Rent Rebel Raiders: Operation Nighthawk for Wii
view large frontback

Rebel Raiders: Operation Nighthawk

Not Rentable
Also on:PS2
GF Rating
3.6

98 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

"Rebel" with an okay cause

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Oct 7, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you're into realistic combat, then Rebel Raiders: Operation Nighthawk is NOT the game for you.
Your plane can bounce off the ground, off cliffs, and off large ships and not blow up. You also have an unlimited supply of ammunition (you have to reload after 24 missiles and/or 100 round of the gun).
You're going to need it. Destroying planes with missiles takes more than one shot. Once you get the lock on, you have to shoot six to eight missiles in order to bring down your opponent.
But this is much easier than using the gun, which require very steady hands and careful aim. The thing that turned me off most about this game was the gun only missions; missions where you get no missiles. They're very tough and extremely frustrating. Gun only missions are good to unlock planes but NOT to proceed along the main mission mode of the game.
Outside of the gun no fun, the controls work very well - it just takes time to get used to using the Nunchuck as the control stick and the button configuration for speed control and weapons.
Still, I would've like to see the B button used to fire the gun, the A button to fire missiles, the Z button for slowing down and the C button for speeding up. With that set up, it's easy to use the six missile shot at once because it is easier to hold down the A and B buttons together than the C and Z buttons.
Another thing I would've like to see from Operation Nighthawk is better level design. Every level I've played felt like a run on sentence. First you destroy some enemies then more enemies show up and you destroy them then more enemies show up and you destroy them then more enemies show up... There's no buildup to anything.
But if you're into challenging, arcade-like air fights against a bunch of basic planes, bombers and guns, Rebel Raiders: Operation Nighthawk is a game you should check out. Otherwise, you might want to skip it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Yikes!

posted by Judge423 (FONTANA, WI) Jan 4, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

WOW! All I can say is this game was very dissapointing! If any of you are into flight simulation dont get to excited here folks! For a game that has been released last year this game has very limited ability. you fly to a certain point and it takes you back or turns you around and the graphics are lousy! I felt like I was playing an arcade game in a bowling alley back in the 80's or something!
It be nice to have a start off point. for example, How about a landing or taking ooff from a strip somewhere?, wouldnt it be fun to land and take off??? No instead you start in the air. The controls are pretty easy to adjust to and wont take you long at all to figure out. The missions have good intensions but like i said the scenery is very very boring. Im not one to tell people rent it or dont bother or whatever. I wrote my review and you take it from there!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

You may think it's horrible but I love it!

posted by mrawesome (BEACHWOOD, OH) Sep 22, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I noticed a lot of bad comments about this game. So I wanted to see how bad it was at first. But I think that this game is AWESOME! All the ships make me think of star wars because they shot lasers at you. The controls are hard to get used to at first but just sit closer to the screen than usual so well ya. This game to me is excellent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Rebel raiders operation nighthawk

posted by johnny5 (Orlando, FL) Oct 25, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

pretty good game a little difficult to master the controls but once i got them it was over in a few hours. not very challenging thats why a 5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

1990 called.... It wants it's game back.

posted by VegasRiv (LAS VEGAS, NV) Sep 28, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

If this were 1990, I could write great things about this game, but it's 2008 and the Wii is a great console, so WHY do they insist on just releasing flat out junk to fill shelves with?

Even the Wiimote control twist (tilting the nunchuck right and left banks your aircraft.) can't make this game the least bit interesting.
The graphics are about on par with a N64 game from years ago, the music is obnoxious, and the gameplay is tedious at best.

If you're into flight sims , forget it.
If you're into acrade shooters...also forget this game.

Bottom line, sub-par and waiting to be in the $2.00 games bin.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

could have been at least medicore

posted by game26test (TACOMA, WA) Sep 25, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Where do I start? The wii control kill the buzz this game could of had. i mean the graphics are decent for a wii title voice acting i couldn't get past first mission because of the controller at least give me the option to use the classic controller. just play the ps2 version

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Pretty bad game

posted by rworkman88 (ABERDEEN, ID) Jan 30, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game seems to have the potential to be a good game, although there is nothing to do, but fly around and shoot other aircraft,the designers of the game should have added alot more to the game. While playing this game you will find that you are tired of it within 5 or 10 minuts. This game is not worth buying, or renting. The game seems to be unfinished, or more needs to be added to it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Garbage

posted by kbodin1 (LYNN, MA) Oct 29, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It took me all of 3 minutes into playing this game to realize it was horrible. I wouldnt buy this game even if it was on sale for 5 cents. Don't even bother renting this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Huh

posted by Kamden (BRUSH PRAIRIE, WA) May 12, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

I do not know what this game was even about. I got stuck on the second level.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »