Rent Rayman Origins for PS Vita
view large frontback

Rayman Origins

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $17.99

Also on:PS3, Xbox 360, 3DS, Wii
GF Rating
8.1

321 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

First Great Vita Platformer

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Mar 3, 2012

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overview
===================
The game is very similar to the PS3 version except lack of co-op and addition of control methods special to the Vita. This game translates really well to a handheld. For me it was a must own launch title (so I kept it).

Pros
=================
1) great graphics
2) tight controls
3) really well suited to a handheld system

Cons
=================
1) no co-op

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good-Ish

posted by VitaPs4Review (SAN ANTONIO, TX) May 23, 2013

Member since May 2013

There was not really a lot of issues with this game but I had already played this for PS and playing this on the VITA was just sub par. If I never played this before I might have ranked it higher. There is only so much you can get out of platformer and for me they do not have a lot of replay value.

At this point I am hoping for really good exclusive games that I have not already played on my mobile or other systems and thats what left me urk'd about Rayman Orgins.

Do not get me wrong...this is a good game...The Water levels were incredible in my opinion and by far the best parts of the game. I give this raiting based on not being provided with orginial content.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by Kallikcooldude (DE SOTO, KS) Jul 24, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I love this game took so much time out of my day :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Belongs on a portable

posted by Ichiban (SAN JOSE, CA) May 9, 2012

Member since Apr 2006

Must admit, I didn't really like this on my PS3 (I gave it a 5 or a 6). However, despite it being essentially the identical game, it scores an 8 here.

Much like the brilliant Mario 3DS, it is made for a portable. Bite size levels, pick up and play, perfect for a quick game on a train or wherever you are. Also, not too hard on battery life. I managed to play for 4 hours on a plane without it dying.

Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun and beautiful, but oh so frustrating.

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) Apr 30, 2012

Member since Mar 2008

Rayman Origins is a beautiful platformer filled with charm, uniqueness, and fun. The graphics are gorgeous, the characters funny and unique, and variety is robust. Now, all these factors tie into a fun game, but also an incredibly difficult one. I'm all for a game that challenges me, but Rayman Origins crosses the line sometimes. There are certain stages where honestly, it becomes the opposite of fun and I'm playing just to finish, rather than to have fun. I'm not saying the game isn't fun, it seriously is. And addicting to. It is definitely one of the better platformers out there. Great, smooth gameplay, its funny, entertaining, and keeps you having fun. Until it gets frustrating. It kills me sometimes how I'll end up redoing the same thing dozens of times, because I can't make some stupid jump and react fast enough. The checkpoints need to be better if the developers are going to make it this hard. And unfortunately they didn't. Also unfortunate is that the controls are sometimes a little unresponsive. There have also been numerous times when I die because my jump doesn't register or I begin to hover to late. This gets old quickly, and means you have to retry stages when you really shouldn't. Maybe this is better on console, but here, it's sadly not.

Some people may like games this difficult, I don't. When I'm not screaming at it, I'm loving it. But I find myself getting angry at it more than having fun. I recommend it all the way, just be careful. Do not expect a fun, easy, family game. This is a hardcore game all the way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One Of The Best

posted by jones5233 (HARROGATE, TN) Apr 1, 2012

Member since Jan 2008

I have 10 Games on the vita, and this one is one of the best ones i have! It has Beautiful graphics on it and the gameplay is very good also. Once you play it, you will probably buy it :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Impulse Buy!

posted by tysonedwards (Meeker, CO) Mar 18, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

A very casual, fun game that you can pick up at a moments notice and enjoy, setting it down just as quickly should life catch up with you.

Very much an impulse buy for anyone who enjoys platformers and casual games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun and Challenging Platformer

posted by LuckyBuck (BATTLE CREEK, MI) Mar 5, 2012

Member since Mar 2009

Rayman Origins is the first game I played on the PS Vita. The game is beautiful and very engaging from beginning to the end.

Plot: There is a story to this game but, it is not anything in depth. The plot is close to the early NES games, where the game throws you in right away and, after awhile, you figure out the bare minimum of the plot. If you do not read the instructions, you would not know the details of the story.

The Game Play :The game is a simple platform where you run, jump, swim, and glide your way throughout an abundance of levels. The levels start off very easy but, as your progress, the levels get challenging. At times, you will get frustrated, which if you are a thrower of controllers, you should consider getting a the console version.

Replay Value and Trophy: The replay value is limited. Once you beat some levels you unlock ghost levels. You can play the ghost levels but, there is no trophy for them. The trophies are for the most part easy until you get to the last levels and especially Livid Dead level. The Livid Dead level is near impossible and takes precision, patience and a little luck to finish. The Vita makes it nice because you can pause the game, set it down and come back to it later.

Overall: The game is fun and rewarding when you get those hard trophies. The game is family friendly except for a couple of levels when you meet busty Nymphs. They are cartoonish looking but, if you find that offensive, you should not give the game to your child.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »