Rent Ratchet and Clank for PS2
view large frontback

Ratchet and Clank

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.6

1771 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

So this game looks like a cutesy cartoon game righ

posted by kidhero99 (LAUDERDALE LAKES, FL) May 2, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

So this game looks like a cutesy cartoon game right?

WRONG!

This is one of the most sophisticated platform games I have ever seen, and I have been a gamer for a long time. It is a true testament to the power of the Playstation 2 that this game was created!

You play Ratchet, an interstellar grease monkey (fox-cat-furry thing) who meets the lovable and uptight robot, Clank. Clank enlists his help to save the solar system in exchange for starting up Ratchet's spaceship (which is quickly demolished). I guess Ratchet was really bored with his provincial life, because he and Clank head off throughout the galaxy in various ships collecting one of the widest assortment of weapons and gadgets I have ever seen (over 35!). They blast robots and monsters into oblivion and fight valiantly against the imperialist evildoers of the universe. The story itself is really great with fun characters, high quality animation and good solid performances!

Then there is the gameplay! Can you say PERFECT? There is this amazing learning curve that you go through when playing the game. You start off with just two weapons and simple controls. As time wears on, you get more and more gadgets and more and more movement possibilities. The world starts to blossom open, with new areas becoming available that you never would have thought of. It is so much fun.

Three words: Chicken Morphing Gun. Nuff Said.

The game is a masterful execution of what a Playstation 2 game should be. This is one you are going to want to spend some time with. It will quickly become like an old friend!

HIGHLY RECCOMENDED!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My Review of Ratchet and Clank

posted by edpolanco5712 (LOWELL, MA) Dec 29, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

What I think about Ratchet and Clank is that this game is one of the best games I played on the PS2. Ratchet and Clank is so fun, I like playing both characters of the game. I beat this game 10 times and it was so easy. Some of the levels were kind of hard, but still easy. The hardest level I say is the last level: Planet Veldin. It's hard, but I still beat it. I hope the creators of this game make this game: The Ratchet and Clank Collection, with all Ratchet and Clank games into one disc!, I hope they make that game in the future. I LOVE RATCHET AND CLANK!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

FUN! FUN! FUN!

posted by The24Fan (CASTLE ROCK, CO) Mar 12, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The gameplay is solid with all the weapons you use. They're big and destructive, but does it still make it fun? Yes! It's fun from start to finish!

Graphics are good as well. The background and skybox's are stunning and the explosions look very realistic.

The story is good for a platformer. It could use more talking though.

Gameplay: 9/10
Graphics: 9/10
Story: 7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GReat Game all around

posted by carlito (FREDERICK, MD) May 13, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

this game i have to say is one of the best games i have ever played.the stroy is solid,the graphics are beautiful,the controls are easy to learn, and its just flat out fun. this is definately worth your time and money

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

what is ratchet and clank?

posted by alphabetus (TEHACHAPI, CA) Oct 29, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

-long
-somewhat interesting plot
-combat and platforming are superb
-greatly varied action
-graphics are stunning for a ps2 game
-many interestingworlds
-many fun weapons

cons
-much of the humor is not humorous
-ratchet´s voice acting is iffy

conclusion:
definitely worth a rent at least

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The furry trigger happy rat thing.

posted by Author (WICHITA, KS) Jun 27, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Wow. This was a awesome game. At least, it got awesome after a long wait of unimaginable boringness that barely held my attention long enough to reach the better half of the game. That said, I had a great time. While the controls are fairly simple, it is easy to use and are well suited to the battles at hand. The weapons are also fun to blow things up with. The platforming is easy, but fun. If you can keep with the game till about the last half, you'll appreciate it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The first in a great series

posted by Dan1001 (JEANNETTE, PA) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you are looking for a good platform game, I highly reccomend this. Great characters, weapons, graphics, controls, humor, you name it. I liked playing it so much I bought it and the other 3 PS2 sequels. The only "bad" thing about the game is to get the better weapons, you have to collect bolts (money) for a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

One is not always better

posted by ratchetfan (HOUSTON, TX) Jun 14, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Ratchet and clank is pretty weak compared to the other three. The weapons don't upgrade and the levels are not all the fun. If you are looking for lots of fun this may not be the game for you. Luckily if you play the series in the order they were made they get better. For a starter to a good series it is a decent game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

seemed like jak and daxter

posted by peterce1111 (EAST LONGMEADOW, MA) Jul 11, 2014

Member since Apr 2012

this game was pretty good i got into really good when it seemed like the plot was a save the world thing. i realized that there were planets to explore and i had explored all 4 i had unlocked i realized as i was fighting and exploring rachet only had 4 health orbs, and i was curious how u would increase them cuz i kept dying alot which is y i gave this game a 9 cuz i didn't kno or could figure out how to increase ur health. i really liked the weapons the games graphics and gameplay but it really bothered me that they seemed to b no way to increase ur health.

don't get me rong i like this game it just didn't explain if u could increase ur health.

i recommend this game if ur an old school gamer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ratchet and ckank

posted by twinki62 (BARKER, NY) Mar 5, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Its a action packed sifi advnture with ratchet and clank. you must journy accross the unierse to defete charman dreck. he wants to destroy planet velden(ratchet's home plannet). at the end of the first plannet you will se a little beat up robot (clank) walk over to him. you will atomaticly appear back at the ship. after ratchet finnishes fixing it you will go to the next plannet atomaticly dont think that happens evry time sometimes you must walk back. right as the ship crahes in to the wall press the x button then when you fall there is sompthing on the ledge your on about GOLDEN WEPONS. i mean like if you are eavan off by one micro seccond it wont work. its not the gadgatron vender.there is two parts two this world. you get a ship oh and later in the game you get a wicked cool ship at the space station. you alos deffet quark here but thats no the last of him. you see him at one or two plannets over as a bum.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good, But it Needs More Guns...

posted by caturdaysupreme (FLOYDS KNOBS, IN) Jul 18, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

For a game at the beginning of a series, it was good. The gameplay and graphics were good and the story line was interesting. Even though this game is nearly excellent, i gave it an eight since it needs bigger and better weapons, like in Ratchet: Deadlocked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

its awesome

posted by DonnaT (NORTH AUGUSTA, SC) Aug 5, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

this game is a must try

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

cute plus seek and destroy, equal glove of doom

posted by butterflyf (SARASOTA, FL) Jun 8, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

This is another series I felt bad for sleeping on. Within the first 15 minutes of game play, you are already for a crazy fun adventure. The 2 heroes play perfectly off each other. There are a ton of weapons and gadgets that can only be describes as super awesome. Your robo sidekick clank can be upgraded and equipped with gadgets to add to the fun. A personal favorite is the glove of doom. Serious players will soon fall in love with the seek and destroy attitude of the glove of doom. This is a definite play. I personally rate it on the same level of kingdom hearts when it comes to overall game play and fun. It looks like a kiddy game, but definitely isn’t. the humore is nothing that will have you ROFL but you will LOL a couple times unexpectedly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sly squared+Jak squared=Ratchet and Clank squared

posted by adgpoke94 (JAY, FL) Nov 2, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

The title explains it all. This blockbuster of a game combines the best portions of two of my favorite games, Sly Cooper and Jak and Daxter. From Jak and Daxter, the amazing, kick-butt weapons and fighting format; from Sly, the enthraling and complex tricks and twirls that adds interest to any game, especially this one. It combines amazing graphics, thrilling scenery, fantastic combat, and interesting map exploration to boot. I loved this game so much, I just used the expresion "to boot". You can't fake that kind of enthusiasm. My only complaint was that the story line left me wanting, and with it, some cut-scenes. However, all that meant was that they used that time for gameplay, allowing the levels themselves to form the story. An 8.7 wasn't high enough, so I give it a 9.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not as good as the other Ratchet and Clank games

posted by Judeikinz (YAZOO CITY, MS) Sep 3, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

this game is really good but this one is the only game in the series that I haven't beaten besides Deadlocked. i think that so far, the weapons aren't as good and plus, you can't strafe which made the newer games much easier. i enjoy it, but it is not as good as the newer r and c games. i recommend this game to anybody that likes action adventure games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome Game All-Around!

posted by poke4597 (ATLANTA, GA) Jun 13, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

I thought this game looked cool, and I was right about that. It looked cool, but.... it was cool in the game as well!

Graphics:8/10-The graphics are quite good on this game. The weapons and explosions in particular look great.

Gameplay:10/10-The game's gameplay is fantastic! There are lots of awesome weapons that you can use to save the galaxy! The game is paced very well, and the Clank-only levels are thrown in to give you a refresher when you want one. The gadgets are also useful and entertaining. I LOVE this game!

Story:8/10-I think that the story is quite good. Ratchet and Clank has great voice acting, and many of the lines have a very cute humor. The story itself is pretty run-of-the-mill, but it has twists that make it interesting.

Multiplayer:N/A-There is no multiplayer mode in this game.

Length/Replay Value/Difficulty:9/10-This game is quite long, but it is interesting, and is never boring. You can replay the game with gold weapons, and that makes the game very good in the area of replay value. This game can be pretty challenging at parts, but it is the good kind of challenging, not the hopeless wandering kind of "challenging".

Final Score:9/10-Awesome-This game has very little to improve upon. It is amazing as it is, and is SO much fun to play. I guess that there could be more advanced upgrades, but that is such a minor flaw I don't even consider it a flaw. This game is worth renting, and I would even buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Ratchet & Clank

posted by thomaston (PHILADELPHIA, PA) May 2, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

The 4 reasons u should play this game is # 1 It has awesome graphics, #2 funny humor, #3 Nice storyline ,and #4 awesome waepons and gadgets. rent or buy this game its a lot of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Hits and Misses

posted by Doggie (GARLAND, TX) Jul 25, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

Hits:Storyline is good and easy to follow.9.
Graphics are pretty good.7.
Futuristic gadgets are exciting.8.
Levels are challenging and have great design.7.

Misses:Some noises that characters sound like the
developers just didn't try.5.
Techno music get annoying.6.
Stuff is a little too expensive.6.

But the hits block out the misses so...8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The original platformer

posted by CrazeFan (BROOKLINE, MA) Jul 6, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

You don't see a game like Ratchet & Clank often enough. This game throws a lot of original stuff at you to keep you entertained. Tons of guns make this game interesting, and an easy way to control them all keeps them interesting. It's just plain fun. I really can't come up with anything wrong with the game, except the camera does take so getting used to, and gave my brother a headache.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great fun!

posted by punkrockju (NASHVILLE, TN) Apr 14, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

I loved this game! My roommate and I actually had fights over this game because we both wanted to play it so much. The graphics are fun and well done, the story line is exciting and well thought out, and the characters are absolutely great. I fell in love with the game when I finally got to play as Clank. He is adorable! It's hard enough to keep you on your toes, but not enough to make you aggravated. It was great! I highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Totally awesome game

posted by defrox336 (GEORGETOWN, KY) Feb 6, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

This game, without a doubt, will definitely be remembered as one of the top games in its genre. The Ratchet and Clank series will be a huge classic for years to come, and will always be a piece of Insomniac history. I absoultely loved the animated, but yet totally destructive weapons in Ratchet and Clank. This game was worth the 3 weeks of my time it took to complete it. The graphics were excellent. It was also a decent-sized game;not too long, but not too short. Take on a wild gaming experience by infiltrating security camps, taking part in hand-to-hand combat with the giant Clank, or purchase one of my favorite weapons, the Gadgetron Devastator, take aim at an enemy ship and blow it up! Priceless!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

R and C

posted by quotalex (OCALA, FL) Feb 6, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

This is a great game if you like action. Wow! guns and weapons galore.... Sweet I love this game. I'm the kind of gal who likes to blow up things. You know what I'm talking about right? Who doesn't like to do those things. Clank is cool too. They have so many levels and the things you can do is great. I got lured into the play station world by our fav mascot Crash bandacoop. I think rachet is the perfect replacement for him. Well anyway this is a great game if you like to blow things up. If you don't then you really shouldn't get this game because it blow or be blown...heheheheh

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

decent enough for fun

posted by CWTrash (PORTLAND, ME) Oct 17, 2007

Member since May 2007

This was a fun game...unfortunatly It did not hold my intrest long enough...gameplay was smooth, but tricky in places...controls are strange and I never did quite get the hang of them, but with more time I could've gotten better with them...the game lost my intrest before that happened...all in all not a bad game, it was just lacking something to make it great

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Highly Addictive and Entertaining

posted by Stacy1 (SANTA ROSA, CA) Jul 12, 2007

Member since Oct 2003

When my roommate first bought a PS2 he bought this game because of the cover not knowing to expect as far as a first person shooter. We each started our own saved game and were battling one another to see who could finish first.

Surprisingly, "Ratchet & Clank" tells an engaging and humorous story about Ratchet and his new friend Clank and their effort to save the galaxy. At times you'll just want to stop (when not being engaged by enemies) and use the right analog stick to just look around because the vistas and environments are all beautifully rendered. And each planet deserves a second or third visit simply to find all the extras.

The only flaw is that you can easily go back to old planets you've already defeated to get more bolts so you can buy better weapons. But aside from that minor detail, you will not be able to stop playing until you've finally finished.

We've found that once were were done (yes, my roommate won our little contest) you'll want to set it aside and go back to it later. That is the sign of a true classic game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good, good, good

posted by 199612 (LAKELAND, FL) Jul 9, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

It's a great start for a series but not the best one in the series good adventure great guns and there not much to say.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse