out of the sequel. Rockstar delivered big with this game. I would say this is their best game yet ( yes better than all the GTA's ). The campaign was long & there was a ton of ways to extend it with side missions, random crimes to stop ( if your feling heroic ), & strangers to assist. One of my favorite things about the game would be the landscape itself , it really feels like you jump into the old west through this game. On the multiplayer side of things , free roam mode is a blast. it's basicly a lobby type setup where you can posse up and do missions , jump straight into a competitive match ( shootout,capture the bag,ect. ), or just run around by yourself picking fights & playing poker. So to sum up , go put this game in your Q . Its the goodness

see all y'all little cowpokes online

HoLy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Screw Up

posted by chuckied (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Jun 4, 2010

Member since May 2006

one of the better games of 2010 until you near the end. Then it follows the rules of all the reasons we dont buy games like we use to. These statics are usually reserved ffor those who have a short game. But that is not the case. So why put a lot of do overs in the game. When you get too "pestilence, you have tto kill crows before they eat your corn! Impossible and frustrating! When bounty hunting the outlaws gang converge on you super fas and are never ending! I must have killed 25 and on tthe way to cut off his hand (if that what you do} i was killed by a bear. One time I killed the bear and there were more of his gang after that! C'mon! Ridicculous.
Great grafics aand storyline. Targeting system needs work. it is a 9 but could have easily been a 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Red Dead Redemption - My New Favorite Game

posted by ArcArsenal (KEARNEY, MO) Jun 1, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

I'll keep this short.

Whether you're playing the missions, side missions, free roaming, or playing online, this game got it right in all areas.

So much fun, I thought it might just be GTA with horses, but I was wrong! In my personal opinion this game actually blows GTA away, especially the online mode. A must rent, keep, buy, whatever just play it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Words alone CANNOT express....

posted by TAZER357 (GLENDALE, AZ) Jun 1, 2010

Member since Jan 2008

This game is Rockstar's BEST WORK TO DATE by any standard. The game is BREATHTAKING!!! The visuals are awe inspiring, the story is...well A 20 on a 1-10 scale. Twists and turns galore. The game play is INCREDIBLE. From the horse riding to the roping to the gunfights it gives the player the feeling of being in the Old West. Rockstar has built an atmosphere that I can't say I have experienced in ANY other game
including GTAIV.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This Game Is Truly A Movie Like Experience .....

posted by TBABY00 (CLOVER, SC) May 31, 2010

Member since May 2010

DO NOT I REPEAT DO NOT RENT THIS. Go out and BUY this game immediately. This is how a game should be. No matter what you like FPSs, whatever. You will fall in love with this game. Ive been playing it non stop for nearly 4 maybe 5 days, have yet to finish single player. And I havent even begun the online multiplayer. Ive never been slap knocked off of my chair by a game and I have been a gamer my entire life (I am 22). This is unlike anything I have ever seen. Again, dont hesitate and go purchase this game NOW. Help support Rockstar so we can have another RED DEAD GAME. I LOVEEEEEEEEEEEEE this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Full Reveiw by [akrenoe(Gamer tag)]

posted by arenoe (ELGIN, OR) May 31, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

So i have put 1 day 4 hours and 52 minutes into the campaign. i have also put 11 hours into the online multiplayer. So for the campaign i thought it had a great storyline making john work for everything he gets. The scenery of the game is beautiful and realistic, it is not overly excessive in any parts and for the areas you go to it gradually changes. the randomness of the animals appearing or just attacking you is not to over excessive either. Also the randomness of the strangers appearing and asking you for help or just attacking you is a good twist to, although sometimes you get surprise attacked and usually it is difficult to survive. The Graphics are great and have great detail from the walls in a house the muscles of a running horse. There is enough in the games to get you side tracked from the campaign and keep you side tracked from gambling to having shooting competitions. Each part of the game has you guessing what can happen around the next corner. There are enough weapons to keep you messing around with them. Each town has a booming economy making it so there are so many people to deal with.Now for the online multiplayer. I think it is a little less fun than the campaign mainly because there is simply not enough to do. yes you can roam around killing other players or clearing gang hide outs and yes there are alot of new challenges to it but i wish that they had added strangers in the online portian needing help and earning experiance that way to. you also cant buy anything in the game like guns, ammo, maps, ect. But it is still kinda fun to just run around owning other players and then, them asking you to join there posse and owning even more people. Overall the game is great, fantastic, beautiful, surprising, and most of all Fun. Although the game is buggy/glitchy i would recomend the game to anyone that western games appeal to. I definately feel it is worth the money to buy the game. if you liked this search my gamertag on xbox live. Gamertag- akrenoe

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse