Rent Raven Squad for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Raven Squad

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
3.3

1385 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Raven Squad

posted by DustyNuts (NORTH BRANFORD, CT) Jun 5, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

12 out of 12 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Lets start with the good coz it wont take long. Great concept being able to switch from overview to first person. Its an easy 1000 achievement points especially with a buddy. . . . . and thats all the good.

WORST VOICE ACTING EVER ! ! ! do not normally let things like this ruin a game for me but holy S$!t. The best cut scenes are the ones you can skip. the ones you cant skip make you reach for the mute button (seriously).

AI on your friendly team members makes you wonder if they are actually friendly or just Idiots. It can take frustratingly long periods of time for your members to follow action orders like throw a grenade.

Its worth a rent for the acheivements but if you buy this game then i have a bridge in brooklyn for sale if your interested ?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

RTS meets FPS?

posted by Nickkkk (WOODLAND, CA) Aug 31, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

31 out of 39 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

So, this game is definitely NOT worth buying. And I can't stress this enough. The graphics are mediocre. The gameplay is fun and captive. It gets you in he game but takes you out as soon as they start conversing with one another. It lacks enthusiasm. The characters sound like robots. The fps to rts is a great idea! They should have spent more time with it. it's a good game nonetheless. Just not worth buying. Rent it. Rent it. Rent it. But once again kinda fun game it's okay. So this game deserves the rating I'm giving it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good...but not a something worth buying

posted by Brian10113 (CINNAMINSON, NJ) Aug 31, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

13 out of 16 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

Okay...as soon as I started the campaign I asked myself if this game was created before the 360 was out. The graphics were extremely bad for a 2009 XBOX 360 game. But never mind, so I walked out of that little safe zone that you always have in the beginning of a game and I heard this reconnaissance satellite operator with a...failed attempt at a "Spanish?" accent. Next I moved on to my first firefight and the controls were just, horrible. Check them out yourself by going to that tab up top the one that says Gameplay Controls. Okay, I'm sorry there are way too many flaws in this game, I really cannot list them all rent this game if you have some extra time, otherwise rent something else. This was a serious rating by the way this game was truly weak.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Close but not quite...

posted by Gwyourmom (JACKSONVILLE, AL) Sep 2, 2009

Member since Oct 2005

19 out of 25 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

Do you enjoy enjoy clunky controls? Bad graphics? Horrible voice acting? All your base are belong to us? If so, this games for YOU!

Featuring the voices of
Jean-Claude van damme
token black-guy
Steve Irwin (Crikey)
& asian girl(on a computer no less)?

...Dont get me wrong the idea is great and switching from RTS to FPS is nearly flawless. However, the game is BORING and listening to the voice actors is PAINFUL. I would compare this game to a rough draft of a book...maybe they spent to much money on the voice-actors instead of hiring an "editor." Its worth a try, if only so youll know that Im not lying.

p.s. DO NOT BUY!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Raven Squad Review: 4.8

posted by 777Kilo (CLEVELAND, OH) Sep 5, 2009

Member since Jan 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Raven Squad, a game that sounds cool and after taking a look at trailers some would say that this game would seem pretty cool. After getting it and playing it for about a day and half I must say I am very disappointed. I was expecting a lot out of this game from the being able to control my squad of troops from a command and conquer view to a fps view. I wont say this was a bad combo, it was just poorly design.
I found the controls a little thrown off because I was so use to other shooters, but this really took me though a twist. I would end up switching views when I did not want to, I would try to use my other weapons and end up reloading or sprinting towards the enemy. The training mission did not provide the time to help me understand the controls. Then when told to throw a stun grenade from C&C view this took sometime figuring out since the game flash the controls by so fast.
The voice acting is really bad. I mean worst then Resident Evil or Star Ocean: LH. It seemed like they didn’t have any cash left to get some good voice actors so they went around their building asking random co-workers to voice act. Not to be rude but your guy in the sky sounds like a Japanese guy trying to speak English ( and he is doing a very poor job at it ).
The story is something I just decide to skip out on since I really can’t stand the voices and it is hard to understand what they are trying to say most of the time.
The multi player is something hard to get into since it seems almost no one wants to play or seems to care about finishing the mission. I have yet to get a friend who was willing to rent the game and help me beat it. The multi player is only co-op story mode. Sorry if you were looking forward to versus mode or something like that.
I would not say the game is not all that bad , but they could have done a way better job. I would like to see another game like this made.
Graphics: 5/10
Gameplay: 6/10
Controls: 5/10
Story: 3/10
Online: 5/10
Overall: 4.8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Ooops

posted by Hagakurefl (SARASOTA, FL) Aug 31, 2009

Member since Dec 2004

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Why should I be sorry for renting this when its the developers should be even more sorry for putting this out. This game really does nothing well. The FPS is horrible (you cant shoot through light shrubs). The voice and cut scenes are painfull. The only thing I can say good about it is that it saves often so you can shut it off to see if it is a little better next time you try it out. Learn from my mistakes and pass on this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

lacking there job.

posted by spyless (CRAWFORDVILLE, FL) Oct 8, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

kind of funny that in my ? this game was at the bottom of my list and i had HALO3 ODST at the top and it just became medium but when i put raven squad at the top thay put it in my Q for sending. dose anyone else have problems with game form gamefly ? like if u live in FL, and u have a home office in ur state but it comes form TX, or CA, ? or it takes a week to get to gamefly or to ur home ? comeon people i know im not the only one let me know.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I HATE THIS GAME!!!

posted by xABNASTYX (BEREA, KY) May 19, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I would burn this game i hope no one has to go through what i did by playing this game...gamefly take it off the rent list

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Real Bad

posted by 1stshooter (WITTMANN, AZ) May 1, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game should be rated 3 year old. This was one of the worst games I have ever rented. I put it in and 3 minuts later took it out and sent it back.
Don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Raven Squad

posted by ebook32 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Aug 31, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

I'm a big fan of FPS and RTS games, Raven Squad has it both plus you get to control all 6 squad members which makes it fun to play. So far I've only finished 3 missions on veteran, so my rating is only based on what I've finished and I have to say the game is good it's no COD 4 or HALO 3 but the game is playable and thats what counts. Earlier I read a review that said the graphics look bad, people who rate games based on how good they look shouldn't be writing reviews, I think everyone should play it first and rate the game on how well it plays. My only problem with the game is it doesn't have a cover system, So the bottom line is don't expect a game of the year award, Raven Squad is a simple RTS, FPS game thats it you'll have fun renting and playing it and if you must have it buy it. Forget the bad reviews judge for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent game

posted by gearshead9 (ROSEVILLE, MI) Sep 7, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is decent, it's defiantly worth a try. They did well with mixing the two aspects, the characters have absolutely no facial features, their mouths move tho, when they talk. The convos are bland, and have really no emotion. But the gameplay is alright

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

An attempt to combine a FPS with a RTS. Fail.

posted by Mungo532 (LAUREL, MS) Sep 3, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

When i received this game I was looking for a game to tide me over until a game like CODMF2 comes out, sadly this game dissapointed in every way. After a few minutes of playing I started to notice and get annoyed by some of the game outright flaws. Sound effects not matching with movements or reloading. No evidence you even shot bullets unless you hit your target which despite the poor AI is still difficult to do. Poor voice acting, which seems to come out of nowhere and have zero emotion or even fluctuation. And this was just my first impressions. I thought maybe the RTS aspects of the game will redeem it. however when I was given the ability to view the battlefield in a RTS view i found it rather boring to move my guys around the map and watch them kill the stupid enemies. They expect you to switch between the RTS and FPS views, and to win the battles you probably should. The shooting part of the game was so poorly done that I found myself only telling them to go kill things, which doesn't work well since they pick of the same poor AI when you aren't in control of them... MULTIPLAYER.... It was lag lag lag lag.
So I'm going to pretend it didn't have one because it was so awful.. the multiplayer in one word. Terrible. The single player in one word. Poor. so all in all I would not recommend this game to anyone, it's poorly made and doesn't have enough, if any, redeeming factors to make it worthwhile. So avoid this terribly poor game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this is a must have game!

posted by gamerdude8 (WEEKI WACHEE, FL) Oct 10, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

this game i s amazing! good graphics and good story. kinda short though beat the game in 2 days.playing 3-4 hours a day. good weapons and good gameplay. very kool that u get to play in a first person shooter view and then zoom out into the sky and play from an overview. very koool. this is definintly amust have game! i give this game a 10 out of 10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

FPS N RTS YEA BABY

posted by Maleek (peekskill, NY) Aug 30, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

3 out of 30 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS REAL GOOD. FOR ANY WHO LOVE RTSSGAMES YOU KNOW WHAT IT FEELS LIKE TO WANT TO TAKE CONTROL OF YOUR MEN IN BATTLE NOW WE CAN IN THIS GAME WITH THE FPS MODE I GIVE THE GAME 8 OUT OF 10 EVERYONE SHOULD TRY IT YOU'LL LOVE IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad, but I've played much worse...

posted by ExWifeH8tr (LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 21, 2012

Member since Jul 2009

Let's see our bad game checklist:
-Graphics looking like late 90's computer games: X
-Horrible voice acting: X
-Tardo AI: X
-Convoluted mission structure: X

Okay, you get the idea; this list could go on and on. But I seriously think EVERYONE SHOULD RENT THIS GAME; because you can only realize the great games when you have played the horrible games. People, especially children take for granted just how difficult it is to make video games in this era. Especially rent this if you are a video game design student; you can get a real feel for the hang-ups that cripple your vision! If you are looking to play this online though to get the achievements; HA, you will have a better chance of seeing Elvis come back alive! The only game worse than this one is "Damnation"...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Raven Squad

posted by bighappy (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Jul 11, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

This is the werest game ever! You can't get out of the over view mod, most of the time. and when you do the game moves very slow. I would give this game a 1 out of 10. If you don't have any thing to do in your life then you may like this game. But if you have a life stay away from this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not worth your time

posted by Noble6 (WEST DES MOINES, IA) Jan 26, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

Don't even think about wasting your time. After play the 1st level i couldn't take any more. The voice acting is horrible and the game play is about equally as bad. Someone should have had lost their job after making that peice of garage of a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Do you like bleeding ears?!

posted by Kemc22 (ATLANTA, GA) Jul 29, 2010

Member since May 2010

Seriously, Do you want your ears to bleed? Forget the fact that they can not pronounce the words correctly. The voice acting is so bad in this game that I thought my ears were going to bleed. Of course that isn't enough t o make the game deserve a 2! The game play mechanics suck also. The best thing is the RTS , over the top view mode. which, even then is 50/50 at best. The enemies take lots of shots ,even on the easy difficulty. This game just sucks. ONLY rent it for the achievements because its and easy 1000 in about 2-3 days of playing. Except 2 achievements require that you play through the whole game in co-op. which will be about 140 achievements in total.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Worse Than Horrible

posted by BruceF (BENTONVILLE, AR) Mar 14, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

By far, this game is the worst FPS on XBOX 360. Words can not fully express how really awful this game is. The control scheme is horrible, story is horrible, voice acting is horrible, and game play is miserable. Save your rental for a better game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE!

posted by IronCity56 (MIDLOTHIAN, VA) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

This game is absolutely horrible. It does not even come close to Halo,Rainbow Six, Modern Warfare 1 or 2, ghost recon...on and on. The game play is awful.

I will never consider another game from South Peak Interactive. Amateurs!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Raven Squat

posted by ebanrevy (SANFORD, FL) Feb 20, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Horrible voice acting, simple missions, boring cut scenes, The only good thing is the easy achievements.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Entertaining at first...

posted by Varent (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Feb 14, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Raven Squad was a great game at first. I really liked the idea of an RTS and FPS all slammed into one game. The first couple of missions were fun, but after those things seemed to just not be as fun because of how limited movement is and how almost glitchy the game mechanics were. I wouldnt recommend this game to my friends as a good game, but maybe a fun game to play for fifteen minutes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Looks can be decieving

posted by Buffguy108 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Jan 20, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

If you like to play Call of Duty then you DO NOT want to play this game. The graphics are terrible, the controls are among the worst I have ever seen, I mean who clicks the right stick to look down the sight? Take my advice don't waste your time or money on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

raven squad

posted by brules17 (CHESTERFIELD, MI) Jan 16, 2010

Member since May 2008

Nice game. Graphics are kind of crapy though and the controles are very confusing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Lousy Game

posted by Jennifer9 (BOLINGBROOK, IL) Jan 15, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

This is a very strange game I would consider it a begginners's game for shooting as for renting i would only consider renting the game once but definately a waste of money and not worth buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse