Rent Record of Agarest War Zero for PS3
view large frontback

Record of Agarest War Zero

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.6

546 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

JRPG Masterpiece; Not for Everyone

posted by Silentsabe (LYNNWOOD, WA) Dec 26, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First off, this is a hardcore JRPG (Japanese Role Playing Game). This isn't something like final fantasy or the like.

For the Review
This game has many good qualities. Gameplay is solid, graphics are solid, and overall voice acting is great. Although, these types of graphics may tend to steer some gamers away from this game. Also, the gameplay is meant to make you grind..ALOT. For those willing to take the time and effort, will see the effects with powerful weapons and awesome abilities. Also, a dating-sim aspect is included in the storyline as you must choose one heroine to bride with and have a child which will continue the story.

There are flaws to this game though. As I mentioned before...Grinding is a major part of producing super ultra powerful characters. You may spend days at a time just to get a certain weapon or get to a certain level. Also, bosses will stress you to the point where you may turn off your system without saving or even throwing your controller out the window (Just an example).

The main point I have to make to gamers who look at this game, please, if you are not a fan of JRPG's, don't rate it because you don't like it, but rather find something you prefer better. And to those JRPG maniacs out there, please buy the game, you will spend eternity leveling up your characters so you may find renting this game for multiple weeks on end.

Story 8
Gameplay 7
Graphics 8
Characters 9.5
Replayability: Hard enough to get through one playthrough, but yes.
Overall 8/10

Remember kids, don't judge a game by it's cover...most of the time. >.<

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING!!!

posted by SkySquid (PHOENIX, AZ) Apr 23, 2012

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am a super huge fan of this genre,and series. The fact that this game has such a bad rating is literally disgusting.Two worlds two now that game lacks in just about everything.Here's the deal if you did not like final fantasy tactics then you wont enjoy this, however if you do then ### yeah welcome to the party! -SKYSQUID

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

"1,000 years can make a difference."

posted by SteveThe1ne (HOPE MILLS, NC) Jun 22, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

17 out of 21 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

Record of Agarest War Zero brings indulging combat, an amazing soundtrack, and an involving story to the table of Tactical RPG's. The game is loaded with a ton of gallery portraits, items, and weapons to collect for the hardcore players but this title is definitely not recommended to gamers who aren't fans of the genre. However, fans of the first title or gameplay shouldn't expect anything less than a great, enjoyable, and lengthy game.

For the full review, check out GamersGameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Here's the deal...

posted by Naraxis (MEDFORD, WI) Aug 2, 2011

Member since Sep 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Alright guys here's the deal... This game is NOT THAT BAD!!! If you are a fan of this genre of game you WILL enjoy it. The story was engaging and i enjoyed it. If you liked games such as Soul Nomad, Disgaea, or even Fire Emblem its likely that you will like this game. To all of the whiners who say "OH EM GEEZ DEZE GRAPHIKZ R 4 DE PS1!!!!!!!!!!111111!!1!!!!!!" No, no they are not. The graphics in this game are drawn in a way different to what most of you are accustomed to. Honestly think of what this game would be like if it had Call of Duty graphics....... it just wouldn't work. At all. Also if you are playing this genre of game for the first time don't pick this one to start with. Pick Disgaea 3, its a very humorous game that by the end you'll be accustomed to the graphics style and ready for this game. Now on to the game play. It is VERY slow to start out with but by the time you get 3 or 4 people in your party it won't be very boring. It actually gets quite entertaining to watch a baddie get utterly destroyed by meteors, large weapons of all sorts, and various other spells/abilities. Its also nice to watch your combo meter hit astronomical numbers later in the game. In conclusion, this game is for Hardcores of the genre, newcomers would be better off starting with a game like Disgaea or Soul Nomad. Oh, one more thing... yes the audio is in japanese. But don't freak out! there's subtitles for the cutscenes and if you watch japanese anime which is likely if you enjoy this genre of game then it won't bother you one bit and the chatter during the battle is pretty easy to understand if you've watched japanese anime for a while. For those of you who haven't watched japanese anime... i recommend watching Tales of the Abyss, excellent anime with a game made after it... or was the anime made after the game? I don't know. Regardless start there if you think reading the subtitles on cutscenes will get annoying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Took a while to get into it

posted by steve0178 (FLORENCE, KY) Aug 7, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

If you like tactical RPGs, and don't mind taking a long time on your games you will like this game. It is no Disgaea 3, but it is pretty cool. It took me about 10 hours to really start liking the game. It was pretty slow from the start but gets much more exciting as you start to develop your characters. The worst part for me about the game is the dialogue. No English voices kind of ruins part of it for me and the fact that it takes so long to get through the dialogue. I feel like a lot of it is completely useless too. I hate skipping through dialogue but I feel like I do it a lot in this game. The game play is fun though. You can capture monsters and trade them for items or breed them and use them on your team which is pretty cool. You can also use items that are dropped or stolen from enemies to smith new items and then refine them. Some items even refine into stat boosting items which can then be attached to your armor and weapons. I want to love this game, but I find myself too annoyed at certain points to love it.

Positives:
Story line is good
Fun game play
Plenty of play time
Lots of characters
Item customization and creation

Negatives:
Can't skip through dialogue (even with option to skip it just fast forwards through certain parts)
Dialogue rambles a lot!
No English voices, only subtitles
Takes about 10 hours to get into it
Game is very hard without using PSN

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

ALMOST complete garbage

posted by jacktheawesome (MENDON, MI) Jul 10, 2011

Member since May 2011

7 out of 25 gamers (28%) found this review helpful

First off, it's in japanese!!! English subtitles on events, not in battle though. Second off, this game is on the ps3 platform? What for? It could have been a ps1 game, the graphics are horrid and the gameplay is weak enough to where you plug in moves and can watch tv for 5 minutes before they are done being executed. Third, this game is extremely long. Honestly, the game wasn't too awful at the beginning when long and boring dungeons weren't appearing minutes apart from each other, with fewer and fewer events appearing as well. The battles are extrememly repetetive and its only smidgeon of decency is the attempt at making something cool using a combo system. The only reason i didn't send this game screaming back to gamestop is because of the main character's faithful sidekicks.(who are hilarious) If i were given the option to take back the possible 100 plus hours i spent on this game i would, without hesitation. This game should not be a game, it should be a manga or an anime, POSSIBLY. Terrible game, decent story, bad graphics, bad gameplay, repetetive, too long. Second playthrough options are there, if you are a fan of being miserable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

You take a gamble sometimes....sometimes you lose.

posted by Souleater7 (BLUE ISLAND, IL) Jun 22, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

10 out of 42 gamers (24%) found this review helpful

I went out on a limb and rented this game. Boy was I let down this game is like a weaker less intresting verison of Final Fantasy Tactics. The sad part about that is that its for PS3! If this game was for the DS it would be a different story ,but come on PS3 is a different league. I mean if your not going to have decent graphics aleast have some good animation. I sometimes like to gamble with games ive never heard about just to see whats out there, but this game has really made me think long and hard about doing that again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not my cup of tea

posted by kimbo86 (ATLANTA, GA) Feb 8, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

Now this overall is not THAT bad of a game. I don't like the aspect of the japanese interactive story game mixed with a RPG. It took me 3 hours to make ONE choice in the game (there is a love aspect that you have to keep track of too) and at that point I had to send the game back. I make more choices in regular JP interactive games in 30 minutes.
I love the voice acting, even if the eng trans is a little off, the soundtrack is superb and I love the title song, and the graphics are really nice. The battle system takes some getting used to as you try to move your character and it goes a different way than you think you're pressing. I had to turn my control so that the left button was in the up position in order to move how I wanted.
Now because this is an interactive story RPG, there is a LOT of talking. Enough that you get tired just listening to it. So glad it has an auto play feature. It's unfortunate that this is not an open world game, I may have been able to stand it more, and you only move when you are in the 'outer world' and have to go through designated 'random' battles (which aren't random at all) to advance to the next place with no option to run. Which I guess would defeat the purpose as you listen to a story for 95% of the time and play the other 5% which is the only time you get to do something, even if it is a 'random' battle.
So in the end, not a game for me but if you think you can stand playing 5% of the whole game then go right ahead!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

not worth it

posted by skahzreg (SAN JOSE, CA) Sep 26, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

i'm a jrpg fanatic but this game was just upsetting
cons -
-game requires an insane amount of time
-you have to grind A LOT
-gets extremely repetitive
-same rock track playing in every fight gets irritating, i ended up muting the sound because of this
-obtaining new weapons, skills, and armor takes way too much effort and time
-prepared to be OHKO'd a lot in this game
-game was so hard they had to put free dlc which gave you a bunch of GODLIKE items to make the game much easier
pros -
- you can choose a girl to have a romantic relationship if you're into that kinda thing
- people who like anime will be baited into this
- ecchi/perverted

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

...

posted by DarbyFrances (EL CAJON, CA) Aug 24, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

I found it boring, but don't take my few words. Try it yourself and see.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst PS3 Game so far

posted by kaeista (CAMARILLO, CA) Jul 21, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

for this being made for PS3 it has the worst graphics i've seen.. if your going to make a game.. make it to the time and ability of this game.. this should be a PS1 game. not a PS3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

So awful!

posted by xjaneenx (TACOMA, WA) Jun 18, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

This game was incredibly easy and very boring, not to mention the most repetitive game I've ever had the displeasure of playing. It's not even worth renting, it's seriously awful.
They had some great elements, and they could've taken them far, but the execution was poor at best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

RPG

posted by donsellers (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Feb 17, 2012

Member since Feb 2008

the video play is line the ds pitiful graphics and very difficult to understand challenge is poor too

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun Turn Based Strategy - Very Ogre Battle/Tactics

posted by BearGoateeNH (JAFFREY, NH) Feb 8, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Good game, fun characters, a bit confusing at first. No english dialogue, but great subtitles. Couple of minor issues - skip still plays cutscenes but just really fast, etc... minor stuff. Decent replayability - multiple choices/generations work well. Fun game, worth a check out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not a bad game

posted by shadow19878 (EDGEWATER, FL) Feb 6, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Not a bad game. The game play reminds me of Final Fantasy Tactics some what from ps1. The graphics could be better, almost looks like a ps1 game. But games are not all about graphics. Other down fall is the talking is in Japanese, but i guess that's why it's call a JRPG. Need to be an anime fan to play the game i believe.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

OMG this game is stupid

posted by BURZUM (TROY, AL) Jan 25, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

Turn-based Grid RPG...difficult unless you are adept at strategy. I was hoping for a more traditional RPG or at least a real-time combat RPG. I only made it a couple hours into the game, but after repeatedly losing against a beast and a couple fairies you must fight in order to obtain necessary items to progress in the story, I just packed it up and sent it back.

It was difficult for me to get the hang of, and I couldn't seem to get enough money to pay and get my characters resurrected at the Infirmary in town. This game got a 3 from me, because it's just not a game worth my time. The graphics are totally outdated and the landscape looks like it was just recycled from Valkyria Chronicles. I went against the member ratings and got it anyway. I wish I hadn't gotten it. The member's ratings were fairly accurate, this game is not good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Agarest War

posted by Lockva (ELGIN, IL) Oct 31, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

The game overall is a strategy game. It has a lot of text based communication to convey the story. This necessarily is the bad part of the game. The game goes to the point that it gets boring after reading or autoplaying the text conversation. It needed a little bit more animation or graphic story to make this a better game. With respect to the actual strategy battle, they show a typical design. What helps in the battle situation is that you can do massive combos and chain artful series of finishing move. The standby mode is the one that will get you more action points (AP) for moving but the wrong call or setup here may cost you your team.

I would like to continue playing but the converstation or lack of graphic animation on text style of communication is boring me to death (I actually am dosing off the conversation).

I personnaly like games like this for example Fire Emblem of the Wii was a good game. Kept me on the edge of my seat. This game seems to bore me during communication mode.

Graphics: 2
Game Combat Mode: 7
Story: 6
Strategy: 8
Customization: 7

total score: 6

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Redfren’s two cents

posted by Redfren (MILWAUKEE, WI) Oct 30, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

I found this game to be fun for a little while. It’s a bit like most tactics games however. Aside from this I suppose my only real issue with the game was that it seemed to drag on. The level up system is really horrid. There are some free ps3 downloads that come with it but they very much unbalance the game and once you get them you honestly wish you hadn’t.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »