Rent Rayman Origins for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Rayman Origins

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $14.99

Also on:Wii, PS3, PS Vita, 3DS

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
7.9

1781 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by Jeremy1 (GRIFFIN, GA) Oct 24, 2012

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It seems like this game hasn't changed much at all since it first came out. What I found that was odd and old was that every move was time based. It has these platforms that rotate in front of you and if your late the screen will keep moving forward and leaving you behind. I haven't seen that in a game since the 80's. This game isn't no where as good as I figured it would be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad

posted by xIBeastSK8R (ROSEVILLE, CA) Dec 21, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

this game really sucks don't rent it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not what expected

posted by caped_crusader (PERTH AMBOY, NJ) Jul 20, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

My younger brother had high expectations for the co-op play. We had fun playing the beginning but farther and farther the game became more and more harder to maneuver and stay still. I hated it with a passion I loved the old ray man but now this game has just kilt its number one fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Fun until a bug frustrates you

posted by Equixor (GAITHERSBURG, MD) Jul 17, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Got this game to play with my gf. Was a lot of fun until we started running into small glitches in the gameplay. Look up Pirates Treasure Glitch on youtube. After 2 hours on this board and trying every solution I could find online about how to work around the bug I finally said screw it and sent the game back. Too frustrating when stuff isn't tested and isn't patched when a bug happens.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Rayman ori-don't

posted by ibNez (SANTA CLARA, CA) Apr 3, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The game is terrible. I love platforms but this game is more like memorize long jump long jump short jump long jump. Over and over and over. I under stand having a level where you have to run the whole time as something is chasing you or the water is rising and you have to keep moving, but there are just to many of those boards as if that were the main level type. This game is all about memorizing when and where to jump. Extremely frustrating and so I give it the lowest score I have ever given a platform. I could only get 27 of the 36 achievements before I wanted to distroy the disc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Cool for a couple of days

posted by Guera2319 (SACRAMENTO, CA) May 20, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I got Rayman Origins thinking it would be fun CO-OP game and it was but the levels are ridiculous one hit and it's bye-bye Rayman. their music was okay for the first hour then it started to get on my nervers it sounded like alvin and the chimpmunks worst hits. it was an okay game if you have it on mute!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Did someone turn the game level up to Insane?

posted by JoSkBe (GENOA, CO) Jan 4, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

This is my first Rayman game so there was no nostalgic value, and maybe that’s why it was such a painfully tedious game to me. The first few levels are a lot of fun to play but as you progress further in the game the fun turns into meticulous acts of dyeing over and over again. In various parts of the game you have to make a perfect run (and I mean perfect) in order to advance. I am just glad they didn’t give you lives because dyeing and starting the level over is a common occurrence in this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ahh not so great

posted by jeancarlos (PERTH AMBOY, NJ) Jul 4, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

well, it was fun in the beggining but as you progress on the game, its gets annoying and boring...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great 4 nostalgia & parties, but alone...

posted by vgman93 (LAKELAND, FL) Mar 9, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

While I loved playing this game, with the storyline flowing smoothly, I felt disappointed in the fact that when I beat the game...that's it! It is a great game to play with other people at a party or if you have kids or siblings. The animations were amazing, especially since they were all hand drawn. The goofyness and uniqueness of rayman just continues in this videogame and is a magnificent nostalgia rememberance . But in my opinion, when I buy a game, I would like to play it constantly, even after I beat it.
Pros:
animations, story, optional quest, moderation of power ups, puzzles
Cons:
quick game to beat, not much of a "repeat" game, no difficulty level

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A "Simple" Fun Co-Op Game

posted by MrCrypt (FARMINGVILLE, NY) Feb 19, 2012

Member since Nov 2005

Rayman. Yeah Rayman games have always been pretty good. (Minus the rabbits) This game is no different! It is your usually platformer but really have a nice color and feel to it. You can play with two people by drop in. Some if your in the middle of a stage and your friends wants to play, all he/she has to do is press start. Now, why is simple in quotes. Well the game does indeed get much harder later on in the deeper levels. Overall, the game is pretty simple to play and is a lot of fun. The story is kind of blane but it still is pretty fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Were to start?

posted by Pandabear1 (BEVERLY HILLS, FL) Nov 29, 2011

Member since Jul 2008

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

The graphics were pretty good and the game ran smoothly, but it just lacked that old game feeling from the original one and that's what made me not want to play it anymore. The levels were repetitive although you got to play as different characters that was a plus in the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome game

posted by Gamer_Hero (ORLANDO, FL) Oct 1, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

This game was fun and fast paced, but the game lost my interest at certain points

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game

posted by bowsmasher (SPRING HILL, FL) Aug 12, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

i have only played rayman once before on the ds,it wasn't that good to me,but,i looked at the screenshots for this game and thought i would try it out and i must say this has to be one of the best side-scrollers i have played in years.i won't say it is one of those hardcore difficulty games,cause it is not,but it is a load of fun with beautiful environments and fun fluid gameplay.
if you at all like side-scrollers then get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great rent that will have you smiling

posted by PSJoe97 (LAWRENCE, MI) Jul 1, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

In a market that is dominated by space marines and modern warfare soldiers, Rayman Origins may not offer anything new in the platforming genera but it certainly is a wonderful palate cleanser. Origins has a downright gorgeous art style that is very easy on the eyes, smooth gameplay, a soundtrack that contains some of the best music I have heard in a garme in a long time, and a wonderful sense of humor. Rayman Origins is supposed to tell the back-story of Rayman and why he does what he does. If I had not been told this then I would have not know it was supposed to have a story at all. Maybe it is because I have never played any of the Rayman games but I really did not get that there was a story in this game. Thankfully, this does not take away from the game at all. Rayman Origins is a great rent and offers a breath of fresh air in today's gaming market.

A highly suggested rent and a very solid 8 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Highly Enjoyable!

posted by denzo45 (ASHTABULA, OH) Apr 25, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

I've been playing this with my wife and we both love this game. It's got a lot of levels to play through and collect the little electoons and has a high replay value through time trials for each level. The only issue is 'friendly fire' where you can smack your teammate around. On numerous occasions I'd knock my wife in a pit or she'd knock me into a baddie. Overall, it's great fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Platforming Action!

posted by Sharwulf (GLENDORA, CA) Feb 21, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

This is the game platforming fans have been waiting for. It's got fun levels and a beautifully executed art-style and musical score. Co-op is amazing and easy. Lots of good times to be had with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

RayMan whats it worth

posted by GameMasturd (PARKER, CO) Dec 18, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

I thought that rayman origins was a great game. it reminds people of the not so serious game sorta like saints row. this game is funny and also kinda strange with its differnt language. even though you may thonk its a kids game it's one of the best non serious game out. although it does has it's donws too. the game is always getting harder and also it's not 3-D. sStill if you have alot of spare time then as a gamer i would recommend playing this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game if you are a fan

posted by Aronsky (SAN MARCOS, CA) Nov 23, 2011

Member since Aug 2008

5 out of 15 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I'll start out by saying I only played this game for about half an hour before sending it back. However, don't get me wrong, this is a great game. The gameplay is solid and smooth, great soundtrack, and overall lots of fun. The only reason I sent it back is simply because I'm not a huge fan of side scrollers and when I rented this game all I knew was that it was a popular series. Didn't realize what type of game it was until it had been shipped and my friend told me.

I likely would have kept it for a little while if I didn't have a few new games on my shelf that I'm itching to play.

So just to clarify, from what I saw this is a really good game but I'm just not a huge fan of the side scrolling genre.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very unique.

posted by Shadowstacker7 (DUNDALK, MD) Jan 12, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

I only have one problem it can get hard sometimes but that's the only thing keeping it from a 10

Pros,achievements fun graphics funny long story

Cons, difficulty a little repetitive

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Beautiful Game Graphics

posted by Kurrad (AUSTIN, TX) Mar 20, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

I was in awe of how far this style of game art has come since the 1990's (The last lime I played Rayman). The game is visually stunning and just whacky fun. The story makes so little sense. I never tried to understand the Rayman universe, but I just enjoyed the visuals, and the simple game play, and I had a blast. The iOS version is an excellent perpetual runner game as well, with equally stunning graphics. Check them both out!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun Game, Rayman's cool.

posted by theVault (PITTSFIELD, MA) Oct 23, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Younger qudiences can have a good time, and beat most levels, more experienced gamers can go through and beat all the challenges and all levels of gamer should be happily amused.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A good game for people new to the xbox 360

posted by siam (ARCHDALE, NC) Aug 29, 2012

Member since May 2012

i just got my xbox and its fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

rayman origins

posted by ceesounds (Alhambra, CA) Aug 27, 2012

Member since Jul 2009

RAYMAN IS BREAST!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good game to mix it up

posted by bwdog51 (SPINDALE, NC) May 10, 2012

Member since May 2012

Rayman Origins is a great game. It's easy to just throw in and play for a few minutes or sit down and play for a few hours. It's a great game to get your gamerscore up if your a completionist type of player. You don't have to play multiplayer in order to get any acheivements which I appreciated. Even as a 28 year old, I enjoyed the fun, comic gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Mario+Sonic=Rayman Origins?

posted by YakuzaShiro (BLACKSBURG, VA) Apr 22, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

This is my first Rayman game and my first platforming game on the 360 that I've played so far.

While the title may say Rayman ORIGINS the game doesn't explain how exactly Rayman came to be Rayman. The game starts off with Rayman and his friends relaxing on a tree and ends when you've beaten the boss at the end of the game, turns out nothing changes and Rayman and his gang at back where they started.

There is virtually no storyline in Rayman Origins and being a platforming game it really doesn't matter at all.

The graphics look good and there is a very unique art style that was taken with the game.

The gameplay is what you would expect in a platformer, some jumping, some running, and some collectibles.

For the most part Rayman Origins is an easy game, but there is a large difficulty spike toward the end of the game that did cause me to restart quite a few times. Thankfully the loading times are short and the checkpoints are very well placed.

Rayman Origins is a good rent for anyone who enjoys platforming games and may even be worth a buy for those who feel like being a completionist with the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse