Rent Red Dead Redemption for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Red Dead Redemption

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $19.99

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
8.5

33997 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

RockStar has done it again!

posted by CoolGuy89 (CARPENTERSVILLE, IL) Jun 27, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

This game is a complete blast, and we all knew it was since RockStar games created The GTA franchis, whick is probably one of the most popular franchise to date. The game is fun and never gets boring. Being based in the old wild west it makes it interesting. Riding a horse and shooting people is fun. The map is out standing because it is huge. There are so many places to go and the achievements are fun to do. Also the campaign is outstanding, in the story stays together the whole time. I definetly reccomend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Omg the most amazing game ever made

posted by brodmister (LAKE TAPPS, WA) Jun 27, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

this game was the most fun action packed game i have ever played. No game can ever surpass this one. Absolutely the perfect game. No other game can hold a thumb to this amazing piece of art.ABSOLUTELY THE BEST GAME EVER MADE.And if you dont agree with me please tell me on better game then this and have me laugh at you with thousands of gamers behind me LOL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Bravo!!

posted by Razgriz101 (LEXINGTON, SC) Jun 27, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

This was an outstanding game. This is the first time that I have ever been very excited about a game that didn't turn out to be horrable, causing me to nearly cry sending it back.

Pros:
1. This game has great graphics.
2. Gotta love the free rome, follow the trail or just cut through.
3. Pretty good story line. Over 56 missions and a heck of alot side missions.
4. If you get bored you can, hunt, look for treasure with maps, ride around, play blackjack or pocker, or liars dice, or duel.

Cons:
1. Travleing is rarley too long.
2. Your horses die easy and the good ones are a challange to get.
3. If you play to long it does some odd things like Fallout 3.

Multiplayer: Very interesting. Good catagory of games, the begginning standoff shoot out is one of my personal favorite moments.

If you worry about the nudity there is not much of it, only one scene in mexico has it for less than 10 seconds then it is over for good.

Overall I loved it and am looking forward to the next one. I played this so long I must have put at least a hundred hours into it. The story line is emotional at some parts and the missions are fun. Have fun playing it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best western game ever

posted by croy10067 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jun 26, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

Like the title said this is the best western game ever so far. It is about the west and it is 1911 the end of wild west and the start of ww1. This game says what you want to do and you can do many things in the game there is so much variety of things to do. But yes it is like gta so it is a gta:wild west. It uses the same minimap icons. But the wanted system is different. It last longer then gta but this is a must get game. Plus the new co op pack came out so mutilplayer mission and they are fun i tried them and I been playing this game for hours. so stop reading this and get the game already

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SHIZZLE7 xbox360 RDREDEMPTION L .13

posted by shizzle7 (NICHOLLS, GA) Jun 25, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

Most of my buddies like this game because its related to GTA.Others like it because its western.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Red Dead Redemption

posted by travelboy1 (BRANDAMORE, PA) Jun 25, 2010

Member since Sep 2008

It was way to easy for me to beat

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

WOW!

posted by monstar (CAPE CORAL, FL) Jun 24, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

if your a fan of a good story/plot, and anything to do with outlaws,then this is the type of game for you, Red Dead Redemption is an awesome game all around.the story line is just amazing , probably one of the best that ive played on any console.Rock star really out did itself with this game.the game has the best 'old west" type feel ive seen so far, the graphics arnt the best (somewhere similar to grand theft auto 4,but better) but the storyline makes up for it.the way the game plays is awesome too,very easy to get the hang of and smooth not confusing controls.the game isent too short but its not too long ither, took me bout 7 days to beat (the story line,not 100% completion of the game) the game is full of mini missions aside from the main storyline missions,and the mini missions are actually fun to do.you really get attached to the characters of the game the more you play it.the online mode is pretty fun too, has a whole bunch of fun modes to do, and it has online co-op for the new free DLC that just came out. if your doubting renting the game,dont because the game is amazing and you'll probably enjoy it as much as i did.overall 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty Good Game

posted by lulzfest (MORRISTOWN, TN) Jun 24, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

The graphics are very good (thunderstorms out in the desert look amazing). The story is very well done, but it does get repetitive at times. Great game though. Must rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Really, very good game.

posted by MatMan (SCHENECTADY, NY) Jun 24, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

I was unbelievably excited for this game, since way back when I saw the 4 minute trailer I think in 2009. The game did not disappoint, in fact, it exceeded my expectations. I was a huge fan of the GTA 3 series, not so much of GTA 4. I found it to be a little too scatter brained, couldn't get motivated to go through and do the missions, too much fun free roaming the beautiful environment.
The story-line in Red Dead is such, that you want to keep doing missions, and moving on in the life of John. I would highly recommend this game to anyone, not just Rockstar fans, amazing gameplay, story, and almost perfect overall game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rockstar Did It Again - Perfect Game!!

posted by GTaylor (MARSHFIELD, MA) Jun 23, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

This game is perfect in every way. I really don't comment on a games storyline but this is a huge exception. The story is PHENOMENAL and it is SOOO long. Make this into a movie and dont change a thing, it will be an oscar winner.

(This came from a video on 'Inside Xbox')

- THE GAME IS NOT OVER UNTIL THE CREDITS ROLL!!!!!

Now for the multiplayer

-Free Roam
Really fun, great without friends , even better with friends
good way to level up

P.S Posses = protection

Most kids will shoot you on sight, so if you have a posse you'll have backup, but if your by yourself, SHOOT BACK!

-Multiplayer Games

These are really fun and there is alot to choose from.
Only thing is if you only play these it will take forever to level up.

My only SUGGESTION for this game is to add some more things to do in free roam

All in All this game is AMAZING

Thank you Rockstar, i love you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good game ruined by bad controls

posted by Southb (KILLEN, AL) Jun 22, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

I really liked this game, but the horse riding controls really ruined it for me. I hate to say it because I was looking foward to this game but I didn't even keep it 24 hours. Sorry for the fans out there that loved this, I just didn't. Thanks Rockstar keep up the good work but please look at better controls for riding your horse.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Must play

posted by Zap360 (SAN PEDRO, CA) Jun 20, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

This game is awesome. The story line gets very interesting that leaves you with only one thing, "wanting more." Though many places are spread out which cause a little boredom at times, but it's a Western game right? Down fall is Red Dead is very short and can last a good 3 day weekend of game play on single player, but you got multi player which is cool and can keep you busy for a little while as you try to work your way up to Lvl 50. Also it would have been nice is the game had a bit more difficulty as it is very simple to kill your enemies or criminals in the game. Overall I give this game a nine. Well put together Rockstar ® and keep them coming. Plus bring back more interaction with characters. Hence the “Females” that was a keeper and not a dropper.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GTA, Western Style!

posted by branman (SPRINGFIELD, NE) Jun 19, 2010

Member since May 2008

I know there aren't very many western games but this is the BEST by far. It took me a while to get a hold of this game cuz I'm 13. I had to convince my mom that the "Nudity" could be skipped (and it can) and after that I knew she wasn't goin to pay for it so I did. And the $60 was worth it. Personally, i think that a 10 yr old could play this game if they skipped the cut scenes because that is were the nudity and the cussing takes place. Besides the cuts scenes this game would be rated "T". I havent quite finished the single player but the story line is great including 50 some missions. I've done some online stuff but haven't quite figued it out. All I know is that you can create a posse and go around taking down other posses'. Back to the single player. What is great about this game is that it is like GTA but it's a western. You can eathier be good or bad by helping out civilians or killing civilians and having a bounty on your head. Another plus side is that you can go huntin! Which includes rabbit, fox, coyotes, does, bucks, wild horses and an occasional cougar or bear which will kill you. And once you've killed them you can skin them and also take there meat, claw, antler, ext and u can go sell that for money. This game also includes many characters in which some will get robbed, killed, or harrassed. But you can also help the strangers by catching the thiefs and you can make money by doing that and earn fame and honor. But if you pick the dark side than things will be tougher and a lot more bloodier. I prefer the good side. This game is a must by. Definetaly get it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

pretty cool game i gave it an 8

posted by logansarmy (CLINTON, IN) Jun 18, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

i got this game for my birthday on the 24 for my 360 i have been playing this game everyday i have beat the campaign and play the multiplayer with my friends i am glad i bought the game dosnt mean i wouldn't have rented it or saying u shouldn't buy it its up to u

The campaign is one of the best campaigns Ive ever played i love how i can at anytime just go out and capture my own horse and to me breaking the horses wasn't to hard anyone can do it but in every game there is a down fall i never got any good guns and i never had the money for new stuff but there was a lot of things i could do for money like get a bounty witch was a really good way to get a lot of money fast and was pretty fun.

The Multiplayer its pretty cool it seems like u have thousands of titles and a lot of people you can chose from and u can have any gun golden but there is a lot of things i dont like about online when your in free rome random people will kill u and wont stop at all theyll chase u down and spawn kill u all the time there are these gang hide outs that u can do for experience points there arent that many and they get old real fast and there are only a couple of ones u can use to get a lot of experience and it was really confusing to me how to get into a real game and it still is i want to play capture the bag but i cant get into one i get into a random one

over all its a pretty cool game that has a lot of good ideas and im glad that there is a really cool western game out now i would deff play this game rent it buy it whatever u got to try it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best wild west game ever made

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Jun 17, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

All the hype and rave reviews about this game are pretty accurate for the most part. You have a typical Rockstar game of a HUGE open world environment, just this time it's based on the west versus a big Grand Theft Auto city map. They nailed the genre and everything about this game looks unbelievable.

----Gameplay----
The controls work well once you get used to them, and the same for riding the horse. You have to shoot a lot while riding the horse, which is fun and challenging. There are hundreds of missions, side quests, treasures, collectibles, etc. in this game. Don't expect anything but ridiculous replay value from Rockstar. Tons of stuff to find around this huge map, you can play poker, and so much more. You can also choose, like Fable, to be a bad or good guy by doing things in the game. If you kill civilians your fame goes down, and if you help someone being robbed, your fame goes up. Make your own guy however you want and people will react differently.

----Graphics----
Some of the best graphics on the 360 to date. It's amazing how big and open the game is but at the same time the environment looks so real, with great refresh rates. Everything from the gunplay to the horse riding is very realistic.

----Sound/Music----
Not much to complain about, great soundtrack. Excellent job in creating a familiar landscape with the music that sets the tone. Sounds are very realistic all the way around.

----Thoughts----
This game is totally worth buying or renting. If you get the huge game guide, you can spend over 100 hours to do everything easily. Getting achievement points is very hard and will take over 100 hours to get everything. Second opinion is that some missions are very repetitive, lots of riding the horse to places which is boring, and bad controls at time. Those are minor complaints. Once you spend a good 6 hours playing, you will be engulfed in the game and won't want to stop playing.

Milt Drucker- gamertag

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Online- game play

posted by shabbykarm (HOLLY SPRINGS, NC) Jun 15, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

As my view on it, its amazing. Although the online game its self is not very differnt from the massive world in single player there are some things that are differn't. Oh and a little reminder this review was writen before any patches. Well the hunting is one thing that is fun, but pointless. Yeah they have challages to do that give you some XP but i want a group thing. When you kill people/lawmen you gain XP, but when you kill a animal it doesnt give you any. This doesnt mean shooting up the forest or the open plains is boring, i think its still realy fun. Just dont be disappointed when you play single player and think you can skin animals online. Now as far as another differnce is the trian. As you play the single play you will notice the trian going threw the map stoping at towns as it goes by. Online has yet to add this feture into the already amazing game play. One thing Marston had that you dont get online is the fun as he11 lasso. Yes sorry to say but all the fun you will have on single player tieing people up will be missed online. I want to say that they could add it in online, but it would be hard to develope. Well the game play is the same, shooting, cover, hide outs, and running from the lawmen. All the same, but it seems like they could of added more into the online game to make it even better, well like i said this is before any patches so lets hope they add the things they left out the first time. Hope this is a some-what goos review guys.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Lots to do

posted by Foe909 (POMONA, CA) Jun 15, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

Realy fun game with LOTS TO DO! Online play is fun also. I recomend this game for you =) I would have givin it a 9.5 but we cant do the point thing =)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Red Dead Redemption Greatness

posted by reddeadred (CYPRESS, CA) Jun 14, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

First of all, Red Dead Redemption is the best game I ever played. It is really enjoyable and fun. I would suggest this game to anyone who liked fallout 3, assassin's creed 2, and mass effect 2. What makes Red Dead Redemption better than other games is its quality multiplayer play. I recommend this game to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is the Game Of The Year

posted by Skelleton1 (HYDE PARK, NY) Jun 14, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

This game is awesome. the story is so compelling! It is so awesome, it is impossible to explain. If you were even thinking about buying the game or renting it, do it. you wont regret it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME EVER

posted by deltaspike (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Jun 13, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

Rockstar has done it! This is three times as amazing as GTA. The graphics are absolutely stunning. If you look at the horse while running you can see the muscles move and you experience the power of it moving. This is a must play for any gamer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Have high expectations!

posted by aaronboy (PAMPA, TX) Jun 13, 2010

Member since Jul 2005

this game is great i have no other words if you really want to know how this game is read the other reviews, both ign and gamespy LOVE IT (have'nt read the other) so do all the people on gamefly!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by RunDowN (LAWTON, OK) Jun 13, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

This game is by far one of the greatest games of all time. The sheer amount of freedom in the game is enough to keep you hooked for hours on end. Whether you're doing missions or running around the Wild West shooting the huge amount of wildlife and people, Red Dead Redemption will keep you enjoying yourself for hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

More than just "Grand Theft Horse"

posted by Jack84 (LEXINGTON, KY) Jun 13, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

I will keep this short (as with most of my reviews)

Red Dead Redemption is awesome, its a refreshing take on sandbox titles by Rockstar. I have grown old of the GTA series and feel like I need to take a break from it, its funny to say that because this game pretty much plays like GTA but the new theme and mini games just make the formula feel fresh again. You don't need to be familiar with the previous game "Revolver" to enjoy

Pros:
Superb graphics
Great gameplay
Great storytelling

Cons:
Glitches are a problem at times, but that does not take away from the fun.
Skinning Animals can get old, Rockstar...PLEASE patch this to allow to bypass
should have a bit more tutorials to start out, should let gamers know how to identify horses.
Can get repetitive as with GTA titles

Tip:
Try lining up above your horse on a balcony...jump off the balcony and jump on the horse! But be careful, because you CAN miss and lose health.

Try sticking with the Kentucky Saddler until you reach Mexico...its a very fast horse and if you build trust with it will be a very good combo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rockstar has done it again!

posted by Stallone96 (WICHITA, KS) Jun 12, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

This game takes place in 1911, the last of the old dieing wild west. You play as John Marston, an ex-outlaw who has been force to do the dirty work of cleaning up the last of his old gang.This game was fantastic! An absolutely great story that sucks you in anticipating for the next move. The sound track and voice acting has that perfect Rockstar trademark. The game-play and gun-play is nice and smooth. The only bad things about this game are at the beginning the horse ridding can be a little hard at first and the occasional visual glitches witch tend to be more hilarious than game breaking. All in all this game isn't worth renting, but buying. So if you have the chance do buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nearly Perfect

posted by packster (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jun 12, 2010

Member since Jan 2005

Ignoring the glitches that have become famous on Youtube - this is the first Western game that has gotten close to what I want to experience. Open World is the only way to present an old west game, however the lack of a truly open world before you complete certain missions is annoying. I know that is how Rockstar likes to present their games, but it would be nice to see them break the mold.

In addition the lack of variety in the side missions and activities becomes stale after 20 hours of gaming. It would be nice to have far more random encounters and more choice.

I am eager to see what Rockstar does with the 3rd installment of the Red Dead series, this is a giant improvement from the original. I look forward to seeing the same leap in the next game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse