Rent Record of Agarest War for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Record of Agarest War

Rent

Keep for: $29.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $29.99

GF Rating
6.1

1701 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game= Disgaea & Phantom Brave

posted by terrill120 (AURORA, CO) Apr 30, 2010

Member since Apr 2006

102 out of 112 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

This is the same as Disgaea or Phantom Brave. The combo moves are easier to pull off. All weapons, armor, skills, and accessories are upgradeable. Plus later on in the game you get to breed monsters to be on your team as well as having children to start on their separate quest. This is a good game not graphically great but then again would you expect a 100 hour rpg to have flashy graphics.

If you are not a fan of final fantasy tactics dont bother playing this type of game and please dont rate it low because you are not a fan of this "genre." I hate sports games so I would never rate one, thus if you are not a rpg fan please stay far away.

May the best breeder win.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Love is War!

posted by Icoloco (DRESDEN, ME) May 5, 2010

Member since May 2010

39 out of 43 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

Story (7/10)

Although it has a average story ,and no English dub is fine for me some others might not like it. Character Development is what seems to be the games minor weakness at the beginning of it ,but they start to get into them further into the game. The soul breeding system is a huge part of it as you can pick a wife to create a new hero. The wife you pick will change the way he looks and the way he fights.

Combat (8/10)

This is where the game gets its fine points. It has a deep system to work with. It starts simple ,and may seem boring to people at first with just the normal turn phase and attack phase ,and then it eases you into more complex things like breaking ,and overkilling enemies. If you still find it boring there is always a auto feature in the game to fight battles for you.

Sound (7/10)

While the Music is great ,and fits the mood of the game well you tend to hear the same song repeating at times ,and as I said before there is no English voice acting in it so if you don't know much Japanese you most likely wont understand what they are saying in battle ,but there are subtitles for the story.

Graphics (6-10) This game was made two years ago in japan ,and just now recently ported to USA so don't expect too much.

Replay Value (High)

Through the game there are many options to choose from ,and wife to pick from :3

Overall ( 7.6-10)

Its a great game to get if you love Srpgs ,but if you are playing it from just looking at the trailer you might be disappointed ,And don't expect this game to hold your hand through it (cough) crafting system.....

Hope this helps you decide!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A good addition to the RPG genre

posted by Vicious16 (BOWLING GREEN, OH) Aug 11, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

A good RPG comes around once in a new moon. Most of the next-gen consoles get bad reviews just cause they stray too far from the normal formula that most other RPGs use (i.e. Final Fantasy 7, Disgaea, Tales of Vesperia). And this is one of those games that tries a different combat system. The Record of Agarest War is a long game in terms of RPGs being said to be 100+ hours in length. With that said, this game is more for the hardcore RPG gamer and not the casual ones. For those that give this game a low rating just cause they gave up after 30 min or even after 4 hours havn't experienced anything of the game. I can testify that I was 2 hours in and wasn't thrilled with it at first. I kept playing though and found that I was having a harder and harder time putting the controller down. I eventtually bought the game due to the length just so I could free up my GameQ for another game. And now onto more detail about the game.

Story (9/10): The basic premise is a battle between light and dark that takes place over several generations. At times the lines can get cliched and even the story basis is cliched, but it is still solid and provides entertainment. Another new aspect the game brings is the Soul Breeding, which brings a Dating Sim aspect to the game with having to fall for 1 of 3 women in each generation to create a new hero for a new segment of the game.

Gameplay (9/10): This is one of those areas that goes outside most players comfort zones. It kinda borrows from the thought of FF Tactics and Disgaea and yet doesn't. You start out with a move phase and get to position your characters but then the enemy gets to move so you don't know where they would move to attack. However, during the move phase, characters skills can be linked to be able to attack from across the area.

Sound (7/10): Is in subtitles, with Japanese voiceovers and some sound effects are annoying.

Graphics (7/10): Definitly not next-gen graphics but not game breaking at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Flawed

posted by RedVikingu (COLLEGE STATION, TX) May 30, 2010

Member since May 2010

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

I was first drawn to this game because I found its concept to be interesting: The story follows a lineage of heroes for 5 generations as a man called Leonhardt and his decedents fight against the forces of darkness. The game, however, is marred by flaws.

For example, each piece of equipment can be upgraded or broken down into component parts as ingredients for something more powerful. Successfully creating some tiers of equipment will make the shops carry it from that moment forth, which makes it easier to equip your party or to get components. However, the game does not give you a reference of where to find these components. This doesn't become a problem until later in the game when your crafting and shop lists are so large that you'll find yourself going back and forth between them hoping that you somehow have a way to get that one specific component you need.

The plot and characters are something to be desired as well. The overall plot for each generations feels repetitive and you'll pretty much be doing the exact same thing just with a different main character. There's also somewhat of a detachment from the plot. For instance, in each generation, the game tells you that you're leading an army, but it's hard to believe when it's only referred to and you never see it.

Also, if you're going to have a game based on the passage of time, it is very hard to make that feeling palatable when the vast majority of the core cast are non-human and don't age.

The characters are great and have some depth, but like any game that has a extensive cast of characters, you're going to get your core characters, and then everyone else. While everyone gets a lot of lines, you're sometimes struck with the feeling that the game gave them those lines just so the player wouldn't forget about them.

The game doesn't pick up until the 5th generation where it finally feels like you're being sucked into the story, but until then, it feels like you're going through the motions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

a nice addition

posted by dmitry (CLOVIS, CA) May 6, 2010

Member since May 2010

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

similar to the 2 gentlemen above, I also found this game to be good. Althought most of the RPG's I play are more of an action type: such as FF, fable, morrowind and so many more, I enjoyed this game.

The combat system can be tedious at first, placing each of the 6 character spots each turn, into areas that allow them to link to one another. As well as managing defensive and offensive roles and locals for each character. But when its done correctly you are rewareded with a visually stimulating reaction.

The plot of the story is " decent" currently im on the 4th generation, on hard mode, and at no point so far in the game have I felt deeply attached to any of the characters, but nontheless the story is intresting.Especially if you are a fan of japanese culture, and/or anime.

The upgrade portion of the game is also "fun" ive spent at leat 20 hours of the 65 i've have played on simply finding the items needed for upgrade into better items. Tied into this upgrading are quest that reward you with titles and items. with over 100 of these reward quest that cannot be completed in 5-10 minutes. One of these quest requires you to kill 5 of each of a type of enemy, which arent easy to find. Another has you deal a 50 combination hit, also something you cannot do without specific skills found in the game.

Within the game there is a plethera ( that means alot) of side activitys to do, that do not take away from the main point/story of the game. included with what was stated above, are A monster catcher type deal, where you during normal fights attemptt o catch monsters to fight with you, trade in for items, ( some rare) or breed into better monsters. All and all, this game will be something you spend more then a day on, and at teh very least a game you can rent and play until the next series of RPGS are realses later this year. :D

enjoy this game, its worth renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not for the faint of heart.

posted by Kuro (LA GRANGE, NC) Sep 21, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is a rough one.. alright? Really. It's all sandy and dirty and..just rough. But once you get past the exterior (which takes a little while..), you find all of the good, cool, and just interesting portions of this game..

Though.. it should be said that this game has more roughness than soft creamy filling of awesomeness.

I have played numerous hours (I think around 20, total), and almost completed the second generation. And I can play no more. That's coming from a person who at the beginning of this game was set on completing.

I'll be honest. The only thing that kept me going through it was the little marker that said "Event" every three or four steps on the world map.
It even got to the point where I would save before an event and stop playing, just to have something to start off well on when I turned the game back on.
But, even that trick faded for me when I was hit with numerous battles with one thing in common.. Everything.

Not even the enemies.. but even the same strategy I took as far as character placement and technique combination was almost exactly identical each fight.
In short: I had figured this game out.

I can't accurately review this game because I did not complete it. But I can tell you what you will like and what you won't.

You will like:
-The story.
-The characters.
-The whole "Marriage-kid" thing.
-The battle system.

You will not like:
-How many battles set battles there are before anything good happens.
-How (3/5 times that) disappointing that previously mentioned 'good' thing was.
-How all of the battles tend to be the same boring set-up after a good thirty or forty times.
-The unclear karma system. (just plain Karma and then the female scale thing as well)

I say give it a shot if it appealed to you.. But don't expect excellence. And if you have ADD, you won't get very far in this. At all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good game :)

posted by imperial84 (SPOKANE VALLEY, WA) Jul 8, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I am a big fan of tactic games and i found this one to be a true gem that could be easily missed. Although the graphics are outdated, that doesnt stop me from enjoying the story which is HUGE. It spans the course of 5 generations and during each generation you get to meet 3 girls that you eventually get to romance and depending which one you choose, that will determine what kid you will have and what his stats are. Also there is a monster breeder segment to this game which is a nice touch. On top of that there are tons of weapons and armor etc. that you can get ingredients to combine to make!
I really enjoy this game but there are a few draw backs... such as when you get into battle, the actual battlefield is little and not much to it at all. And again, the graphics are outdated. You will be fighting lots and lots of battles over and over again, for example, see a cutscene then fight 5 battles, then you talk for a minute. Then fight 3 more battles. If you aren't a tatics fan or an rpg fan then avoid this game, but for me I loved all of the little things that they put into this game. Also, plan on spending lots of time with this oneI it's long :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good game, but time consuming. . .

posted by btishimura (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Jun 2, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you are anything like me and you work a full time job but you love RPG's, this probably isn't for you. The game is entertaining and offers an immense amount of depth when it comes to character customization. Bolstering tons of skills, a huge amount of game time, and a nicely executed decision system, this game is great for anyone who has a lot of time on their hands and is easily addicted to strategy RPGs. I wouldn't recommend it for the casual RPG'er though. The amount of things to do in this game and the crucial need to grind in order to strengthen your characters can really be overwhelming and time consuming. Literally, three to four hours can be wasted just trying to get your characters to the necessary level in order to advance the story line.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game

posted by Zathrax (South Jordan, UT) May 19, 2010

Member since Jan 2003

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Okay, so first the negatives on the game. Load times are a bit long. Especially once you go to the battles. The graphics are subpar for current technology, and the music does get a bit droning. It would very easily run on a PS1. The story seems to be below the level of current JRPGs as well.

However, all of that aside, this game shows an insane depth for a turn based strategy game. The attack link system is very creative, and can give challenges to newcomers and veterans alike. I really enjoy the monster fusions, and trades, as well as the enhancing and creation of weapons.

Then there is the soul breeding. The game is split into 5 generations, and after each of the first 4, you pick a wife and have a child. That child's stats, weapon skills, and arts are all decided by which of the 3 choices you chose, and it continues on into future generations as well. The learning curve is a bit steep sometimes, and the tutorials are kind of meh as well, but overall, if you give the game a chance, the depth of the crafting as well as the overall battle experience can keep you entertained for quite a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Doesn't even get the basics right

posted by mpatton (BALTIMORE, MD) Jun 11, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

What might be an entertaining game is made unplayable by obtuse controls and awful presentation. Entering battle commands is extremely awkward and takes far too many button presses. The battle music sounds like the static hiss of an untuned radio station. Only some of the Japanese dialog is subtitled. The sprites used during combat are pixelated and shabby looking. The map cannot even be rotated.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

And the phone at Quality Control keeps ringing...

posted by Tekyuinaja (PHOENIX, AZ) May 21, 2010

Member since Nov 2007

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

Billed as a tactical RPG with a dating simulator tacked on, I was game for this remembering games like Thousand Arms and their attempt at silly dating/rpg hybridization.
Not the case here. At all. There's not enough room to express how truly awful the "strategic combat" is so I will simply point out that it has all the depth of a paper plate and all the "strategy" of a rabid squirrel jumping on the buttons.
Before going further, I should illustrate the most horrifying aspect of the game: Automation. "But Tekyu," you say "isn't making the game interaction easier on me a good thing?" Too true, ease of interaction and overall a well crafted interface are the stuff of gaming goodness. That's not what I'm talking about here; Agarest has optional automation for two things: combat and dialogue progression or outright "skipping" if preferred. Usually, these functions only present themselves in RPGs where the designers realize how monotonous their interface is and how repetative/boring their frequent battles are like in Lunar or Suikoden. Not to say only bad games have this feature, but it demeans your game when the ONLY features you have (a story driven ENTIRELY by dialogue and supposedly deep strategic combat) can be completely automated to the point that you can just walk away instead of play. The only thing you can't automate is walking between areas, buying and selling equipment and choosing bonus attributes to your party members.
If the chatter wasn't flat and lifeless and the combat didn't fall in on itself there might be potential here, as it stands the game is ten years behind the rest of the world in visuals and design and wouldn't push the specs of a PSone without even a minimal saving grace to defend it. Most JRPGs have a strong story that can overcome any design flaw or monotony, it's a characteristic that defined the genre and kept it going strong for over a decade. This game has a gimmick that doesn't work and with no story to support it, it chokes and dies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Disappointed.....

posted by thannatos (WILDOMAR, CA) May 13, 2010

Member since May 2010

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

When I read the reviews from other players as well as from IGN stating that this game was very similar to final fantasy tactics I was pumped. I have been waiting for a similar title to come out for awhile since I loved that turn based RPG combat mechanic that included moving as well as action.

What was delivered what utterly horrible. For starters, your move sequence is picked and then performed at the same time as your enemy so you have no idea where your enemy is going to move so any kind of advanced offensive strategy is off the table. The only form of strategy at all is in positioning your units in some oddball fashion so that the are "linked" and can attack and even move when one or the others action turn comes around. I liked the concept of being able to chain two different characters attacks together to create a unique combo move but that is about where my liking for the combat system ends. The terrain is completely flat every battle, leaving absolutely no ground tactical play to be had.

It is a Japanese subbed game meaning nothing about it is in English which I personally don't really mind but the translation is horrible and often misspelled or makes no sense to read. The sound in cutscenes(which are in game HORRIBLE graphics) of units walking sounds like the walking sound from the nintendo generation. All in all the graphics look like they were suited for the original playstation at best. AT THE VERY BEST. The soundtracks in fight scenes sound fitting at first until you've heard the same single track for any given level over a few hundred times, in which case, there is a music volume level in options that suits fixing this monotony quite well.

So in summary: knockoff gameplay that delivers horribly, horrible graphics, some not so pleasing audio moments, story that just didn't feel very involving. Horrible tribute to other games of this genre. What is there to actually like about this game?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

For the lack of RPG's on the 360, this is ok

posted by Miguelr27 (AUSTIN, TX) Jul 5, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is not horrible but does have its flaws which effect it from being rated above 7.

Storyline wise, it is very uninspiring. The usual evil is trying to end the world and a young hero will rescue the world with his sidekicks. Very linear story which feels like its repeating itself through every generation.

The graphics are where i expect them to be which i have no negative thoughts about.

The combat system is ok but the fact that you have to "wait phases" kind of becomes annoying. Instead of choosing to move and attack; you have to move, wait for enemy to move, and then you attack after the 2 phases which makes combat more of a waiting game then exciting.

The positives are the comedic mini events in the game with romance.
The voice overs are ok.The best part of this is the animation for the special skills and chain abilities which are good to watch. If you like Final fantasy tactics and just need a RPG to play, this a ok choice but do not expect to play the game more than once.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Unplayable junk

posted by James1983 (WILMINGTON, DE) May 11, 2010

Member since May 2010

8 out of 25 gamers (32%) found this review helpful

What a mess. I'm a HUGE fan of Final Fantasy Tactics, Disgaea, and other such games this pile of BLAH is trying to be. I'll give a quick run-down, as I dont want to think about this game any longer than I have to.

Graphics: A mix of great CG art combined with UGLY as sin sprites and backgrounds. With the exception of the drawn characters, this would look "ok" on the Playstation 1.

Sound: Also terrible. Walking is a harsh clopping sound, enemies all let out reeeeeally annoying death yells every frickin time, and everything else is just lame

Story: Who knows, I couldn't play more than 4 hours of this waste of plastic.

Gameplay: This is where the game really takes it up the backside. My biggest gripe is that the "move" and "action" are split into two phases. First you move all of your characters, while having no idea where the enemies are going to move. You end the move phase and then all your players and the enemies all move at once. Then you perform actions for your characters one at a time. This, in my opinion, is game breaking. All turn-based rpgs follow very simple formulas. You move a character, take an action, move on to the next character. Or even in the case of Disgaea, move all your characters, all characters take action, enemy turn. But this piece of BLAH failed utterly in this simple formula. Having all your characters move at the exact moment the enemies do, and having no clue where enemies are going to move, does NOT allow for tactical gameplay. This type of gameplay means you cant set up attacks based on enemy positions, and you can't set up defense or healing either.

To sum up, I would not bother even renting this game. I literally sent it back the day after I got it. Anything you could possibly get out of this game can be easily found elsewhere. Want a tactical rpg? theres lots out there. Want a good story? Read a book, watch a movie, play another game. Want... anime boobs? Google. there is no reason to soil your xbox with this tripe.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Mixed Feelings and Other Good Stuff

posted by DeucesWild (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Sep 18, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Wrote a review at Gamestop with the 10,000 character limit (and it took out my line breaks) ~ no space to paste that here.

I would say first that this game is definitely not for everyone. And it may be harder to the enjoy the game if you're coming in from the tactics and story perspective. But if you're coming in from a visual novel and dating simulation perspective, this game might be for you.

But here's the summary to "hype" you up:
Record of Agarest War is a turn-based tactical RPG where the player takes the role of a hero, braves political turmoil and sacred wars across the continents, finds true love with one of heroines of his generation, and passes on the mantle to their descendants across several generations to unite the nations and drive out the forces of darkness from the world.

The highlights of the game for me are the player's interaction with the heroines of each generation, developing character abilities to fulfill key roles in combat, the character art and rich backgrounds during dialogue, and the funky electronica in some of the battles.

Expounding
Story: Felt rushed at the beginning and the main story arc was not immersive, like an unorganized anime with loads of characters and not enough screen time.

Audio: Fair soundtrack, but with 100+ hours of adventure, you will know what tune will play before it happens at each scene, but you probably won't remember it after the game. Only Japanese dub available.

Visual: Portrait and dialogue art is great. Combat graphics appear as early PS2, the 3D is on a similar scale. Hoping for Guilty Gear or at least Disgaea 2 level of 2D, but that's not what we get here.

Interface: Decent for most part. Some areas could use a more logical flow for navigating.

Combat: Definitely not Final Fantasy Tactics or Fire Emblem. It's closer to some JTRPGs that didn't make it Stateside. While the system can be involved, the combat feels like filler that prevents you from seeing filler story.

No more space.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

RPG fan say this game is BORING

posted by Schtiv (CAPE CORAL, FL) Jun 23, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Good concept, very boring game. Every battle is the same exact thing. The games tutorial system doesn't explain much either. Frankly I was bored within the first two hours of playing this game. I only kept playing to try and enjoy the rest that the game has to offer.

The BEST thing about this game is that you can hit the Select button as a battle is begining and it sets the game in AUTO mode (just for battles). So I set it to AUTO and I would read a book during the boring battles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Too Little Too Late

posted by twentynine (BAY CITY, MI) May 13, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 12 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

After reading some fairly glowing reviews of this game, I was pretty excited. After playing it, however, my excitement turned to mild disappointment.

The Good:
The anime-style stills were very pretty.

The Bad:
As soon as the game starts, I noticed the graphics were slightly lesser quality than I'd expect from a game that came out this year. Seemed more like a late PS1/early PS2 game than a 360 game. The voices are all japanese, but the text is all english. There seems to be an odd amount of loading when a battle starts. The combat appears to borrow from other tactics-style games, and then ruins it by adding and removing key components. The upgrade system for weapons and armor adds a nearly trivial upgrade to the item.

The Ugly:
Normally, I am not that much of a stickler for a decent story. The story can be horrible, as long as it makes sense. This game starts out not making any sense whatsoever. I cannot explain how without giving out a slight early-game spoiler, but be warned, it is baffling.

All in all, this game should probably be avoided unless you have a decent amount of patience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Potentially Great Garbage

posted by Davo420 (FORT BRAGG, CA) Dec 15, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

When I first played this game I was immediately sucked in. The visual is reminiscent of old school RPGs and the battle system was decently done, though it was no where near on par with FFT or other similar tactic games.

The story seemed to be pretty decent, and the thought of a game that lasts for 5 generations is amazingly epic to say the least. The dialogue is a little lacking but I think I could possibly get used to that.

Then the battle system showed it's true colors. Absolute CR AP. The first creatures in the game were 1 shotting my characters, and this before I even have a chance to upgrade.

The miss rate is insanely high and almost caused me to throw my xbox control through my 1200 dollar TV several times. Quite literally 4/5 attacks is a miss. I made it to only level 3 and my second time through was so frustrated with the miss rates that I spent every point leveling my accuracy (hit) rating. Nothing. Not the slightest improvement in 3 levels worth of points dedicated specifically to improving just that stat. On the flip side of that coin, the creatures never miss. Just kill instantly. I found myself resetting multiple times just praying for lucky hits from my guys to win fights.

If that's not bad enough, the pricing of everything will surely get you. Sure you get 2000 free gold in the first town and that seems gravy until you have to start maintaining the upkeep of your characters. 100 gold per level to resurrect someone in a first aid station and after a fight that almost surely will kill 1 or 2 of your characters you will be lucky to recieve 30 gold. Seriously? What the heck is that. That's a 270 gold loss per fight if you are lucky enough to only lose 1 character in a fight.

In short this game could have been potentially amazing but was completely ruined, and I mean COMPLETELY ruined, by a few terrible flaws that slipped through the half-reta rded testers/developers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good game but not for everyone

posted by swentz (BEAVER DAM, WI) Jun 8, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This is a fun rpg based game. It reminds me of tactical fighting style like final fantasy tactics etc though its taken it to a new curve. The game is also long so you will spend a lot of time on it if you plan on beating the game. I found it new, interesting, and fun. There is a lot to the game too. If you are a person who is picky about graphics then you probably won't like this game because the graphics are sprite style and still animation. But if you are just looking to have fun and dont care much about graphics then i recommend this game. I also enjoy the affection system that was added to this game and how you can choose a wife.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not a good or fun game

posted by tmhenry89 (APPOMATTOX, VA) Aug 15, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

you can barely see the characters. It's more of a tactical game the storyline is awful. It was such a waste of time to even rent it. Do not rent this game Unless all you're interested in is doing tactical horrible fighting. Not fun at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Instantly Disappointing

posted by Eric61425812 (NEWARK, DE) Feb 21, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

I really enjoy these "tactics" style games, but there are so few, especially for an Xbox owner. I hated this game almost instantly. I only played about 4 battles before deciding the gameplay was the worst I'd seen in the genre. You've been warned.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Time Consumer

posted by Fobmuska (TUSTIN, CA) Feb 5, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

Unless you have a lot of time on your hands and don't mind a lot of repetition then don't bother looking into this game.

Negatives:
-Lack of intriguing story
-Repetitive environments
-Character dialogue

Positives:
-Plenty of time to kill
-Unique combat

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Would be good...on a portable system

posted by tiva963 (LA JUNTA, CO) Aug 24, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

This game for xbox 360 was... ok at best. this game would be a very good game for portable systems. The storyline was fairly good. but the graphics and the ways its played was dissapointing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This Genre Keeps Going Downhill

posted by ShotgunShawn (FORT VALLEY, GA) Jun 18, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

I have loved strategy RPG's since I played Shining Force on the Genesis. But I am afraid they peaked with Vandal Hearts. Then they decided to make one with those accursed words 'Final Fantasy' attached to it, it's been downhill ever since. The battles are a joke, the controls are clumsy. I don't like having to try and predict where the enemy will be. I'm sure some will say "If I gave the game some time you learn their patterns." Maybe but why do I want to spend any more time on this horrible game? Back to the mailbox with it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Do you like tactics

posted by racoonsurvivor (HIGH RIDGE, MO) Nov 6, 2011

Member since May 2011

If you are into tactics games then this is probably for you. My friend saw me playing this and was impressed, so much that he rented it on his game Q, He said it was standard for the genre, and it being my first tactics game I thought it was pretty cool. I did not get very far because I got a little bored, but I believe that is because I just am not into the game style. Graphics were awesome and aside from not being able to change the language from Japanese the story was pretty cool, (English subtitles) Character design was solid and combat flowed pretty well once you learned it. however that being said it is not an easy game so do not get this if you do not want to be challenged. This game is for JRPG Tactics fans, that is all do not give it some bad review because that is not your style appreciate the game for what it is, if you want to try something new this is a good plave to start, Hope you like it more than I did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse