Rent Red Dead Redemption: Undead Nightmare Collection for PS3
view large frontback

Red Dead Redemption: Undead Nightmare Collection

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.2

4114 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Can "Take Two" make a zombie game good??

posted by Aragorn225 (FREDERICK, MD) Nov 23, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

85 out of 96 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

When i first heard about RDR: UN, i was afraid that this was going to be another "zombie game" in which everyone would just mindlessly slaughter zombies with uber-guns. But no, this is better, find out why in my review:

Gameplay: Nothing different from the original RDR, so don't get all excited and hope for a new combat system (no V.A.T.S. !). But TT does manage to make the system seem a bit smoother, if that's even possible...

Storyline: I was simply blown away by the new storyline. I mean, seriously, they were able to make a great game with top-notch graphics and combat without sacrificing ANY storyline! John Marshton returns in this sub-sequel to fight the living undead which have invaded a town. There are no moral choices (bad yet good) which eliminates any moral questioning about your methods in killing the zombies. I won't spoil a bit though! Sorry!

Graphics/Sound: Nothing better, nothing worse. Don't get your pants in a knot, waiting for some new graphic property that they added.

Conclusion: Yes, this is more of a stand-alone DLC rather then a sequel, so don't expect anything major. I rented it, completed it and found plenty of enjoyement, but i think it's not worth the purchase unless you are really trying to a make an M-Rated PS3 Grand Collection, like i am.

OUTLAWS TO THE END!! (even in the looming apocalypse!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty Tough

posted by BURZUM (TROY, AL) Mar 31, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

22 out of 24 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

This game was pretty hard due to the sheer number of zombies that come running after you at full speed; makes it difficult to get a shot off at them, but once you get it down you'll be able to kill 'em off and have a good time doing it. There are interesting weapons and combinations to use for blasting or roasting zombies, I thought the blunderbuss was a fun one to use-loading it up and using zombie body parts as ammunition to shoot at them making them explode upon impact was awesome! I recommend this game, give it a go!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game! Not worth the buy though.

posted by theking_13 (NAPLES, FL) Jul 19, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is an awesome expansion on a already great game, Red Dead Redemption.

You kill zombies, as you would expect in any "undead" game, but everything else is undead as well. Horses, bears, dogs, etc. Makes is challenging when they're moving fast and attacking you, but it is fun to shoot them.

Great game to rent, not buy. Often see it for $29.99 or $39.99 in stores, and this is not worth that hefty price. At the most, it is $15.99, since it is a standalone game, not just an add on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW!!!!

posted by gaming_genius (CLEVELAND, OH) Nov 21, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was brand neew to the entire red dead series. So i may be a litttle flabergasted becuase i'm a noob but this game was awesome i had played dead nation and no other zombie game before so i thought it would be similar. thank god i was wrong this game is like no other and i can truly understand why red dead scored 10 out of 10 by just playing undead nightmare, let's just say i immediately moved the normal version of red dead redemption to #1 on my list nuff said.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty good for DLC

posted by russr1123 (HILLSBOROUGH, NJ) Nov 20, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This DLC/Add-on is a fun spin on the Red Dead Redemption game. It has about 10-12 hours of gameplay at a pretty low price. I highly recommend this if you liked the regular game. Just FYI, it can be a big of a challenge at times as there are undead folk trying to kill you and sometimes they can mob you. But my tip is don't be afraid to run away from them. You can only kill so many at a time, so take it in chunks. Anyway, bottom line, get this if you liked the regular game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

what a fantastic expansion

posted by leg_mcMuffin (CAPE CORAL, FL) Oct 24, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is just like red dead, but undead. zombies everywhere and you like it. cool weapons, fantastic story, and overall just a fun time. i bought this game, and im glad. not very scary at all, but i dont think thats what they were going for. the voice acting is very good, and the writing is great. you can also capture and ride the four horses of the apocalypse, along with some undead zombified horses. if you enjoyed red dead redemption, get this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

freakin beautiful!!!

posted by laughingman720 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Oct 22, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

while this wasnt the full game, i really enjoyed the dlc a lot more than most full games out there. rockstar while they makes games that can get really boring (same missions, etc), there were a lot of boring parts in this dlc, but at the same time, since the zombies & animals were so hard to kill, i think that made it some what of a great challenge. also because of the lack of ammo in the dlc, this make you resort to using other methods to kill the enemies, which was fun at times & annoying at other times. but overall, i have to say that this was one of the most beautifully created games, the environment is so detailed and you can tell that the developers wanted the player to be immersed in the game. heck those dlcs were a ton better than grand theft auto.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

BOOM! Headshot!

posted by IrishNinja3010 (SAINT CHARLES, IL) Sep 18, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

RDR stands as my personal favorite western game of all time, and I believe this DLC makes it just that much better, especially if you have an affinity for shooting everything in the face, which I do.

The storyline is again epic, as it should be for this game, the challenges (no stores, mass quantity of enemies) immense, and the Horses of the Apocalypse (if you can find em) make this an amazing game, even by itself. Since you don't carry anything over from the main story (except characters) this is even a great stand-alone game.

All in all, if you liked RDR as much as I did, do yourself a favor and at least rent this game, if not buy it outright.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Red Undead Redemption

posted by UkManiak (ROCHESTER, NY) Dec 14, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2010

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Red Dead has proved to be the most fascinating western game ever to hit the shelves. From gameplay to gunplay, almost everything is perfection with one little exception...ZOMBIES. I mean who doesn't love a little rotting flesh thrown into the soup we call redemption.

Now don't be fooled, Undead is NOT an expansion. It is a whole other game. Hence why you see copies on the shelves for $29.99. As a ps3 owner i recommend a DLC download for $9.99 from the PSN Store.

The missions are your usual "gotta find this" missions but some are going to tickle your funny bone and that is a plus for me. John Marston is back..you know what i mean, and his six shooter is ready and willing to put some of those Undead back in the dirt for the safety of townsfolk as well as himself. The zombies are well designed and crawl like any other zombie with the exception of a few that just might be a bit too fast for the gunplay unless you use dead eye, but it is limited. The dark ambiance is stunningly creepy and some parts will have you jumping out of your undies, and then make you giggle with glee at how silly you feel.

Comedy, tragedy, OMG! Its all there and I am proud of rockstar for allowing the tradition of Zombification to grace their latest installment. If you finished Red Dead story and are getting bored of multiplayer, this will spark your passion faster than a match across the sole of your boot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

rdr rises again

posted by camman12 (BROOKSVILLE, FL) Nov 24, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

21 out of 25 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

when i played red dead redemption i thought it was the best western game of all time and when i heard of rdr undead nightmare i had my doubts like it was just going to be a desperate ploy to make more money off of the series but i was really surprised the graphics arent any better or worse than the last game the gameplay is slightly improved but it took some time to adjust to it for instance the economic feature has been eliminated and replaed by you getting ammo for doing quests the bounty missions have been replaced by missing person missions but they are a nice addition i like the new weapons my favorite is the blunderbuss a pirate shotgun dont judge it by its timeline its awesome however i had a hard time wrapping around the time line it seems to take place before the end of the first game but (warnning if you havent finished the first game stop reading major spoiler) uncle is the first zombie you kill but he is with john at his last stand against the us army but that aside a great game worth a rent definently not some cheap rushed game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

undead

posted by bronzeness (GILBERT, AZ) Nov 23, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

16 out of 19 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

I beat the the red dead story...loved it, now just have been waiting for downloadable content, downloaded the undead game and enjoyed it thoroughly, it completely changed the game and zombie killin is always fun, now throw in popping zombie head from the back of a horse and that is some good times, also i sugget the musket when the time comes it makes things....well.. a little more exciting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WHAT THE AMAZING

posted by DCskater (CALERA, AL) Nov 23, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

game was very close to perfect and i think people should buy/rent this even if ur not a zombie lover i think it was great 10 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

John Wayne meets Chris Redfield

posted by AliCat4 (ROCKY COMFORT, MO) Jun 5, 2011

Member since Jun 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I loved the original Red Dead Redemption. Very new and unique. This one is very interesting in it's own way. There are several similar parts from the first but quite a bit more is different. For one do not worry about being good or bad. That is out. All you have to concern yourself with is survivng and finding a cure. Also you will soon find that bullets are worth more than gold. At the risk of a spoiler, I will say there is so far one thing I do not like about this game. The zombie horse. Yes you too can ride a magnificent undead steed across the plains! It is strong and much faster then other horses however it often likes to go it's own way so you will be spending much time steering. All in all a very good game well worth the rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game with some faults

posted by akatsuki17 (NAPLES, FL) Dec 3, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is worth the rent for a couple months but it gets boring and drawn out. the story is short so they drag the side missions on and on until u can unlock the next main story mission, the mythical creatures gives the game a huge mysterious touch so one day you can go wrangle up a flaming horse of Apocalypse or take a stroll through the unforgiving forest of tall trees and find a sasquatch or two to hunt. all in all this game is amazing and all of the graphics and sounds are the same as rdr but the story is between the end and the epilogue of rdr it kind of plays off of other zombie movies and is mostly spiritual and religious instead of uberwestern like rdr so definitely worth the rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

8/10

posted by SinoRetibruto (TUCSON, AZ) Jun 18, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

its a great game; it has massive content, its rather an expansion pack than DLC. the first quarter of the game is a bit difficult when undead come from all angles giving you no reaction time. but back to the content, i've been a fan of zombie games my whole life, and this delivers, it follows the traditional "blows to the head". and when i ran into and broke War i pretty much nerded everywhere. Now the ending... i'm not going to spoil anything..just all i will say to it is "WHY"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by Billy1997 (CHERAW, SC) Nov 26, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you love RDR or any zombie game, then this is the game for you. Even for the zombie game haters (no offense meant), this is a great game because unlike Left 4 Fail and Left 4 Fail 2 the zombies are more ummm.. "realitstic". What I mean by that is that in L4D and L4D2 the zombies were like track stars just running at you. In this game, you still have to face SOME slight sprinting zombies. Most are just hunkering around waiting for you to get in the right spot so they can rip your face off?. But overall this is a top-knotch game and it deserves to be played like a muzzer fuzzer. RENT THIS RIGHT NOW! STOP READING THIS REVIEW! PRESS RENT AND BEHOLD THE MIGHTY GAME GLORY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

jtm

posted by glm1 (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Jun 2, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

really amazing with great graphics and hilariouse, the combo of comedy and mythical creatures makes this absolutely EPIC. just watch ur ammo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

open and fun bad controls

posted by ronheichel (DAVENPORT, FL) Oct 24, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

it's always fun to pop a zombie skull. i liked r.dead red. while thi is'nt as good as that it is still prety fun. the controls are a bit sluggish when in combat. the horse back is just as good as before. the visuals are kind of grainy but i can live with it. i would recommend this game it's fun to play and who dos'nt like headshots on zombies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

John Marston Round 2

posted by FalloutFawkes87 (LEBANON, OR) Apr 6, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Finally a zombie game with an ending/point to it. When I unlocked the 1st zombie map at the end of CoD WAW I was intrigued by the idea and each subsequent map for WAW and now Black Ops I have gotten. The only real problem I have had with them is the lack of an ending. All it entailed was shoot zombies, upgrade guns, rinse and repeat. No end. Rockstar games truly gets it right with Undead Nightmare. With RDR being named the game of the year for 2010 and John Marston being named the 2nd best character in gaming for the last 10 years you know going in that to top the emotion of RDR would take some doing. No emotion here though, all we have is a DLC with a zombie concept. I loved everything about RDR and key features return such as Dead Eye aiming. The challenge of shooting the zombies proved to be a challenge considering extra ammo was obtainable through saving settlements, passerby and looting the corpses of undead with ammo belts, etc. Killing the zombies could also prove somewhat frustrating since you can only kill them with a headshot, remembering the "myth" that that is the only way to kill them it makes it a little less maddening. The one weapon that made me nearly fall out of my chair laughing was the blunderbuss due to using zombie parts for ammo. Still nothing is better than gulping down some moonshine, drawing your highest ammo capacity sidearm, mark 7+ zombie heads and watch John do his thing. I was a little confused with the side mission of hunting Bigfoot and even more confused by the way it ended, but all I will say is watch your back. Breaking the 4 horses of the apocalypse like you did regular horses in RDR was interesting, but the unicorn? come on Rockstar games a little fun was one thing but...wow. Overall I can't say much without ruining the end, but you will be satisfied and saddened knowing what lies in wait for John after, and the final cutscene will have you shaking your head at the actions of who you see before he walks in the room. 9 out of 1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Lots of fun!

posted by leabobea (MORTON, WA) Dec 5, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The only reason I gave this game a 9 and not a 10 is because I got so wrapped up that I forgot to drink water or eat food that is good for me, and I ended up feeling terrible with a video game hangover. I love playing video games, but I don't have patience for all of them. This is definitely a winner in my book.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Repeats way way to much

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Dec 13, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2003

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

My Beefs with Nightmare- after about 2hrs of play most of the play you just do the samething over and over in Towns Graveyards so on and so on- So far the Boss Fights are a Push over- Saving towns gets old after about the 10th town you save- Zombies Act kind of odd when giving Chase- I know they are Brain Dead Zombies but Come on someone make a Diffrent Zombie Game with some of the Zombies being Smart-- The things i like Open world Zombie Game can go anywhere Very Nice- Main Story Missions Voice Acting Very Nice most Zombie Games dont have a story with it so very nice- Online Free Mode very Nice with this Pack- I wished Rockstar would of Spiced things up with Boss fights- I would of had it a Gunslinger in every town you have to beat to save the town at the end- Maybe had it Showdown at Midnight center of town. Outlaw zombies with Brains going Wild- I mean this is Rockstar think outside of the Box- Still a Nice Pack at 24.00 bucks but comes with Letdowns in Play- Thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A Disappointing Add-On to a Nearly Perfect Game!!

posted by Scottyd629 (HOPE MILLS, NC) Aug 26, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Red Dead Redemption has to be my favorite game of all time. When I found out they were releasing a zombie DLC for this, I couldn't wait for it to come out. Then I got it. To say the least, it was a disappointment on many levels. The graphics are still as good as the first, but other than that, it just took out all the great things of RDR and inserted a somewhat bland and unoriginal storyline. Little ammo and vast amounts of zombies just makes it such a boring game of cat and mouse with guns. The auto aim makes so sense at all since it aims at the body which doesn't kill the zombie until 3-4 shots. Overall the game is just very repetitive and boring, since every mission just is shooting more zombies in a different part of the map. Had I not loved the original so much, I would've given this a much lower score.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

UNDEAD TO THE END

posted by 2SUITS (CORAL SPRINGS, FL) Dec 24, 2010

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

THIS IS,NO QUESTIONS ASKED THE MOST ANTICIPATEDGAME OF 2010 I THINK IT DESERVES THAT GAME OF THE YEAR AWARD WITH JHON MARSTON TRYING TO SAVE EVERYONE ITS AWESOME. NOT TO MENTION THE INTROTHE GUYS VOICE CREPT ME OUT!! DONT FORGET THE MUILTIPLAYER! THE FREE ROAM IS LIKE COOL. BACK TO UNDEAD,ITS THE BEST DLC I EVER PLAYED. REMEBER THIS WE ARE UNDEAD TO THE END! PS. ADD ME ON PLAYSTATION NETWORK AIDANPLASTATION3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Really

posted by otie798 (RODEO, CA) Dec 19, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

A lot of fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Red Dead Redemption: Undead nightmare

posted by jprophet (CHANUTE, KS) Jan 20, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

PRO:
the gameplay is the same style as the first title but new storylines expand the adventures in a all new twist, the same geography hasnt changed but new areas add to the fun,
now with the undead attacking everyone and new nightmares from legend you have you hands full.
CON:
the only drawback about the whole game is that the programmers still havent fixed the problems from the first game concerning the ability to control the horse , it has issues responding well at full gallop and its very sensitive and goes out of control to easily.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse