Rent Rayman 3D for 3DS
view large frontback

Rayman 3D

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.7

489 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Not Understandable to new-comers

posted by GameGuideGuy (BALLSTON SPA, NY) Aug 17, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I admit it. I have never played the ORIGINAL Rayman games before. The game is suposed to be a re-make of Rayman 2. This is actually a pretty good game! If the graphic were a little better, I'd rate this an 8! Many parts I could not understand, though. I wouldn't recommend this to 5 year olds and below, because some of the Evil character even freaked ME out! Also, This game can be very puzzling, so if you absolutely HATE puzzles, this game isn't right for you. I want to end on a happy note by saying that the game is GREAT for action/adventure gamers!

Now get back to gaming! Get this game and play it NOW! (please?)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

First time perspective

posted by ManinRed (LOS GATOS, CA) Apr 9, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I never played Rayman until the 3ds version....
I have seen a lot of bias in the reviews because they've all played it before and on different platforms, well I haven't and if I didnt go for it I would have missed out on one of the greatest platformers created. The environments are vibrant and I love the art design, its timeless.

I am not sure about the 3d, at times I really like it...when barrels fall, jumping etc...with the 3d turned off, the jump in graphics is equally impressive and runs smoother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Nothing Special

posted by Jim (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Apr 23, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'd never played Rayman before. I can't give a biased review based on this being a port. This game is pretty average. It has its good moments countered with plenty of bad. As for good, if you like platformers, then this is for you. The bad: The camera angles are always wrong and most of the time the camera centering button will tell you it does not work. This is very frustrating. The 3D is terrible. At anything above barely on everything looks blurry. If you're a Rayman fan, then this game is not worth playing. You've seen it all before and there's nothing special about this one. If you're looking for a game to show off your 3DS, this isn't the game for that either. This game is just average. Not worth buying. Maybe worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Rayman 3D/Rayman 2:The Great Escape

posted by Exxo22 (PONCA CITY, OK) Dec 5, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First up this was a 3DS launch title and yes it may be a port but to me its the second-best launch title for the 3DS. I had never experienced Rayman 2 before this and now I know why its held in such high regards this is one of the best 3D platformers of all time. This game, this fantastic, game though does have its problems many of which are just personal the graphics may not be up to par with Ocarina of Time 3D, Super Mario 3D Land. or Resident Evil: The Mercinaries but its not bad either personally I don't care about graphics. Another problem is sound quality don't get me wrong the music sounds amazing but its not loud enough or clear enough for my tastes, but a solution to this is earbuds. The gamplay is why your going to play a platformer and Rayman does some of the best you will ever see its fun and inventive yet not strafing to far from normal plaforming standards. You may be still wondering why a port deserves such a high score...because its a good port if your looking to get your platforming fill out of the 3DS I highlly recommend Super Mario 3D Land, Sonic Generations, and Rayman 3D. Rayman 3D is a port if your looking for the best experience I recommend finding the N64 or Dreamcast version but this is also avalible on PS1, PS2, and DS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good game, with some graphics issues.

posted by Kamil (SYRACUSE, NY) Mar 28, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Game it's not so bad. If there will be no problems with framerate and ghosting, it's pretty good game. Unfortunately Rayman 3D have problem with framerate when a lot is happening on the screen. I think 3DS should handle that pretty easily, so it's look like issues with code. Another game killer is a problem with ghosting. Some objects (Rayman mostly) have duplicates floating around. Because of that sometimes it's hard to focus on that what is happening on the screen. I have about 20% of game, but I'm tired of issues. Going to return it tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Just Another Port

posted by FuzzyLogic (FORT LAUDERDALE, FL) Jun 9, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

This game is "Rayman 2: The Great Escape" ported, once again, to another platform. You can find this game on the original Nintendo DS, now the 3DS, the PC, iOS, N64, and i believe the playstation(?) Rayman 2 is considered one of the absolute best in the 3D platforming genre. Now don't get me wrong it's a great game but this is a horrible port. The frame rate is atrocious, one minute its in 60 and it looks beautiful then it jumps around to 30 and back constantly switching for no real reason. The 3DS can handle this game. Super Street Fighter IV 3D edition runs in 60fps if you turn off the 3D effects, why can't Rayman?

The touch screen is used to track collectibles, that's it. For the first two levels, there's nothing on it. It's lazy and unimaginative.

Ubisoft keeps re-releasing this game over and over. I say that if you want to play this game play it on your phone if you can. The iOS version i played was better, more consistent, and cheaper too. But that's off Topic. Just don't buy it. That is all.

P.S. I am a Rayman fan and I DO enjoy Rayman 2, just not on the 3DS. Looking forward to what the series has coming in the future.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

rayman 3D

posted by swiftnightstar (LAKE WALES, FL) Nov 25, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

its a very fun game but it looks just like the n64 one i think they could of made the graphis a little better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Rayman's Great Adventure

posted by alex1609 (WESTON, FL) Mar 12, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

This is a remake of a great game, but as I never played the original, I'm reviewing it as a new game. Some might consider this unfair, but I believe even remakes should be considered brand new when ported to new platforms.

Graphics: The worst aspect of the game. For this generation of gaming, this game sub-utilizes the graphic processing power of the 3DS. Models and text look obsolete. The 3D effect though welcome and comfortable, also feels like it could be more.

Plot/Story: Having played other Rayman games, I believe this is the game with the best plot of them all(haven't played Origins yet). Characters are likeable and villains really give a reason to keep playing til their defeat. I recommend playing it just for the story.

Sound: It is hard to sincerely say I enjoyed the music, as it felt like everything was kind of the same. The tunes for battles/vehicle riding parts were cool, but they kept playing even after failing and starting over. The SFX were well used, and it didn't really bother me that the character's voices didn't match the dialog. It gave the game a distinct feeling that matched the world where it plays.

Gameplay: The major problem here is the camera that sometimes gets buggy and difficult to control. The 3D platforming feels right, and the control scheme with the stick-pad and the face buttons was natural. The enemy-targeting during battle works and the sliding/vehicle riding parts were entertaining and challenging. Swimming and flying/free falling mechanics were also easy to grasp and difficult to master. The fact that the game is not limited through lives but check-points was also well implemented. This is a long game (10 h+) but the way different chapters are separated and played allows for enjoyable portability. One complain I have is that the second screen is only used to display the same info every time. maybe they could've used it to show the knowledge from the lums, or some other extras for this version of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Like any other Rayman

posted by Mario11168 (RIO RANCHO, NM) Aug 18, 2011

Member since Jun 2008

It's like any other Rayman game, fun but not as good as the alternatives.

The story is pretty good for this kind of game, the gameplay is really easy to get used to and so is the whole Garbage Collecting aspect, and it's really easy to play in general.

But it's just not... Good. It's fun but nothing you haven't seen before (unless this is your first game for a handheld). I say it would be way worth waiting for the Mario 3DS to come out, or go for that if it's out when you read this.

And one more thing. The 3D was bad. I could hardly tell any noticeable depth difference, as compared to Zelda's 3D or Steel Diver, or even Samurai Warriors. I don't know what they did but this game was better in 2D, which doesn't make it worth buying, and hardly makes it worth playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Looks great and... that's all the good I can say!

posted by LemmyKoopa (MADISON, WI) Jul 8, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

I just never found the gameplay very interesting, even as a fan of collect 'em adventures, and I found the game really suffered from two main problems.

First, this game has one of the worst soundtracks I've encountered. It's not even that the music is annoying. That would almost be an improvement. The music is hardly there at all and if you do notice it, it's probably because you'll be finding it repetitive. There are parts of the game that call out for fast-paced or suspenseful songs to make things interesting and when the game even makes an attempt to deliver in those situations, the songs are always too quiet to make much of an impact. I know not everyone cares about game music as much as I do but I at least felt that it made the game much less interesting.

The second big problem is the difficulty. Mostly, the game is way too easy. Combat, first of all, is a waste. You've got way too much health to die from getting hit too often, so just keep shooting until any foes die. Now, dieing from falling down a hole or crashing, sure, that'll happen a lot. But with infinite lives and tons of checkpoints, death is little more than an inconvenience in this game. That may help to avoid frustration, but it also makes the game boring, with little challenge. Finding all the Lums is certainly hard (in no small part because you'll get too bored), but finding enough to advance is no problem. Most bosses in the game, including the last one, are jokes.

Although the game is normally easy, in a few spots the game flips out and suddenly it's super hard! Halfway through the game is a level that may just be the longest, most annoying I've seen, with numerous difficult challenges and dead ends just to tick you off. The final level also has a tough spot if only because it's so hard to see the course.

I didn't find a lot of redeeming qualities in this game. Just find some screenshots and look at the game, as the visuals are about the only thing here worth experiencing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

An Okay Title

posted by CindyKay (ENOLA, PA) Jul 8, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

This was the first Rayman game I have ever played on a portable system, and it was okay. I know it was a port of the older game, but there were still a lot of little bugs I was coming across on the 3DS system, such as ghosting and lags --a LOT of lags-- and sometimes the controls wouldn't exactly cooperate. Either way, the game is colorful, fun, and easy to breeze through; I completed it in about 8 hours and it's a good game to rent for over the weekend or to save for a rainy day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

what the heck, Ubisoft?

posted by kaitoofrose (HARVEST, AL) May 27, 2011

Member since May 2011

Ok, this could have been a decent game, but there is a couple things that have ruined it for me. One thing is that there is NO voice acting! Even the PS version had voice acting! The 3D implementing is definitely not the best and could have been better, and the graphics have NOT updated since the dreamcast one, I bet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

It'll knock your socks off!!!!

posted by CoolestLosera (LAS VEGAS, NV) May 24, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

How bad this game is! Sorry to mislead you but this game made me do it. I know there are a lot of Rayman fanboys or whatever but this game is literally no different then it was back in on the N64 version of the game. Slow framerate, terrible texture, horrible character renders, and the worst thing of all, the 3D is implemented terribly. This is one of the worst ports of a game that I have ever played. The developers didn't even try to improve the lackluster effect that Rayman's energy balls produce, it seriously looks like he waves his hand and a white ball appears about 3 inches away from his hand, and it gets worse as the attack is upgraded to a large blueish orb that behaves the same way only on a larger scale.

If you must play it, simply rent it, you'll still probably be mad about renting, but at least you won't be out $40 bucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i liked the game

posted by piplup123ruiz (SAN JACINTO, CA) May 1, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

its a pretty awsome game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not that Good

posted by cdaleh (SAINT FRANCISVILLE, LA) Apr 29, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

The graphics are horrible, and its not the 3ds's fault it is the game's fault. and not to fun, the 3d effects are really bad in some places and really good in other places.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent Gameplay!

posted by afaskowi (MIDDLETOWN, NY) Apr 20, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Graphics could use some improvement, but very fun to play. Thoughtful and challenging puzzles. Makes good use of the 3D.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

hard to get what is going on

posted by dave10425 (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Apr 20, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

let me see where do I start?
you just don't know where to go and why

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Things Come to an End- Too Early in This Case

posted by nate33 (ENCINITAS, CA) Apr 11, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

Great game, a ton of fun. The first game I played for the 3DS and I wasn't disappointed with the game. I was disappointed when I beat the game in a week. Don't buy this game, but definitely rent it and just play until you beat it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

lazy rerelease

posted by captainzhao (BRIGHTON, MA) Apr 5, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

despite allowing for the 3d visuals. this game shows its age. it's bland and kinda stodgy. also, of the 6 3DS games I've tried, this is the only one where the 3D bugged me. It's probably a result of converting Dreamcast graphics to the 3D without really redoing anything, but there is a lot of texture popping, and blurry busyness, especially when things like sparkles are happening. I suppose if you we're fond of these games, this could be cool, but for most people, it'll prove a pretty mediocre game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

i am enjoying the game

posted by Cheezr (LANTANA, FL) Apr 3, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2008

True this is a 3d port of Rayman 2: the great escape but the 3d effects are nice and the game is fun. I think that it is one of the better launch titles (although that says more about the launch titles than about the game).
It's a solid one weekend rental..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »