Rent Rebel Raiders: Operation Nighthawk for PS2
view large frontback

Rebel Raiders: Operation Nighthawk

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii
GF Rating
4.1

178 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't make gamefly even pay postage.....

posted by moprelude (SAINT CHARLES, MO) Jun 20, 2006

Member since Sep 2004

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Don't make GameFly even pay postage to get this lame game to your house. There is no AI and the physics are horrible. You can literally fly into an enemy carrier ship head on for 30 Seconds before your ship will crash.

This is a NO GO!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

game is awesome

posted by elpatron2 (VAN BUREN, AR) Dec 29, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is one of the best games I have ever played it is very fun and is easy to play because of the unlimited ammo and easy enemy this game rocks.The planes are also very cool.Like in one of the missions u get a bomber that can kill enemys in a couple hits its awsome.One of the tricky parts of the game is figuring out how to use ur special weapon the button u hit is square.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dont get this game

posted by jandrade (DIGHTON, MA) Jun 7, 2006

Member since May 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game gives combat slight sims a bad name. fist off, there is no weapons diversity. there are only guns, missiles and a special weapon. when you do fire the guns and missiles they are just idiotic. the guns you have to reload, and the missiles you have to get like four hits on a enemy to down him. this game is unrealistic and boring. dont make the same mistake i did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

With a name as generic as a saltine....

posted by MyManwich (ROSEVILLE, CA) Aug 5, 2006

Member since Dec 2004

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

.... You might expect the same from this game and you would be right. However, lets start from the beginning. You play through a cinema cut scene which in itself is a broken jumble of military video game clich├ęs and camera angles. Congratulations! You've just made it through the best part of the game. The flight mechanics are functional for a second gen PS one game, oh wait a minute, this is a last gen PS2 game? OK, someone isn't telling the truth here! Disc reads Playstation 2 but my eyes and hands tell me this is the worst steaming pile of doo dizzle this side of shadow the hedgehog. Do yourself a favor, if you enjoy flying games a lot, play this game! It will only enhance your appreciation for games like Ace Combat or even Aero Elite!!! Yes I said it! If you don't usually play them. Avoid this game! You will hate yourself for renting it. Graphics- 3/5 Gameplay- 2/5 Sound- 1/5 Replay- 0/5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Just wait for Ace Combat Zero

posted by Mrbluoval (HOUSTON, TX) May 3, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

There is nothing new or ground breaking about this game. The graphics are mediocre. The enemy planes run almost the SAME exact route and don't seem to have any AI at all. There's a feature that let's you dodge an incoming missle and it looked like the creators didn't put much thought into it. A simple tap of R2 dodges the missle and you even get a warning as to when you are to push the button because the screen flashes. I played all the way up to the second level and then I just turned it off, packaged it back up and sent it out. Total time w/ game was about 15 minutes. Don't waste your time standing by the mailbox for this game just put Ace Combat Zero on your Q and wait it out. Even if the new Ace Combat isn't available, grab and older version of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

An ok rental...that's it!

posted by BlessROK (RIALTO, CA) May 4, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I'm not the biggest fan of jet combat games, but I am a fan of arcade jet combat games like StarFox and a PS1 classic WarHawk. This game is more WarHawk and less StarFox. The jets you have at your disposal are pretty weak, but they get the job done. All areas are free roaming but there's no real physics and hitting things really doesn't cause any real damage to your jet. All enemies act the same....in the way that they don't care about your existance and try very hard to not attack you. Missions are kind of lame and the dog fights are one sided. It took me practically a whole day to beat this game. With all I've said what made me sit through it all? It was actually kind of entertaining. I'm just glad it was a rental and not a purchase.

This game had great potential, but it fell apart w/in the first 5 mins.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not that Bad

posted by BarSippr (HOUSTON, TX) Jan 9, 2007

Member since Jun 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I liked the game a little. I got it because it wasn't Ace Combat. Its definately an arcade. You can run into a mountain and not blow up because you have a sheild. But it is something to do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Why is this one getting such bad reviews?

posted by airbender14 (DUBOIS, WY) Feb 6, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I really dont understand why this game is getting such bad reviews,it actually is very well done.The flight physics,I admit are a little bit arcade-like but everything else is fantastic.The unlimited ammo is a HUGE help when you're getting shot down and need to return fire.The story is very intreeging and fun to watch and is the best part of the whole thing to me.The plane selections can be a little frustrating when you want to be a nimble,fast fighter and all you get is a big,clunckey,Bomber(GGGAAAAAAA).Overall this one is a joke not to rent and a buy for sure!Ive been playing this one seince I was 8 and loved every second of it and still do and i hope you do to despite these bad reviews,airbender14 >:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Rebel Raiders: Operation Nighthawk

posted by TheMom (VERO BEACH, FL) Sep 22, 2006

Member since May 2006

This game needed instructions with it...my little one lost interest quickly with this one. Probably better suited to older kids. Not bad, just hard for the younger kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »