Rent Red Dead Redemption for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Red Dead Redemption

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
8.5

34139 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Game of 2010

posted by Alfred360 (MIDDLESEX, NC) Aug 2, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Before I start, everyone who reads this please rate as helpful. :)

Red Dead Redemption is made from the brilliant creators of the successful Grand Theft Auto series; Rockstar games. Just by knowing that much, most of you would look into this game.
You play as former outlaw John Marston. Your family is taken hostage by the goverment until you kill the members of your old gang of thieves and outlaws.
I'm going to rate the main things of this game x out of 10.

STORYLINE- 10/10. When you finish RDR or have played it a while, you might start to think that this story is unbelievable for a video game. Most video games have made up, cheesy stories that when you finish, you really don't get what the parts in-between were for anyway...but in RDR, every mission has a purpose on the story. (Except for Stranger missions; etc.)
The only thing I have to say bad about the missions are that they are the occassional GTA "do this, do that" kind of missions. People tell you what to do, you do it. :/

GRAPHICS- 9/10. Considering they used the same game-engine to make this game as they did with GTA4, it didn't surprise me that the graphics were great. I loved the detailed and accurate aspects in this game. Even when you throw a knife at a person, it actually STAYS inside of the guy, not just dissapears out of nowhere, leaving the enemy crying in pain for a knife wound that isn't there? :P

GAMEPLAY- 10/10. Realistic and great. 'Nuff said.

SOUND- Uh, can't really rate this accurately. But for you people out there who it really matters to I guess I don't really have anything bad to say about it. Oh, but the dialogue in this game is great though. The voiceover for John Marston should win an oscar or something.

CHARACTERS- 8/10. Each and every character is unique and rememberable.

OVERALL- I rate this game a 10/10. This is definately a great and hard to find gaming experience. I would reccomend buying it, but if you're low on cash definately rent it. (PLEASE RATE+)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the Best Sandbox Games Ever

posted by Tr1gg3r93 (FORT WAYNE, IN) Jul 8, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Very few games deserve the big 10 out of 10 and I can vouch that Red Dead Redemption deserves it 100%. Every aspect of this game you can look at and examine closely and find little to no problems what-so-ever. It's practically a flawless game.

Red Dead Redemption throws so much at you. Great graphics, huge array of likable characters, great voice acting, LEGENDARY STORY, awesome missions, addictive and enjoyable combat, tons of side quests and missions, a huge array of weapons you would not even expect to find in 1911 and many more.

There's only a few drags about this game which are all mainly small though. Money really loses its usefulness very early in the game. The is almost nothing to buy for the most part. Looting bodies becomes pretty annoying and redundant and by the end you just won't care anymore. Plus, the travel times to some places can be extremely long and fairly boring as well.

Small problems aside this is a very very close to perfect game. Anyone fond of video games period will most likely be sucked into this masterpiece.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWSOME

posted by awsome1482 (PALOS HILLS, IL) Jun 4, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS AWSOME YOU CAN DO PRETTY MUCH ANYTHING FROM HUNTING TO BOUNTY HUNTING GET THIS GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Must Play

posted by edwardo711 (KINGSTON, NY) May 19, 2010

Member since Jul 2007

11 out of 16 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

Great graphics and gameplay. GTA meets wild west is the perfect description. This title however is much more polished. I was very suprised to see how well the controls worked and how impressive the graphics were. This is a must play game hands down. Very fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Buggy, but still probably GOTY.

posted by Ultenth (SELAH, WA) May 31, 2010

Member since May 2010

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Though at times riddled with bugs and glitches, this game still did not disappoint.

The main character, as well as almost all side characters, were all fairly "grey" and entertaining, with only a few stereotypical characatures. The gameplay was fun and engrossing, sound effects did a good job of being accurate, but also aestheticaly pleasing. With almost every event you come across (except some major story elements) you can choose which way you want to approach them, as an evil outlaw, or reformed lawman type.

Graphics are standard, a bit outdated in some ways but the lip mapping for character dialogue was so accurate it was almost like watching a movie, which made scenes involving dialogue infinitely more entertaining, along with the very well written and delivered dialogue.

The story itself is well done, nothing too spectacular, but with enough twists and turns to be entertaining at almost all points. Special recognition has to go to the music, which is mostly instrumental and fits the scenes perfect, except for one instance of use of music with lyrics that is perhaps one of the best moments in gaming in the last couple years for me.

All in all an absolute game of the year candidate, even with a few bugs here and there, very few of which impacted actual gameplay (mostly cosmetic). Highly recommended to those that like open world games, and even for those only interested in playing through the main storyline, this game will not disappoint, and has some terrific moments.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This Game Is Amazing!

posted by TXsucks (HOUSTON, TX) May 22, 2010

Member since May 2009

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is nearly flawless in my opinion the only problem I have found with it is the fact ya cant swim its not a big issue, but it is frustrating however. Everything else is perfect the graphics are amazing the control scheme is very easy to use cover system isnt bad and the multiplayer is great and has very fun game modes. This being a rockstar game it has a fantastic story line and its long which makes it worth a rent and a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Comparable to the Second Coming of Christ

posted by Redstorm12 (MOCKSVILLE, NC) Jun 28, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Words can't describe the amount of excitement, fun, and utter enjoyment you will get out of this game. GTA IV was great, this game tops it with an extra kick. Hunting is superb, just the fact you can hunt is amazing.

The physics are just amazing, seeing an enemy fly off their horse never gets old. The RDR story line is the best I've ever seen, it's literally a movie.

Graphics are beautiful, the scenery is breathtaking, with lush mountains and gorgeous canyons would make Wyatt Earp cream in his chaps.

Red Dead Redemption is an epic adventure, with endless possibilities. Get this game, if you have no money, steal it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GTA but Better

posted by IceBeast (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Jun 1, 2010

Member since May 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game has to be one of the greatest games ever. I've read some of the reviews and have seen that some people don't like it because it's so similar to GTA (Grand Theft Auto). This game is very similar to GTA but it is much better. If you don't like the fact that this is so similar just think of it as another GTA just set in the wild west and under the name Red Dead Redemption.

This game is significantly better than GTA mainly because you can interact with the people around you. You can still kill them and/or beat them up but that's not all. You can now lasso them and put them on train tracks and watch them get runover and enjoy five extra gamerscore.

Of course killing them is not all you can do. You can always at least say hello to any character in the world by pressing B. But sometimes (well not sometimes it actually happens quite a lot) you will meet certain people that want you to do things for them. If you do these things it will normally give you in game rewards and some gamerscore at first and it will also add about 10 hours of gameplay (if you're slow).

The story is much better in Red Dead than in GTA because it is set in the wild west where there aren't a ton of people and you get to know the characters quite well. The story is interesting until Mexico which is very boring. After Mexico you go to a bigger town and the story supposedly picks up there. I haven't beat it yet and I've put about 20 hours of gameplay into the singleplayer alone.

The multiplayer is very good in free roam but the playlists are somewhat dissapointing. They're almost GTA playlists. I am looking forward to ranking up high enough to where I can ride a bull or (this is what it appears to be) a unicorn. Yes that's right. A unicorn.

Story-9

Graphics-9

Gameplay-9.5

Musical Score-9 (Do I have have to explain? I mean it's Rockstar)

Multiplayer-8.5

Lasting Appeal-10

All in all this is one of the best games ever.

P.S. This game has Avatar Awards

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better Than A Clint Eastwood Movie

posted by Vertikle (HOPE MILLS, NC) May 24, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game makes Grand Theft Auto 4 look like a kid with the graphics and the way the game tries to catch your attention instead of visa versa.

Pros
-Graphics are beautiful and make this game come alive and it's world seems so real like the way the sun sets and rises or how it rains and snows at certain times like real life.
-Gameplay is fun and makes the game endlessly entertaining. There is not a moment that seems dull I have played about 50 percent of the main missions and yet have played the game for about 25 hours all together. This game has random missions and bounties. Also has Texas Hold Em Poker, Spades, Horseshoes, Liars Dice, Five Finger Fillet, and Arm Wrestling which can easily last for hours playing.
-AIs are virtually impossible to seem dull or get annoying if you pull a gun on some people they shoot back others put their hands up in fear. The law will track you down endlessly if you do not ride fast and the people shout out things in fear or in pleasure. The people seem so real you will think they came out of the actual time period.
-Shooting and Hunting makes this game even more entertaining than ever. You can hunt 40 different types of animals including mammals, snakes, and birds. Then you can skin the animals for meat, horns, pelts, and hearts to make ALOT of money to spend on things you need or want. Also, the economics are built well as to say if one animals is near a town you try to sell it to the people will not pay as much for it and visa versa. Shooting mechanics are fun and dead eye targeting system is the funnest shooting modification built into a game yet just paint your targets on there ANYWHERE on the body.

Cons
Graphic defects RARELY and sometimes the computer gets too lucky in a game of poker. Also, the only other thing would be they need FISHING because whats a good western without some fishing involved.

This game gets a RARE 10 from me for overall performance, creativity, and fun. If you want to be a cowboy play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Solid!!

posted by Moonman454 (LOUISVILLE, KY) May 24, 2010

Member since May 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is the Best Game since Fallout 3. The story is well written and the sandbox exploration is great. You never feel like you are bogged down with forced action and never any dull moments.. I was out hunting when a bunch of bandits randomly riding by hopped off thier horses and tried to rob me... I cant wait to get home and play it again tonight.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Another Great Rockstar Game

posted by Schwab17 (CINCINNATI, OH) May 18, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

17 out of 28 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

Rockstar has done it again with its vast open world gameplay this time set in the west with a updated engine from GTA IV. this game has tons of stuff to do from playing 5 finger fillet to horse shoes and taking down bandits from wanted posters. the graphics are beautiful u can look over a mountain and see for miles into the distance. the acting is top notch and just like any western they have the old fashion duels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is simply,

posted by NinjaBeats (BELL, CA) Oct 3, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

: awesome
: mutliplayer is much more realistic
: horses have six packs
: no spoilers but it has an awesome story (which I'm not done yet)
: definatley worth renting
: 10 / 10 stars

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Definite Buy

posted by whisper (WESTMINSTER, MD) Jul 1, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Alright so you have probablly been looking at the other rewiews so take there advice and buy it great story great multiplayer GREAT GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Should Have Called It OPEN RANGE !!!!!

posted by Rickmus66 (TIMBERLAKE, NC) Jun 17, 2010

Member since May 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

From the first sceen you are sucked into the story line. And from then on out it never lets go. The people and animals are beleavable in every way you can think of.Nothing is left out of this game.
Game?? Did I same GAME?? I mean simulation, not game.
No matter where you want to go, if its humanly possible, you can go there. You can hunt just about any animal you want to.You can sit and camp with strangers as they tell storys of there adventures.
You can be riding to one challange and help people along the way.
OPEN RANGE should have been the name of this awesome game.
Once you play it you will see why. The online multiplayer is the best Ive ever sceen, again there is no limits to where you can go or do.
Team up with your buds or people online to take out the bad guys or each other. If you lose your horse no problem, just whistle.He will find you.No matter where on the map you left him.
Bottom line RED DEAD REDEMPTION is the best game out there today,hands down!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Genuine Western

posted by jax129 (SALEM, IN) Jun 2, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing it is a genuine western story it has an amazing storyline and lots of side things to do i loved to hunt and skin animals that is a quik way to make money okay back to the point overall

graphics 9.6

story 10

sides10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Game of the Year so far.....

posted by Elusive (DELAVAN, WI) Jun 1, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Easily the best game of the year at this point. Gameplay is fantastic. Single player campaign is probably the best I have ever played. The graphics are amazing. You get caught up doing a variety of other things instead of completing the missions. If you don't run straight through the campaign you should easily have 30-40 hours of gameplay because the campaign has so many things to do. Dead eye reminds me a lot of VATS in Fallout 3, which is awesome because it allows you to get out of difficult situations.
I am about 90% through the campaign with almost 30 hours played only on the single player. Some things that could be better is that you end up having more money than you need, I have over 5k cash all the time because of hunting, and have nothing to spend it on really. I am disappointed than the campaign is coming to a close, it is so amazing that I decided to purchase it. I do wish that they had some sort of coop because that would only make it better.
The multiplayer is very sound, but there are some problems with it. The only way to really gain exp is to take out game hideouts which becomes boring. Can become annoying when you are trying to complete some sort of challenge or gang hideout, and another player keeps trying to kill you. There are noticable glitches that can ruin gameplay, like at hideouts where computer enemies will be glitched into walls or the ground. If you have friends to play with online is a blast. Unlockable characters, titles, and mounts help improve online play. I think they should have made games like poker, blackjack, and liar's dice available online to play against others.
Overall the game is extremely addictive, other things in single player campaign are more entertaining than the missions themselve. Highly recommend renting this game, and even purchasing this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

....Just wow

posted by Sawesome (SEATTLE, WA) May 24, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

First things first, superb graphics, smooth gameplay, gigantic collection of guns, missions, activities, and so much freaking more. This is indeed, a stellar game. If I were you I'd run to gamestop and buy it..like now. Red Dead Redemption has officially set the standard. I have no idea how they fit this"perfect awesomeness" in a disc, but I'm greatfull rockstar did it. The realistic terrain, carnage, and pedestrians, and well as the crazy bandits who rob you for no reason. comon, it's a must have. So get offline and go get it. til then

Thanks for listening,

Sam

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by r3dsky1 (LOS ANGELES, CA) May 23, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

------
Pro's
------
There is so much you can do this game. The story is great from what i can tell so far. What you can do varies from robbing some nice people from a small town or robbing people with a nice hand in poker. You can skin animals you kill or drag people around with your rope. The game is very entertaining and sucks you into the story. There is multiplayer in this game and it is also very entertaining you can play your typical game types like capture the flag or team deathmatch but some of the games start off with a unique stand off, in which the game counts down from 3 and you draw your gun and shoot the enemy team...the people who win get a 5second lead because they dont need to spawn.
------
Con's :(
------
There isn't much wrong with the game from what I can tell so far except for a few glitches which get irritating and some points like your horse ramping 300 feet into the air off rocks, which you die from, or online in free roam when your character is not visible (which they fixxed today I believe) Other than a few glitches here and there from the game being new it is a GREAT game. So go throw on your spurs and ride the wild west.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

a worth buying

posted by jerseyboy1 (fair lawn, NJ) May 21, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

WARNING CONTAINS SOME SPOILERS i am going make review short this game is amazing starts out a little slow replay value 10 from side missions to main this has it all would to any who enjoys sandbox games and if u extremely love cowboys this might be the best game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

red dead redemption hit the bullseye!

posted by sinistah (AUGUSTA, GA) May 21, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

normally i dont compare games to others,but this is the exception.red dead redemption is grand theft auto for cowboys.but thats where the differences end.this game is on point,from the controls,to graphics,and the story,this game is top notch!i felt like clint eastwood in a "fist full of dollars".having duels,saving women in distress,and not to mention making money.also there are so many diffrent costumes that can be opened to give your character a particular look.this is a no brainer...GET THIS GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pure Awesome

posted by Thorington (BAKERSFIELD, CA) May 24, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This was a great change of pace I played GTA4 and was extremely dissapointed they took everything that made that game fun out of it. So I was a little worried about this one too so thats why i got it through almighty gamefly first and i have to say I haven't stopped playing it since yeah some parts of the story drag out but you can tell there going to make another one come on if you've beaten the game you know they wouldn't leave it hanging like that.

The ending wasn't a big shock I felt it was leading up to it but the twist was nice. The game play is awesome hunting is g\fun if you know where to look hent buy all the maps and look for the animals on the map thats where they are. Breaking horses is a challenge but you can get some great horses that way which make the races a lot easier. I have to say the online game play is a little off stilll but I'm sure they'll fix it I played ten games yesterday where it was me and two other guys against 6 people it was insane you can't play hold your own with three people. But other than that i have to say one of the best open world games I've played you just have to play it for your self.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE BEST GAME EVER PERIOD

posted by mcnuggets (BRONX, NY) Jun 2, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Lets make dis short

Reasons why this is awesome:
1. you can play poker
2. the missions are SSSOOOO fun
3. storyline is killer
4. multiplayer is SSSOOOO much fun
5. tha coop pack's going to be so much fun
6. the grapics are amazing
7. physics are sssooooo real
8. so many guns, and they are awesome
9. you can eat CHICKEN NUGGETS!!!!!!!!!!
Reasons why its bad:
1. NOTHING CHUCK NORRIS APRROVES OF DIS GAME!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

3:10 to Liberty City

posted by IamtheStig (PORT RICHEY, FL) May 20, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

This is a GTA4 clone set in the old west. Doesn't sound that great does it? Well that description does not do this game justice. Everything has been upgraded, sound graphics gameplay. What this game does is craft a great western story around a familiar platform found in the GTA series.

But this isn't GTA4, not by a long shot. RDR stands on it's own and has created the first stellar western game on any console. RDR did for western games what Batman Arkham Asylum did for suoerhero games.

I am 7 hours in and cant wait for more. I just wish that there was a chance to pick a good or bad choice 'ala Mass Effect. There were times my character agreed to things that I did not want him to agree with, they were all scripted events and I had no choice at all. A little more RPG and a little less meta-game would have been more immersive. I am kinda tired of rounding up horses and cattle.

This is a very fun game and should not be missed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Read Dead Redemption

posted by Hippyjoe (BAKERSFIELD, CA) May 21, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

PERFECT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GAME OF THE YEAR! GTA ON HORSEBACK!!!

posted by DOH1BADAZZ (BIRMINGHAM, AL) May 19, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

GAME OF THE YEAR!!! So good i returned my rental and purchased it with a leftover gamestop gift card!!!

grand theft auto on horseback!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse