Rent Record of Agarest War Zero for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Record of Agarest War Zero

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
5.8

552 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

JPRG fans, rejoice

posted by DmitryR (CLOVIS, CA) Jun 21, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

52 out of 70 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

this is a JRPG, of course players who dont play JRPGS in depth will complain. For those new to JRPGs, realize a few things; Jrpgs are much harder then any other rpg in the genre. Yes harder then morrowwind, lost odeyssey, mass effect or any other non japanese based RPG. They are graphically basic - because in JPRGS the story and logical gameplay means more then the cosmetic features. And they take alot of time.. 56 hours played only 30% completion.

If you are good at chess, or enjoy chess - then you will be good at the majority of battles within this game. If you are a button masher who likes to dive head first into battle without thinking carefully, then kudos this game will frustrate you because of its difficulty. If you like games that you cannot beat within a day, or even a few days - welcome to the genre 56 hours in and my completion % is 35% and I did not spend much time blacksmithing or working on my adventure guild quest. True fans of the JRPG genre will rejoice over the level of difficulty within this game, its is VERY difficult to power through boss fights, or the game itsself, and doing so only causes you to be severly penalized via your level 23 roster vs level 40 mobs. This game will require you do a lot of fighting same local same mobs over and over..to level your heroes - again I stress if you are not a JRPG fan, this game will not be suited to your liking. IT IS A GOOD Game its not great, but its a game that causes you to do a lot more then press a button and faceroll with 1 hero. It requires something most video gamers these day lack ; intellect.

few hints : each generation you will lose your main hero. So its wise to not spend all of your PP on them, you will also lose 2 of your female roster be cautious of buffing them.
Skill gain XP just like hero do, just at a much lower rate. the more you use a type of skill the more that hero will become proficient with that skill type. So dont keep switching out what skill types each hero

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not as good as the first.

posted by Sumosushi (DALY CITY, CA) Aug 1, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Well let me start off by saying, Zero only has two levels - normal, and hard. If you have no data from either the original or Zero, you'll start on normal. If you have clear data from the first, or if you manage to finish one game of Zero, you can play "Digest mode", which is Hard.

Except, well, personally, I found even normal mode hard - way harder than normal mode in Agarest War. I was getting slaughtered constantly, even with the boosts I got thanks to the clear data I started out with.

That, and then you realize that you're basically playing the exact same game as the first one.

No, really. Same titles, skills, everything. You'll realize soon enough too that the characters.

The only difference is that Agarest War Zero is harder and -get this-, shorter. It's an entire THREE GENERATIONS shorter than the original.

When you also take into consideration that character creation is iffy and confusing, where you'll end up with a son most likely similar to the father, the whole soul breed system seems moot.

In all honesty, if you're going to play an Agarest War, rent the first one. All Zero has going for it is -slightly- better graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

it's a decent game

posted by Dharks (SAN JOSE, CA) Jul 11, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

10 out of 16 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This game is fun to play, if you like anime then you'll probably like this game, the conversations are all said in japanese with english subs, which in my opinion is better because when japanese stuff gets an english dub, sometimes it really sucks, i.e. anime. The combat system is not like fire emblem, it shares a closer bond to FF tactics, though a bit different, you chain combos, and also you can combine skills for stronger attack. The link system and soul breed system carry over from the last game, and in this version u have more time to bond with the 17 or so characters instead of the vaguely established hero/heroines of each generation in the last. Also, to the ppl who gave this game a bad rating, if u gave it a bad rating just because of the graphics than wt.f. The game has some good ideas, the soul breed system is innovative, I think it should be used in other games, like a FF type of game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

BORING!

posted by damianrock (DULUTH, GA) Jul 17, 2011

Member since Nov 2007

6 out of 18 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is so slow and it takes so long to fight a battle... it's nothing like FF Tactics or the Battle games on the DS. This turtle speed and the story in-between is not interesting.

I've played all the new titles out this summer from this company, and this is by far the worst.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Same Game + Same Problems = FAIL

posted by DanNaruto1 (CHANNAHON, IL) Jun 18, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

12 out of 41 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

If you ugrade the graphics and visuals of a terrible game, but don't fix the interior problems, guess what? It's still the same terrible game. The people who made this game thought they could just sugarcoat it with better graphics and better visuals and think we wouldn't notice that they didn't fix any of the problems the 1st Agarest of War had. How dumb do they think we are, seriously?!? Auto mode is still flawed and pointless, you still have to pay ridicolous increasing prices for the infimary, you barely get any money from fights, fighting is still repetitive, boss fights are still unblievably unfair (bosses have moves that can hit all of your party memebers and kill about 3/4 thier health, even 1 hit k-o'ing some of them, takes like a billion combo hits to kill bosses also....FAIL) The only thing this game has improved on is the graphics and visuals, the characters look almost alive when they talk and the environments and scenary look better, but that's about it. You remember that stupid annoying exploration maps where you wandered aimlously? Well they changed it that you just do multiple battles. Techinally its just the same thing only you know where to go. Agarest of War Zero is practically the same terribly flawed game as the original, just painted with better graphics/visuals. I got this game at 1pm Saturday and decided to send it back just 12 hours later. If you didn't like the 1st Agarest of War, don't bother getting this game, its still the same terrible game with the same terrible problems. Let this be a lesson, you can make the graphics and visuals better, but if you don't fix the problems from the 1st game that needed to be fixed, the second game is a counted as a failure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

slow

posted by devinmarce (ERVING, MA) Aug 10, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

game play is soooooo slllooooowww and borrrinngg. each battles takes about twenty minutes and only a few turns. if it went quicker it would be an amazing game because it has alot of cool features and it reminds me of final fantasy tactics with alot of customizing buuut way too slow i would not recommend this if your looking for a thrilling fun game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

horribad

posted by Spindoc (EDEN PRAIRIE, MN) Jul 5, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

4 out of 15 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

From the moment I started playing this game I knew it was going to be terrible. Firstly there's too much talking right at the beginning; nothing like a good solid paragraph to start out a game. Then every character speaks in Japanese and then its translated to English in the text box below, there is no way to turn off the animated speaking which was infuriating to listen to. I don't want to sit their and listen to some random dialog that I cant understand and pretend that I think its neat. Its just annoying. Then when the first fight FINALLY begins it can only get worse. The animation for the models of the Champions are SO BAD I mean it looks like an 8-bit game being re-made from xbox. The champions waddle up to their enemies and seem to attack with a 2-frame atk scene. DO NOT EVEN RENT THIS GAME, I thought it looked like an FF game and it is not even close to even Fire Emblem. AWEFUL GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not good

posted by Beitzel (THOMASVILLE, NC) Jun 20, 2011

Member since Jul 2006

5 out of 49 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

never played the first one but didt like this game at all the graphics were horrible for being on the 360 ive played better looking games in the arcade on game fly the char in the game talked to much skiping didt work to good buged me to no end just a horrible game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great JRPG, Decent story.

posted by Whereisyourgod (GREENVILLE, SC) Feb 24, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

I started playing this game with no knowledge of the Record of Agarast War series, and was pleasantly surprised and challenged by the game. The hardest part of the game is the Character Creation, which I spent a good hour+ fiddling with.

Pros:
Great JRPG
Challenging, even when you lose it makes you want to try a different tactic.
Decent Story
Feels like 2 games in one with the 1st and 2nd Generation aspect.

Cons:
Unforgiving mechanics, Not a good game for an Strategy RPG starter.
Impossible to defeat boss fights without lots of Revives and/or DLC items.
very slow pace storyline and sometimes gameplay.
Not easy to substitute a party member for one you haven't used.

If you love JRPGs or Strategic RPGs this is one for you. If you new to this kind of game, I would suggest another and revisit this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

you sent the wrong game

posted by Morrisonerock (WESTFIELD, NY) Feb 6, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

i didn't want that game rigth a way i will let you know what the rateing will be after i play it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NO NO NO

posted by tyler2326 (PACIFIC GROVE, CA) Jan 11, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

There are some good things about this game, but the bad out ways it by far. I like the story, the battle is good for the strategy based battles, but the way the characters grow is so bad it isn't even funny. The main character grows really quick, but the rest of the people don't, and pretty much you end up with a single (or two in my case) characters that are really strong, then the others might as well be flies to the enemy. But even then the hp doesn't go up fast at all, and there isn't a way to grind so if you want stronger characters you are out of luck. The weapons are hard to come by, the armor is hard to come by, and it just sucks over all. Plus there is no "free roaming" it is as linear as it gets. I thought this kind of thing was handled long ago, but I guess I was wrong. The actual bosses get way over powered and the fights get really long and drawn out. The biggest plus to this game was trying to get the affection of the girls, but even that is narrow as all get out. I was expecting something more like a Thousand Arms kind of deal. Granted you couldn't make a kid but you got more benefits from Thousand Arms for doing the dating and raising the affection (and it didn't diminish the others)

Overall, I just want to play Thousand Arms now, lol.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Much shorter than the first, but still great!

posted by josmith0110 (GROTON, CT) Sep 8, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

If you played Record of Agarest War, then this game is not going to surprise you. There are some subtle differences, most notably the alignment system, but other than that, they play pretty much identically.

If you are new to this type of game however, I will say this. This game is very hard, even if compared to the Record of Agarest War. It feels as if the developers decided to artificially lengthen the game by ramping up the difficulty. For this reason, I would recommend that if you are new to this type of game, you would probably be better off trying a few other games in this genre before taking on Zero. It is common place for normal mobs to wipe your entire party time after time, forcing you to reload and simply try over and over and over. It takes patience, especially when a boss one shots your party during the first round of battle to load the same fight and try, try again. Once you get past the learning curve, it becomes a very addictive game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great JRPG/SRPG Game

posted by sayaman (AURORA, CO) Sep 4, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

First the only reason i did not give it a 10 was unlike the previous which had 5 generation this one only had 2.

With that out of the way its a very good game for fans of jrpg formats and i'll stress the FANS OF JRPG FORMAT part, if you feel you do not have the patience to grind lvls, then this is not the game for you it's not slow like some others have expressed it's the perfect speed for a game like this. the game like the other follows the same format you start with your hero an accident occurs he finds himself in the position of having to save the future by having his son continue the battle some years later after his sacrifice, i'll be first to admit it follows the same story line as the first, and why is that? easy THATS WHAT THE GAME IS ABOUT its thier selling point and the reason i personally rented it, having to start each generation with a new hero gives me something most games these days lack A LITTLE THINKING because based on the bride you pick you might find your new hero having to fight in a completly different way than his father ie different weapon from spear, scythe, gun, sword, daggers or breakers. the first one unfortunatly was not available on ps3 in the US and i had to purchase it of the psn, best 50 bucks i have invested on the psn up to date. so i'll say this don't listen to all the bad reviews on here or even the good ones, the best advice i can give is if you're intrested give it a try if you don't like it, easy return it. thats whats great about gamefly, then again you might find a love for this game bordering on mine and counting the days to when agarest 2 is released.

ps: if i would have listen to all the bad reviews on another jrpg game cross edge i would not have played yet another great game. so keep an open mind and give new thing a try you might find something that everyone else might hate but you can't leave without :).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »