Rent Rayman Origins for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Rayman Origins

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $14.99

Also on:PS3, 3DS, PS Vita, Wii

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
7.9

1784 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nostalgia Joyride

posted by AquaticGoat (CASPER, WY) Dec 13, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

18 out of 18 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Growing up in the 80's, platformers were my bread and butter. Rayman: Origins scratches that itch for nostalgia while still managing to feel fresh and new. The environments and characters look stunning.The levels are nicely varied, and the boss battles,while not anything amazing are never too frustrating. The difficulty curve ramps up nicely as you play. My six year old daughter loves playing this with me, but at about midway through the game the levels became a bit too challenging for her. Even so, the game mechanic of being able to "rescue" your co-op buddy while you continue to play kept this from getting frustrating for either of us. I highly recommend renting this, and if you enjoy it PLEASE buy it to support developers who put out titles like these. Lest we end up being left with nothing but shooters on the shelves.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Platformer for the Xbox 360

posted by Qonscience (HAYMARKET, VA) Feb 1, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is definitely the best platformer for Xbox 360. Nothing matches up to it. I am a little new to platforming but out of all of them that I have played, Rayman Origins is by far the best. The only reason I gave it a 9 was because, well, no game is ever really perfect. I am also new to the Rayman series so I am not a fanboy. The levels are just absolutely gorgeous. The music is also very catchy and the songs tend to get stuck in your head at times. The levels have just the right amount of challenge to them, while gradually getting more challenging every new world you visit. I have seen some reviews by people that say you have to make a perfect run just to pass on to the next level on some levels, which is not true. The only levels that you have to make perfect runs on are the chest challenges, but those are optional. If you are an Xbox 360 owner and are in search of a great platformer, pick Rayman Origins. It is the best you can get and i highly recommend it. Buy it, rent it, borrow it, do whatever you gotta do to get your hands on this game, it is worth it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game!

posted by Denolisher234 (ROCHESTER, NY) Dec 16, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Fun game, zany characters, amazing platforming! what more could you ask for? it's a good length and a great rent! thanks gamefly!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Just as good as Donkey Kong.. Maybe even better

posted by WarrenG86 (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Apr 3, 2012

Member since May 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is a great platformer.. from little kids to the hardcore gamer. the levels have great design, getting easier to harder of course. there is also a lot of replay value ie; clearing the levels with 100% completion. this game is definitely worth a rent at the very least.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by Jeremy1 (GRIFFIN, GA) Oct 24, 2012

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It seems like this game hasn't changed much at all since it first came out. What I found that was odd and old was that every move was time based. It has these platforms that rotate in front of you and if your late the screen will keep moving forward and leaving you behind. I haven't seen that in a game since the 80's. This game isn't no where as good as I figured it would be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ahh not so great

posted by jeancarlos (PERTH AMBOY, NJ) Jul 4, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

well, it was fun in the beggining but as you progress on the game, its gets annoying and boring...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Cool for a couple of days

posted by Guera2319 (SACRAMENTO, CA) May 20, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I got Rayman Origins thinking it would be fun CO-OP game and it was but the levels are ridiculous one hit and it's bye-bye Rayman. their music was okay for the first hour then it started to get on my nervers it sounded like alvin and the chimpmunks worst hits. it was an okay game if you have it on mute!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Did someone turn the game level up to Insane?

posted by JoSkBe (GENOA, CO) Jan 4, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

This is my first Rayman game so there was no nostalgic value, and maybe that’s why it was such a painfully tedious game to me. The first few levels are a lot of fun to play but as you progress further in the game the fun turns into meticulous acts of dyeing over and over again. In various parts of the game you have to make a perfect run (and I mean perfect) in order to advance. I am just glad they didn’t give you lives because dyeing and starting the level over is a common occurrence in this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Rayman ori-don't

posted by ibNez (SANTA CLARA, CA) Apr 3, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The game is terrible. I love platforms but this game is more like memorize long jump long jump short jump long jump. Over and over and over. I under stand having a level where you have to run the whole time as something is chasing you or the water is rising and you have to keep moving, but there are just to many of those boards as if that were the main level type. This game is all about memorizing when and where to jump. Extremely frustrating and so I give it the lowest score I have ever given a platform. I could only get 27 of the 36 achievements before I wanted to distroy the disc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not what expected

posted by caped_crusader (PERTH AMBOY, NJ) Jul 20, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

My younger brother had high expectations for the co-op play. We had fun playing the beginning but farther and farther the game became more and more harder to maneuver and stay still. I hated it with a passion I loved the old ray man but now this game has just kilt its number one fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Were to start?

posted by Pandabear1 (BEVERLY HILLS, FL) Nov 29, 2011

Member since Jul 2008

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

The graphics were pretty good and the game ran smoothly, but it just lacked that old game feeling from the original one and that's what made me not want to play it anymore. The levels were repetitive although you got to play as different characters that was a plus in the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game if you are a fan

posted by Aronsky (SAN MARCOS, CA) Nov 23, 2011

Member since Aug 2008

5 out of 15 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I'll start out by saying I only played this game for about half an hour before sending it back. However, don't get me wrong, this is a great game. The gameplay is solid and smooth, great soundtrack, and overall lots of fun. The only reason I sent it back is simply because I'm not a huge fan of side scrollers and when I rented this game all I knew was that it was a popular series. Didn't realize what type of game it was until it had been shipped and my friend told me.

I likely would have kept it for a little while if I didn't have a few new games on my shelf that I'm itching to play.

So just to clarify, from what I saw this is a really good game but I'm just not a huge fan of the side scrolling genre.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad

posted by xIBeastSK8R (ROSEVILLE, CA) Dec 21, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

this game really sucks don't rent it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very unique.

posted by Shadowstacker7 (DUNDALK, MD) Jan 12, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

I only have one problem it can get hard sometimes but that's the only thing keeping it from a 10

Pros,achievements fun graphics funny long story

Cons, difficulty a little repetitive

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome game

posted by Gamer_Hero (ORLANDO, FL) Oct 1, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

This game was fun and fast paced, but the game lost my interest at certain points

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Beautiful Game Graphics

posted by Kurrad (AUSTIN, TX) Mar 20, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

I was in awe of how far this style of game art has come since the 1990's (The last lime I played Rayman). The game is visually stunning and just whacky fun. The story makes so little sense. I never tried to understand the Rayman universe, but I just enjoyed the visuals, and the simple game play, and I had a blast. The iOS version is an excellent perpetual runner game as well, with equally stunning graphics. Check them both out!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Side scrollers can be fun too!!

posted by Strained (FOOTHILL RANCH, CA) Nov 5, 2012

Member since May 2010

This is just proof that a game doesn't need all the fancy 3D stuff to be fun! After just playing Spyro and how they totally screwed up that game, this was a nice change!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun Game, Rayman's cool.

posted by theVault (PITTSFIELD, MA) Oct 23, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Younger qudiences can have a good time, and beat most levels, more experienced gamers can go through and beat all the challenges and all levels of gamer should be happily amused.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A good game for people new to the xbox 360

posted by siam (ARCHDALE, NC) Aug 29, 2012

Member since May 2012

i just got my xbox and its fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

rayman origins

posted by ceesounds (Alhambra, CA) Aug 27, 2012

Member since Jul 2009

RAYMAN IS BREAST!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game

posted by bowsmasher (SPRING HILL, FL) Aug 12, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

i have only played rayman once before on the ds,it wasn't that good to me,but,i looked at the screenshots for this game and thought i would try it out and i must say this has to be one of the best side-scrollers i have played in years.i won't say it is one of those hardcore difficulty games,cause it is not,but it is a load of fun with beautiful environments and fun fluid gameplay.
if you at all like side-scrollers then get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Fun until a bug frustrates you

posted by Equixor (GAITHERSBURG, MD) Jul 17, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Got this game to play with my gf. Was a lot of fun until we started running into small glitches in the gameplay. Look up Pirates Treasure Glitch on youtube. After 2 hours on this board and trying every solution I could find online about how to work around the bug I finally said screw it and sent the game back. Too frustrating when stuff isn't tested and isn't patched when a bug happens.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great rent that will have you smiling

posted by PSJoe97 (LAWRENCE, MI) Jul 1, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

In a market that is dominated by space marines and modern warfare soldiers, Rayman Origins may not offer anything new in the platforming genera but it certainly is a wonderful palate cleanser. Origins has a downright gorgeous art style that is very easy on the eyes, smooth gameplay, a soundtrack that contains some of the best music I have heard in a garme in a long time, and a wonderful sense of humor. Rayman Origins is supposed to tell the back-story of Rayman and why he does what he does. If I had not been told this then I would have not know it was supposed to have a story at all. Maybe it is because I have never played any of the Rayman games but I really did not get that there was a story in this game. Thankfully, this does not take away from the game at all. Rayman Origins is a great rent and offers a breath of fresh air in today's gaming market.

A highly suggested rent and a very solid 8 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rayman 10!.

posted by vancouver19 (VANCOUVER, WA) May 23, 2012

Member since May 2012

Rayman Is a awesome game. The graphics are great game play is really fun. The levels start out pretty easy then as you get farther into the game. They get harder and harder.. Overall I give this game a 10 because it is a great game. It can be played by all ages.. Its for hardcore gamers or someone who just wants to enjoy a fun game!. I would rent for sure And Keep!!!. Have fun!.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good game to mix it up

posted by bwdog51 (SPINDALE, NC) May 10, 2012

Member since May 2012

Rayman Origins is a great game. It's easy to just throw in and play for a few minutes or sit down and play for a few hours. It's a great game to get your gamerscore up if your a completionist type of player. You don't have to play multiplayer in order to get any acheivements which I appreciated. Even as a 28 year old, I enjoyed the fun, comic gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse