Rent Real Heroes: Firefighter for Wii
view large frontback

Real Heroes: Firefighter

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.5

383 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

What number do you dial for 911?

posted by JohnJO (OLATHE, KS) Feb 6, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a great game. It doesn't seem like there's many fireman games, but the good news is almost all of them are gems! This is no exception. This one controls pretty nicely. remember, the Wii is the first home console with a motion controller that has more sensing ability than just a ball rolling inside it or something like that, so not everyone is going to execute them well because it's more complicated.

This game is pretty realistic, with the exception that you're generally not running to a time limit to save people before they suffocate or get burned, or trying to avoid a building collapse, for instance. That doesn't bother me at all, after all this is supposed to be a "fun" game, not a firefighter training tool! I have not tried the higher difficulty levels yet, so that may pop up there, but I can't comment on that.

Some doors may be locked, in which case you can bust them open with a crowbar. Sometimes you have to jiggle the controller back and forth depending on how tough the door is. Unfortunately, as another reviewer mentioned, sometimes the game "guides" you a bit too much. I believe that instead of having a large number of doors that you can't go through, there should be a map screen that shows you the general area of your objective and/or an "objective compass" type thing (i.e. an arrow on the screen shows you which way to go with the press of a button).

You have 4 main pieces of equipment- a hose, fire extinguisher, an axe, and a crowbar. The hose must be picked up from a "hose box" in the walls of buildings. You have limited hose length, and you are given a nociceable, but not overly obtrusive, warning that your hose will soon run out. The fire extinguisher is used in situations where you have no hose left. It runs out eventually but can be refilled as many times as you want by fire ext. boxes in buildings. The axe breaks things in your way.

Overall this is a well executed game. If you're not entirely convinced that you'll like it, rent it please.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great

posted by Hossinator (TILTONSVILLE, OH) Oct 4, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For me the controls are somewhat touchy but overall it's one of the better games for the Wii in a LONG TIME. The graphics are good, and the physics are nice too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sensitive Controls!

posted by lilg058 (SCOTTDALE, PA) Sep 5, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game is awesome, myself being a firefighter, I would know. I must say though, I can't play very long or I'm sick to my stomach because the controls are so sensitive! You move a tiny bit and you're looking at the ceiling or the floor or all over the place and it takes awhile to adjust, especially if you're not very experienced, like myself. If the controls weren't so sensitive, I'd LOVE it. I just like it though =)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

My husband adores this game

posted by Sammi313 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Feb 9, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

While you must pass each challenge until you can go on, it does repeat alot of maneuvers, but helpful in the later stages when the actions come as second nature in battling fires, rescuing workers, and turning off gas valves, etc. We liked it so much we purchased after trying out (for two weeks) on Gamefly!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun for a short while

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Aug 20, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

In most shooters, players blast the enemy with bombs that start fires. But in a twist, players in Real Heroes: Firefigher have to put out blazes caused by something (not likely a bomb.)
This is a shooter where you are a firefigher and it’s your task to put out certain fires, lead people to safety, carry people/animals to safety and break down doors and other barriers.
There are eight chapters in this game, and most players will get through it in about four to six hours. Problem is, after going through the game the first time, I have no reason to give this game a second go.
Another problem with Firefighter is that there isn’t much variety in the tasks you have to perform. You put out some fires, rescue people/animals, hit switches, and bust through some barriers. And you repeat the process in the next level, and the level after that.
The level design here doesn’t help; in the Museum stage has me going from one exhibit room to the next and putting out the fire in that exhibit room. Also, I feel like I’m being herded from point A to point B; there’s invisible walls, fires I can’t put out, and doors I can’t bust through - even when I should be able to.
Real Heroes: Firefighter is a unique look at a shooter, but it needs more creativity in the level design and gameplay. RENT IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by Chris75189 (ROCKWALL, TX) Aug 17, 2009

Member since Mar 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

For one the graphics are good, they haven't made any games lately that are realistic as being a firefighter in a long time, With my husband being a firefighter he says this game is great, only thing is he wishes there was alittle more action in the movement of the trucks and equipment but its worth a buy and rent
Hope they come out with more games like this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

it was good till it lasted

posted by thairice (FREDERICK, MD) Sep 8, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

controls are sensetive and it still was a cool game! i had fun til i beat it.
this game is cool you should get it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by ctan1625 (BURLINGTON, OK) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is a great game i wish there was more games like this im a firefighter and have played this game alot and would love to see more firefighter games like this the graphics are good i recommend this game for anyone who is looking at this review

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Great game painfully short

posted by PVFDCPTN (PHILIPSBURG, MT) Aug 31, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I think this is a great game but it is super short. I am not a mega gamer by any means and I finished the game in 6 hours. There is not enough variety to entice a guy to go back and play it a second time on the hardest level or even to go back and get the unlockable content which does not change game play just changes the look of your equipment (sort of).
It is different and I am a firefighter so it was worth taking a look. I just wish real fires worked as smooth as these ones do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME!!!!

posted by texstarzboi (EAU CLAIRE, WI) Feb 22, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

My son really love that game, we both beat the game together.. it's fun tho..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

fun game

posted by johnnyboy3 (RIVERSIDE, CA) Sep 26, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

this game is fun. is like a first person shooter but their no weapon all you use is the water hose, frie extinguishers , axe and crowbar.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ARE YOU KINDING ME ?

posted by gamrviewr (SALMON, ID) Mar 18, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

THIS GAME IS A JOKE !!! AND THE PEOPLE THAT MADE IT SHOULD BE HUNG FOR IT !!! I WAS A FIREFIGHTER AND THERE IS REALLY NOTHING ! ANY WHERE NEAR REALISTIC ABOUT THIS GAME !
THE PROGRAMERS SHOULD HAVE DONE THERE RESEARCH FIRST OR ATLEAST LEARN TO PROGRAM GAMES RIGHT !

DO NOT RENT THIS GAME AND DON'T THINK ABOUT PAYIN FOR IT !!!
YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED !

WORST GAME EVER MADE !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Enjoyable

posted by Creaks (RIALTO, CA) Jan 24, 2010

Member since May 2008

But for me fails on the realistic part. I don't think real firemen will go into a burning building with a fire extinguisher which will last, in real life, about 1 minute, but in this game lasts longer that that. Also people burn when they are covered by fire, not in this game.

But minor complaints to one side, I have enjoyed this game. There is nothing more satisfying to sit down and put out a fire. I've enjoyed the process. The easy format of the game is not too hard and the hard part is hard but not overly hard. I've died many time while playing the hard version. Controls were easy to learn, most of the time you just point and shoot water at the fire to put it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Too Hard on Easy

posted by Robin1776 (BAYONNE, NJ) Jan 9, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

This game is too hard on easy. The firefighter tools are difficult to manipulate and there are too many of them to use on easy. I would not consider this a good choice for children under 12. It is very intense in parts and scary. I had a ten year old visit and he had a difficult time with the game and he had nightmares for a few nights afterwards because he was not able to save someone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

firefighter

posted by dogsmack18 (BELVEDERE TIBURON, CA) Oct 22, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

Took me an hour to use the halligan. controls suck and are too sensitive! i want a PS3!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »