Rent Rayman Origins for PS3
view large frontback

Rayman Origins

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:3DS, PS Vita, Wii, Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
7.8

1331 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

The errors

posted by drewberry221 (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Aug 17, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game was really good in general but the was a few problems while i was playing the game. Like when i was in the water world every time i finished a level in that world I would find only enemies no cage or even sometimes i would find nothing. Also when the level loads up they load really slowly so i have to keep turning off and on the console to work right.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Enjoyable game.

posted by RichardsINFERNO (HAWTHORNE, CA) May 9, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Really enjoyed this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun, colorful platformer worth a look

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Nov 22, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

"Rayman Origins" is a fun, colorful side-scrolling 2D platformer that's worth the time for both old and young players alike. You start off with just a couple of basic moves, like jump and sprint, and gain more abilities the farther you progress in the game. The levels can be inconsistent with their difficulty- one can be a breeze while the next can be irritatingly difficult- but with patience they can all be conquered. There are plenty of collectibles and secret areas, which lead to the ability to unlock more characters. Each character, while retaining a similar play mechanic, is also unique in their own way. You won't get everything on just one run through a level either, so there is incentive to revisit levels. It's not perfect and may not be for everyone, but if you're looking for a little bit lighter fare and something different from FPSs, adventure games, or massive RPGs, this might be a game to check out. Worth a rental at least.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Origin of the Species

posted by IllogicalJ (BROOKLYN, NY) Dec 1, 2011

Member since May 2005

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Don't believe in evolution? Pick up a copy of Rayman: Origins, and you'll see how to make a perfect platformer. What starts as dashing and jumping soon as you hovering, swimming, and running up walls, and whereas your primary goal at first is merely to finish a level, you'll also get awards for collecting everything within it, not to mention beating the time limits for each stage. You're always learning new tricks to move faster, from how to boost momentum on ice to how best to wall jump, and consequently, you're always discovering new things to love about the exquisitely hand-drawn levels and excitable soundtrack.

There's plenty of content here, and from the punny titles of each level to the secrets hidden within, this will remind platform fans most of a mash between Donkey Kong Country and Wario Land: Shake It. And while perfecting Rayman's as difficult as most games in the genre, it has one edge up on its predecessors: a forgiving checkpoint and infinite life system that allows you to perfect stages a section at a time, rather than being forced to nail it all in one go. (For the hardcore, you'll still have the increasingly unforgiving time trials and the unlockable bonus "treasure" levels, in which you chase a fleeing treasure chest; rest assured, this isn't Crash Bandicoot.)

A terrific learning curve that continues to push you, a checkpoint progression system that won't make you snap your controller, and a lush and colorful aesthetic that makes even dying a beautiful thing . . . did I mention that there's a co-operative mode, too, if that's your thing? I know I made an evolution joke at the top of this review, but in all honesty, if this game proves anything, it's the importance of intelligent design.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Art Direction can go a Long way

posted by Ngo (DALLAS, TX) Dec 20, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

When i saw this last year I've been extremely excited
just thought of seeing Rayman without those stupid rabbits...SO GOOD!
and though I was upset I'd have to wait a year to play, it was worth it. This game is so much fun and has an amazing art direction. The art direction is so good that even when I wanted to quit because of the difficulty spikes I just stopped trying to get a perfect score and move onto the next level where i would still try to collect everything

My only complained is the difficulty spikes (especially those tooth mission UGH) but It does make up for it with infinite lives, the charming message "This area sure got dangerous, do you want to keep trying?" after dieing countless times to succeed perfection, and the gratitude of completing it

Great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Not for everyone

posted by kaitoofrose (HARVEST, AL) Nov 19, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Alright, in my opinion, this game is one of the best I have ever played, but this game might not be for everyone. If you are just running through the level, then it might be a medium difficulty, but if you are one that has to get everything, then this game will be tough as 4-week old stale buns.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game!!! 5 stars

posted by deadmanwnderlnd (NAPA, CA) Apr 10, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'd say Rayman Origins is the best game on PS3 that you can play with 1, 2, or three of your best friends in the same screen and still have a blast.
It seems as a kid game but can get challenging even for adults, is as fun as going back to your childhood and remembering playing Rayman 15 years ago, only better.
Is competitive, cooperative, is great.
Graphics are superp, is like if you were in a cartoon, there is no lag and no blurreness.
Is a great game, and I recommend it to be played with a friend or two.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not bad...

posted by claycooper (CARY, NC) Jan 9, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Pros: great graphics, responsive controls, very creative artwork

Cons: very repetitive levels and music. Goes from mind-numbingly easy through the entire game to mind-blowingly difficult for the last few levels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

6 years and under

posted by 321 (HAMPTON, VA) Jan 6, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 18 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

im 30 but a video game fanatic and this was totally boring. no power moves or nothing to ride in. just jumping up and down and a punch button.pain and simple thank god for gamefly because this is not worth buying.8.1 rating that is a lie it should be a 3.1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not bad by lbpanet 1

posted by lbplanet1 (BRONX, NY) Apr 8, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

cool gaem not 1 to finsh all the way through tho

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Old school fun! Collect them all!

posted by KYgamer (BURLINGTON, KY) Jul 15, 2012

Member since Jul 2009

Great old school platforming fun here. Tons to collect and unlock and perfect in each level. Soooo much replay value. I liked so much I clicked the Keep it button because I know i'll be playing it for awhile. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing

posted by Aboelsas (FOLSOM, CA) Jul 13, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

This game is simply amazing from the music to the level design a must play for any 2d fan games so beautiful that word cannot describe it !!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Co-op Friendly

posted by MADMikeTheKing (UNION CITY, NJ) Feb 23, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

The game is extremely satisfying without needing to have so much added into it. Simple and fun to play with a friend or two. Sometimes the camera can be your enemy when playing with multiple people and playing alone can get a bit dull and boring. None-the-less a solid and enjoyable gaming experience and definitely worth the rent, if not a buy, for anyone who enjoys a fun and creative side-scrolling platformer!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Near-Platforming Perfection

posted by GStylez80 (WESTERVILLE, OH) Feb 10, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

This has to be one of the most underrated games of this generation. Rayman Origins is gorgeous, jam-packed full of content, and immensely creative in its level design. I haven't had this much fun with a 2D-platformer (outside of LBP2) since Super Mario World. I sincerely hope there is a follow-up to this masterpiece.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Surprise it's actually good

posted by NumbSpeculum (HENRICO, VA) Jan 24, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

I never liked any of the other Rayman games (or at least the ones for N64) but this one was really fun. Mind you it's a lot better with someone else to play with but I was kinda addicted.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

RAY-EALLYGOODGAME-MAN!

posted by StarRaven (WELLINGTON, FL) Dec 28, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

This game is awesome.

Nice and simple oldschool style, but not outdated at all. Fantastic visuals, excellent gameplay. LOADS of replayability (if you hunt trophies or have OCD) The game is long enough to keep you busy for a while just on it's own too. It's not "super" difficult unless you go bonkers replaying every level for unlockables, but it's not "kidishly easy" either, although, kids could definitely play it as many did Mario, Mega Man and Donkey Kong back in the day.

Playing this almost reminds me of when I first played Crash Bandicoot (yes I know they're not entirely alike, 2D, 3D, etc) in the sense of, you could breeze through the game carelessly with relative ease, but getting all of the secrets and collecting everything still takes some skill and patience. (Little Big Planet too!)

I love this game and highly recommend it for everyone!! Excellent!!

PS: This is a great alternative to the current trend of flip flopping between 1st person shooters and 3rd person action games that this generation is famous for!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not as good as the original

posted by temak82 (SCHENECTADY, NY) Dec 27, 2011

Member since Aug 2007

This game was a bit too repetitive in it's gameplay and idea for me. There are no real 'enemies' but rather obstacles that you have to get through in order to beat the level. In the original it was more like Sonic, Earthworm Jim and Mario. I wish this was more like that.

The graphics and the music was done very well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by prince12 (NORCROSS, GA) Dec 17, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

i loved it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by spacedout33 (YUCAIPA, CA) Dec 15, 2011

Member since May 2011

Rayman Origins is a beautiful game through out, with vivid colors and bright environments none of the levels with leave you bored. The controls and platforming in this game is amazing throughout. The game is difficult but not initially it is more due to the time trials and other collectiable medals if you so choose to do them, and if you want pure challenge be sure to pick up all the dragon teeth that level shows just how difficult platforming can be. Though it may be a bit repetitious at times none of the levels seem like exact copies of one another. This is pure platformer through and through and if you love that old school Mario type of feel, but updated and polished then look for Rayman Origins.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game but....

posted by prneal77 (SPANAWAY, WA) Dec 14, 2011

Member since Nov 2009

It is a repetitive platformer. None of the characters have anything to set them apart from one another except in visual preference so no matter what character you are using the game plays the same. They seemingly recycled every platformer cliche' they could muster to try to create challenges (time trials, collection quotas, etc.).

Graphics are very good and the level ideas are good but not very inventive. The only secrets to find are hidden power coins and the one or two bonus rooms in each stage.

The platforming is top notch and controls are easy to get. Pretty easy game to beat. But getting each achievement in game or trophies does require some level replay to get them all. It is a solid game but you'd have to be either in love with platformers or Rayman to really enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Reminds me why I play games

posted by benybuds (SOUTH LAKE TAHOE, CA) Nov 24, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

This game is a masterpiece. Up there with DK Country, even better. This game reminds me of why I started playing games in the first place, FUN. To bad they don't make games like they used to, definitely a buyer, a game that sticks true to originality and perfection without all the unnecessary bs that games nowadays came to relies on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Must try

posted by Warped13 (EL MONTE, CA) Nov 20, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

This game is fun, exciting, funny, and just brings you back to your childhood days. A artistic masterpiece with great music and visuals. it gives you enough of a challenge but easy enough to keep you playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »