Rent Rayman Origins for Wii
view large frontback

Rayman Origins

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:3DS, PS3, Xbox 360, PS Vita

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
7.7

443 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Almost didn't rent it...glad I did

posted by nr_clark (MARLTON, NJ) Nov 15, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Here's the breakdown: bits of goofy funnyness, classy artwork, very good music soundtracks, and just plain awesome perks reveal that the game was designed by a uncommon crowd...turns out that the crew was primarily European/French design crew. My videogame-despising roommate, after dumbing down virtually every other game aside from the Kingdom Hearts franchise, praised this game from a 3rd person perspective. Now that's saying something...right?

If you're scratching your head about whether or not to rent/buy this (like me)--do yourself a favor and try it out. It's a nice refresher as opposed to the Japanese games. I still go to YouTube to find some of the great music found on this game. As for keeping the game, it was....err, not for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best platformers out there!

posted by monkey54 (MARTINSBURG, WV) Oct 28, 2012

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When Rayman Origins first came out I was excited, I finally got to see one my favorite heroes back in action. However Rayman Origins did more than just excite me, it made me realize how well a video game should be. The graphics are down right beautiful and it has so much atmosphere wherever you go. The music is fun and catchy and even makes the areas much better. The best part of Rayman Origins however is the gameplay. This game will put any gamer's skills to the test, you will die a lot but the controls are so good that it's your fault, not the game's. Multiplayer is just as fun with being able to smack your friends around is so sweet. Rayman Origins is one the best platformers, heck even one the best games I've ever played. It's on every system so it's at least worth a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun but soooo hard!

posted by kermitluvver (BEL AIR, MD) May 15, 2012

Member since May 2012

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

this game was both addictive and lots of fun. but as the game pogressed i began questioning whether or not the creators were trying to drive me crazy and then questioned my own sanity when i insisted upon seeing it through to the end. there were some levels that i literally played certain parts 50 times before being able to progress only to die inches past the previous area and then would have to start over again. insane! i was beginning to think i was going to have to pay a neighborhood kid to beat it that level for me just so i could continue on. but all in all a good time. but why was it sooooo hard?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Rayman – one fun guy to be with

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Nov 26, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

What this game has to do with the Rayman Raving Rabbids party games – well I quite don’t understand.
But that’s not needed – Rayman Origins is a 2D platformer where you play as Rayman, and your task is to defeat some evil force and rescue four magical sisters.
Each of the sisters that’s saved will give Rayman and friends a power – like swim underwater, run up cliffs, change size and hover.
But a few of these powers feel nothing more than a means to get through a level. And you don’t decide when you get big or small.
As you go through most levels, you collect hovering objects and find hidden areas where you rescue pink circle thingies. You get one point for getting through the level, up to two points for rescuing each hidden creatures, up to two points for getting a lot of the hovering objects, and one more point for getting through the level in a fast time.
These points are used to unlock other characters and other levels.
The level design here is great, and the boss battle are fun – some of them have you fly on a fly (weird, but that’s Rayman for you). Those levels are the ones I had the most fun with.
But the later sections of the game get really hard – and in order to finish each section, you have to get more and more points. There are times where I had to backtrack to earlier levels in that section and gather up points I didn’t get the first time around. This can really frustrate players who just want to do a speed run to the end of the game.
Rayman Origins is one game that’s a definite rent, and fans of 2D platforming games might want to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

rayman rocks

posted by trex6504 (HAZLE TOWNSHIP, PA) Mar 15, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I had recently played this game and was very surprised at how well the game transferred to the new consoles. I have been a fan of rayman since he first appeared on the ps1. The graphics on this game are beautiful. the worlds are exciting to play including being able to fly on a mosquito, ride on the wind, slide on water, swing and jump on food and also bounce on drums and thats just the first 3 worlds. The controls are easy to pick up either move with the nunchuk and jump and attack with the a and b buttons or turn the wii remote sideways and use the control pad to move and 1 and 2 buttons to jump and attack. the game is easy enough for young gamers and yet challenging for even vetern games. the only con i have with this game is not being close in on rayman. I would recommend this as a purchase if you like rayman games of the past or you just like to play a good platform game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun, but repetitive.

posted by 1234565 (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Aug 2, 2012

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

OK, so I was just testing the waters with this game to see if I liked it to know if I should ask for Rayman Legends for the Wii U for Christmas. I don't think I will. I got through most of the game. I liked it, but it just lacked something. I mean every level was basically the same. Collect the yellow shiny things. I definately like the 3D Rayman games better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I Miss The Rabbids

posted by giger4life (CLEBURNE, TX) Mar 27, 2012

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I don't even know what a Raving Rabbid is. All I know is, that this game didn't quench the hype. It had interesting levels and music, but for some reason I felt like I was playing Donkey Kong Kountry. Overall it feels like a children's game. I thought it was going to be artsy fartsy, not snot nose farty, if that makes sense. I would recommend playing this game on the PS3 or 360 due to the uncomfortable playing style of the Wii remote turned sideways. This is actually the first Rayman game I have ever played, and it wasn't that bad, I just expected it to be excellent. Give it a whirl.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rayman Origins

posted by ccins (TRYON, NC) Jan 4, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I will be buying this game! Not like the old Rayman but still a fun game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

1

posted by ghghghrock (OLATHE, KS) Jan 10, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Diamond In the Rough...

posted by Nintendoeswutsc (PLATTSBURGH, NY) Sep 6, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

Well, here goes: It's a great game, better than most platformers now, it feels like you're playing a cartoon, almost. This game is a really weird game, but it's amazing, it looks great, has great controls, is extremely fun, the music is great (One reviewer said it was awful, he has bad taste.), it never gets boring (That reviewer said it got boring, too. I have no idea what he's talking about.), and it has really fun multiplayer, too! Rayman Origins is truly a great game, but it has two flaws: 1. No multiplayer on the handheld versions, but this isn't a handheld version, so that doesn't really matter! 2. The controls for the Wii version are a bit weird because it's hard to use B to run, but that's it. Other than that, it's truly an amazing game, and DEFINITELY deserves a rent, and, maybe, a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Liked it better when it was called "Earthworm Jim"

posted by RINDLETRON (MIAMI, FL) Dec 21, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

See above then move on to the next game in your list.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pure fun!

posted by mecrjcr (COOPERSBURG, PA) Nov 25, 2012

Member since May 2011

This is one of the most fun games available on wii (if you do multi player).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Rayman What?!?

posted by kitlynne (OTTERVILLE, MO) Aug 2, 2012

Member since Sep 2010

The description of the game lured me in – meeting 100s of characters, numerous worlds, and an entertaining story line. Unfortunately, the game is repetitive, too difficult (how many times can I swing on the same vine before the game decides I’ve done it right!?) and poorly written. The graphics were wonderful; however the game was infuriating at best. I don’t know how many times I had to die -on purpose- just to restart a section, or I’d miss all the lums and need to re-do the whole level. My wife and I sat hyping ourselves up just to finish the last level, because we were so mad we just wanted to quit. Once we finally finished it, the end cut scene was SPOILER ALERT a 10 second snippet of a woman saying “wow that was a nightmare!” All that work, and sitting through well over 15 minutes of credits (and you watch them twice)… for that!? We felt like morons, wondering what the hizow just happened. The characters you unlock all look identical, just in different colors. Every level was so difficult, yet repetitive. Run, and pray you don’t run into anything. Oops – did you just run into an invisible wall? Oh well – your bad. I thought this game would be relaxing and a good retro game. I wished so many times I could break it in half – too bad I had to send the disc back. The characters were fun and the puns in the level titles were great, but the fairy girls were floozies, half dressed and provocative. Then to celebrate, the characters do nice little “pelvic thrusts”, and dry hump/stroke the lum cannon. The “livid dead” seemed unnecessary and vulgar. Definitely not something I want my children playing. Overall this game did not teach me anything about the origin or rayman. I thought it would be fun for my wife and I, as well as my two 8 year old twin brothers, but for all of us it was just frustrating. Don’t worry – no creators were stressed in the making of this game – in fact they weren’t even needed. The end is exactly the same as the beginning – real creative… lame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

excellent

posted by tallmario365 (BETHESDA, MD) Apr 15, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

this game was excellent because of the new bosses

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun

posted by Awesomeness2day (DECATUR, GA) Mar 17, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

it is fun. it is too easy though

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »